yes, therapy helps!
Clinical psychology: definition and functions of the clinical psychologist

Clinical psychology: definition and functions of the clinical psychologist

May 6, 2021

Clinical psychology is a subdiscipline within psychology that study all the elements involved in mental disorders and, more generally, mental health.

Thus, clinical psychology carries out all tasks of evaluation, diagnosis, prevention and therapeutic intervention in people with some type of mental impairment or maladaptive behavior, in order to restore psychological balance and eliminate all suffering.

Clinical psychology: a broad scope

Psychologists who are dedicated to the clinical field can have training in different schools, such as cognitivist, behaviorist, psychoanalyst, humanist, gestalt or systemic family therapy, among others.


What does a clinical psychologist do?

Clinical psychologists are mental health professionals who take care of those people who feel some type of psychological discomfort. In this sense, lClinical psychologists are responsible for diagnosing certain psychological disorders , to later offer a personalized intervention through psychotherapy.

Although this is the main aspect in which they intervene, psychologists also participate in the field of research (for example, contributing their knowledge in different scientific studies), in teaching (practicing as professors in public or private institutions), and even in other minority areas such as sports psychology, school psychology or as experts in clinical and forensic psychology.


The beginning of clinical psychology: Witmer and Freud

If we resort to the manuals of History of Psychology, it is usually noted that the beginning of what we know today as clinical psychology occurred in the United States during the last years of the nineteenth century. At that time, a psychologist called Lightner Witmer (disciple of Wilhelm Wundt) opens the first psychological clinic to attend people suffering from psychological problems, at the University of Pennsylvania.

In Europe, the honor of being considered the precursor of clinical psychology usually falls to the illustrious Sigmund Freud. Although many scholars often question the wisdom of declaring Freud as one of the architects of clinical psychology (since psychoanalysis raises a long controversy), the truth is that the Austrian was one of the first neurologists who approached the study and the therapeutic intervention of people with psychological affectations .


Freud, already in 1895, was dealing with defenders and detractors. His vision of the therapeutic intervention and its theoretical bases focused on three levels: study, direct therapeutic intervention and formulation of theories. This methodology founded the basic criteria of applied clinical psychology.

Twentieth century

During the first decades of the 20th century, the field of clinical psychology focused on psychological evaluation, but put little emphasis on intervention methodologies . It is after the Second World War when there is a boom in the revision of treatments, due to the high number of people who were harmed psychologically after the war.

As a result of this historical stage, the interest and the need to provide means to the field of clinical psychology becomes evident. Faculties of psychology arise and consultations and cabinets dedicated to dealing with mental problems are opened. From the academic world to public institutions, they agree on the need to promote study and clinical intervention, due to their positive effects on the quality of life of people.

Confusion between clinical psychology and psychiatry

In our article "What is the difference between a psychologist and a psychiatrist?" We explain the similarities and differences between these two disciplines. Of course, it is still a source of confusion to know the functions of these two professional fields.

The main resemblance between clinical psychology and psychiatry is that both pursue the same ends: treat and mitigate psychological suffering . But both professionals differ in their previous training: psychologists studied psychology and psychiatrists, medicine. Another important difference is that psychiatrists are authorized to prescribe psychopharmaceuticals, while psychologists do not. In clinical practice, it is common for psychiatrists and psychologists to work together to treat patients who require multidisciplinary approaches.

Areas and applications of clinical psychology

Clinical psychology has been studied and perfected throughout the 20th century and in recent years, and has been studied by many professionals and academics of human behavior.

From the first years with Wilhelm Wundt in his laboratory in Leipzig, in which he tried to find all the observable and measurable variables of behavior, clinical psychology has been propagated to be the branch "par excellence" among graduates or graduates in psychology. In fact, and although psychology develops in clearly differentiated branches (business, educational, forensic, social ...), Clinical psychology has always been the most popularly recognized branch .

However, there are multiple approaches and tools used by professionals in clinical psychology, who work focusing on different fields of study according to different criteria, such as the following:

  • Intervention in families
  • Adult therapy
  • Child clinical psychology
  • Clinical neuropsychology
  • Neuropsychological rehabilitation
  • Attention and intervention in certain disorders
  • Evaluation
  • Psycho-oncology

In short, each professional of clinical psychology can specialize in those (or those) fields where you want to focus your professional practice. People who may require therapeutic care are varied: from children to the elderly, from people with basic diseases to healthy people, from people who have a strictly psychological problem, to others whose involvement is related to a bad family or social dynamic.

In order to achieve a greater understanding of each psychological affectation, Clinical psychologists can specialize in different fields . Through the knowledge and tools acquired, they will be able to offer more precise diagnoses and treatments to their patients.

Outstanding personalities

Many clinical psychologists have left us unpayable theories and teachings that have served as an academic inspiration to build knowledge of this discipline.

It can be said, rightly, that many of them were not training psychologists, but psychiatrists. However, it is possible to consider them psychologists to the extent that they were characters that contributed enormously to the theoretical and practical basis of clinical psychology.

  • Sigmund Freud
  • Lightner Witmer
  • Carl Gustav Jung
  • Fritz Perls
  • Albert Ellis
  • Aaron Beck

Bibliographic references:

  • Gradillas, V. (1998): Descriptive psychopathology. Signs, symptoms and traits. Madrid: Pyramid.
  • Lemos, S. (2000): General psychopathology. Madrid: Synthesis.
  • Vallejo-Riuloba, J. (1991): Clinical cases. Psychiatry. Barcelona: Salvat.

Meet Our Doc: Ayelet Talmi, PhD, Pediatric Psychology (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Psychologie clinique: définition et fonctions du psychologue clinicien

Psychologie clinique: définition et fonctions du psychologue clinicien

Février 21, 2019

La psychologie clinique est une sous-discipline de la psychologie qui étudier tous les éléments impliqués dans les troubles mentaux et plus généralement la santé mentale.

Ainsi, la psychologie clinique effectue toutes les tâches d'évaluation, de diagnostic, de prévention et d'intervention thérapeutique chez les personnes présentant un type de déficience mentale ou un comportement mésadapté, afin de rétablir l'équilibre psychologique et d'éliminer toutes les souffrances.

Psychologie clinique: une large portée

Les psychologues spécialisés dans le domaine clinique peuvent avoir une formation dans différentes écoles, telles que cognitiviste, comportementaliste, psychanalyste, humaniste, gestalt ou thérapie familiale systémique, entre autres.


Que fait un psychologue clinicien?

Les psychologues cliniciens sont des professionnels de la santé mentale qui s’occupent des personnes qui ressentent un certain inconfort psychologique. En ce sens, lLes psychologues cliniciens sont chargés de diagnostiquer certains troubles psychologiques , pour proposer ultérieurement une intervention personnalisée par psychothérapie.

Bien que ce soit le principal aspect dans lequel ils interviennent, les psychologues interviennent également dans le domaine de la recherche (par exemple, apportant leurs connaissances dans différentes études scientifiques), dans l’enseignement (exerçant la profession de professeur dans des établissements publics ou privés) et même dans d'autres domaines minoritaires tels que la psychologie du sport, la psychologie scolaire ou en tant qu'experts en psychologie clinique et médico-légale.


Les débuts de la psychologie clinique: Witmer et Freud

Si nous recourons aux manuels d’histoire de la psychologie, nous notons généralement que le début de ce que nous connaissons aujourd’hui en tant que psychologie clinique s’est déroulé aux États-Unis au cours des dernières années du XIXe siècle. A cette époque, un psychologue appelé Lightner Witmer (disciple de Wilhelm Wundt) ouvre à l'Université de Pennsylvanie la première clinique psychologique destinée aux personnes souffrant de problèmes psychologiques.

En Europe, l’honneur d’être considéré comme le précurseur de la psychologie clinique revient généralement à l’illustre Sigmund Freud. Bien que de nombreux chercheurs s'interrogent souvent sur la pertinence de déclarer Freud comme l'un des architectes de la psychologie clinique (la psychanalyse suscitant une longue controverse), la vérité est que l'Autrichien a été l'un des premiers neurologues à avoir abordé l'étude et l'intervention thérapeutique de personnes atteintes d'affections psychologiques .


Freud, déjà en 1895, avait affaire à des défenseurs et des détracteurs. Sa vision de l’intervention thérapeutique et de ses bases théoriques s’articule autour de trois niveaux: étude, intervention thérapeutique directe et formulation de théories. Cette méthodologie a fondé les critères de base de la psychologie clinique appliquée.

20ème siècle

Au cours des premières décennies du 20ème siècle, le domaine de la psychologie clinique met l'accent sur l'évaluation psychologique, mais accorde peu d'importance aux méthodologies d'intervention . C'est après la Seconde Guerre mondiale que la révision des traitements connaît un essor considérable, en raison du nombre élevé de personnes psychologiquement blessées après la guerre.

À la suite de cette étape historique, l’intérêt et la nécessité de fournir des moyens au domaine de la psychologie clinique deviennent évidents. Des facultés de psychologie se développent et des consultations et cabinets consacrés au traitement des problèmes mentaux sont ouverts. Du monde universitaire aux institutions publiques, ils s'accordent sur la nécessité de promouvoir les études et les interventions cliniques en raison de leurs effets positifs sur la qualité de vie des personnes.

Confusion entre psychologie clinique et psychiatrie

Dans notre article "Quelle est la différence entre un psychologue et un psychiatre?", Nous expliquons les similitudes et les différences entre ces deux disciplines. Bien sûr, connaître les fonctions de ces deux domaines professionnels reste une source de confusion.

La principale ressemblance entre la psychologie clinique et la psychiatrie est que les deux poursuivent les mêmes objectifs: traiter et atténuer les souffrances psychologiques . Mais les deux professionnels diffèrent par leur formation antérieure: les psychologues ont étudié la psychologie et les psychiatres, la médecine. Une autre différence importante est que les psychiatres sont autorisés à prescrire des psychopharmaceutiques, contrairement aux psychologues. En pratique clinique, il est fréquent que des psychiatres et des psychologues travaillent ensemble pour traiter des patients nécessitant une approche multidisciplinaire.

Domaines et applications de la psychologie clinique

La psychologie clinique a été étudiée et perfectionnée au cours du 20ème siècle et au cours des dernières années, et a été étudiée par de nombreux professionnels et universitaires du comportement humain.

Depuis les premières années avec Wilhelm Wundt dans son laboratoire à Leipzig, dans lequel il a essayé de trouver toutes les variables de comportement observables et mesurables, la psychologie clinique a été propagée comme la branche «par excellence» parmi les diplômés ou les diplômés en psychologie. En fait, et bien que la psychologie se développe dans des domaines clairement différenciés (affaires, éducation, médecine légale, social ...), La psychologie clinique a toujours été la branche la plus largement reconnue .

Cependant, il existe de nombreuses approches et outils utilisés par les professionnels de la psychologie clinique, qui travaillent dans différents domaines d'étude en fonction de différents critères, tels que les suivants:

  • Intervention en famille
  • Thérapie adulte
  • Psychologie clinique de l'enfant
  • Neuropsychologie clinique
  • Rééducation neuropsychologique
  • Attention et intervention dans certains troubles
  • Évaluation
  • Psycho-oncologie

En bref, chaque professionnel de la psychologie clinique peut se spécialiser dans les domaines dans lesquels vous souhaitez concentrer votre pratique professionnelle. Les personnes susceptibles d'avoir besoin de soins thérapeutiques sont variées: des enfants aux personnes âgées, des personnes atteintes d'une maladie élémentaire aux personnes en bonne santé, des personnes ayant un problème strictement psychologique à des personnes dont la participation est liée à une mauvaise dynamique familiale ou sociale.

Afin de mieux comprendre chaque affectation psychologique, Les psychologues cliniciens peuvent se spécialiser dans différents domaines . Grâce aux connaissances et aux outils acquis, ils pourront proposer des diagnostics et des traitements plus précis à leurs patients.

Personnalités exceptionnelles

De nombreux psychologues cliniciens nous ont laissé des théories impayables et des enseignements qui ont servi de source d'inspiration académique pour renforcer les connaissances de cette discipline.

On peut dire, à juste titre, que beaucoup d'entre eux n'étaient pas des psychologues de formation, mais des psychiatres. Cependant, il est possible de les considérer comme des psychologues dans la mesure où ils étaient des personnages qui ont énormément contribué aux bases théoriques et pratiques de la psychologie clinique.

  • Sigmund Freud
  • Lightner Witmer
  • Carl Gustav Jung
  • Fritz Perls
  • Albert Ellis
  • Aaron Beck

Références bibliographiques:

  • Gradillas, V. (1998): Psychopathologie descriptive. Signes, symptômes et traits. Madrid: pyramide.
  • Lemos, S. (2000): Psychopathologie générale. Madrid: synthèse.
  • Vallejo-Riuloba, J. (1991): Cas cliniques Psychiatrie. Barcelone: ​​Salvat.

Mon métier c'est: Psychologue (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes