yes, therapy helps!
Charles Sanders Peirce: biography of this pragmatist philosopher

Charles Sanders Peirce: biography of this pragmatist philosopher

October 1, 2022

Charles Sanders Peirce (1839-1914) was an American philosopher and scientist, founder of the school of American pragmatism. He was also a specialist in logic and in the theory of language and communication, which has an important influence on the development of philosophy and also on a large part of psychology.

In this article we will see a biography of Charles Sanders Peirce , as well as some of its main theoretical contributions.

  • Related article: "Differences between Psychology and Philosophy"

Biography of Charles Sanders Peirce: founder of American pragmatism

Charles Sanders Peirce was born in Cambridge, Massachusetts on September 10, 1839. He was the fourth child of Sarah Mills and Benjamin Peirce, who was an important professor of astronomy and mathematics at Harvard University .


Like his father, Peirce graduated from Harvard College in 1859 and began studies in chemistry within the Lawrende School of Science that was part of the same university. He also worked as a computer assistant for his father, with whom he did important work in astronomy, within the Harvard Observatory.

As part of the same, between the years of 1873 and 1886, Charles Sanders Peirce conducted experiments on approximately 20 space stations in the United States, Europe and Canada. In these experiments he used pendulums designed by himself. This gave him an important international recognition and led him to perform for many years as a chemical engineer, mathematician and inventor . Likewise, the practical participation he had in physics led him to finally reject scientific determinism.


In the year of 1867, Peirce was elected member of the Academy of Arts and Sciences , as well as member of the National Academy of Sciences in 1877 and, three years later, he was elected member of the Society of Mathematicians of London.

So, for a long time he worked in mathematics and physics, although I had a special interest in philosophy, philology, and especially in logic , issues that later brought him closer to experimental psychology. He is considered among other things the father of modern semiotics (the science of signs) and one of the most important philosophers of all time.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Pragmatism: what is and what does this philosophical current propose"

The logic of Peirce

Through his studies, Pierce linked logic with the theory of signs in an important way; although especially it was dedicated to study the logic in the scientific terrain or the "logic of the science", that is to say, of the induction (how to extract conclusions or principles from a data set and logical way).


To this last, Peirce added two methods to generate hypotheses which he called "retroduction" and "abduction". Abduction, for Peirce, is a complement to induction and deduction , that is, they are closely related tools.

And he maintained that the latter is not only found in the scientific method, but is part of our daily activity. This is because, when faced with a phenomenon that we can hardly explain, we display a range of beliefs that, as we can not offer a solution to our doubts, lead us to generate a series of hypotheses about the phenomenon.

Then we deduce the consequences of this hypothesis and, finally, we put them to the test through experience. This logic allows us not so much to verify which hypothesis is correct, but what each one consists of and how it differs from the others, which leads us to evaluate above all the set of its practical consequences.

According to Peirce, all this could only be understood through a broad knowledge of the methods and reasoning present in all sciences .

Likewise, among the studies he carried out in the logic of science, Pierce analyzed for several years the work of the German philosopher Immanuel Kant, concluding that these were arguments with a logic that Pierce described as "superficial", and that finally led him towards formal research in logic, both in philosophy and in other disciplines.

American pragmatism or pragmaticism

Peirce maintained that the scientific method is one of the resources of construction and modification of beliefs, as well as one of the most important tools to clarify complex problems and offer successful solutions to them.

In Peirce's pragmatism, every idea has meaning from its practical consequences, that is, by its experiential value. And in an attempt to differentiate other currents of pragmatism that began to develop from his works, Pierce baptized his own tradition as "pragmaticism", which currently serves as a synonym for the school of "American pragmatism" and differs for example from pragmatism of his colleagues William James and John Dewey.

Outstanding works

Charles Sanders Peirce wrote for more than 50 years on issues related to very different areas of knowledge. From mathematics and physics, to economics and psychology, to mention a few .

However, probably his two best-known works are the first two articles in a series of six that were originally compiled in Illustrations of Logic of Science, published in 1877 in the journal Popular Science Monthly.

These two articles were: The fixation of belief, where defends the superiority of the scientific method about other methods for the resolution of doubts and the formation of beliefs; Y How to clarify our ideas, where he establishes a "pragmatic" definition for the concepts.

Other of his best known books are Photometric investigations, of 1878, and Studies in logic, of 1883. In general terms, the extensive work of Peirce problematizes questions such as the foundations of modern science, the existence or possibility of reaching an absolute truth, and knowledge from a logical perspective.

Bibliographic references:

  • Charles Sanders Peirce (2018). Encyclopaedia Britannica. Retrieved August 31, 2018. Available at //www.britannica.com/biography/Charles-Sanders-Peirce.
  • McNabb, D. (2015). Peirce's functionalism and pragmaticism: Towards a more viable ontology of mental states. Stoa (6) 11: 61-75.
  • Bruch, R. (2014). Charles Sanders Peirce. Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Retrieved August 31, 2018. Available at //plato.stanford.edu/entries/peirce/#bio.

Pragmatism - A truly American philosophy (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Charles Sanders Peirce: biographie de ce philosophe pragmatiste

Charles Sanders Peirce: biographie de ce philosophe pragmatiste

Mai 20, 2019

Charles Sanders Peirce (1839-1914) était un philosophe et scientifique américain, fondateur de l'école du pragmatisme américain. Il était également spécialiste en logique et en théorie du langage et de la communication, ce qui a une influence importante sur le développement de la philosophie et également sur une grande partie de la psychologie.

Dans cet article, nous verrons une biographie de Charles Sanders Peirce , ainsi que certaines de ses principales contributions théoriques.

  • Article connexe: "Différences entre psychologie et philosophie"

Biographie de Charles Sanders Peirce: fondateur du pragmatisme américain

Charles Sanders Peirce est né à Cambridge (Massachusetts) le 10 septembre 1839. Il était le quatrième enfant de Sarah Mills et Benjamin Peirce, un important professeur d'astronomie et de mathématiques à l'université de Harvard .


Comme son père, Peirce est diplômé du Harvard College en 1859 et a commencé des études de chimie au sein de la Lawrende School of Science, qui faisait partie de la même université. Il a également travaillé comme assistant informatique pour son père, avec qui il a effectué d'importants travaux en astronomie, au sein de l'observatoire de Harvard.

Dans le même esprit, entre les années 1873 et 1886, Charles Sanders Peirce a mené des expériences sur environ 20 stations spatiales aux États-Unis, en Europe et au Canada. Dans ces expériences, il utilisa des pendules conçus par lui-même. Cela lui a valu une reconnaissance internationale importante et l'a amené à se produire pendant de nombreuses années en tant qu'ingénieur chimiste, mathématicien et inventeur . De même, sa participation pratique à la physique l'a amené à rejeter définitivement le déterminisme scientifique.


En l'an 1867, Peirce a été élu membre de l'Académie des Arts et des Sciences , membre de l’Académie nationale des sciences en 1877 et, trois ans plus tard, élu membre de la Society of Mathematicians of London.

Ainsi, pendant longtemps, il travailla en mathématiques et en physique, bien que J'ai eu un intérêt particulier pour la philosophie, la philologie et surtout la logique , des questions qui le rapprochèrent plus tard de la psychologie expérimentale. Il est considéré entre autres comme le père de la sémiotique moderne (la science des signes) et l'un des plus importants philosophes de tous les temps.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Pragmatisme: que propose et que propose ce courant philosophique"

La logique de Peirce

À travers ses études, Pierce a lié de manière importante la logique à la théorie des signes; bien qu’il s’est surtout consacré à l’étude de la logique sur le terrain scientifique ou de la "logique de la science", c’est-à-dire de l’induction (comment extraire des conclusions ou des principes d’un ensemble de données et d’une manière logique).


Peirce a ajouté à ce dernier deux méthodes pour générer des hypothèses qu'il a appelées "rétroduction" et "enlèvement". Enlèvement, pour Peirce, est un complément à l'induction et à la déduction , c’est-à-dire que ce sont des outils étroitement liés.

Et il a soutenu que ce dernier ne se trouve pas seulement dans la méthode scientifique, mais fait partie de notre activité quotidienne. En effet, face à un phénomène que nous pouvons difficilement expliquer, nous affichons une gamme de croyances qui, ne pouvant pas apporter de solution à nos doutes, nous amènent à générer une série d’hypothèses sur le phénomène.

Nous déduisons ensuite les conséquences de cette hypothèse et, finalement, nous les mettons à l'épreuve de l'expérience. Cette logique ne nous permet pas tant de vérifier quelle hypothèse est correcte, mais en quoi chacune consiste et en quoi elle se distingue des autres, ce qui nous amène à évaluer avant tout l’ensemble de ses conséquences pratiques.

Selon Peirce, tout cela ne pouvait être compris que par une large connaissance des méthodes et des raisonnements présents dans toutes les sciences .

De même, parmi les études qu'il a effectuées dans la logique de la science, Pierce a analysé pendant plusieurs années les travaux du philosophe allemand Emmanuel Kant, concluant qu'il s'agissait d'arguments d'une logique qu'il qualifiait de "superficielle" et le conduisant finalement vers recherche formelle en logique, tant en philosophie que dans d’autres disciplines.

Pragmatisme américain ou pragmaticisme

Peirce a soutenu que la méthode scientifique est l’une des ressources de construction et de modification des croyances, ainsi que un des outils les plus importants pour clarifier des problèmes complexes et leur proposer des solutions efficaces.

Dans le pragmatisme de Peirce, chaque idée a un sens à partir de ses conséquences pratiques, c'est-à-dire de sa valeur expérientielle. Et pour tenter de différencier d'autres courants de pragmatisme qui commençaient à se développer de ses œuvres, Pierce a baptisé sa propre tradition de "pragmaticisme", qui sert actuellement de synonyme à l'école du "pragmatisme américain" et se distingue par exemple du pragmatisme de ses collègues William James et John Dewey.

Œuvres en vedette

Charles Sanders Peirce a écrit pendant plus de 50 ans sur des questions relatives à des domaines de connaissance très différents. Des mathématiques et de la physique à l’économie et à la psychologie, pour ne citer que quelques exemples. .

Cependant, ses deux œuvres les plus connues sont probablement les deux premiers articles d'une série de six articles compilés à l'origine dans Illustrations of Logic of Science, publiée en 1877 dans la revue Popular Science Monthly.

Ces deux articles étaient: La fixation de la croyancedéfend la supériorité de la méthode scientifique sur d'autres méthodes pour la résolution des doutes et la formation de croyances; et Comment clarifier nos idées, où il établit une définition "pragmatique" pour les concepts.

D'autres de ses livres les plus connus sont Enquêtes photométriquesde 1878 et Études en logique, de 1883. De manière générale, le travail considérable de Peirce pose des problèmes tels que les fondements de la science moderne, l’existence ou la possibilité d’atteindre une vérité absolue et la connaissance d’un point de vue logique.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Charles Sanders Peirce (2018). Encyclopédie Britannica. Récupéré le 31 août 2018. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.britannica.com/biography/Charles-Sanders-Peirce.
  • McNabb, D. (2015). Fonctionnalisme et pragmaticisme de Peirce: vers une ontologie plus viable des états mentaux. Stoa (6) 11: 61-75.
  • Bruch, R. (2014). Charles Sanders Peirce. Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Récupéré le 31 août 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //plato.stanford.edu/entries/peirce/#bio.

John Dewey - Pragmatisme, Philosophy of Education. (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes