yes, therapy helps!
Chronophobia (fear of the passage of time): causes, symptoms and treatment

Chronophobia (fear of the passage of time): causes, symptoms and treatment

October 5, 2022

All of us, over the years, become older . As time goes by, we accept that we can not do anything to change this situation. However, some people experience the irrational fear of aging, which is known as gerontofobia or gerascofobia, because they suffer great anxiety in the face of physical changes and the consequences for a person has to reach old age.

However, other individuals experience great fear over time, something that causes great discomfort. This phobia is called chronophobia, and in this article we will know its characteristics, its causes, its symptoms and its treatment.

  • Compilation of famous quotes about time

What is chronophobia

Chronophobia is a specific phobia and, therefore, an anxiety disorder . It is an irrational fear that creates great discomfort and anxiety for the person who suffers, who tends to avoid phobic stimulation in an attempt to reduce the negative symptoms associated with this disorder.


According to experts, elders and people in jail experience it more frequently. In this last case, it has been coined as "neurosis of prisons".

As for the elderly, they are close to the end of their lives and may experience high levels of anxiety over time, which may make them feel that time is running out and they experience strong fear, anxiety and anguish.

Chronophobia can cause a significant and serious alteration to the life of people who suffer it, since they are constantly in contact with the phobic stimulus, that is, the element they fear. No one can stop the time, so this phobia can develop anytime and anywhere. When anxious responses appear, it is difficult for the person to avoid the feared situation.


Causes of this phobia

The causes of this phobia are not clear, since the phobic stimulus that the elicita is somewhat more complex and abstract than other specific phobias, such as fear of flying, fear of clowns or fear of spiders.

The vast majority of specific phobias are caused by a traumatic experience during childhood . This occurs through an associative learning called classical conditioning, because there is an association between a stimulus that provokes a reflex response of fear and another that at first does not produce it, but that with joint exposure ends up producing it.

This concept, initially investigated by Ivan Pavlov, was made known mainly through the experiments of John B. Watson, an American psychologist who conducted a series of studies, which today would be considered unethical, with a small boy named Albert. At the beginning of the experiment, the subject enjoyed the company of a beautiful white rat, but after successive trials, he was unable to approach the animal because of the intense fear he suffered before the inoffensive creature.


  • To understand how this type of associative learning develops, you can read our article: "Classical conditioning and its most important experiments"

Other causes of this phobic disorder

However, in the case of chronophobia the development of this irrational fear has much to do with the irrational beliefs that the person has, and the lack of acceptance of the individual about what life is.

Some experts say that there may also be a genetic origin, for example, adrenal insufficiency, which causes the adrenal glands not produce adequate amounts of hormones such as cortisol or aldosterone, what tends to make a person more susceptible to anxiety and fear . Some people may also have an anxious personality type, which may facilitate the onset of the disorder.

On the other hand, other health professionals believe that people are biologically predisposed to suffer irrational fears, since fears have to do with the primitive brain, and phobias are produced by associations of this type and non-cognitive, so they do not usually respond to logical arguments. This, which may have been very adaptive in the past and has contributed to the survival of human beings over the centuries, can cause this type of disorder.

Symptoms of fear over time

Like any phobia, fear of the passage of time causes a series of characteristic symptoms. The person suffers a great anxiety resulting from their irrational ideas over the passage of time. Confusion, daze, lack of concentration, etc., are some of the cognitive symptoms that the person experiences .

In addition, there are a series of physical and physiological symptoms, such as the following:

  • Headache
  • Dizziness
  • Shortness of breath
  • Suffocation
  • Nausea and vomiting
  • Tremors
  • Dry mouth
  • Palpitations

Treatment and therapy

Phobias are frequent disorders, so there are many studies regarding the effectiveness of the treatment. These studies indicate that psychotherapy is really useful, especially cognitive behavioral therapy.

This type of therapy includes different techniques, but the most important ones to treat phobic disorders are breathing techniques and exposure techniques (real or imagined). One technique that includes both techniques is systematic desensitization , in which the patient is exposed to his fear and at the same time he is taught a series of strategies that allow him to face his irrational fear in the best positive way.

For this type of phobias, in addition, cognitive therapy based on Mindfulness and acceptance and commitment therapy, which focus on acceptance, in the context and how the patient relates to the situation and the problem, is also very useful.

In severe cases, pharmacological treatment is indicated, but always in combination with psychological therapy.

  • Maybe you're interested: "8 apps to treat phobias and fears from your smartphone"

13 of the Worst Phobias (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Chronophobie (peur du temps qui passe): causes, symptômes et traitement

Chronophobie (peur du temps qui passe): causes, symptômes et traitement

Juillet 22, 2022

Au fil des ans, nous vieillissons tous . Au fil du temps, nous reconnaissons que nous ne pouvons rien faire pour changer cette situation. Cependant, certaines personnes éprouvent la peur irrationnelle du vieillissement, connue sous le nom de gérontofobie ou gérascofobie, car elles souffrent d'une grande anxiété face aux changements physiques et que les conséquences pour une personne doivent atteindre un âge avancé.

Cependant, au fil du temps, d’autres personnes éprouvent une grande peur, ce qui cause un grand inconfort. Cette phobie s'appelle la chronophobie. Dans cet article, nous en saurons les caractéristiques, les causes, les symptômes et le traitement.

  • Compilation de citations célèbres sur le temps

Qu'est-ce que la chronophobie?

La chronophobie est une phobie spécifique et, par conséquent, un trouble anxieux . C'est une peur irrationnelle qui crée un grand inconfort et une grande anxiété pour la personne qui en souffre, qui a tendance à éviter les stimulations phobiques dans le but de réduire les symptômes négatifs associés à ce trouble.


Selon les experts, les anciens et les personnes incarcérées en font l'expérience plus souvent. Dans ce dernier cas, il a été qualifié de "névrose des prisons".

En ce qui concerne les personnes âgées, elles sont proches de la fin de leur vie et peuvent éprouver des niveaux d'anxiété élevés au fil du temps, ce qui peut les amener à sentir que le temps s'épuise et qu'elles éprouvent une peur, une anxiété et une angoisse fortes.

La chronophobie peut altérer considérablement et sérieusement la vie des personnes qui en souffrent, car elles sont constamment en contact avec le stimulus phobique, c'est-à-dire l'élément dont ils ont peur. Personne ne peut arrêter le temps, alors cette phobie peut se développer à tout moment et n'importe où. Lorsque des réponses anxieuses apparaissent, il est difficile pour la personne d'éviter la situation redoutée.


Causes de cette phobie

Les causes de cette phobie ne sont pas claires, car le stimulus phobique que l’elicita est un peu plus complexe et abstrait que d’autres phobies spécifiques, telles que la peur de voler, la peur des clowns ou la peur des araignées.

La grande majorité des phobies spécifiques sont causées par une expérience traumatique au cours de l'enfance . Cela se produit par le biais d'un apprentissage associatif appelé conditionnement classique, car il existe une association entre un stimulus provoquant une réaction réflexe de peur et un autre qui, au début, ne le produit pas, mais qui, avec une exposition conjointe, finit par le produire.

Ce concept, initialement étudié par Ivan Pavlov, a été rendu public principalement grâce aux expériences de John B. Watson, un psychologue américain qui a mené une série d’études, qui seraient aujourd’hui considérées comme contraires à l’éthique, avec un petit garçon nommé Albert. Au début de l'expérience, le sujet jouissait de la compagnie d'un beau rat blanc, mais après des essais successifs, il était incapable d'approcher l'animal à cause de la peur intense qu'il ressentait devant la créature inoffensive.


  • Pour comprendre le développement de ce type d'apprentissage associatif, vous pouvez lire notre article: "Le conditionnement classique et ses expériences les plus importantes"

Autres causes de ce trouble phobique

Cependant, dans le cas de la chronophobie, le développement de cette peur irrationnelle a beaucoup à voir avec les croyances irrationnelles de la personne et le manque d'acceptation de l'individu quant à ce qu'est la vie.

Certains experts affirment qu’il peut également exister une origine génétique, par exemple une insuffisance surrénalienne, ce qui empêche les glandes surrénales de produire des quantités suffisantes d’hormones telles que le cortisol ou l’aldostérone. ce qui tend à rendre une personne plus susceptible à l'anxiété et à la peur . Certaines personnes peuvent aussi avoir un type de personnalité anxieux, ce qui peut faciliter l'apparition de la maladie.

D’autre part, d’autres professionnels de la santé pensent que les gens sont biologiquement prédisposés à avoir des peurs irrationnelles, car les peurs ont à voir avec le cerveau primitif et que les phobies sont produites par des associations de ce type et non cognitives. ils ne répondent généralement pas aux arguments logiques. Ceci, qui peut avoir été très adaptatif dans le passé et qui a contribué à la survie des êtres humains au cours des siècles, peut causer ce type de désordre.

Symptômes de peur au fil du temps

Comme toute phobie, la peur du passage du temps provoque une série de symptômes caractéristiques. La personne souffre d'une grande anxiété résultant de ses idées irrationnelles au fil du temps. La confusion, le vertige, le manque de concentration, etc., sont quelques-uns des symptômes cognitifs que la personne éprouve .

En outre, il existe une série de symptômes physiques et physiologiques, tels que:

  • Mal de tête
  • Vertige
  • Essoufflement
  • Sofoco
  • Nausées et vomissements
  • Tremblements
  • Bouche sèche
  • Palpitations

Traitement et thérapie

Les phobies étant des troubles fréquents, il existe de nombreuses études sur l'efficacité du traitement. Ces études indiquent que la psychothérapie est vraiment utile, en particulier la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale.

Ce type de thérapie comprend différentes techniques, mais les plus importantes pour traiter les troubles phobiques sont les techniques de respiration et les techniques d'exposition (réelles ou imaginaires). Une technique qui inclut les deux techniques est la désensibilisation systématique. , dans laquelle le patient est exposé à sa peur et en même temps apprend une série de stratégies lui permettant de faire face à sa peur irrationnelle de la meilleure façon possible.

En outre, pour ce type de phobies, une thérapie cognitive basée sur la thérapie de la pleine conscience et de l'acceptation et de l'engagement, axée sur l'acceptation, dans le contexte et la relation entre le patient et la situation et le problème, est également très utile.

Dans les cas graves, un traitement pharmacologique est indiqué, mais toujours en association avec une thérapie psychologique.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "8 applications pour traiter les phobies et les peurs de votre smartphone"

[Contemporary Classical] Chronophobia (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes