yes, therapy helps!
Clozapine: operation, precautions and adverse effects

Clozapine: operation, precautions and adverse effects

March 14, 2023

One of the main drawbacks of traditional antipsychotic medication is the amount of time it takes to act, as well as its possible adverse effects. However, in the 1950s it was synthesized for the first time clozapine, an atypical antipsychotic that is well known today .

Throughout this article we will discuss its effectiveness, its way of acting in the body, as well as its advantages and disadvantages, and the precautions that should be taken by those who use this drug.

  • Related article: "Atypical antipsychotics: characteristics and main uses"

What is clozapine?

Clozapine is a benzodiazepine which is included in the group of atypical antipsychotics. The atypical denomination is attributed to him by his differences with the rest of ordinary antipsychotics.


These differences lie in the fact that the former provoke far fewer extrapyramidal symptoms and also show great effectiveness in treating both the positive and negative symptoms of schizophrenia.

This drug achieved fame quickly because of its advantages over other antipsychotics, including its greater effectiveness. However, despite these advantages, Clozapine has a lot of unwanted side effects that affect other functions of the organism.

Within its particular history, clozapine was withdrawn from the market in the 70s when it was related to a series of cases of death by agranulocytosis in people taking this drug. However, approximately ten years after its withdrawal and due to its high efficacy, clozapine was reintroduced on the market with the obligation for the manufacturer to carry out blood tests in order to detect any dangerous side effects.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of psychotropic drugs: uses and side effects"

In what disorders is it used?

Due to its toxicity, the administration of clozapine is restricted only to schizophrenias resistant to other antipsychotics, as well as to more severe schizophrenias with significant extrapyramidal symptoms or with suicide attempts and self-harm.

Further, accompanied by psychological intervention and training in psychosocial skills , clozapine has been established as the reference drug in the treatment of childhood schizophrenia.

Although its use is not recommended in any other case other than the treatment of schizophrenia , very exceptional occasions are administered in patients who present psychotic symptoms and certain neurological conditions in which psychotic symptoms may also arise.


The form of administration

Clozapine is a medicine that is administered orally in both tablet and oral suspension. Normally the recommended dose is one or two doses a day, to be able to be always at the same time. However, It is essential that the patient follow the instructions of his doctor to the letter and ask for advice in case of any doubt that may arise.

Usually, the treatment starts progressively; starting with low doses until the patient's body admits the medication. Likewise, the patient must have a weekly control during the first four months after the start of treatment, after this period the analytics will be performed once a month.

When the medicine reaches its maximum therapeutic effect it is necessary to make a medication adjustment so that it is not exceeded in its effects and thus avoid possible unwanted consequences.

Finally, after cessation of therapy, it is recommended to withdraw clozapine progressively for one or two weeks. When the withdrawal of the drug should be done immediately, due to some pathology such as leukopenia or decrease in the number of leukocytes in blood, it is essential to closely monitor the patient's symptoms.

What precautions should the patient take?

First of all it is necessary to make sure that the patient is not allergic to clozapine or to any of the compounds it contains. Also, the patient should inform his doctor if he takes any medication, vitamin supplement or herbal compounds, especially in the case of St. John's wort.

On the other hand, there are a number of special conditions that must be taken into account before the administration of clozapine. These conditions are related to a series of Conditions and syndromes that may be incompatible with this drug .

1. Heart failure

Patients with severe cardiovascular conditions should be especially careful if they consume clozapine, since they can cause hypotension caused by hemodynamic changes.

2. Diabetes

It is possible that clozapine alter blood glucose levels , so that diabetics should have a particular control.

3. Chronic respiratory diseases

All patients who are clozapine users who suffer from asthma or obstructive pulmonary disease should know that this medication may favor the appearance of depressant effects on respiratory function.

4. Epilepsy

Neuropathic medications can reduce the seizure threshold, causing a risk of seizures .

  • Related article: "Epilepsy: definition, causes, diagnosis and treatment"

5. Depression

Clozapine is characterized by exerting a depressant effect on the central nervous system, which is why People with depression should pay special attention to their symptoms .

  • You may be interested: "Are there several types of depression?"

6. Hepatic insufficiency

Most of clozapine is metabolized by the liver. Therefore, it is advisable adjust the doses to the level of liver function .

8. Parkinsonism

Although the incidence of the effects of clozapine on extrapyramidal effects is much lower than with other types of antipsychotics, it can potentiate them, thus aggravating the disease.

6. Constipation

The anticholinergic action of clozapine can cause complications in constipation, causing intestinal obstruction and paralytic ileus.

Other risks

In addition to potentiating alterations of health that are already present before taking the drug. For example, clozapine can increase photosensitivity , so it is advisable to avoid continuous exposure to the sun.

Further, you run the risk of suffering the neuroleptic malignant syndrome , a life-threatening condition related to the use of antipsychotics. If the person notices symptoms such as fever, tachycardia or altered consciousness, without a justifiable cause, the pharmacological therapy should be suspended.

Finally, it is totally inadvisable in handling or driving heavy or dangerous machinery due to the possible appearance of drowsiness or dizziness. In the same way, those people who are usually exposed to high temperatures usually, should also pay special attention, since clozapine can cause a heat stroke or hypothermia, due to the elimination of hypothalamic regulation.

  • Related article: "Neuroleptic malignant syndrome: symptoms, causes and treatment"

What side effects can appear?

Among the unwanted side effects associated with clozapine we can find those that appear frequently, the rare and those that appear rarely.

Frequent side effects

  • Dizziness .
  • Sensation of sleep.
  • Tachycardia.
  • Hypotension
  • Constipation.
  • Weight gain .
  • Gastrointestinal disorders.
  • Urinary incontinence

Uncommon effects

  • Disorientation.
  • Insomnia .
  • Feeling tired.
  • Tremors
  • Headache .
  • Convulsions
  • Nightmares .
  • Hypertension and hypotension.
  • Leukopenia
  • Hyperhidrosis .
  • Myoclonic tics

Rare side effects

  • Myocardial infarction.
  • Impotence.
  • Arrhythmias .
  • Granulocytopenia
  • Thrombocytopenia
  • Increase in blood glucose levels.
  • Pulmonary embolisms .
  • Glaucoma.

Drooling|Sialorrhea spillage saliva from mouth |problems with swallowing|causes|Management|Treatment (March 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Clozapine: opération, précautions et effets indésirables

Clozapine: opération, précautions et effets indésirables

Février 24, 2020

L’un des principaux inconvénients des antipsychotiques traditionnels est le temps qu’il faut pour agir et ses effets indésirables éventuels. Cependant, dans les années 1950, il a été synthétisé pour la première fois la clozapine, un antipsychotique atypique bien connu aujourd'hui .

Tout au long de cet article, nous discuterons de son efficacité, de sa façon d’agir dans le corps, ainsi que de ses avantages et inconvénients, ainsi que des précautions à prendre par ceux qui utilisent ce médicament.

  • Article connexe: "Antipsychotiques atypiques: caractéristiques et utilisations principales"

Qu'est-ce que la clozapine?

La clozapine est une benzodiazépine qui fait partie du groupe des antipsychotiques atypiques. La dénomination atypique lui est attribuée par ses différences avec le reste des antipsychotiques ordinaires.


Ces différences résident dans le fait que les premiers provoquent beaucoup moins de symptômes extrapyramidaux et montrent également une grande efficacité dans le traitement des symptômes tant positifs que négatifs de la schizophrénie.

Ce médicament a rapidement acquis une renommée en raison de ses avantages sur les autres antipsychotiques, y compris sa plus grande efficacité. Cependant, malgré ces avantages, La clozapine a beaucoup d'effets secondaires indésirables qui affectent d'autres fonctions de l'organisme.

Au cours de son histoire particulière, la clozapine a été retirée du marché dans les années 70 alors qu'elle était liée à une série de cas de décès par agranulocytose chez des personnes prenant ce médicament. Cependant, environ dix ans après son retrait et en raison de sa grande efficacité, la clozapine a été réintroduite sur le marché, obligeant le fabricant à effectuer des tests sanguins afin de détecter tout effet indésirable dangereux.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Types de médicaments psychotropes: usages et effets secondaires"

Dans quels troubles est-il utilisé?

En raison de sa toxicité, la clozapine est administrée uniquement aux schizophrénies résistantes aux autres antipsychotiques, ainsi qu’aux schizophrénies plus graves accompagnées de symptômes extrapyramidaux significatifs ou aux tentatives de suicide et automutilation.

En outre, accompagné d'une intervention psychologique et d'une formation aux compétences psychosocial La clozapine a été établie comme médicament de référence dans le traitement de la schizophrénie chez les enfants.

Malgré que son utilisation n'est recommandée dans aucun autre cas que le traitement de la schizophrénie , des occasions très exceptionnelles sont administrées chez des patients présentant des symptômes psychotiques et certaines affections neurologiques dans lesquelles des symptômes psychotiques peuvent également apparaître.


La forme d'administration

La clozapine est un médicament administré par voie orale sous forme de comprimé et de suspension buvable. Normalement, la dose recommandée est une ou deux doses par jour, pour pouvoir être toujours au même moment. Cependant, Il est essentiel que le patient suive les instructions de son médecin à la lettre. et demandez conseil en cas de doute.

Habituellement, le traitement commence progressivement. en commençant par de faibles doses jusqu'à ce que le corps du patient admette le médicament. De même, le patient doit avoir un contrôle hebdomadaire au cours des quatre premiers mois suivant le début du traitement. Après cette période, l'analyse sera effectuée une fois par mois.

Lorsque le médicament atteint son effet thérapeutique maximal il est nécessaire de faire un ajustement de la médication afin de ne pas dépasser ses effets et d’éviter ainsi d’éventuelles conséquences indésirables.

Enfin, après l’arrêt du traitement, il est recommandé de retirer progressivement la clozapine pendant une ou deux semaines. Lorsque l'arrêt du médicament doit être effectué immédiatement, en raison d'une pathologie telle que la leucopénie ou la diminution du nombre de leucocytes dans le sang, il est essentiel de surveiller de près les symptômes du patient.

Quelles précautions le patient devrait-il prendre?

Tout d’abord, il faut s’assurer que le patient n’est pas allergique à la clozapine ou à l’un des composés qu’elle contient. En outre, le patient doit informer son médecin s’il prend des médicaments, des suppléments de vitamines ou des composés à base de plantes, en particulier dans le cas du millepertuis.

Par ailleurs, un certain nombre de conditions spéciales doivent être prises en compte avant l'administration de la clozapine. Ces conditions sont liées à une série de Conditions et syndromes pouvant être incompatibles avec ce médicament .

1. insuffisance cardiaque

Les patients atteints de maladies cardiovasculaires graves doivent faire particulièrement attention s'ils consomment de la clozapine, car ils peuvent provoquer une hypotension causée par des changements hémodynamiques.

2. le diabète

Il est possible que la clozapine modifier la glycémie , de sorte que les diabétiques devraient avoir un contrôle particulier.

3. Maladies respiratoires chroniques

Tous les patients qui utilisent de la clozapine et qui souffrent d’asthme ou de maladie pulmonaire obstructive doivent savoir que ce médicament peut favoriser l’apparition de effets dépresseurs sur la fonction respiratoire.

4. l'épilepsie

Les médicaments neuropathiques peuvent réduire le seuil convulsif, provoquant un risque de convulsions .

  • Article connexe: "Épilepsie: définition, causes, diagnostic et traitement"

5. dépression

La clozapine est caractérisée par l’effet dépresseur sur le système nerveux central, raison pour laquelle Les personnes dépressives doivent porter une attention particulière à leurs symptômes .

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Y at-il plusieurs types de dépression?"

6. Insuffisance hépatique

La plupart de la clozapine est métabolisée par le foie. Par conséquent, il est conseillé ajuster les doses au niveau de la fonction hépatique .

8. Parkinsonisme

Bien que l'incidence des effets de la clozapine sur les effets extrapyramidaux soit beaucoup plus faible qu'avec d'autres types d'antipsychotiques, elle peut les potentialiser, aggravant ainsi la maladie.

6. constipation

L'action anticholinergique de la clozapine peut entraîner des complications en cas de constipation, entraînant une obstruction intestinale et un iléus paralytique.

Autres risques

En plus de potentialiser les altérations de la santé qui sont déjà présentes avant de prendre le médicament. Par exemple, la clozapine peut augmenter la photosensibilité , il est donc conseillé d’éviter une exposition continue au soleil.

En outre, vous courez le risque de souffrir du syndrome malin des neuroleptiques , une maladie potentiellement mortelle liée à l'utilisation d'antipsychotiques. Si la personne remarque des symptômes tels que fièvre, tachycardie ou altération de la conscience, sans cause légitime, le traitement pharmacologique doit être suspendu.

Enfin, il est totalement déconseillé de manipuler ou de conduire des machines lourdes ou dangereuses en raison de l’apparition possible de somnolence ou de vertiges. De la même manière, les personnes généralement exposées à des températures élevées doivent également accorder une attention particulière, car la clozapine peut provoquer un coup de chaleur ou une hypothermie, en raison de l'élimination de la régulation hypothalamique.

  • Article connexe: "Syndrome malin des neuroleptiques: symptômes, causes et traitement"

Quels effets secondaires peuvent apparaître?

Parmi les effets secondaires indésirables associés à la clozapine, on trouve ceux qui apparaissent fréquemment, les rares et ceux qui apparaissent rarement.

Effets secondaires fréquents

  • Vertige .
  • Sensation de sommeil.
  • Tachycardie
  • Hypotension
  • Constipation
  • Prise de poids .
  • Problèmes gastro-intestinaux.
  • Incontinence urinaire.

Effets peu fréquents

  • Désorientation
  • L'insomnie .
  • Sensation de fatigue.
  • Tremblements
  • Mal de tête .
  • Convulsions
  • Cauchemars .
  • Hypertension et hypotension.
  • Leucopénie
  • Hyperhidrose .
  • Tics myocloniques

Effets secondaires rares

  • L'infarctus du myocarde.
  • Impuissance
  • Arythmies .
  • Granulocytopénie
  • Thrombocytopénie
  • Augmentation de la glycémie.
  • Embolies pulmonaires .
  • Glaucome

Operation - Anarki... Alternativ (Février 2020).


Articles Connexes