yes, therapy helps!
Closed for holidays! The psychological need to rest

Closed for holidays! The psychological need to rest

May 9, 2021

The current world is very competitive . Both in work and personal life, we must be productive, efficient, correct, have high performance, meet deadlines, deal with difficult situations, make decisions, demonstrate proactivity, renew, update continuously ...

All this induces a state of stress that, although it initially drives us and motivates us to remain attentive and give the best of ourselves, to maintain ourselves continuously leads to a decrease in motivation, performance and enjoyment of the work activity that even induce some disorder such as burnout, anxiety disorders or depressive symptoms.

In order to avoid it, apart from other considerations, advice and the application of relaxation techniques such as breathing is necessary to have rest periods in which to relax both physically and psychologically and disconnect from everyday problems. That is, a vacation is necessary .


The need for vacations

In this period of rest is very useful to perform recovery activities such as relaxation in order that the individual can abstract and take a break from the stressors in their daily lives.

Understood as a reward for the effort made, the holidays are a reinforcing element of self-esteem and self-concept, in addition to preventing the onset of stress and other disorders. It is a period in which we can do activities that we find pleasurable and for which there is usually no opportunity, temporarily leaving behind the responsibilities associated with the position, role or personal and social status.


Beneficial effects of rest

The fact of enjoying a vacation correctly means a lot of benefits. In the first place, in relation to the aforementioned stress, the holiday period helps to relax, repairing the organism for the damage caused by the increase in cortisol and anxiety .

Likewise, a good rest produces a remarkable increase of creativity, being able to give rise to the formation of new strategies and ideas that in a stressful environment would not arise. This is because during periods of rest the brain is not inactive, but only stops focusing on certain stimulation, activating many other areas of the psyche that are often left aside.

In this sense, the mental unblocking that produces rest provokes an improvement of the capacity of judgment and decision , enabling the full analysis of the available information and the subsequent decision making.


In addition, rest produces an increase in productivity and concentration, by decreasing the intellectual block and the mental and physical slowing of a continuous stress situation. The latency of reaction to stimuli decreases, increasing performance and efficiency during both the recreational period and the return to work.

Finally, rest causes the release of endorphins and the activation of neural reward circuits, stimulating the presence of dopamine and serotonin in the brain. All this produces a reduction of anxiety and negative thought patterns. In conclusion, vacations are a way that causes happiness in those who are able to enjoy the holiday rest period.

Things to avoid that diminish the repairing effect of the holidays

It is necessary to bear in mind that the simple fact of having vacations is not in itself repairing , but the rest comes from the change of activities and ways of thinking compared to the usual situation. In this way, not everything is worth, if not that it should take into account some elements that hinder the true enjoyment of the holiday period.

In this sense, a common problem in the presence of holidays, especially if it is a short duration, is excessive programming. Frequently there is a tendency to make extensive lists of things to do or visit. It is worth taking into account that more quantity does not mean more quality, since saturating the available time can produce even more stress.

Bedtime is also a frequent problem. It is usual to see how individuals tend to lie down according to a stipulated schedule in order to take advantage of the time. Again it has to be remembered that the ultimate goal is to rest and enjoy .

Another problem to avoid is the creation of a routine B (being A the daily routine). In this sense we must assess the need to do things out of the ordinary, that do not involve a constant repetition of the same patterns present in everyday life.

Although the period of leisure that suppose the vacations has to be enjoyed to the maximum, one does not have to forget however the necessity to take into account the economic slope. Unforeseen events are likely.Likewise, enjoyment must be carried out without falling into excess, since a complete lack of control can cause health problems, economic and / or relational.

Recommendations to improve the quality of vacations

Some elements have been discussed to avoid so that the mental regeneration produced by the vacation break does not cloud. Let's see now some basic recommendations to improve the latter .

1. The good thing about improvisation

Among all the recommendations, the main one is to have great flexibility. As already said, the holiday period is full of possible contingencies, and no matter how planned the needs of individuals may change. Being able to improvise and adapt to desires and possibilities is fundamental for an optimal experience of enjoyment .

2. Change of mentality

A second essential element is the fact of totally disconnecting from the normal routine . That is, it is necessary that before the start of the holiday period everything is prepared so that the usual responsibilities do not interrupt (unless greater need) rest.

3. Daring

Another important element is to dare to do new things , because it allows the acquisition of new points of view that can bring great changes to our lives, increasing our creativity.

4. Prevent conflicts

One more consideration that should be taken into account for those whose vacations are carried out in company is the recommendation to choose the activities to be carried out collaboratively. This reinforces the link between the subjects, also providing different perspectives that can help find better options for all.

Start again: the re-entry

The holiday rest period has an end . Keeping this fact in mind and facing it can mean the difference between reincorporating oneself into daily life with energy and optimism and entering a state of depression before the return of obligations, popularly known as post-holiday syndrome.

In this sense a progressive return must be sought to re-adapt to daily life, returning home a few days before , for example, adjusting the circadian rhythms to the usual schedule and in some cases, favoring that the companies allow a progressive reentry. Also, at the beginning of the holidays it is important not to obsess over the remaining time to finish, but to plan to take into account that you are going to return in a specific period.

Bibliographic references

  • Colombo, V. and Cifre, E. (2012). The importance of recovering from work: A review of where, how and why. Papers of the Psychologist, Vol 33 (2), 129-137.
  • Immordino, M. H. et. Al. (2012) Rest Is Not Idleness. Implications of the Brain's Default Mode for Human Development and Education. Perspectives on Psychological Science; 7 (4): 352-364.
  • Leung, A. K. et. Al. (2008) Multicultural experience enhances creativity: the when and how. The American Psychologist; 63 (3): 169-181.
  • Nawijn, J. et al. (2010) Vacationers Happier, but Most Happier After Holiday. Applied Research in Quality of Life; 5 (1): 35-47.

To Sleep, Perchance to Dream - Crash Course Psychology #9 (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Fermé pour les vacances! Le besoin psychologique de se reposer

Fermé pour les vacances! Le besoin psychologique de se reposer

Novembre 26, 2022

Le monde actuel est très compétitif . Tant dans la vie professionnelle que personnelle, nous devons être productifs, efficaces, corrects, performants, respecter les délais, faire face aux situations difficiles, prendre des décisions, faire preuve de proactivité, renouveler, mettre à jour en permanence ...

Tout cela induit un état de stress qui, même si, au départ, il nous motive et nous incite à rester attentif et à donner le meilleur de nous-mêmes, nous maintenir en permanence entraîne une diminution de la motivation, des performances et de la jouissance du travail qui en induit même trouble tel que l'épuisement professionnel, les troubles anxieux ou les symptômes dépressifs.

Afin de l'éviter, outre d'autres considérations, des conseils et l'application de techniques de relaxation telles que la respiration sont nécessaires afin de prévoir des périodes de repos afin de vous détendre physiquement et psychologiquement et de vous déconnecter des problèmes de tous les jours. C'est-à-dire qu'il faut des vacances .


Le besoin de vacances

Pendant cette période de repos, il est très utile d’effectuer des activités de récupération, telles que la relaxation, afin que l’individu puisse faire abstraction des stresseurs de la vie quotidienne et y mettre un terme.

Entendues comme une récompense des efforts fournis, les vacances renforcent l'estime de soi et la confiance en soi, tout en prévenant l'apparition du stress et d'autres troubles. C’est une période où nous pouvons faire des activités que nous trouvons agréables et pour lesquels il n’ya généralement aucune possibilité, abandonnant temporairement les responsabilités associées au poste, au rôle ou au statut personnel et social.


Effets bénéfiques du repos

Le fait de passer des vacances correctement implique de nombreux avantages. En premier lieu, en ce qui concerne le stress susmentionné, la période des vacances permet de se détendre, réparer l'organisme pour les dommages causés par l'augmentation du cortisol et de l'anxiété .

De même, un bon repos produit une augmentation remarquable de la créativité, pouvant donner lieu à la formation de nouvelles stratégies et idées qui, dans un environnement stressant, ne se présenteraient pas. En effet, pendant les périodes de repos, le cerveau n’est pas inactif, il ne fait que cesser de se concentrer sur certaines stimulations et activer de nombreuses autres zones de la psyché qui sont souvent laissées de côté.

Dans ce sens, le déblocage mental qui produit du repos provoque une amélioration de la capacité de jugement et de décision , permettant une analyse complète des informations disponibles et la prise de décision ultérieure.


De plus, le repos entraîne une augmentation de la productivité et de la concentration, en diminuant le blocage intellectuel et le ralentissement mental et physique d’une situation de stress continu. La latence de la réaction aux stimuli diminue, ce qui augmente les performances et l'efficacité pendant la période de loisirs et le retour au travail.

Enfin, le repos provoque la libération d'endorphines et l'activation de circuits de récompense neuronaux, stimulant ainsi la présence de dopamine et de sérotonine dans le cerveau. Tout cela produit une réduction de l'anxiété et des schémas de pensée négatifs. En conclusion, les vacances sont un moyen de bonheur pour ceux qui sont en mesure de profiter de la période de repos des vacances.

Les choses à éviter qui diminuent l'effet réparateur des vacances

Il ne faut pas oublier que le simple fait de passer des vacances n’est pas en soi une réparation. , mais le reste provient du changement d’activités et de modes de pensée par rapport à la situation habituelle. De cette manière, tout ne vaut pas la peine, sinon le fait que certains éléments empêchent de profiter pleinement de la période des vacances.

En ce sens, un problème commun en présence de vacances, surtout s'il s'agit d'une courte durée, est la programmation excessive. Il y a souvent une tendance à dresser une longue liste de choses à faire ou à visiter. Il convient de noter que plus de quantité ne signifie pas plus de qualité, car saturer le temps disponible peut produire encore plus de stress.

Le coucher est aussi un problème fréquent. Il est habituel de voir comment les individus ont tendance à s'allonger selon un horaire défini pour profiter du temps. Encore une fois, il faut se rappeler que le but ultime est de se reposer et de profiter .

Un autre problème à éviter est la création d'une routine B (étant A la routine quotidienne). En ce sens, nous devons évaluer le besoin de faire des choses hors du commun, qui n'impliquent pas une répétition constante des mêmes modèles présents dans la vie quotidienne.

Bien que la période de loisir qui suppose les vacances doive être vécue au maximum, il ne faut pas oublier cependant la nécessité de prendre en compte la pente économique. Des événements imprévus sont probables.De même, la jouissance doit être réalisée sans tomber dans l'excès, car un manque total de contrôle peut causer des problèmes de santé, économiques et / ou relationnels.

Recommandations pour améliorer la qualité des vacances

Certains éléments ont été discutés pour éviter de telle sorte que la régénération mentale produite par les vacances ne se trouble pas. Voyons maintenant quelques recommandations de base pour améliorer ce dernier .

1. La bonne chose à propos de l'improvisation

Parmi toutes les recommandations, la principale est d'avoir une grande flexibilité. Comme nous l’avons déjà dit, la période des vacances est pleine d’éventuelles éventualités et, peu importe la planification, les besoins des individus peuvent changer. Être capable d'improviser et de s'adapter aux désirs et aux possibilités est fondamental pour une expérience de plaisir optimale. .

2. Changement de mentalité

Un deuxième élément essentiel est le fait de se déconnecter totalement de la routine normale . C'est-à-dire qu'il est nécessaire qu'avant le début des vacances tout soit préparé pour que les responsabilités habituelles n'interrompent pas (sauf nécessité plus grande) le repos.

3. audacieux

Un autre élément important est d'oser faire de nouvelles choses , car elle permet d’acquérir de nouveaux points de vue susceptibles d’apporter de grands changements à nos vies et d’accroître notre créativité.

4. Prévenir les conflits

Une autre considération à prendre en compte pour ceux dont les vacances sont effectuées en entreprise est la recommandation de choisir les activités à réaliser en collaboration. Cela renforce le lien entre les sujets, tout en offrant différentes perspectives qui peuvent aider à trouver de meilleures options pour tous.

Recommencer: la rentrée

La période de repos des vacances prend fin . Garder ce fait à l'esprit et y faire face peut faire toute la différence entre se réincorporer dans la vie quotidienne avec énergie et optimisme et entrer dans un état de dépression avant le retour des obligations, communément appelé syndrome post-vacances.

Dans ce sens il faut rechercher un retour progressif pour se réadapter à la vie quotidienne, en rentrant chez soi quelques jours avant par exemple, ajuster les rythmes circadiens au calendrier habituel et, dans certains cas, favoriser le retour progressif des entreprises. De plus, au début des vacances, il est important de ne pas être obsédé par le temps qu'il reste à terminer, mais de prévoir de prendre en compte le fait que vous allez rentrer dans une période donnée.

Références bibliographiques

  • Colombo, V. et Cifre, E. (2012). L’importance de la reprise du travail: résumé de l’emplacement, du comment et du pourquoi. Papers of the Psychologist, Vol 33 (2), 129-137.
  • Immordino, M.H. et. Al. (2012) Rest Is Is Idleness. Implications du mode par défaut du cerveau pour le développement humain et l'éducation. Perspectives sur la science psychologique; 7 (4): 352 à 364.
  • Leung, A. K. et. Al. (2008) L'expérience multiculturelle améliore la créativité: quand et comment. Le psychologue américain; 63 (3): 169-181.
  • Nawijn, J. et autres (2010) Des vacanciers plus heureux, mais plus heureux après des vacances. Recherche appliquée sur la qualité de vie; 5 (1): 35-47.

LES GENS EN VACANCES | DENYZEE (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes