yes, therapy helps!
Christine Ladd-Franklin: biography of this experimental psychologist

Christine Ladd-Franklin: biography of this experimental psychologist

September 24, 2022

Christine Ladd-Franklin (1847-1930) was a mathematician, psychologist and feminist suffragist who fought to eliminate the barriers that prevented women from accessing universities in the first half of the 20th century. Among other things he worked as a teacher in logic and mathematics, and later developed a theory of color vision that significantly impacted modern psychology.

Then we'll see a biography of Christine Ladd-Franklin , a psychologist who not only developed important scientific knowledge, but also fought to guarantee access and participation of women in universities.

  • Related article: "History of Psychology: authors and main theories"

Christine Ladd-Franklin: biography of this American psychologist

Christine Ladd-Franklin was born on December 1, 1847, in Connecticut, United States. She was the eldest of two brothers, children of Eliphalet and Augusta Ladd. ** Her mother was a suffrage activist ** who died when Christine was young, with which Ladd-Franklin ended up moving with her aunt and paternal grandmother to New Hampshire.


In 1866 he began studying at Vassar College (school for women). However, he had to leave his studies very soon due to economic situations. He took them back two years later thanks to his own savings and after receiving family financial support.

From the beginning, Christine Ladd-Franklin he had a great motivation for research and science . At Vassar College he was formed together with Maria Mitchell, a well-known American astronomer who already had an important international recognition.

For example, she is the first woman to have discovered a new comet through a telescope and is also the first woman to be part of the American Academy of Arts and Science, as well as the American Association of Scientific Advances. Mitchell was also a woman suffragist, who greatly inspired Ladd-Franklin in her professional development and as a scientific woman.


Christine Ladd-Franklin was especially interested in physics, but faced with the difficulties of pursuing a career as a researcher in that area, he moved towards mathematics . And then, towards experimental research in psychology and physiology.

Ladd-Franklin before the exclusion of women in the academy

In addition to being recognized as an important psychologist, Christine Ladd-Franklin is remembered for having firmly opposed the policies of women's exclusion in the new American universities, as well as those who defended those policies.

For example, in 1876 he wrote a letter to renowned mathematician James J. Sylvester at the newly formed John Hopkins University to directly question if being a woman was a logical and sufficient reason to deny her access to higher education .


At the same time, he sent a request for admission with a scholarship to said university, signed with the name of "C. Ladd ", and along with an excellent academic record. It was admitted, until the committee discovered that the letter "C" was from "Christine", which was about to cancel their admission. At this time Sylvester intervened and Ladd-Franklin was finally accepted as a full-time student, although with "special" treatment.

Training in logic and mathematics

James J. Sylvester was a well-known academic; among other things, he is credited with coining the terms "matrix" and the theory of algebraic invariants. Along with him, Christine Ladd-Franklin was trained in mathematics. On the other hand, he was formed in symbolic logic with Charles S. Peirce , one of the philosophers who founded pragmatism. Christine Ladd-Franklin who became the first American woman to receive formal education with such scientists.

He finished his doctoral training in logic and mathematics in the year of 1882, with a thesis that was later included in one of Pierce's most important volumes on logic and syllogisms. However, and under the argument that coeducation was not typical of civilized communities, his doctoral degree was not officially recognized by the university . They spent 44 years, and on the 50th anniversary of Johns Hopkins University, when Ladd-Franklin was 79 years old, he was finally recognized with that academic degree.

However, she worked as a professor at the same university during the first years of 1900, which added more difficulties, because she decided to marry and start a family together with the mathematician Fabian Franklin (from whom he took the surname).In this context, married women had even more problems to access and sustain official academic activities.

Likewise, Christine Ladd-Franklin protested in an important way before the refusal of British psychologist Edward Titchener to admit women to the Society of Experimental Psychologists that he had founded as an alternative option to meetings of the American Psychological Association (APA). Where, in fact, Christine Ladd-Franklin did participate regularly.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Edward Titchener and structuralist psychology"

Development in Experimental Psychology

Christine Ladd-Franklin moved to Germany along with Fabian Franklin, where she developed her research in color vision. In the beginning He worked in the Göttingen laboratory with Georg Elias Müller (one of the founders of experimental psychology). Later he was in Berlin, in a laboratory together with Hermann von Helmholtz, physicist and philosopher pioneer in physiological psychology.

After working with them and with other experimental psychologists, Christine Ladd-Franklin developed a theory of her own about how our photoreceptors act in connection with the chemical functioning of the nervous system, allowing us to perceive different colors.

Theory of color vision of Ladd-Franklin

During the nineteenth century there were two main theories on color vision, whose validity continues, at least in part, to this day. On the one hand, in 1803, the English scientist Thomas Young had proposed that our retina is prepared to perceive three "primary colors": red, green, blue or violet. On the other hand, the German physiologist Ewald Hering had proposed that there are three pairs of such colors: red-green, yellow-blue and black and white; Y He studied how the photosensitive reaction of nerves ensures that we can perceive them .

What Ladd-Franklin proposed is that there is rather a process consisting of Three stages in the development of color vision . Black and white vision is the most primitive of the stages, because it can occur under very little illumination. Then, the white color is what allows the differentiation between blue and yellow, and the latter, yellow, allows the differentiated vision of red-green.

In very broad strokes, Christine Ladd-Franklin managed to unite the two great theoretical proposals of color vision in an evolutionary photochemical hypothesis. Specifically described the process of action of ether waves on the retina ; understood as one of the main generators of light sensations.

His theory was very well received in the scientific context of the early twentieth century, and its influence has remained to this day, especially the emphasis he placed on the evolutionary factor of our color vision.

Bibliographic references:

  • Vaughn, K. (2010). Profile Christine Ladd-Franklin. Retrieved June 26, 2018. Available at //www.feministvoices.com/christine-ladd-franklin/.
  • Vassar Encyclopedia. (2008). Christine Ladd-Franklin. Retrieved June 26, 2018. Available at // vcencyclopedia.vassar.edu/alumni/christine-ladd-franklin.html.
  • Dauder Garcia, S. (2005). Psychology and feminism Forgotten history of women pioneers in psychology. Narcea: Madrid.

Christine Ladd-Franklin (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Christine Ladd-Franklin: biographie de cette psychologue expérimentale

Christine Ladd-Franklin: biographie de cette psychologue expérimentale

Septembre 8, 2022

Christine Ladd-Franklin (1847-1930) était une mathématicienne, psychologue et suffragiste féministe qui s’est battue pour éliminer les obstacles qui empêchaient les femmes d’accéder aux universités dans la première moitié du XXe siècle. Entre autres choses, il a enseigné la logique et les mathématiques et a par la suite développé une théorie de la vision des couleurs qui a eu un impact significatif sur la psychologie moderne.

Ensuite nous verrons une biographie de Christine Ladd-Franklin , psychologue qui a non seulement développé des connaissances scientifiques importantes, mais s'est également battue pour garantir l'accès et la participation des femmes dans les universités.

  • Article connexe: "Histoire de la psychologie: auteurs et théories principales"

Christine Ladd-Franklin: biographie de cette psychologue américaine

Christine Ladd-Franklin est née le 1 er décembre 1847 dans le Connecticut, aux États-Unis. Elle était l'aînée de deux frères, les enfants d'Eliphalet et d'Augusta Ladd **. Sa mère était une militante du suffrage ** décédée alors que Christine était jeune. Ladd-Franklin finit par déménager avec sa tante et sa grand-mère paternelle au New Hampshire.


En 1866, il commença à étudier à Vassar College (école de femmes). Cependant, il dut quitter très vite ses études en raison de la situation économique. Il les a ramenés deux ans plus tard, grâce à ses propres économies et après avoir reçu un soutien financier de la famille.

Depuis le début, Christine Ladd-Franklin il avait une grande motivation pour la recherche et la science . Au Vassar College, il a été formé avec Maria Mitchell, un astronome américain bien connu qui jouissait déjà d'une importante reconnaissance internationale.

Par exemple, elle est la première femme à avoir découvert une nouvelle comète à l'aide d'un télescope et la première femme à faire partie de l'Académie américaine des arts et des sciences, ainsi que de l'Association américaine des avancées scientifiques. Mitchell était également une femme suffragiste, qui a grandement inspiré Ladd-Franklin dans son développement professionnel et en tant que femme scientifique.


Christine Ladd-Franklin s'intéressait particulièrement à la physique, mais devait faire face à des difficultés pour poursuivre une carrière de chercheur dans ce domaine. il s'est orienté vers les mathématiques . Et ensuite, vers la recherche expérimentale en psychologie et physiologie.

Ladd-Franklin avant l'exclusion des femmes à l'académie

Christine Ladd-Franklin a non seulement été reconnue comme une psychologue importante, mais elle s’est également fermement opposée aux politiques d’exclusion des femmes dans les nouvelles universités américaines, ainsi qu’à celles qui les ont défendues.

Par exemple, en 1876, il écrivit une lettre au célèbre mathématicien James J. Sylvester de la nouvelle université John Hopkins pour lui poser directement des questions. si être une femme était une raison logique et suffisante de lui refuser l'accès à l'enseignement supérieur .


Au même moment, il a envoyé une demande d'admission avec une bourse à ladite université, signée du nom de "C. Ladd "et un excellent dossier académique. Il a été admis jusqu'à ce que le comité découvre que la lettre "C" venait de "Christine", sur le point d'annuler leur admission. À ce moment, Sylvester intervint et Ladd-Franklin fut finalement accepté comme étudiant à temps plein, malgré un traitement "spécial".

Formation en logique et en mathématiques

James J. Sylvester était un universitaire bien connu. entre autres choses, il est reconnu pour avoir inventé les termes "matrice" et la théorie des invariants algébriques. Avec lui, Christine Ladd-Franklin a été formée en mathématiques. D'un autre côté, il a été formé dans la logique symbolique avec Charles S. Peirce , l'un des philosophes fondateurs du pragmatisme. Christine Ladd-Franklin qui est devenue la première femme américaine à recevoir une éducation formelle avec de tels scientifiques.

Il termine sa formation doctorale en logique et en mathématiques en 1882, avec une thèse qui est ensuite incluse dans l'un des plus importants ouvrages de Pierce sur la logique et les syllogismes. Cependant, et sous l’argument selon lequel la coéducation n’était pas typique des communautés civilisées, son doctorat n'a pas été officiellement reconnu par l'université . Ils ont passé 44 ans et, à l’occasion du cinquantième anniversaire de l’Université Johns Hopkins, alors que Ladd-Franklin avait 79 ans, il a finalement été reconnu pour ce diplôme universitaire.

Cependant, elle a travaillé comme professeur dans la même université au cours des premières années de 1900, ce qui a ajouté des difficultés, car elle a décidé de se marier et de fonder une famille avec le mathématicien Fabian Franklin (dont il a pris le nom de famille).Dans ce contexte, les femmes mariées avaient encore plus de problèmes pour accéder aux activités universitaires officielles et les maintenir.

De même, Christine Ladd-Franklin a protesté de manière importante avant le refus du psychologue britannique Edward Titchener d'admettre des femmes à la Society of Experimental Psychologists qu'il avait fondé comme alternative aux réunions de l'American Psychological Association (APA). Là où, en fait, Christine Ladd-Franklin a participé régulièrement.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Edward Titchener et la psychologie structuraliste"

Développement en psychologie expérimentale

Christine Ladd-Franklin s'est installée en Allemagne avec Fabian Franklin, où elle a développé ses recherches sur la vision des couleurs. Dans un commencement Il a travaillé dans le laboratoire de Göttingen avec Georg Elias Müller (un des fondateurs de la psychologie expérimentale). Plus tard, il était à Berlin, dans un laboratoire avec Hermann von Helmholtz, physicien et philosophe pionnier de la psychologie physiologique.

Après avoir travaillé avec eux et avec d’autres psychologues expérimentaux, Christine Ladd-Franklin a développé sa propre théorie sur comment agissent nos photorécepteurs en liaison avec le fonctionnement chimique du système nerveux, nous permettant de percevoir des couleurs différentes.

Théorie de la vision des couleurs de Ladd-Franklin

Au XIXe siècle, il existait deux théories principales sur la vision des couleurs, dont la validité se maintient, du moins en partie, à ce jour. D'une part, en 1803, le scientifique anglais Thomas Young avait proposé que notre rétine soit prête à percevoir trois "couleurs primaires": le rouge, le vert, le bleu ou le violet. De son côté, le physiologiste allemand Ewald Hering avait proposé trois paires de couleurs de ce type: rouge vert, jaune bleu et noir et blanc; et Il a étudié comment la réaction photosensible des nerfs permet de les percevoir .

Ce que Ladd-Franklin a proposé, c’est qu’il existe plutôt un processus consistant à: Trois étapes dans le développement de la vision des couleurs . La vision en noir et blanc est la plus primitive des étapes, car elle peut se produire sous très peu d'éclairage. Ensuite, la couleur blanche est ce qui permet la différenciation entre le bleu et le jaune, et ce dernier, le jaune, permet la vision différenciée du rouge-vert.

De manière très générale, Christine Ladd-Franklin a réussi à réunir les deux grandes propositions théoriques de la vision des couleurs dans une hypothèse photochimique évolutive. Spécifiquement décrit le processus d'action des ondes éthérées sur la rétine ; compris comme l’un des principaux générateurs de sensations lumineuses.

Sa théorie a été très bien reçue dans le contexte scientifique du début du XXe siècle et son influence est restée jusqu'à ce jour, en particulier l'accent qu'il a mis sur le facteur d'évolution de notre vision des couleurs.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Vaughn, K. (2010). Profil Christine Ladd-Franklin. Récupéré le 26 juin 2018. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.feministvoices.com/christine-ladd-franklin/.
  • Encyclopédie Vassar. (2008). Christine Ladd-Franklin. Récupéré le 26 juin 2018. Disponible à l'adresse // vcencyclopedia.vassar.edu/alumni/christine-ladd-franklin.html.
  • Dauder Garcia, S. (2005). Psychologie et féminisme Histoire oubliée de femmes pionnières en psychologie. Narcea: Madrid.

The Great Gildersleeve: Leila Returns / The Waterworks Breaks Down / Halloween Party (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes