yes, therapy helps!
Chlorpromazine: effects and uses of this psychopharmaceutical

Chlorpromazine: effects and uses of this psychopharmaceutical

July 19, 2024

In antiquity, schizophrenia and psychotic disorders had a treatment that allowed to fight the different symptoms and perceptive and cognitive alterations.

This would change with the discovery of the first antipsychotics, and for the first time patients with these disorders can receive outpatient treatment without requiring hospitalization. One of the first and best known is chlorpromazine .

  • Related article: "Types of antipsychotics (or neuroleptics)"

Chlorpromazine: description and a little history

Chlorpromazine is a substance belonging to the group of antipsychotics or neuroleptics , which have a great effect in the control of psychotic symptoms such as hallucinations, agitation and delirium.


It is one of the first antipsychotics, and is part of the group of classic or typical neuroleptics. Structurally it is a phenothiazine. Although it is true that although currently chlorpromazine continues to be used in the treatment of psychopathologies such as schizophrenia, the use of other types of antipsychotics is usually preferred due to the risks and side effects that the classics can generate, at the time they were a revolution and they have served (and continue to serve in many cases) to greatly improve the quality of life of patients with various mental disorders.

This substance was discovered and synthesized by chance by Paul Charpentier in 1950 while looking for a remedy against malaria. However, some time later Henri Laborit, after observing its tranquilizing effects without necessarily causing sedation, would begin to recommend and establish its use in psychiatry. It would be used for the first time in the treatment of psychotic psychopathologies in 1951, with a remarkable success that would lead to the discovery to be called the fourth revolution in psychiatry.


And is that previously the methods used to treat psychotic patients were usually ineffective, risky and highly aversive and painful for the patient (for example induce insulin coma or the use of electroshock). The fact that chlorpromazine was effective allowed a more biologicist view of psychotic disorders and would begin to allow outpatient treatment instead of requiring hospitalization in most cases.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of psychotropic drugs: uses and side effects"

Mechanism of action

As we have mentioned, chlorpromazine is one of the classic or typical antipsychotics. This type of antipsychotic acts by blocking the dopamine receptors in the brain, especially the D2 receptor.

The fact that this blockade is a benefit is due to the fact that in schizophrenia, positive symptoms such as hallucinations, disturbances of thought and language, distraction, agitation and restlessness tend to be due to the presence of an excess of dopamine in the pathway. mesolimbic By blocking its emission there is a great improvement of the psychotic symptomatology of this type.


However both chlorpromazine and the rest of classical antipsychotics affect dopamine receptors non-specifically, that is, throughout the brain. In this way not only the pathway that presents an excess of dopamine is affected, but other pathways that had adequate or even low levels are seen to be in excess of their levels of this neurotransmitter. It also has an effect on acetylcholine and other neurotransmitters. This causes secondary symptoms of varying severity to appear.

In addition, in schizophrenia, other symptoms also appear in which there is a flattening, slowing down or reduction of functions and processes, especially at the cognitive level. The most classic example of these symptoms (called negative) is the alogia or poverty of thought. These symptoms are linked to a dopaminergic deficit in the mesocortical pathway , so that the effect of chlorpromazine not only does not prove positive in these symptoms but could also lead to some worsening.

  • Related article: "The 6 types of schizophrenia and associated characteristics"

Side effects and risks of chlorpromazine

As with other psychotropic drugs, the use of chlorpromazine can have a number of side effects and risks to be taken into consideration. As mentioned above, by exerting an antagonistic effect on dopamine in all pathways it is possible that problems arising from it arise.

One of the main problems derived from the decrease of dopamine, specifically when it occurs in the nigrostriatal pathway, are the appearance of motor disorders such as slowing, akathisia, dystonia, stiffness and tremors both by themselves and in what is called parkinsonian syndrome. Another of the frequent symptoms is tardive dyskinesia or emission of repetitive and involuntary movements of the face and sometimes of the trunk and extremities.

In the tuberoinfundibular pathway, the blockade of dopamine can cause the presence of alterations such as galactorrhea or emission of milk through the breasts (regardless of sex), gynecomastia or breast growth (also in both sexes) and alterations in sexual response.

It has also been commented that chlorpromazine and other typical antipsychotics can cause side effects from their interaction with acetylcholine . Among them we find mental dullness, constipation, blurred vision or ocular hypertension.

Other side effects referred to with certain frequency are a high level of sedation and a remarkable weight gain , there must be caution in cases of food or metabolic problems. It can also cause problems such as high blood pressure or dizziness, having effects on the cardiovascular system.

Finally one of the most serious syndromes and may end with patient's death (although it is very unusual) is the neuroleptic malignant syndrome, in which fever, cyanosis, tachycardia and in some cases coma and even death appear. It is in prevention of this syndrome and other problems by which the dosage of this type of substances is done with extreme care.

Situations and disorders for which it is indicated

One of the most widespread uses of chlorpromazine is even today (although there is a preference for the use of atypical neuroleptics such as olanzapine due to its greater safety and its effects on negative symptoms) the treatment of schizophrenia and other psychotic disorders .

However, chlorpromazine has also been shown to be effective in treating manic states. In general, it is effective in all situations where there are positive psychotic symptoms or states of intense motor agitation. This includes the presence of delirium and in some withdrawal syndromes. It has been used successfully at the time of reduce choreic symptoms in Huntington's Korea , and sometimes it can be used as a last option in cases of OCD.

At a more physiological level, we observe that it is sometimes used to treat intestinal problems such as nausea and vomiting (since it is antiemetic), tetanus or porphyria.

Also, given its tranquilizing potential, sometimes it has also been used in situations where there are problems with sleep (not in vain, at first antipsychotics were called the major tranquilizers). Also in situations that deal with high pain .

Bibliographic references:

  • Gómez, M. (2012). Psychobiology CEDE Preparation Manual PIR.12. CEDE: Madrid.
  • Mazana, J.S .; Pereira, J. and Cabrera, R. (2002). Fifty years of chlorpromazine. Spanish Journal of Penitentiary Health, vol.4 (3). CP Tenerife II. Medical services.
  • Salazar, M .; Peralta, C .; Pastor, J. (2006). Manual of Psychopharmacology. Madrid, Panamericana Medical Publishing House.

The Evidence for Chlorpromazine (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Chlorpromazine: effets et utilisations de ce psychopharmaceutique

Chlorpromazine: effets et utilisations de ce psychopharmaceutique

Décembre 7, 2022

Dans l'Antiquité, la schizophrénie et les troubles psychotiques avaient un traitement permettant de lutter contre les différents symptômes et les altérations perceptives et cognitives.

Cela changerait avec la découverte des premiers antipsychotiques et, pour la première fois, les patients atteints de ces troubles pourraient recevoir un traitement ambulatoire sans nécessiter d'hospitalisation. La chlorpromazine est l’un des premiers et des plus connus. .

  • Article connexe: "Types d'antipsychotiques (ou neuroleptiques)"

Chlorpromazine: description et petite histoire

La chlorpromazine est une substance appartenant au groupe des antipsychotiques ou des neuroleptiques , qui ont un effet important sur le contrôle des symptômes psychotiques tels que les hallucinations, l’agitation et le délire.


C'est l'un des premiers antipsychotiques et fait partie du groupe des neuroleptiques classiques ou typiques. Structurellement c'est une phénothiazine. Bien qu'il soit vrai qu'actuellement, la chlorpromazine continue à être utilisée dans le traitement de psychopathologies telles que la schizophrénie, l'utilisation d'autres types d'antipsychotiques est généralement préférée en raison des risques et des effets secondaires que les médicaments classiques peuvent générer, à l'époque où ils étaient une révolution. et ils ont servi (et continuent à servir dans de nombreux cas) à améliorer considérablement la qualité de vie des patients atteints de divers troubles mentaux.

Cette substance a été découverte et synthétisée par hasard par Paul Charpentier. en 1950 en cherchant un remède contre le paludisme. Cependant, quelque temps plus tard, Henri Laborit, après avoir observé ses effets tranquillisants sans provoquer nécessairement de sédation, commencerait à recommander et à établir son utilisation en psychiatrie. Il serait utilisé pour la première fois dans le traitement des psychopathologies psychotiques en 1951, avec un succès remarquable qui conduirait à la découverte de la quatrième révolution de la psychiatrie.


Et est-ce qu'avant, les méthodes utilisées pour traiter les patients psychotiques étaient généralement inefficaces, risquées, extrêmement aversives et douloureuses pour le patient (par exemple, induire un coma d'insuline ou l'utilisation d'un électrochoc). Le fait que la chlorpromazine soit efficace permis une vision plus biologiste des troubles psychotiques et commencerait à permettre un traitement ambulatoire au lieu de nécessiter une hospitalisation dans la plupart des cas.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Types de médicaments psychotropes: usages et effets secondaires"

Mécanisme d'action

Comme nous l'avons mentionné, la chlorpromazine est l'un des antipsychotiques classiques ou typiques. Ce type d'antipsychotique agit en bloquant les récepteurs de la dopamine dans le cerveau, en particulier le récepteur D2.

Le fait que ce blocage soit un avantage est dû au fait que, dans la schizophrénie, des symptômes positifs tels que des hallucinations, des troubles de la pensée et du langage, une distraction, une agitation et une agitation ont tendance à être dus à la présence d’un excès de dopamine dans le circuit. mésolimbique En bloquant son émission, il y a une grande amélioration de la symptomatologie psychotique de ce type.


Cependant, la chlorpromazine et le reste des antipsychotiques classiques affecter les récepteurs de la dopamine non spécifiquement, c'est-à-dire dans tout le cerveau. De cette manière, non seulement la voie qui présente un excès de dopamine est affectée, mais d’autres voies qui présentaient des niveaux adéquats, voire faibles, dépassaient celles de ce neurotransmetteur. Il a également un effet sur l'acétylcholine et d'autres neurotransmetteurs. Cela provoque l'apparition de symptômes secondaires de gravité variable.

En outre, dans la schizophrénie, d’autres symptômes apparaissent, notamment un aplatissement, un ralentissement ou une réduction des fonctions et des processus, en particulier au niveau cognitif. L'exemple le plus classique de ces symptômes (appelé négatif) est l'alogia ou la pauvreté de la pensée. Ces symptômes sont liés à un déficit dopaminergique dans la voie mésocorticale , de sorte que l'effet de la chlorpromazine non seulement ne se révèle pas positif pour ces symptômes, mais pourrait également entraîner une certaine aggravation.

  • Article connexe: "Les 6 types de schizophrénie et leurs caractéristiques associées"

Effets secondaires et risques de la chlorpromazine

Comme avec d'autres médicaments psychotropes, l'utilisation de la chlorpromazine peut avoir un certain nombre d'effets secondaires et de risques à prendre en compte. Comme mentionné ci-dessus, en exerçant un effet antagoniste sur la dopamine dans toutes les voies, il est possible que des problèmes en découlent.

L’un des principaux problèmes liés à la diminution de la dopamine, en particulier lorsqu’il se produit dans la voie nigrostriatale, est l’apparition de troubles moteurs tels que ralentissement, acathisie, dystonie, raideur et des tremblements à la fois par eux-mêmes et dans ce qu'on appelle le syndrome parkinsonien. La dyskinésie tardive ou l’émission de mouvements répétitifs et involontaires du visage et parfois du tronc et des extrémités sont un autre symptôme fréquent.

Dans la voie tuberoinfundibular, le blocage de la dopamine peut causer la présence de des altérations telles que la galactorrhée ou l'émission de lait par les seins (indépendamment du sexe), gynécomastie ou croissance mammaire (également chez les deux sexes) et altérations de la réponse sexuelle.

Il a également été signalé que la chlorpromazine et d'autres antipsychotiques typiques peuvent provoquer des effets secondaires de leur interaction avec l'acétylcholine . Parmi eux, on trouve la matité mentale, la constipation, une vision floue ou une hypertension oculaire.

Les autres effets indésirables mentionnés avec une certaine fréquence sont les suivants: un niveau élevé de sédation et un gain de poids remarquable , il faut faire preuve de prudence en cas de problèmes alimentaires ou métaboliques. Cela peut également causer des problèmes tels qu'une pression artérielle élevée ou des vertiges, avec des effets sur le système cardiovasculaire.

Enfin l'un des syndromes les plus graves et peut se terminer par la mort du patient Le syndrome malin des neuroleptiques est caractérisé par une fièvre, une cyanose, une tachycardie et, dans certains cas, un coma, voire la mort. C'est dans la prévention de ce syndrome et d'autres problèmes que le dosage de ce type de substances est effectué avec un soin extrême.

Situations et troubles pour lesquels il est indiqué

L’une des utilisations les plus répandues de la chlorpromazine est encore actuelle (bien que l’on préfère utiliser des neuroleptiques atypiques tels que l’olanzapine en raison de sa sécurité accrue et de ses effets sur les symptômes négatifs). le traitement de la schizophrénie et d'autres troubles psychotiques .

Cependant, la chlorpromazine s'est également révélée efficace dans le traitement des états maniaques. En général, il est efficace dans toutes les situations où il existe des symptômes psychotiques positifs ou des états d'agitation motrice intense. Cela inclut la présence de délire et dans certains syndromes de sevrage. Il a été utilisé avec succès au moment de réduire les symptômes choréiques en Corée de Huntington , et parfois, il peut être utilisé comme dernière option en cas de TOC.

À un niveau plus physiologique, nous observons qu'il est parfois utilisé pour traiter des problèmes intestinaux tels que nausées et vomissements (car il est antiémétique), le tétanos ou la porphyrie.

De plus, étant donné son potentiel tranquillisant, il a parfois été utilisé dans des situations de problèmes de sommeil (ce n’est pas pour rien que les antipsychotiques étaient d’abord appelés les tranquillisants majeurs). Également dans des situations de forte douleur .

Références bibliographiques:

  • Gómez, M. (2012). Psychobiologie Manuel de préparation CEDE PIR.12. CEDE: Madrid.
  • Mazana, J.S .; Pereira, J. et Cabrera, R. (2002). Cinquante ans de chlorpromazine. Journal espagnol de la santé pénitentiaire, vol.4 (3). CP Tenerife II. Services médicaux.
  • Salazar, M .; Peralta, C .; Pastor, J. (2006). Manuel de psychopharmacologie. Madrid, maison d'édition médicale panaméricaine.

Depressed dogs, cats with OCD -- what animal madness means for us humans | Laurel Braitman (Décembre 2022).


Articles Connexes