yes, therapy helps!
Childhood Disintegrative Disorder: causes, symptoms and diagnosis

Childhood Disintegrative Disorder: causes, symptoms and diagnosis

May 6, 2024

Childhood Disintegrative Disorder (TDI) is the psychiatric category which was used until recently to talk about one of the forms that Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) takes in its early stages of development.

This category has had important modifications since the last update of the manuals that are used in psychiatry and psychology as a clinical guide. However, being recent changes, these are categories that continue to be used in some contexts, and even in a combined way, so it is worth reviewing them.

  • Related article: "The 7 types of neurodevelopmental disorders (symptoms and causes)"

What is Childhood Disintegrative Disorder (TDI)?

Before beginning to describe the Childhood Disintegrative Disorder and due to the transformations that have had their diagnostic criteria, it is important to clarify how the diagnoses themselves work.


The Diagnostic and Statistical Manuals of the Mental Disorders (DSM, for its acronym in English), are compendiums published by the American Psychiatric Association (APA, also by its acronym in English), which describes and group a set of clinical manifestations known as mental disorders.

These manuals have existed since the second half of the previous century in five different versions, and although initially their focus was merely descriptive and informative, currently are among the most commonly used clinical guidelines by mental health professionals .

To mention this is important to understand what the Childhood Disintegrative Disorder was, what criteria continue and what is its name at present.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The 6 stages of childhood (physical and psychic development)"

TDI: a Generalized Development Disorder

Childhood Disintegrative Disorder is a psychiatric classification proposed by the DSM-IV (the DSM in its fourth version) and is part of the Generalized Developmental Disorders (PDD); which, in turn, they are part of the category of the Starter disorders in childhood, childhood or adolescence .

According to the DSM-IV, the general characteristic of the TGD is the presence of a severe and widespread disturbance of several areas of early development , that being serious, it is considered as improper for the level of development and the mental age of the boy or girl.

It manifests in the following areas: skills for social interaction and communication; as well as the presence of stereotyped interests and behaviors (stereotypes is the technical name). In the PDD category, there was also the Autistic Disorder, the Rett Disorder, the Asperger Disorder, the Generalized Development Disorder Not Specified and the Infantile Disintegrative Disorder.


Main characteristic of Childhood Disintegrative Disorder

The main characteristic of the TDI is a marked regression of multiple areas of activity after a period of at least 2 years of development that apparently corresponded to the child's age.

That is, the TDI manifests when the child is at least two years old, has acquired skills expected for his age and, unexpectedly, a regression occurs in at least two of the following areas: verbal and nonverbal communication (expressive or receptive language), social relations and adaptive behavior, play, toilet training, motor skills.

It was also known as Heller's Syndrome, Dementia Infantilis or Disintegrative Psychosis.

From TDI to ASD

As of May 2013, when the latest version of the statistical manuals of mental disorders (the DSM-V) was published, the Disorders of Childhood, Childhood or Adolescence, were no longer called, for become Neurodevelopmental Disorders.

Childhood Disintegrative Disorder (along with other childhood disorders that are located in the subclassification of the PDD), they became part of a single spectrum : Autism Spectrum Disorder.

Childhood, childhood or adolescence DSM-IV Disorders included Mental Retardation, Pervasive Developmental Disorders, Attention Deficit Disorders and Disruptive Behavior, Motor Skill Disorders, Tic Disorders, Learning Disorders, Communication Disorders, Eating Disorders and Child Eating Conduct, Disorders of Disorders, and Other Disorders.

In DSM 5, Neurodevelopmental Disorders are a group of conditions that appear in the early stages of early development, especially characterized by ** difficulties in establishing interpersonal, socio-adaptive and academic relationships. **

Thus, the subcategories of the DSM-IV that we explained above, are transformed into the following: Intellectual Disability, Autistic Spectrum Disorder, Attention Deficit Disorders with Hyperactivity, Motor Disorders, Specific Learning Disorder, Communication Disorders, Eating Disorders , Disorders of Excretion and Disorders of Neurodevelopment Not Specified.

What are the diagnostic criteria currently?

Currently, it is considered that the TDI is one of the many forms that take the first phases of the development of the TEA; question that nowadays It is increasingly easy to diagnose and accompany from the first stages.

As such, it is not a disease, so it has no cure or treatment, but the intervention is about stimulating adaptive skills within the child's own abilities and limits, while detecting and meeting the needs of the child. support for.

ASD is defined in the DSM by mild, moderate or severe levels, and through two basic criteria: 1. the existence a persistent difference in communication (verbal and non-verbal) and social interaction with difficulties to establish interpersonal relationships and to adapt in different contexts; and 2. by the presence of restrictive and repetitive patterns of behavior, for example, stereotypies, monotony or very restricted rituals.

The causes and mechanisms that generate it are nonspecific , although there are suspicions about a central nervous system lesion and about its relationship with medical diseases or genetic conditions. It usually starts with significant increases in activity levels accompanied by periods of irritability and anxiety, followed by loss of speech.

Bibliographic references:

  • Martínez, B. & Rico, D. (2014). The Disorders of Neurodevelopment in the DSM-5. Workshop at the AVAP Conference, of the University of Valencia. Retrieved April 27, 2018. Available at //www.avap-cv.com/images/actividades/2014_jornadas/DSM-5_Final_2.pdf
  • APA (2013). Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-V). American Psychiatric Publishing: Washington, DC; London
  • APA (1995). Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders Fourth Version (DSM-IV). Masson: Barcelona
  • Volkmar, F. & Cohen, D. (1989). Disintegrative Disorder or "Late Onset" Autism. The Journal of Child Psychology and Psychiatry. 30 (5): 717-724.

Childhood Disintegrative Disorder | Child Psychology (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Trouble désintégratif de l'enfance: causes, symptômes et diagnostic

Trouble désintégratif de l'enfance: causes, symptômes et diagnostic

Juin 9, 2022

Trouble désintégratif de l'enfance (TDI) est la catégorie psychiatrique qui était utilisé jusqu'à récemment pour parler de l'une des formes que prend le trouble du spectre de l'autisme (TSA) à ses débuts.

Cette catégorie a subi d'importantes modifications depuis la dernière mise à jour des manuels utilisés en psychiatrie et en psychologie comme guides cliniques. Cependant, s'agissant de changements récents, ces catégories continuent d'être utilisées dans certains contextes, et même de manière combinée, il est donc intéressant de les passer en revue.

  • Article connexe: "Les 7 types de troubles du développement neurologique (symptômes et causes)"

Qu'est-ce que le trouble désintégratif de l'enfance (TDI)?

Avant de commencer à décrire le trouble de désintégration de l'enfance et en raison des critères de diagnostic définis par les transformations, il est important de clarifier le fonctionnement des diagnostics eux-mêmes.


Les manuels diagnostiques et statistiques des troubles mentaux (DSM, pour son acronyme en anglais), sont des recueils publiés par l'American Psychiatric Association (APA, également par son acronyme en anglais), qui décrit et regroupe un ensemble de manifestations cliniques connu sous le nom de troubles mentaux.

Ces manuels existent depuis la seconde moitié du siècle précédent dans cinq versions différentes et, bien qu’à l’origine, leur objectif était simplement de décrire et d’informer, font partie des recommandations cliniques les plus couramment utilisées par les professionnels de la santé mentale .

Pour mentionner cela, il est important de comprendre ce qu'est le trouble de désintégration de l'enfance, quels critères continuent et quel est son nom à l'heure actuelle.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 6 étapes de l'enfance (développement physique et psychique)"

TDI: un trouble généralisé du développement

Trouble désintégratif de l'enfance est une classification psychiatrique proposée par le DSM-IV (le DSM dans sa quatrième version) et fait partie du Trouble généralisé du développement (TED); qui à son tour, ils font partie de la catégorie des désordres du démarreur dans l'enfance, l'enfance ou l'adolescence .

Selon le DSM-IV, la caractéristique générale du TGD est la présence de une perturbation grave et généralisée de plusieurs zones de développement précoce sérieuse, elle est considérée comme inappropriée pour le niveau de développement et l’âge mental du garçon ou de la fille.

Il se manifeste dans les domaines suivants: compétences pour l’interaction et la communication sociales; ainsi que la présence d'intérêts et de comportements stéréotypés (stéréotypes est le nom technique). Dans la catégorie PDD, il y avait aussi le trouble autistique, le trouble Rett, le trouble Asperger, le trouble généralisé du développement non spécifié et le trouble de la désintégration infantile.


Caractéristique principale du trouble de désintégration de l'enfance

La principale caractéristique du TDI est une nette régression de multiples domaines d'activité après une période de développement d'au moins deux ans qui correspond apparemment à l'âge de l'enfant.

C’est-à-dire que le TDI se manifeste lorsque l’enfant a au moins deux ans, a acquis les compétences attendues pour son âge et, de manière inattendue, une régression se produit dans au moins deux des domaines suivants: la communication verbale et non verbale (langage expressif ou réceptif), les relations sociales et le comportement adaptatif, le jeu, la propreté, la motricité.

Il était également connu sous le nom de syndrome de Heller, de démence infantile ou de psychose désintégrative.

De TDI à ASD

En mai 2013, lorsque la dernière version des manuels statistiques de troubles mentaux (le DSM-V) a été publiée, les troubles de l'enfance, de l'enfance ou de l'adolescence n'étaient plus appelés, devenir des troubles neurodéveloppementaux.

Trouble de désintégration de l'enfance (ainsi que d'autres troubles de l'enfance situés dans la sous-classification du TED), ils sont devenus partie d'un spectre unique : Trouble du spectre autistique.

Enfance, enfance ou adolescence Les troubles du DSM-IV incluaient le retard mental, les troubles envahissants du développement, les troubles déficitaires de l'attention et le comportement perturbateur, les troubles de la motricité, les tics, Troubles d'apprentissage, troubles de la communication, troubles de l'alimentation et comportement de manger chez les enfants, troubles de la santé et autres troubles.

Dans le DSM 5, les troubles neurodéveloppementaux constituent un groupe de conditions apparaissant aux premiers stades du développement précoce, caractérisé notamment par ** des difficultés à établir des relations interpersonnelles, socio-adaptatives et académiques. **

Ainsi, les sous-catégories du DSM-IV que nous avons expliquées ci-dessus se transforment en: déficience intellectuelle, trouble du spectre autistique, troubles de l'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention, troubles de la motricité, troubles spécifiques de l'apprentissage, troubles de la communication, troubles de l'alimentation , Troubles de l’excrétion et troubles du neurodéveloppement non spécifiés.

Quels sont les critères de diagnostic actuellement?

Actuellement, on considère que le TDI est l’une des nombreuses formes qui constituent les premières phases du développement du TEA; question que de nos jours Il est de plus en plus facile de diagnostiquer et d’accompagner dès les premières étapes.

En tant que tel, il ne s'agit pas d'une maladie, il n'y a donc pas de remède ni de traitement, mais l'intervention consiste à stimuler les capacités d'adaptation dans la limite des capacités et des capacités de l'enfant, tout en détectant et en répondant à ses besoins. support.

Les TSA sont définis dans le DSM par des niveaux légers, modérés ou graves, et par deux critères de base: 1. l'existence d'une différence persistante dans la communication (verbale et non verbale) et l'interaction sociale avec des difficultés pour établir des relations interpersonnelles et s'adapter dans différents contextes; et 2. par la présence de comportements restrictifs et répétitifs, tels que des stéréotypies, une monotonie ou des rituels très restreints.

Les causes et les mécanismes qui le génèrent ne sont pas spécifiques , bien qu'il y ait des soupçons sur une lésion du système nerveux central et sur ses relations avec des maladies ou des maladies génétiques. Cela commence généralement par une augmentation significative du niveau d'activité, accompagnée de périodes d'irritabilité et d'anxiété, suivies d'une perte de la parole.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Martínez, B. & Rico, D. (2014). Les troubles du neurodéveloppement dans le DSM-5. Atelier à la conférence AVAP de l'Université de Valence. Récupéré le 27 avril 2018. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: //www.avap-cv.com/images/actividades/2014_jornadas/DSM-5_Final_2.pdf.
  • APA (2013). Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux, cinquième édition (DSM-V). American Psychiatric Publishing: Washington, DC; Londres
  • APA (1995). Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux, quatrième version (DSM-IV). Masson: Barcelone
  • Volkmar, F. & Cohen, D. (1989). Désintégration ou autisme "tardif". Journal de psychologie de l'enfant et psychiatrie. 30 (5): 717-724.

Autisme de l'enfant du symptome au diagnostique (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes