yes, therapy helps!
Childhood anxiety: symptoms and what to do to fight it

Childhood anxiety: symptoms and what to do to fight it

June 24, 2021

The world of children is governed by its own rules, and in certain aspects adults have some difficulty in interpreting them. In childhood, life is experienced in a different way, and the psychological aspect of the little ones does not have to be easy for the caregivers to understand, be they parents, mothers or guardians.

This is something that must be taken into account especially when assessing the importance of recognize the signs of early childhood anxiety , to be able to brake them. In this article we will talk about this phenomenon, more common than it seems.

  • Related article: "The 7 types of anxiety (causes and symptoms)"

What is childhood anxiety?

Infantile anxiety appears when, during childhood, children feel that the experience they live at a certain time, or along a longer stage, exceeds them, without there being a clear or relatively easy solution to address.


Although anxiety disorders in childhood are something quite specific that does not have to occur in all cases in which a child feels anxiety, the latter phenomenon is more frequent than is believed. Situations that enhance its appearance they are, for example, an education based on punishment, the existence of mistreatment or bullying, the obligation to attend many extracurricular activities, etc.

So, it can be said that childhood anxiety is a psychological and physiological phenomenon in which the person enters a state of alert in a sustained manner , experiencing symptoms based on rumination (obsessive thinking and following a "loop") and the hyperactivation of the autonomic nervous system that negatively affect one or several areas of the child's life, such as family life, learning in the educational center he attends, etc.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The 6 stages of childhood (physical and psychic development)"

Symptoms of anxiety in boys and girls

Of course, childhood anxiety has a common basis to the way in which all human beings, regardless of their age, experience anxiety. However, the symptoms are expressed differently, since the vital moment in which the youngest children find themselves, of course, other ways of interacting with the environment and trying to adapt to it .

Thus, although in practice each case is unique, in general, childhood anxiety is manifested in the following symptoms. Each one of them does not have to indicate the sustained presence of anxiety, but if some occur at the same time, it is probably the case.

  • Afraid to remain alone.
  • Tics and semiautomatic stereotyped behaviors (stretching of the hair, biting the nails, etc.).
  • Crying .
  • Need to be physically in touch with the caregiver, constantly.
  • Anguish crisis when separated from caregivers.

On the other hand, in the case of anxiety disorders, other more specific symptoms may appear depending on what the problem is. For example, in the case of phobias, crises occur when there are specific stimuli.


How to help children with anxiety

These are some tips to follow to help the little ones overcome and mitigate their anxiety state.

1. Give clear patterns of behavior

Many times, anxiety appears as a reaction to a chaotic environment, which is not understood. For example, it is not uncommon for childhood anxiety to arise in experiences in which there is a contradiction in the rules of behavior to be followed at home.

That is why it is important to be consistent with these rules, not force the children to obey arbitrary and changing rules , and above all make sure that they understand them and understand why they make sense, even if it is by means of very simplified explanations about their usefulness.

2. Communicate more and better

At a certain age, young children already they are able to express in words what it is that makes them feel bad . The fact that their cognitive skills are not yet fully developed does not mean that their point of view should not count; in these cases, quite the opposite.

3. Show support

The fact that a child feels protected by an adult makes him fear the environment, since he feels that even if he makes a mistake and does something wrong, the presence of the caregivers will act as a buffer or cushion.

4. Affect them

Not all stimuli have to be based on information expressed through words. The signs of affection are essential for proper development during childhood, and in fact it is necessary to rely on it for children to develop adaptive attachment styles.

5. Explain that they should not feel bad

When you experience anxiety, it is easy to fall into the trap of blaming yourself. This also happens in the case of children, so it must be made clear that it is a phenomenon in which, consciously, we can only influence indirectly.


Recognizing and Treating Problematic Fear and Anxiety in Children | #UCLAMDChat Webinar (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Anxiété durant l'enfance: symptômes et mesures à prendre pour la combattre

Anxiété durant l'enfance: symptômes et mesures à prendre pour la combattre

Août 8, 2022

Le monde des enfants est régi par ses propres règles et, à certains égards, les adultes ont du mal à les interpréter. Dans l'enfance, la vie est vécue différemment et l'aspect psychologique des plus petits ne doit pas être facile à comprendre pour les personnes responsables, qu'il s'agisse de parents, de mères ou de tuteurs.

C’est un élément à prendre en compte, en particulier lors de l’évaluation de l’importance de la reconnaître les signes d'anxiété chez les jeunes enfants , pour pouvoir les freiner. Dans cet article, nous parlerons de ce phénomène, plus courant qu'il n'y parait.

  • Article connexe: "Les 7 types d'anxiété (causes et symptômes)"

Qu'est-ce que l'anxiété chez les enfants?

L’anxiété infantile se manifeste lorsque, pendant l’enfance, les enfants ont l’impression que l’expérience qu’ils vivent à une certaine heure, ou le long d’une étape plus longue, les dépasse, sans qu’il existe une solution claire ou relativement facile à résoudre.


Bien que les troubles anxieux de l’enfance soient quelque chose de tout à fait spécifique qui ne se produise pas nécessairement dans tous les cas où un enfant ressent de l’anxiété, ce dernier phénomène est plus fréquent qu’on ne le croit. Situations qui améliorent son apparence il s’agit par exemple d’une éducation fondée sur la punition, l’existence de maltraitance ou de brimades, l’obligation d’assister à de nombreuses activités parascolaires, etc.

On peut donc dire que l’anxiété chez les enfants est un phénomène psychologique et physiologique dans lequel la personne entre dans un état d'alerte de manière soutenue , éprouvant des symptômes basés sur la rumination (pensée obsessionnelle et suivant une "boucle") et l'hyperactivation du système nerveux autonome qui affectent négativement un ou plusieurs domaines de la vie de l'enfant, tels que la vie familiale, l'apprentissage dans le centre éducatif où il fréquente, etc.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 6 étapes de l'enfance (développement physique et psychique)"

Symptômes d'anxiété chez les garçons et les filles

Bien sûr, l’anxiété chez les enfants a une base commune dans la façon dont tous les êtres humains, quel que soit leur âge, éprouvent de l’anxiété. Cependant, les symptômes sont exprimés différemment, car le moment crucial dans lequel se trouvent les plus jeunes enfants, bien sûr, d'autres moyens d'interagir avec l'environnement et d'essayer de s'y adapter .

Ainsi, bien que chaque cas soit unique dans la pratique, l’anxiété chez l’enfant se manifeste généralement par les symptômes suivants. Chacun d'entre eux n'a pas à indiquer la présence persistante d'anxiété, mais si certains se produisent en même temps, c'est probablement le cas.

  • Peur de rester seul.
  • Tics et comportements stéréotypés semi-automatiques (étirement du cheveu, morsure des ongles, etc.).
  • Pleurer .
  • Besoin d'être en contact physique avec le fournisseur de soins, à tout moment.
  • Crise d’angoisse lorsqu’on les sépare des soignants.

D'un autre côté, dans le cas des troubles anxieux, d'autres symptômes plus spécifiques peuvent apparaître en fonction de quel est le problème. Par exemple, dans le cas des phobies, des crises surviennent lorsqu'il existe des stimuli spécifiques.


Comment aider les enfants anxieux

Voici quelques conseils à suivre pour aider les plus jeunes à surmonter et atténuer leur anxiété.

1. Donner des schémas de comportement clairs

Bien souvent, l’anxiété apparaît en réaction à un environnement chaotique, qui n’est pas compris. Par exemple, il n’est pas rare que l’anxiété de l’enfance se produise lors d’expériences où il existe une contradiction dans les règles de comportement à suivre à la maison.

C’est pourquoi il est important de respecter ces règles, ne force pas les enfants à obéir à des règles arbitraires et changeantes , et surtout, assurez-vous qu’ils les comprennent et comprennent pourquoi ils ont un sens, même si c’est au moyen d’explications très simplistes quant à leur utilité.

2. Communiquer plus et mieux

À un certain âge, les jeunes enfants ont déjà ils sont capables d'exprimer en mots ce qui les fait se sentir mal . Le fait que leurs compétences cognitives ne soient pas encore pleinement développées ne signifie pas que leur point de vue ne doit pas compter. dans ces cas, au contraire.

3. Montrez votre soutien

Le fait qu'un enfant se sente protégé par un adulte lui fait craindre l'environnement, puisqu'il pense que même s'il commet une erreur et fait quelque chose de mal, la présence des personnes qui s'en occupent servira de tampon ou de coussin.

4. les affecter

Tous les stimuli ne doivent pas nécessairement être basés sur des informations exprimées par des mots. Les signes d'affection sont essentiels pour un développement correct pendant l’enfance, et il est en fait nécessaire de s’en remettre aux enfants pour développer des styles d’attachement adaptatif.

5. Expliquez qu'ils ne devraient pas se sentir mal

Lorsque vous éprouvez de l'anxiété, il est facile de tomber dans le piège de vous blâmer. Cela se produit également dans le cas des enfants, il faut donc bien préciser que c’est un phénomène sur lequel, consciemment, nous ne pouvons influencer qu’indirectement.


9 Choses que le stress fait à votre corps (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes