yes, therapy helps!
Child psychopathy: symptoms, causes and advice to parents

Child psychopathy: symptoms, causes and advice to parents

May 26, 2024

Child psychopathy is one of the phenomena that generates the most interest of the world of psychology. The presence of children who do not empathize with others and who can perform cruel acts or manipulation without experiencing any remorse makes the alarms of parents, mothers and educators jump.

In this article we will see what is known about child psychopathy and the way in which this condition is expressed through the actions of these children.

  • Related article: "Psychopathic children: 5 sad cases of underage murderers"

Child psychopathy: definition

Although there is no fully consensual definition, psychopathy is considered to be a type of disorder characterized by a lack of empathy and feelings of guilt , as well as the tendency toward disinhibition.


In the clinical setting it is called antisocial personality disorder, a name that already indicates the type of problems that this condition produces: conflicts in personal relationships or attacks against others, whether through physical violence or not.

Child psychopathy, in particular, is about the condition associated with psychopathic traits that it occurs during the childhood stage . That is, it is not a differentiated mental disorder, although as is natural this condition is expressed in a different way in children and adults.

In addition, it has been observed that psychopathy often appears during the first years of life, and that its presence in this stage of life serves to predict the chances of that person exhibiting antisocial features when they reach adulthood.


  • Related article: "Psychopathy: what happens in the mind of the psychopath?"

Symptoms of childhood psychopathy

First of all it is necessary to take into account that there is no instrument for measuring and diagnosing psychopathy that allows to know with certainty what happens in the mind of a boy or girl and if he expresses that disorder or not.

In any case, what is done is to conduct interviews with parents, mothers or guardians, as well as the children, and from the crossing of a series of data a conclusion is reached. Also, this always It has to be done by psychiatrists or clinical psychologists , depending on the legislation of each country.

In any case, as a guide, we can recognize several typical symptoms of child psychopathy and, if they are clear and sustained over time, can reveal information about the chances of a child having this disorder.


1. Constant challenge of the rules

We are not talking about breaking standards associated with good education, but those that they have to do with the most basic forms of coexistence . For example, throw food on the ground in a systematic way, assault other children or even adults, etc.

2. Explosions of violence

In general, the infant stage is characterized by disinhibition. However, this is absolute in children with psychopathic features. That is why it is possible that sometimesviolently tease people or animals , which brings us to the next point.

3. Animal abuse

Many of these little ones take advantage of moments when there are no adults nearby to hurt or even kill animals , for the simple pleasure of "playing" with them, as if they were removable toys. However, it is also possible that they do so simply for the pleasure of making them suffer.

  • Related article: "Animal abuse in children: children's things?"

4. Absence of remorse

In child psychopathy punishments and scolding cause little effect , because although it is understood that others recognize certain activities as bad and undesirable, that does not matter. In any case, the relevant thing is to create strategies to avoid that kind of situations going forward.

Causes

The exact cause of psychopathy is unknown, although it is believed that there is an important genetic component . However, it is most likely that in most cases the disorder has more than one cause, and that the genotype is just something that predisposes. For example, it has been seen that certain lesions in the frontal lobe of the brain can generate these symptoms, and something similar happens with the continued experience of very stressful or traumatic experiences.

Advice for parents

It must be clear that in any case psychopathy, whether in children, adolescents or adults, is not a diagnostic category with well-defined limits, but in it there are different degrees. That is why many psychologists prefer to talk about features of psychopathy , and not "psychopathic people".

That's why, even if a mental health team points out that a child has significant psychopathic traits, that does not mean he's going to be like a movie psycho, or a killer. By statistics, even people who fall within this diffuse classification tend more towards normality than towards more extreme characteristics.

Furthermore, since little is known about psychopathy, it is possible that it is a false positive and that the child's behavior is evolving towards normalcy in a natural way, without interventions. After all some children can express their discomfort and emotional problems behaving in a very similar way to psychopaths, for a while.

That said, we must also know that unfortunately today there is no treatment that offers guarantees of its effectiveness in the intervention on child psychopathy, which does not mean that there never will be. That means that we should distrust those who offer "cures" and other miraculous therapies; Although it is not impossible for psychotherapy to improve, it is unlikely that it will happen, or that it will occur because of it.


ADHD and Anti-Social Personality Disorder: Minimizing the Risks (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Psychopathie infantile: symptômes, causes et conseils aux parents

Psychopathie infantile: symptômes, causes et conseils aux parents

Septembre 21, 2022

La psychopathie infantile est l’un des phénomènes qui suscite le plus d’intérêt du monde de la psychologie. La présence d'enfants qui ne font pas preuve d'empathie envers les autres et qui peuvent accomplir des actes cruels ou se faire manipuler sans ressentir le moindre remords fait sursauter les alarmes des parents, des mères et des éducateurs.

Dans cet article, nous verrons ce que l’on sait de la psychopathie infantile et de la manière dont cette maladie s’exprime à travers les actions de ces enfants.

  • Article connexe: "Enfants psychopathes: 5 cas tristes d'assassins mineurs"

Psychopathie infantile: définition

Bien qu’il n’existe pas de définition pleinement consensuelle, la psychopathie est considérée un type de trouble caractérisé par un manque d'empathie et des sentiments de culpabilité , ainsi que la tendance à la désinhibition.


En clinique, on parle de trouble de la personnalité antisociale, un nom qui indique déjà le type de problèmes que cette condition produit: conflits de relations personnelles ou attaques contre autrui, que ce soit par la violence physique ou non.

La psychopathie infantile, en particulier, concerne l’état associé à des traits psychopathiques qui il se produit pendant l'enfance . En d'autres termes, il ne s'agit pas d'un trouble mental différencié, bien que, comme il est naturel, cet état soit exprimé de manière différente chez les enfants et les adultes.

En outre, il a été observé que la psychopathie apparaît souvent au cours des premières années de la vie et que sa présence à ce stade de la vie permet de prédire les risques que cette personne présente des caractéristiques antisociales à l’âge adulte.


  • Article connexe: "Psychopathie: que se passe-t-il dans l'esprit du psychopathe?"

Symptômes de psychopathie infantile

Tout d’abord, il faut tenir compte du fait que il n'y a pas d'instrument pour mesurer et diagnostiquer la psychopathie cela permet de savoir avec certitude ce qui se passe dans l’esprit d’un garçon ou d’une fille et s’il exprime ou non ce trouble.

Quoi qu’il en soit, il s’agit de mener des entretiens avec les parents, les mères ou les tuteurs légaux, ainsi que les enfants, et de tirer une conclusion de la série de données. En outre, cela toujours Cela doit être fait par des psychiatres ou des psychologues cliniciens , en fonction de la législation de chaque pays.

Dans tous les cas, à titre indicatif, nous pouvons reconnaître plusieurs symptômes typiques de la psychopathie infantile et, s’ils sont clairs et persistants au fil du temps, révéler des informations sur les chances qu’un enfant soit atteint de cette maladie.


1. Défi constant des règles

Nous ne parlons pas de briser les normes associées à une bonne éducation, mais ceux qui ils ont à voir avec les formes les plus élémentaires de coexistence . Par exemple, jetez de la nourriture sur le sol de manière systématique, agressez d'autres enfants ou même des adultes, etc.

2. Explosions de violence

En général, le stade infantile est caractérisé par une désinhibition. Cependant, ceci est absolu chez les enfants présentant des caractéristiques psychopathiques. C’est pourquoi il est possible que parfoistaquiner violemment les gens ou les animaux , ce qui nous amène au point suivant.

3. Violence envers les animaux

Beaucoup de ces petits profitent des moments où il n’ya pas d’adultes à proximité pour blesser ou même tuer des animaux , pour le simple plaisir de "jouer" avec eux, comme s'il s'agissait de jouets amovibles. Cependant, il est également possible qu'ils le fassent simplement pour le plaisir de les faire souffrir.

  • Article connexe: "Violence envers les animaux chez les enfants: des objets pour enfants?"

4. Absence de remords

Dans la psychopathie de l'enfant les punitions et les réprimandes causent peu d'effet , car même s’il est entendu que d’autres reconnaissent que certaines activités sont mauvaises et indésirables, cela n’a aucune importance. Dans tous les cas, l’important est de créer des stratégies pour éviter ce genre de situation.

Les causes

La cause exacte de la psychopathie est inconnue, mais on pense que il y a une composante génétique importante . Cependant, il est fort probable que, dans la plupart des cas, le désordre a plusieurs causes et que le génotype n’est que quelque chose qui prédispose. Par exemple, il a été constaté que certaines lésions du lobe frontal du cerveau peuvent générer ces symptômes, et il en va de même pour l'expérience continue d'expériences très stressantes ou traumatisantes.

Conseils pour les parents

Il doit être clair que, dans tous les cas, la psychopathie, qu’elle soit chez l’enfant, l’adolescent ou l’adulte, n’est pas une catégorie diagnostique aux limites bien définies, mais comporte différents degrés. C'est pour ça que de nombreux psychologues préfèrent parler des caractéristiques de la psychopathie et non "des psychopathes".

C'est pourquoi, même si une équipe de santé mentale fait remarquer qu'un enfant a des traits psychopathiques importants, cela ne signifie pas qu'il va ressembler à un film psychopathe ou à un tueur. Selon les statistiques, même les personnes qui entrent dans cette classification diffuse tendent davantage vers la normalité que vers des caractéristiques plus extrêmes.

De plus, la psychopathie étant mal connue, il est possible que ce soit un faux positif et que le comportement de l'enfant évolue de manière naturelle vers la normalité, sans intervention. En fin de journée certains enfants peuvent exprimer leur inconfort et leurs problèmes émotionnels se comporter de manière très similaire aux psychopathes, pendant un certain temps.

Cela dit, il faut aussi savoir qu’aujourd’hui, il n’existe malheureusement aucun traitement offrant des garanties d’efficacité dans le traitement de la psychopathie infantile, ce qui ne signifie pas qu’il n’y en aura jamais. Cela signifie que nous devrions nous méfier de ceux qui offrent des "remèdes" et autres thérapies miraculeuses; Bien qu'il ne soit pas impossible pour la psychothérapie de s'améliorer, il est peu probable que cela se produise ou que cela se produise à cause de cela.


L'ENFANT NARCISSIQUE (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes