yes, therapy helps!
Cisura de Silvio (brain): what it is, functions and anatomy

Cisura de Silvio (brain): what it is, functions and anatomy

May 4, 2024

Our brain is one of our most important and complex organs , being full of different structures, areas and regions of great importance that govern different basic aspects for the maintenance of life.

These structures require a space to exist, a space that is limited by the bone structure that protects the organ: the skull. And some of these structures could be truly large, as with the cerebral cortex. Fortunately throughout our development the brain is compacted, growing the cerebral cortex in such a way that it forms different folds (which gives the brain its characteristic appearance). And with these folds also appear the furrows between them. One of the most famous is the lateral groove or the Silvio fissure .


  • Related article: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

Fissures and grooves

Before going into detail about what Silvio's fissure is, we must stop for a moment and consider first how our brain is structured. In this way we will understand better the path that traces along the cerebral cortex this cleft.

Viewed from the outside, the brain appears as a relatively compact mass, the cerebral cortex being full of folds so that the whole of it fits inside the skull. The fact that these folds exist also generates the existence of different grooves, which are called fissures or grooves. The concave parts, the ones that stand out, are the turns or convolutions.


So it is considered a furrow or cerebral fissure to that Slit or hollow that leaves the cerebral cortex when retreating on itself during development and that, seen from the surface, gives an idea of ​​what are the limits of the lobes of the brain.

  • Maybe you're interested: "7 documentaries that talk about the human brain"

Silvio's fissure: what is it and what areas does it separate?

The Silvio fissure or side groove is next to Rolando's one of the most visible and recognizable fissures or grooves of the human brain. It is located in the lower part of the two cerebral hemispheres and then traverses a large part of the brain transversally. Said groove appears horizontally, being located in the naso-lambdoid line.

It is one of the most important furrows, since separates the temporal and parietal lobes and in its lower part the frontal of the temporal . We are before the deepest cleft that exists in the whole brain, to the point that in its depths lies the so-called fifth cerebral lobe: the insula. It also contains the transverse temporal gyrus, which participates in the auditory system.


It should also be noted that through it passes the middle cerebral artery, also called the silvana artery for this reason, it irrigates the different brain regions of the area.

This fissure is one of the first to appear throughout our development, being already visible in fetal development. Specifically, it can often be observed after the fourteenth week of gestation. Its morphology and depth will evolve as the fetus develops.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The lobes of the brain and its different functions"

Branches

Silvio's fissure can be divided into several branches , specifically in three main ones: ascending or vertical branch, horizontal branch and branch of oblique trifurcation. The name of these gives an idea about their orientation.

Between the first and the second we can find the third frontal convolution, and in particular the pars triangularis (corresponding to the Brodmann area 45). In the horizontal branch the pars orbitalis (area 47) and the pars opercularis (corresponding to area 44) between the branches of oblique and vertical trifurcation. These areas are associated with the production of language.

Diseases and disorders with alterations in this fissure

Silvio's fissure is a groove that all or practically all human beings possess. But nevertheless, there are diseases in which this fissure does not form correctly or it is altered for some reason. Among them we can find examples in the following pathologies.

1. Alzheimer's and other dementias

Patients with Alzheimer's usually present throughout the development of their disease an enlargement of Silvio's fissure , said enlargement being the product of the degeneration of the neuronal tissue. This anomaly can also be found in other dementias and neurodegenerative diseases, which with the passage of time are killing nerve cells and causing the brain to be left with a withered appearance, with large grooves and very pronounced folds. This means that its effects are not limited to the silvian fissure, but that they are felt throughout the cortex in general.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Alzheimer's: causes, symptoms, treatment and prevention"

two.The absence of brain furrows: lissencephaly

Lissencephaly is an anomaly generated throughout the neurodevelopment in which the brain appears smooth and either without or with few convolutions and fissures, alteration caused by a deficit or absence of neuronal migration or by an excess of this . This phenomenon may have genetic causes or be due to alterations produced during embryonic development.

It can be presented in two ways: the complete one, also called agiria, in which no convolutions or brain grooves develop, and the incomplete or pachyglyphic in which there are some, although they are few and very broad. There is usually a deficient coating of cerebral parenchyma in the Sylvian fissure.

In general, the prognosis is not good, and the disease is associated with a short life expectancy, presenting symptoms such as seizures, respiratory problems and intellectual disability, although in some cases there are no major problems.

  • Related article: "Lissencephaly: symptoms, causes and treatment"

3. Opercular syndrome

Opercular or perisylvian syndrome , in which problems of motor control or even paralysis appear in the area of ​​the face, is also linked to the Sylvian fissure when there are problems in the opercula, the cerebral areas that surround the Sylvian fissure and correspond to the not directly visible from the outside.

4. Cerebrovascular disorders

The middle cerebral artery passes through the Sylvian fissure. That is why alterations in this area can also affect this part of the circulatory system, which is capable of generating problems such as aneurysms, hemorrhages or embolisms.

Bibliographic references:

  • Chi J.G .;; Dooling, E.C. & Gilles, F.H. (January 1977). «Gyral development of the human brain». Annals of Neurology 1 (1): 86-93.
  • Kandel, E.R .; Schwartz, J.H .; Jessell, T.M. (2001). Principles of Neuroscience. Madrid: MacGrawHill.
  • Santos, L. (2000). Synthesis of human anatomy. Conceptual keys and Atlas of basic schemes. Editions University of Salamanca.

What are the Parts of the Brain? (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Cisura de Silvio (cerveau): qu'est-ce que c'est, ses fonctions et son anatomie

Cisura de Silvio (cerveau): qu'est-ce que c'est, ses fonctions et son anatomie

Mars 7, 2021

Notre cerveau est l'un de nos organes les plus importants et les plus complexes , remplie de différentes structures, zones et régions de grande importance qui régissent différents aspects fondamentaux du maintien de la vie.

Ces structures nécessitent un espace pour exister, un espace limité par la structure osseuse qui protège l'organe: le crâne. Et certaines de ces structures pourraient être vraiment grandes, comme avec le cortex cérébral. Heureusement, tout au long de notre développement, le cerveau est compacté et le cortex cérébral se développe de manière à former différents plis (ce qui donne au cerveau son aspect caractéristique). Et avec ces plis apparaissent également les sillons entre eux. L'un des plus célèbres est le sillon latéral ou la fissure de Silvio .


  • Article connexe: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Fissures et rainures

Avant d’entrer dans les détails sur la fissure de Silvio, nous devons nous arrêter un instant et examiner d’abord la structure de notre cerveau. De cette façon, nous comprendrons mieux le chemin qui trace le long du cortex cérébral cette fente.

Vu de l'extérieur, le cerveau apparaît comme une masse relativement compacte, le cortex cérébral étant plein de plis de sorte que tout cela rentre dans le crâne. Le fait que ces plis existent génère également l'existence de gorges différentes, appelées fissures ou gorges. Les parties concaves, celles qui ressortent, sont les virages ou convolutions.


Donc, il est considéré comme un sillon ou une fissure cérébrale à celle Fente ou creux qui laisse le cortex cérébral en se retirant sur lui-même pendant le développement et cela, vu de la surface, donne une idée de ce que sont les limites des lobes du cerveau.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "7 documentaires qui parlent du cerveau humain"

La fissure de Silvio: qu'est-ce que c'est et quels domaines sépare-t-elle?

La fissure ou rainure latérale de Silvio se situe à côté de l'une des fissures ou des rainures les plus visibles et les plus reconnaissables du cerveau humain. Il est situé dans la partie inférieure des deux hémisphères cérébraux et traverse ensuite une grande partie du cerveau de manière transversale. Cette rainure apparaît horizontalement, étant située dans la ligne naso-lambdoïde.

C’est l’un des sillons les plus importants depuis sépare les lobes temporaux et pariétaux et dans sa partie inférieure le frontal du temporal . Nous sommes devant la fente la plus profonde qui existe dans tout le cerveau, au point que se trouve au plus profond de ce qu'on appelle le cinquième lobe cérébral: l'insula. Il contient également le gyrus temporal transverse, qui participe au système auditif.


Il convient également de noter que à travers elle passe l'artère cérébrale moyenne, également appelée artère silvana pour cette raison, il irrigue les différentes régions du cerveau de la région.

Cette fissure est l'une des premières à apparaître tout au long de notre développement, elle est déjà visible dans le développement fœtal. En particulier, il peut souvent être observé après la quatorzième semaine de gestation. Sa morphologie et sa profondeur évolueront avec le développement du fœtus.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Les lobes du cerveau et ses différentes fonctions"

Branches

La fissure de Silvio peut être divisée en plusieurs branches , en particulier en trois principaux: ramification ascendante ou verticale, ramification horizontale et ramification de trifurcation oblique. Le nom de ceux-ci donne une idée de leur orientation.

Entre le premier et le second on peut trouver la troisième convolution frontale, et en particulier la pars triangularis (correspondant à la zone de Brodmann 45). Dans la branche horizontale, les pars orbitalis (zone 47) et le pars opercularis (correspondant à la zone 44) séparent les branches de la trifurcation oblique et verticale. Ces zones sont associées à la production du langage.

Maladies et troubles avec altérations de cette fissure

La fissure de Silvio est un sillon que possèdent tous ou presque tous les êtres humains. Cependant, il y a des maladies dans lesquelles cette fissure ne se forme pas correctement ou il est modifié pour une raison quelconque. Parmi eux, nous pouvons trouver des exemples dans les pathologies suivantes.

1. Alzheimer et autres démences

Les patients atteints d’Alzheimer sont généralement présents tout au long du développement de leur maladie. un élargissement de la fissure de Silvio , ledit élargissement étant le produit de la dégénérescence du tissu neuronal. Cette anomalie peut également être constatée dans d'autres démences et maladies neurodégénératives qui, avec le temps, détruisent les cellules nerveuses et causent au cerveau un aspect desséché, de larges rainures et des plis très prononcés. Cela signifie que ses effets ne se limitent pas à la fissure silvienne, mais qu'ils sont ressentis dans tout le cortex en général.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Alzheimer: causes, symptômes, traitement et prévention"

2L'absence de sillons cérébraux: lissencéphalie

La lissencéphalie est une anomalie générée tout au long du développement neurologique dans laquelle le cerveau semble lisse et sans ou avec peu de convolutions et de fissures, une altération causée par un déficit ou l'absence de migration neuronale ou par un excès de cette . Ce phénomène peut avoir des causes génétiques ou être dû à des altérations produites au cours du développement embryonnaire.

Il peut être présenté de deux manières: la forme complète, également appelée agiria, dans laquelle aucune circonvolution ou rainure cérébrale ne se développe, et la partie incomplète ou pachyglyphique dans laquelle il y en a, même si elles sont peu nombreuses et très larges. Il existe généralement un revêtement déficient de parenchyme cérébral dans la fissure de Sylvian.

En général, le pronostic n'est pas bon et la maladie est associée à une espérance de vie courte, présentant des symptômes tels que des convulsions, des problèmes respiratoires et une déficience intellectuelle, bien que dans certains cas, il n'y ait pas de problèmes majeurs.

  • Article connexe: "Lissencéphalie: symptômes, causes et traitement"

3. syndrome operculaire

Syndrome operculaire ou périsylvien , dans lequel apparaissent des problèmes de contrôle moteur ou même de paralysie au niveau du visage, est également liée à la fissure de Sylvian lorsqu'il existe des problèmes à l'opercule, aux zones cérébrales qui entourent la fissure de Sylvian et correspondent au pas directement visible de l'extérieur.

4. Troubles cérébrovasculaires

L'artère cérébrale moyenne traverse la fissure de Sylvian. C'est pourquoi des altérations dans ce domaine peuvent également affecter cette partie du système circulatoire, capable de générer des problèmes tels que des anévrismes, des hémorragies ou des embolies.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Chi J.G .; Dooling, E.C. & Gilles, F.H. (Janvier 1977). «Développement gyral du cerveau humain». Annals of Neurology 1 (1): 86-93.
  • Kandel, E.R .; Schwartz, J.H .; Jessell, T.M. (2001). Principes de neuroscience. Madrid: MacGrawHill.
  • Santos, L. (2000). Synthèse de l'anatomie humaine. Clés conceptuelles et atlas des schémas de base. Editions Université de Salamanque.

CISURAS CEREBRALES (Mars 2021).


Articles Connexes