yes, therapy helps!
Choose partner: 5 important aspects to consider

Choose partner: 5 important aspects to consider

May 1, 2024

Why do we fail so much when choosing a couple? Why do we perpetuate relationships that make us unhappy?

There is the possibility of making love a conscious choice, a decision taken not only from the emotion and impulsiveness of falling in love, but also from rationality and lucidity (all the lucidity that can be had in a brain flooded with oxytocin).

The problem is not that love is predestined to failure: it is not. But knowing how to choose a partner is not always easy.

Misguided love choices

The problem comes when we rush when choosing a partner, either because we do not want or know how to be alone and we throw ourselves into the arms of the first one who provides us with attention, well because we do not love each other, and we need someone else to fill our lack of self-esteem with their care and affection, or because they blind us certain characteristics of the other that prevent us from seeing the whole of their personality.


Looking for a protective figure

If we relate from the lack is likely to look in the partner (unconsciously) a substitute for our father / mother , a nurse, a psychologist or someone who fulfills all those roles at the same time.

This will make the relationship immediately unbalanced, our demands grow and we will never be satisfied our needs, the other person will be exhausted and the relationship will eventually lead to unhappiness, hatred or rupture.

Therefore, the main step that we always forget is to learn to be alone with ourselves.

To be complete people, to treat our shortcomings, to establish clear life goals , manage our emotions, tolerate frustration and fear of failure, self-care and love as unique and unrepeatable people that we are ... all these factors will allow our affective life to be healthier and beneficial for all.


Mini-guide on the choice of couple

Once we have done that task of introspection and personal work we will be (relatively) prepared to start a loving relationship.

What filters can we use when choosing the person with whom to start a relationship?

1. Remember our failed relationships

Avoiding that the "ex" is present in another person's body is necessary, since we tend to always choose the same type of couples, and therefore to recreate pathological relationship patterns and end up in conflict always for the same reasons.

Identify what failed in your previous relationships and what characteristics the new partner (and you) must have so as not to end up equally bad.

2. Find common points

Observe and identify the other person's values, beliefs and life expectancies and assess if objectively fit with yours.


If for example you do not want to have children and you enter in relation with a woman who is wishing to be a mother, sooner or later a great conflict will be generated that will lead or end the relationship, or to renounce one of the members to her life plan, that will generate anger, anger, frustration and dissatisfaction.

3. Examine the conversation

One of the most enriching experiences of being in a couple is to open yourself to the other person and be able to share emotions, concerns and feelings through the word.

When there is no fluent conversation, it is likely that you will quickly get boredom and dissatisfaction.

4. Look at the sense of humor

Life is too short to decide to spend it with someone who does not make you laugh. It is therefore important that you and your partner share a sense of humor and be able to have fun together.

5. Same degree of commitment in the relationship

Either a monogamous or polygamous relationship, what is important is that both members agree with the degree of exclusivity by which they want to build their relationship.

Still following these guidelines can the relationship "fail"?

Of course. First of all we have to free ourselves from the idea of ​​the couple as something eternal, of the "forever", since within the uncertainty that a relationship supposes, everything can happen.

It is therefore important to continue building our life beyond the couple, making it an important part of our lives, but not a whole, eliminating phrases such as "you are my life" from my vocabulary, "I can not live without you", " always yours "more typical of emotional and affective dependence than of love.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 4 types of love: what different kinds of love are there?"

Why We Pick Difficult Partners (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Choisissez partenaire: 5 aspects importants à considérer

Choisissez partenaire: 5 aspects importants à considérer

Janvier 17, 2022

Pourquoi échouons-nous autant lors du choix d'un couple? Pourquoi perpétuons-nous des relations qui nous rendent malheureux?

Il y a la possibilité de faire de l'amour un choix conscient, une décision prise non seulement par l'émotion et l'impulsivité de tomber amoureux, mais aussi par la rationalité et la lucidité (toute la lucidité que l'on peut avoir dans un cerveau inondé d'oxytocine).

Le problème n'est pas que l'amour est prédestiné à l'échec: il ne l'est pas. Mais savoir choisir un partenaire n'est pas toujours facile.

Choix d'amour égarés

Le problème survient lorsque nous nous précipitons lorsque nous choisissons un partenaire, soit parce que nous ne voulons pas ou ne savons pas être seuls et que nous nous jetons dans les bras du premier qui nous fournit de l'attention, et bien parce que nous ne nous aimons pas et qu'il nous faut quelqu'un d'autre pour combler notre manque d'estime de soi. avec leurs soins et leur affection, ou parce qu’ils nous aveuglent certaines caractéristiques de l’autre qui nous empêchent de voir toute leur personnalité.


À la recherche d'une silhouette protectrice

Si nous rapportons du manque est susceptible de chercher dans le partenaire (inconsciemment) un substitut pour notre père / mère , une infirmière, un psychologue ou une personne qui remplit tous ces rôles en même temps.

Cela rendra la relation immédiatement déséquilibrée, nos demandes augmenteront et nous ne serons jamais satisfaits de nos besoins, l'autre personne sera épuisée et la relation finira par mener au malheur, à la haine ou à la rupture.

Par conséquent, l'étape principale que nous oublions toujours est d'apprendre à être seul avec nous-mêmes.

Être des personnes complètes, traiter nos lacunes, établir des objectifs de vie clairs , gérons nos émotions, tolérons la frustration et la peur de l’échec, les soins personnels et l’amour en tant que personnes uniques et irremplaçables que nous sommes… tous ces facteurs permettront à notre vie affective d’être en meilleure santé et bénéfique pour tous.


Mini-guide sur le choix du couple

Une fois que nous aurons accompli cette tâche d’introspection et de travail personnel, nous serons (relativement) préparés à commencer une relation amoureuse.

Quels filtres pouvons-nous utiliser lors du choix de la personne avec laquelle commencer une relation?

1. Rappelez-vous nos relations ratées

Il est nécessaire d'éviter que "l'ex" soit présent dans le corps d'une autre personne, car nous avons tendance à toujours choisir le même type de couple et donc à recréer des schémas relationnels pathologiques et à aboutir à des conflits toujours pour les mêmes raisons.

Identifiez ce qui a échoué dans vos relations précédentes et quelles sont les caractéristiques que le nouveau partenaire (et vous-même) devez avoir pour ne pas se retrouver tout aussi mal.

2. Trouver des points communs

Observer et identifier les valeurs, les croyances et l'espérance de vie de l'autre personne et évaluez si vous vous adaptez objectivement à la vôtre.


Si, par exemple, vous ne voulez pas avoir d'enfants et que vous entrez en relation avec une femme qui souhaite être mère, tôt ou tard, un grand conflit se produira qui mènera ou mettra fin à la relation, ou renoncera à l'un des membres de son projet de vie, cela va générer de la colère, de la colère, de la frustration et de l'insatisfaction.

3. Examiner la conversation

L’une des expériences les plus enrichissantes d’être en couple est de s’ouvrir à l’autre personne et être capable de partager des émotions, des préoccupations et des sentiments à travers le mot.

Lorsque vous ne parlez pas couramment, vous risquez rapidement de vous ennuyer et de vous sentir insatisfait.

4. Regardez le sens de l'humour

La vie est trop courte pour décider de la passer à quelqu'un qui ne vous fait pas rire. Il est donc important que votre partenaire et vous partagiez le même sens de l'humour et que vous puissiez vous amuser ensemble.

5. Même degré d'engagement dans la relation

Une relation monogame ou polygame, ce qui est important, c’est que les deux membres soient d’accord avec le degré d’exclusivité par lequel ils veulent construire leur relation.

Toujours en suivant ces directives, la relation peut-elle "échouer"?

Bien sûr. Tout d’abord, nous devons nous libérer de l’idée du couple comme éternel, du «pour toujours», car dans l’incertitude que suppose une relation, tout peut arriver.

Il est donc important de continuer à construire notre vie au-delà du couple, en en faisant une partie importante de notre vie, mais pas en un tout, en éliminant des expressions telles que "tu es ma vie" de mon vocabulaire, "je ne peux pas vivre sans toi", " toujours à vous "plus typique de la dépendance affective et affective que de l'amour.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Les 4 types d’amour: quels sont les différents types d’amour?"
Articles Connexes