yes, therapy helps!
Clonazepam: uses, precautions and side effects

Clonazepam: uses, precautions and side effects

April 20, 2024

The use of benzodiazepines as the drug of choice in psychiatric or psychological therapy is more than known. His anxiolytic and sedative properties, among many others, have given him fame; turning it into one of the most consumed psychotropic drugs.

Among them is clonazepam , which will be discussed throughout this article. It describes in detail what it is and what therapeutic properties it has. As well as the possible side effects and precautions that must be taken into account before consuming it.

  • Related article: "Benzodiazepines (psychodrugs): uses, effects and risks"

What is clonazepam?

Clonazepam is a medicine integrated into the group of benzodiazepines . Its main focus of action is the central nervous system (CNS), on which it has the capacity to decrease the electrical activity of this, exerting the following effects:


  • Sedative.
  • Ansiolítico.
  • Anticonvulsant .
  • Myorelaxant
  • Mood stabilizer .

Because of all these properties, clonazepam is prescribed as an antiepileptic , above all, in crisis treatments of absences or atypical absences. Likewise, it is also prescribed, either alone or together with other medications, to soften attacks and panic attacks.

Its action as a stabilizer of the state of mind is capable of provoking in the person, temporarily, the oblivion of certain episodes with a great emotional load,

However, clonazepam can generate an addiction , as well as to cause a high tolerance to medication, so it is recommended that its administration for short periods of time or only in cases of urgency when the patient presents a bipolar disorder.


Disorders where it is used as a psychopharmaceutical

Some of the disorders or conditions in which clonazepam can be helpful are:

  • Anxiety disorders (phobias and panic disorders)
  • Sleep disorders.
  • Absences of epileptic type.
  • Convulsive crisis.
  • Bipolar disorder .
  • Alcohol withdrawal syndrome.

Method of administration and dose

The clonazepam it is presented in a tablet format to be taken orally . There are two variants of clonazepam: pills to be taken with liquids and pills soluble in the mouth. The dose that is recommended is usually a pill three times a day, it is recommended that the person ingested every day at the same time, and its consumption always has to depend on the indication of a doctor.


It is advisable to follow the instructions of the medicine and the doctor who has prescribed it. Usually, treatment is initiated by taking lower doses, which are increased progressively every three days.

As mentioned above, clonazepam is capable of generating addiction and tolerance in the person, so that It is highly contraindicated for the person to increase the dose , take it for longer than necessary or disobey the instructions indicated by the medical staff.

The effects of clonazepam can help the person to manage the symptoms produced by the disorder or disease that he / she suffers; However, this will not be sent in full or completely, for this it will be necessary accompany the pharmacological treatment with other medications and some type of psychotherapy .

It is possible that the person does not begin to perceive the effects of clonazepam until a few weeks after the first dose. However, it is necessary that the patient does not increase their dose or stop taking this benzodiazepine unless the doctor indicates it.

Whether you do not notice any improvement, feel completely recovered or experience unwanted side effects, the patient must continue taking the prescribed dose. Otherwise, it could suffer a series of symptoms related to abstinence . These symptoms include:

  • Convulsions
  • Hallucinations .
  • Alterations in behavior.
  • Sweating
  • Tremors .
  • Muscle cramps.
  • Gastric problems
  • Anxiety .
  • Alterations of the dream.

In cases in which the medication is more harmful than beneficial to the person or when the treatment has to be terminated for any reason, the most recommendable procedure will be to gradually reduce doses .

Side effects of clonazepam

Due to its depressant effects of the central nervous system, clonazepam can cause a series of adverse reactions related to these effects. The person may experience a feeling of tiredness, drowsiness or weakness caused by this drug.

On the other hand, there have been cases in which this benzodiazepine has caused paradoxical effects in people. These symptoms range from a greater overexcitement, restlessness or nervousness ; to such adverse effects as violent or aggressive behaviors, panic attacks or sleep disorders.

The list of side effects can be divided into two subgroups: mild side effects or serious side effects.

1. Mild side effects

They can be experienced with greater or lesser intensity, but they are usually temporary and rarely interfere with the development of the treatment.

  • Drowsiness .
  • Vertigo.
  • Emotional ups and downs
  • Alterations of coordination.
  • Memory problems .
  • Increased salivation.
  • Muscle or joint pain.
  • Increase in the need to urinate.
  • Vision problems .
  • Alterations in desire or sexual performance.

2. Serious side effects

If the person perceives any of these symptoms after the use of clonazepam, it is recommended that you contact your doctor to change the dose or change to another type of medication.

  • Acne.
  • Urticaria .
  • Inflammation or irritation of the eyes, lips, tongue or throat.
  • Respiratory problems .
  • Difficulties in swallowing.
  • Hoarseness or aphonia.

It is necessary to know that both elderly patients, such as children or people with weak health or liver disorders are much more susceptible to the effects of benzodiazepines and therefore are more likely to suffer any of these unwanted consequences.

Precautions

Clonazepam is contraindicated in people with a history of allergy or hypersensitivity to benzodiazepines, as well as in patients with severe liver disease, severe respiratory insufficiency or with acute glaucoma.

Due to the depressant effects of clonazepam, people who operate or manipulate heavy machinery or vehicles they must know the possible risks of this medication; as well as all those patients who in their day to day require a degree of reflexes or alertness.

Treatment with clonazepam is incompatible with the consumption of alcoholic beverages, large quantities of beverages containing caffeine or theine; or with other central nervous system depressants.

Unlike other types of benzodiazepines, The effects of clonazepam in pregnant women are not completely determined . There are investigations that point to a greater frequency of anomalies or deficiencies from birth in the children of women in treatment of antiepileptic medication. However, this relationship has been widely questioned.

In cases in which the patient is during the period of lactation, only the medication will be administered in times of emergency, suspending breastfeeding. The reason is that the medication is able to transfer into breast milk , causing possible adverse effects in the baby such as withdrawal syndrome.


CLONAZEPAM tablets uses /side effect हिन्दी में ALL ABOUT MEDICINE (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Clonazépam: utilisations, précautions et effets secondaires

Clonazépam: utilisations, précautions et effets secondaires

Mai 11, 2021

L'utilisation des benzodiazépines en tant que médicament de choix en thérapie psychiatrique ou psychologique est plus que connue. Ses propriétés anxiolytiques et sédatives, parmi beaucoup d'autres, lui ont valu la gloire; en le transformant en l'un des médicaments psychotropes les plus consommés.

Parmi eux est le clonazépam , qui sera discuté tout au long de cet article. Il décrit en détail ce que c'est et quelles propriétés thérapeutiques il a. Ainsi que les effets secondaires possibles et les précautions à prendre en compte avant de le consommer.

  • Article connexe: "Benzodiazépines (psychodrugs): usages, effets et risques"

Qu'est-ce que le clonazépam?

Le clonazépam est un médicament intégré au groupe des benzodiazépines . Son système d'action principal est le système nerveux central (SNC), sur lequel il a la capacité de diminuer l'activité électrique, en exerçant les effets suivants:


  • Sédatif
  • Ansiolítico.
  • Anticonvulsivant .
  • Myorelaxant
  • Stabilisateur de l'humeur .

En raison de toutes ces propriétés, le clonazépam est prescrit comme antiépileptique surtout dans les traitements de crise des absences ou des absences atypiques. De même, il est également prescrit, seul ou en association avec d'autres médicaments, pour atténuer les attaques et les attaques de panique.

Son action en tant que stabilisateur de l'état d'esprit est capable de provoquer chez la personne, de manière temporaire, l'oubli de certains épisodes avec une grande charge émotionnelle.

Cependant, le clonazépam peut générer une dépendance , ainsi que pour provoquer une tolérance élevée aux médicaments, il est donc recommandé de les administrer pendant de courtes périodes ou uniquement en cas d’urgence lorsque le patient présente un trouble bipolaire.


Troubles où il est utilisé comme produit psychopharmaceutique

Certains des troubles ou des conditions dans lesquelles le clonazépam peut être utile sont:

  • Troubles anxieux (phobies et troubles paniques)
  • Problèmes de sommeil.
  • Absences de type épileptique.
  • Les saisies
  • Trouble bipolaire .
  • Syndrome de sevrage alcoolique.

Mode d'administration et dose

Le clonazépam il est présenté sous forme de tablette à prendre oralement . Il existe deux variantes du clonazépam: les pilules à prendre avec des liquides et les pilules solubles dans la bouche. La dose recommandée est généralement une pilule trois fois par jour, il est recommandé que la personne ingérée tous les jours à la même heure, et sa consommation doit toujours dépendre de l'indication du médecin.


Il est conseillé de suivre les instructions du médicament et du médecin qui l’a prescrit. Généralement, le traitement commence par la prise de doses plus faibles, qui sont augmentées progressivement tous les trois jours.

Comme mentionné ci-dessus, le clonazépam est capable de générer une dépendance et une tolérance chez la personne, de sorte que Il est fortement contre-indiqué pour la personne d’augmenter la dose , prenez-le plus longtemps que nécessaire ou ne respectez pas les instructions du personnel médical.

Les effets du clonazépam peuvent aider la personne à gérer les symptômes produits par le trouble ou la maladie dont elle souffre. Toutefois, cela ne sera pas envoyé en totalité ou en totalité, pour cela il sera nécessaire accompagner le traitement pharmacologique avec d'autres médicaments et un type de psychothérapie .

Il est possible que la personne ne commence à percevoir les effets du clonazépam que quelques semaines après la première dose. Cependant, il est nécessaire que le patient n'augmente pas sa dose et n'arrête pas de prendre cette benzodiazépine à moins que le médecin ne l'indique.

Que vous ne remarquiez aucune amélioration, ne vous sentiez pas complètement rétabli ou que vous ressentiez des effets secondaires indésirables, le patient doit continuer à prendre la dose prescrite. Sinon, il pourrait en souffrir une série de symptômes liés à l'abstinence . Ces symptômes incluent:

  • Convulsions
  • Hallucinations .
  • Changements de comportement.
  • Transpiration
  • Tremblements .
  • Crampes musculaires.
  • Problèmes gastriques
  • Anxiété .
  • Altérations du rêve.

Dans les cas où le médicament est plus nocif que bénéfique pour la personne ou lorsque le traitement doit être interrompu pour quelque raison que ce soit, la procédure la plus recommandée est la suivante: réduire progressivement les doses .

Effets secondaires du clonazépam

En raison de ses effets dépresseurs sur le système nerveux central, le clonazépam peut provoquer une série de réactions indésirables liés à ces effets. La personne peut ressentir une sensation de fatigue, de somnolence ou de faiblesse causée par ce médicament.

D'autre part, il y a eu des cas dans lesquels cette benzodiazépine a eu des effets paradoxaux chez l'homme. Ces symptômes vont de une plus grande surexcitation, agitation ou nervosité ; à des effets indésirables tels que des comportements violents ou agressifs, des attaques de panique ou des troubles du sommeil.

La liste des effets indésirables peut être divisée en deux sous-groupes: effets indésirables légers ou effets indésirables graves.

1. Effets secondaires légers

Ils peuvent être expérimentés avec une intensité plus ou moins grande, mais ils sont généralement temporaires et interfèrent rarement avec le développement du traitement.

  • Somnolence .
  • Vertige
  • Des hauts et des bas émotionnels
  • Altérations de la coordination.
  • Problèmes de mémoire .
  • Augmentation de la salivation.
  • Douleurs musculaires ou articulaires.
  • Augmentation du besoin d'uriner.
  • Problèmes de vision .
  • Altérations du désir ou de la performance sexuelle.

2. Effets secondaires graves

Si la personne perçoit l’un de ces symptômes après l’utilisation du clonazépam, il est recommandé de contacter votre médecin pour modifier la dose ou prendre un autre type de médicament.

  • Éruption cutanée
  • Urticaire .
  • Inflammation ou irritation des yeux, des lèvres, de la langue ou de la gorge.
  • Problèmes respiratoires .
  • Difficultés à avaler.
  • Enrouement ou aphonie.

Il faut savoir que les deux patients âgés, tels que les enfants ou les personnes en mauvaise santé ou les troubles hépatiques sont beaucoup plus sensibles aux effets des benzodiazépines et sont donc plus susceptibles de subir l’une de ces conséquences indésirables.

Précautions

Le clonazépam est contre-indiqué chez les personnes ayant des antécédents d’allergie ou d’hypersensibilité aux benzodiazépines, ainsi que chez les patients présentant une maladie grave du foie, une insuffisance respiratoire grave ou un glaucome aigu.

En raison des effets dépresseurs du clonazépam, les personnes qui utilisent ou manipulent de la machinerie lourde ou des véhicules ils doivent connaître les risques possibles de ce médicament; ainsi que tous les patients qui, au quotidien, ont besoin de réflexes ou de vigilance.

Le traitement avec le clonazépam est incompatible avec la consommation de boissons alcoolisées, de grandes quantités de boissons contenant de la caféine ou de la théine; ou avec d'autres dépresseurs du système nerveux central.

Contrairement aux autres types de benzodiazépines, Les effets du clonazépam chez la femme enceinte ne sont pas complètement déterminés . Certaines enquêtes font apparaître une plus grande fréquence d'anomalies ou de carences dès la naissance chez les enfants de femmes sous traitement anti-épileptique. Cependant, cette relation a été largement mise en doute.

Dans les cas où la patiente est pendant la période d'allaitement, seul le médicament sera administré en cas d'urgence, suspendant l'allaitement. La raison est que le médicament peut être transféré dans le lait maternel , pouvant entraîner des effets indésirables chez le bébé, tels que le syndrome de sevrage.


Administer Intramuscular Injections - www.simtics.com (Mai 2021).


Articles Connexes