yes, therapy helps!
Charismatic Leadership: 8 characteristics and traits of great leader

Charismatic Leadership: 8 characteristics and traits of great leader

May 6, 2024

The management of people is a key element in the success of a company , and individuals who are in higher positions have an important role in the march of this and how a work team feels and surrenders.

However, there are many types of leadership, and each of them has its peculiarities, its pros and cons. Some work and fit better in some contexts and others in different contexts. In this article we will talk about a type of leadership that has given much to talk about in recent times: charismatic leadership.

Types of leadership

Each person is a world, and when it comes to relating to others we all have our way of behaving. According to the experts, there are different types of leadership. The most important are the following:


  • Laissez-faire : This type of leadership is also called delegative leadership. It is a style in which employees tend to have great freedom, and the leader only intervenes when necessary.
  • Autocratic : It is a leadership style in which the leader has great power. It is a directive leadership and all decisions are made by him. If you want to know more about its advantages and disadvantages, you can read our article "Autocratic (or authoritarian) leadership: advantages and disadvantages".
  • Democratic : Also known as participatory leader, because it involves subordinates in decision making.
  • Transactional : A leadership style oriented to results. Ideal for commercial teams.
  • Transformational : Also known as charismatic, motivates and makes the members of a team go in the same direction.
In this article we will delve into the charismatic leadership, if you want to know more about the others, you can read our article "Types of Leadership: The 5 most common leader classes"

Characteristics of charismatic leadership

Charismatic leaders have a great ability to influence their subordinates and other individuals, and establish work dynamics in which everyone wins. They are called charismatic leaders because they have an exceptional charisma and care to remain faithful to their followers. Some of the most outstanding values ​​of these leaders is honesty, altruism or ethics.


However, What makes these leaders different and extremely valued at present? What are its main characteristics? In the following lines we explain it to you.

1. Connect with the emotions of subordinates

If something characterizes this leadership style is the emotional connection that exists between superiors and subordinates. . Despite the tension and competitiveness that can be found in the workplace, these leaders create closeness with their subordinates, because they care about their needs. These become his followers without the need to impose anything.

2. Communication

Charismatic leaders possess social skills exceptions and also communication skills . In this way they manage to connect with subordinates, who feel valued and respected. This is also key to motivating workers, and studies suggest that charismatic leadership helps reduce employee stress levels, improves their well-being and makes them feel part of the organization.


3. Self-confidence

For others to respect us, we must trust ourselves . These leaders enjoy a high self-confidence and security so they are able to talk with others in a calm manner. Others perceive that self-confidence, something that is very attractive in interpersonal relationships.

4. Motivation

Charismatic leaders make workers feel good in the company and aligned with the values and the objectives of the organization, so that workers stay motivated, and get the best out of themselves, thus increasing their performance and that of the company.

5. Active listening

Active listening is a characteristic of charismatic leaders , that not only hear the workers but allow them to express their concerns. Charismatic leaders pay attention to the needs of workers and their concerns, because they understand that happy workers are more efficient.

  • Related article: "Active listening: the key to communicating with others"

6. Creativity

Charismatic leaders are creative people, who usually have a vision beyond limits and fears . That is why they lead the way of their followers and are able to influence them. When a problem arises, they understand that they must solve it and face it.They see opportunities to grow in crises. In addition, this type of leadership fosters the creativity of its employees.

  • Related article: "The 14 keys to enhance creativity"

7. Vision

These leaders fit perfectly into the changing environment because they have a great vision of the future and bring stability to companies. By being creative, they also find solutions even in situations of transformation. They are leaders who motivate and inspire others, and empower employees in the face of change. A study by Universum revealed that 41 percent of the managers surveyed looked for their leader companies with the capacity to empower employees.

The success of this type of leadership is due to their vision of the future and to the fact that they are capable of communicating it.

8. Determination

Having vision is something that many times can arise in the minds of many people , but not everyone moves from thought to action. Charismatic leaders have a great capacity for determination, establish specific objectives and work to achieve them together with the team.

The charismatic personality

In addition to these specific characteristics of leaders, charismatic people present a series of traits and habits. If you want to know them, you can read our article "Charismatic personality: 14 traits and habits of unique individuals".


7 Qualities of a Charismatic Leader (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Leadership charismatique: 8 caractéristiques et traits d'un grand leader

Leadership charismatique: 8 caractéristiques et traits d'un grand leader

Avril 15, 2021

La gestion des personnes est un élément clé du succès d'une entreprise et les personnes qui occupent des postes plus élevés ont un rôle important à jouer dans la progression de cette tâche et dans la façon dont une équipe de travail se sent et se rend.

Cependant, il existe de nombreux types de leadership, chacun ayant ses particularités, ses avantages et ses inconvénients. Certains fonctionnent et s’intègrent mieux dans certains contextes et d’autres dans des contextes différents. Dans cet article, nous allons parler d'un type de leadership qui a beaucoup donné à parler ces derniers temps: le leadership charismatique.

Types de leadership

Chaque personne est un monde et quand il s'agit de communiquer avec les autres, nous avons tous notre comportement. Selon les experts, il existe différents types de leadership. Les plus importants sont les suivants:


  • Laissez-faire : Ce type de leadership s'appelle aussi leadership délégatif. C'est un style dans lequel les employés ont tendance à avoir une grande liberté et le leader n'intervient que lorsque cela est nécessaire.
  • Autocratique : C'est un style de leadership dans lequel le leader a un grand pouvoir. C'est un leadership directif et toutes les décisions sont prises par lui. Si vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur ses avantages et inconvénients, vous pouvez lire notre article "Le leadership autocratique (ou autoritaire): avantages et inconvénients".
  • Démocratique : Aussi connu sous le nom de chef participatif, car il implique des subordonnés dans la prise de décision.
  • Transactionnel : Un style de leadership orienté vers les résultats. Idéal pour les équipes commerciales.
  • Transformationnel : Aussi connu sous le nom de charismatique, motive et fait aller les membres d'une équipe dans le même sens.
Dans cet article, nous aborderons le leadership charismatique. Si vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur les autres, vous pouvez lire notre article "Types de leadership: les 5 classes de dirigeants les plus courantes"

Caractéristiques du leadership charismatique

Les leaders charismatiques ont une grande capacité à influencer leurs subordonnés et d’autres personnes et à établir une dynamique de travail gagnante pour tous. Ils sont appelés des leaders charismatiques parce qu’ils ont un charisme exceptionnel et qu’ils veillent à rester fidèles à leurs fidèles. L'honnêteté, l'altruisme ou l'éthique sont parmi les valeurs les plus remarquables de ces dirigeants.


Maintenant bien, Qu'est-ce qui différencie ces leaders et les valorise extrêmement aujourd'hui? Quelles sont ses principales caractéristiques? Dans les lignes suivantes, nous vous l'expliquons.

1. Connectez-vous avec les émotions des subordonnés

Si quelque chose caractérise ce style de leadership, c'est le lien affectif qui existe entre les supérieurs et les subordonnés. . En dépit de la tension et de la compétitivité qui peuvent exister sur le lieu de travail, ces dirigeants créent une proximité avec leurs subordonnés, car ils se soucient de leurs besoins. Ceux-ci deviennent ses disciples sans avoir besoin d'imposer quoi que ce soit.

2. communication

Les leaders charismatiques possèdent des exceptions en matière de compétences sociales et de communication. . De cette manière, ils parviennent à se connecter avec des subordonnés, qui se sentent valorisés et respectés. Ceci est également essentiel pour motiver les travailleurs. Des études suggèrent que le leadership charismatique contribue à réduire le niveau de stress des employés, à améliorer leur bien-être et à leur faire sentir qu'ils font partie de l'organisation.


3. Confiance en soi

Pour que les autres nous respectent, nous devons nous faire confiance . Ces dirigeants jouissent d'une grande confiance en eux et d'une grande sécurité, ce qui leur permet de parler avec les autres de manière calme. D'autres perçoivent cette confiance en soi, ce qui est très attrayant dans les relations interpersonnelles.

4. Motivation

Les leaders charismatiques font en sorte que les travailleurs se sentent bien dans l'entreprise et alignés sur les valeurs et les objectifs de l'organisation, pour que les travailleurs restent motivés et en tirent le meilleur d'eux-mêmes, augmentant ainsi leur performance et celle de l'entreprise.

5. écoute active

L'écoute active est une caractéristique des leaders charismatiques , qui non seulement entendent les travailleurs mais leur permettent d’exprimer leurs préoccupations. Les leaders charismatiques sont attentifs aux besoins des travailleurs et à leurs préoccupations, car ils comprennent que des travailleurs heureux sont plus efficaces.

  • Article connexe: "L'écoute active: la clé pour communiquer avec les autres"

6. la créativité

Les leaders charismatiques sont des personnes créatives, qui ont généralement une vision qui dépasse leurs limites et leurs peurs. . C'est pourquoi ils guident leurs partisans et sont en mesure de les influencer. Lorsqu'un problème survient, ils comprennent qu'ils doivent le résoudre et y faire face.Ils voient des opportunités de croissance dans les crises. De plus, ce type de leadership favorise la créativité de ses employés.

  • Article connexe: "Les 14 clés pour améliorer la créativité"

7. vision

Ces leaders s'intègrent parfaitement dans l'environnement en constante évolution car ils ont une grande vision de l'avenir et apporter de la stabilité aux entreprises. En étant créatifs, ils trouvent également des solutions même dans des situations de transformation. Ce sont des leaders qui motivent et inspirent les autres et qui responsabilisent les employés face au changement. Une étude réalisée par Universum a révélé que 41% des dirigeants interrogés recherchaient des sociétés leaders capables de responsabiliser leurs employés.

Le succès de ce type de leadership est dû à sa vision de l’avenir et au fait qu’ils sont capables de le communiquer.

8. Détermination

Avoir une vision est quelque chose qui peut souvent surgir dans l'esprit de beaucoup de gens , mais tout le monde ne passe pas de la pensée à l’action. Les leaders charismatiques ont une grande capacité de détermination, établissent des objectifs spécifiques et s’efforcent de les atteindre avec l’équipe.

La personnalité charismatique

En plus de ces caractéristiques spécifiques des dirigeants, les personnes charismatiques présentent une série de traits et d'habitudes. Si vous voulez les connaître, vous pouvez lire notre article "Personnalité charismatique: 14 traits et habitudes d'individus uniques".


Compétences et personnalité du leader : le guide essentiel au leadership de Jim Rohn (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes