yes, therapy helps!
Claustrophobia: definition, causes, symptoms and treatment

Claustrophobia: definition, causes, symptoms and treatment

June 18, 2024

Phobias are anxiety disorders They can develop with some frequency, and one of the most common is claustrophobia. Scientific studies say that between 2% and 5% of the population suffers from this type of phobia, which is the intense and irrational fear of being trapped in a closed place and from which the person thinks that he will not be able to leave.

Phobic disorders can cause great discomfort in the person who suffers, and can affect their daily lives in different ways. For example, not being able to climb the elevator, not taking the subway to work or not being willing to undergo a CT scan. People who suffer from this condition avoid the situations that trigger the phobia and that cause them intense anxiety.


In this article we will analyze claustrophobia by the hand of Ignasi Llorach, general sanitary psychologist at the Mensalus Institute of Barcelona, ​​one of the most prestigious clinics in Spain, and experts in the treatment of phobic disorders.

  • Related article: "Types of phobias: exploring the disorders of fear"

What is claustrophobia?

Claustrophobia belongs to the group of specific phobias , among which there are also other irrational fears such as aerophobia (or fear of flying) or arachnophobia (or fear of spiders).

"It is an anxiety disorder that affects the person when exposed to closed spaces: small rooms without ventilation, elevators, basements, tunnels, and so on. In general, people suffering from claustrophobia experience irrational fear in any situation that involves closure, restriction or confinement, because they think that they will not be able to leave or they will be left without air, that is, they will not be able to breathe. People with claustrophobia can also feel great discomfort in places where there is a large crowd of people, "explains Llorach.


While some specific phobias are not necessarily incapacitating because people who suffer from them tend to avoid what causes them fear, or it is difficult to find the feared stimulus in their usual environment (for example, coulrophobia or fear of clowns ), other phobias can cause situations that generate discomfort more frequently , as in the case of claustrophobia.

Some individuals may refuse a job because of the inability to travel by train or car for relatively long periods or they can avoid going to the cinema with their partner because of the discomfort they feel when they are in a dark room, where they automatically and compulsively seek Departures.

Causes of this phobia

"Most phobias occur as a result of a traumatic event occurred in childhood," says Llorach, "although the beginning can come at any time of life, in which the person learns by association (classical conditioning) that closed spaces they cause negative consequences. "


A famous research carried out by Lars-Gran found that claustrophobia usually begins in childhood, and the common experiences that can trigger this pathology are: being locked in a dark room and not finding the door or the light switch, poking the head between two bars and then not being able to get it out, locked in a closet, falling into a pool full of water without knowing how to swim or getting lost among a lot of people and not finding the parents.

Now, "learning is not always produced by direct experience, but it is also possible that it occurs through observation," says Llorach.

On the other hand, according to Seligman's preparation theory , we are biologically predisposed to suffer phobias, because we associate more easily certain stimuli to negative responses because they favored our survival.

Phobic disorders are constituted by primitive and non-cognitive associations, which are not easily modified by logical arguments. This theory does not assume that phobias are innate, but that the individual has a Innate ability to learn phobic reactions .

Symptoms and signs

Claustrophobia can manifest itself in different situations , and the person suffering from this phobia can have different reactions. For example, enter a room and check where the exits are located to be near them. You can also avoid driving the car at "rush hour" to avoid getting stuck in a traffic jam.

When a person suffers a phobic disorder, avoidance behaviors are present to reduce the discomfort and anxiety that characterizes this disorder.

In summary, people with claustrophobia have the following symptoms:

  • Extreme anxiety and fear of the presence or imagination of the phobic stimulus.
  • Avoidance behavior
  • Thoughts that the person is going to run out of air.
  • Thoughts of imminent death.
  • Hyperventilation .
  • Hipersudation
  • Accelerated heartbeat.
  • Tremors
  • Pain or tightness in the chest.
  • Stunning, nausea, dizziness and headaches.

Treatments and therapy

If you suffer claustrophobia or any type of phobia, Ignasi Llorach reminds you that "it is possible to overcome the phobia with the correct psychological treatment, and it is important to know that you are not alone, but many people experience this type of phobia at some time in their life and they manage to overcome it. Also, you do not have to suffer in solitude. Communicate your fears, because talking about it is very important to accept that you are suffering this fear. "

Psychological therapy is the best option to leave behind this irrational fear. There are many types of psychotherapy, but research has concluded that one of the most effective is cognitive behavioral therapy, which aims at intervention focused on changes in mental processes (thoughts, beliefs, emotions ...) and behaviors that the person performs and may be maladaptive and cause suffering.

Relaxation techniques or exposure techniques are two widely used methodologies in the treatment of phobic disorders. Specifically, the most commonly used exposure technique is systematic desensitization, which involves exposing the patient gradually to phobic stimulation and fostering the most useful coping skills. Mindfulness has also proven to be highly effective in treating all types of anxiety disorders.

In extreme cases, pharmacological treatment (mainly anxiolytics) can be applied; however, never as the only therapeutic option but in combination with psychological therapy.

If you wish to receive psychological assistance for the treatment of a phobia or any other problem related to mental health and well-being, you can find the contact details of the Mensalus clinic by clicking here.

  • Related article: "Discover the Mensalus Psychology Center with this photo report"

Why Are Some People Claustrophobic? (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Claustrophobie: définition, causes, symptômes et traitement

Claustrophobie: définition, causes, symptômes et traitement

Juin 21, 2022

Les phobies sont des troubles anxieux Ils peuvent se développer avec une certaine fréquence, et l'un des plus courants est la claustrophobie. Des études scientifiques indiquent qu'entre 2% et 5% de la population souffre de ce type de phobie, qui est la peur intense et irrationnelle d'être piégé dans un endroit fermé et à partir de laquelle la personne pense qu'il ne pourra pas partir.

Les troubles phobiques peuvent être très gênants pour la personne qui en souffre et peuvent affecter leur vie quotidienne de différentes manières. Par exemple, ne pas pouvoir monter dans l'ascenseur, ne pas prendre le métro pour se rendre au travail ou ne pas vouloir subir un scanner. Les personnes atteintes de cette maladie évitent les situations qui déclenchent la phobie et qui leur causent une anxiété intense.


Dans cet article, nous analyserons la claustrophobie Ignasi Llorach, psychologue en hygiène générale à l’Institut Mensalus de Barcelone, l’une des cliniques les plus prestigieuses d’Espagne, et expert dans le traitement des troubles phobiques.

  • Article connexe: "Types de phobies: explorer les troubles de la peur"

Qu'est-ce que la claustrophobie?

La claustrophobie appartient au groupe des phobies spécifiques , parmi lesquelles il y a aussi d’autres peurs irrationnelles telles que l’aérophobie (ou la peur de voler) ou l’arachnophobie (ou la peur des araignées).

«C’est un trouble anxieux qui affecte la personne exposée à des espaces fermés: petites pièces sans ventilation, ascenseurs, sous-sols, tunnels, etc. En général, les personnes souffrant de claustrophobie éprouvent une peur irrationnelle dans toutes les situations de fermeture, de restriction ou d’emprisonnement, car elles pensent qu’elles ne pourront pas partir ou qu’elles se retrouveront sans air, c’est-à-dire qu’elles ne pourront plus respirer. Les personnes atteintes de claustrophobie peuvent également ressentir un grand inconfort dans les endroits où la foule est nombreuse ", explique Llorach.


Certaines phobies spécifiques ne sont pas nécessairement invalidantes parce que les personnes qui en souffrent ont tendance à éviter ce qui leur fait peur, ou il est difficile de trouver le stimulus redouté dans leur environnement habituel (par exemple, la coulrophobie ou la peur des clowns). ), d'autres phobies peut causer des situations qui génèrent un inconfort plus fréquemment comme dans le cas de la claustrophobie.

Certaines personnes peuvent refuser un emploi en raison de leur incapacité à voyager en train ou en voiture pendant des périodes relativement longues, ou bien elles peuvent éviter d'aller au cinéma avec leur partenaire en raison de la gêne qu'elles ressentent lorsqu'elles sont dans une pièce sombre, où elles cherchent automatiquement et de manière compulsive. sorties

Causes de cette phobie

"La plupart des phobies résultent d'événements traumatiques survenus dans l'enfance", explique Llorach, "bien que le début puisse se produire à tout moment de la vie, dans lequel la personne apprend par association (conditionnement classique) que des espaces fermés ils entraînent des conséquences négatives. "


Une étude célèbre menée par Lars-Gran a révélé que la claustrophobie commence généralement dans l'enfance et que les expériences courantes pouvant déclencher cette pathologie sont les suivantes: être enfermé dans une pièce sombre et ne pas trouver la porte ou l'interrupteur, piquer la tête entre deux bars et ne pouvant alors pas la sortir, enfermée dans un placard, tombant dans une mare pleine d'eau sans savoir nager ou se perdre parmi beaucoup de gens et ne trouvant pas les parents.

Maintenant, "l'apprentissage n'est pas toujours produit par l'expérience directe, mais il est également possible qu'il se produise par l'observation", explique Llorach.

D'un autre côté, selon la théorie de la préparation de Seligman , nous sommes biologiquement prédisposés à souffrir de phobies, car nous associons plus facilement certains stimuli à des réponses négatives, car ils favorisaient notre survie.

Les troubles phobiques sont constitués d'associations primitives et non cognitives, difficiles à modifier par des arguments logiques. Cette théorie ne suppose pas que les phobies sont innées, mais que l’individu a un Capacité innée d'apprendre des réactions phobiques .

Symptômes et signes

La claustrophobie peut se manifester dans différentes situations et la personne souffrant de cette phobie peut avoir différentes réactions. Par exemple, entrez dans une pièce et vérifiez où se situent les sorties. Vous pouvez également éviter de conduire la voiture aux "heures de pointe" pour éviter de vous retrouver dans un embouteillage.

Lorsqu'une personne souffre d'un trouble phobique, les comportements d'évitement sont présents pour réduire le malaise et l'anxiété qui caractérise ce trouble.

En résumé, les personnes atteintes de claustrophobie présentent les symptômes suivants:

  • Anxiété extrême et peur de la présence ou de l'imagination du stimulus phobique.
  • Comportement d'évitement
  • Pensées que la personne va manquer d'air.
  • Pensées de mort imminente.
  • L'hyperventilation .
  • Hipersudation
  • Battement de coeur accéléré.
  • Tremblements
  • Douleur ou oppression dans la poitrine.
  • Étourdissement, nausée, vertiges et maux de tête.

Traitements et thérapie

Si vous souffrez de claustrophobie ou de tout type de phobie, Ignasi Llorach vous rappelle qu '"il est possible de vaincre la phobie avec le traitement psychologique approprié et qu'il est important de savoir que vous n'êtes pas seul, ils parviennent à le surmonter. En outre, vous ne devez pas souffrir dans la solitude. Communiquez vos peurs, car il est très important d’en parler, c’est très important d’accepter que vous souffriez de cette peur. "

La thérapie psychologique est la meilleure option quitter cette peur irrationnelle. Il existe de nombreux types de psychothérapie, mais les recherches ont conclu que l’un des plus efficaces est la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale, qui vise une intervention axée sur les modifications des processus mentaux (pensées, croyances, émotions, etc.) et les comportements qui la personne exécute et peut être mésadaptée et causer de la souffrance.

Techniques de relaxation ou techniques d'exposition sont deux méthodologies largement utilisées dans le traitement des troubles phobiques. Plus précisément, la technique d’exposition la plus couramment utilisée est la désensibilisation systématique, qui consiste à exposer le patient progressivement à une stimulation phobique et à développer les capacités d’adaptation les plus utiles. La pleine conscience s'est également révélée très efficace dans le traitement de tous les types de troubles anxieux.

Dans les cas extrêmes, traitement pharmacologique (principalement des anxiolytiques) peuvent être appliqués; Cependant, jamais comme la seule option thérapeutique mais en combinaison avec une thérapie psychologique.

Si vous souhaitez recevoir une assistance psychologique pour le traitement d'une phobie ou de tout autre problème lié à la santé mentale et au bien-être, vous pouvez trouver les coordonnées de la clinique Mensalus en cliquant ici.

  • Article connexe: "Découvrez le centre de psychologie Mensalus avec ce reportage photo"

Tumeurs cérébrales: Symptômes Diagnostic IRM et Traitement (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes