yes, therapy helps!
Cognitive reserve: what it is and how it protects us from dementia

Cognitive reserve: what it is and how it protects us from dementia

November 27, 2021

Brain damage often causes alterations in cognition that manifest themselves in very different ways. The cognitive reserve, which protects us from this type of symptoms , is defined as the resistance of our mind to injuries and deterioration.

In this article we will examine the concept of cognitive reserve, particularly in the framework in which it is most commonly used: dementia. We will also describe the factors that influence the presence of a greater cognitive reserve and the preservation of memory .

  • Related article: "Types of dementia: forms of cognition loss"

Defining the cognitive reserve

The concept "cognitive reserve" is used to refer to the ability to resist brain deterioration without presenting symptoms. Sometimes, even if there is objective damage in the central nervous system that would justify a diagnosis of dementia, in the neuropsychological evaluation no cognitive impairment of the person with deterioration is detected.


Once they begin to develop neurodegenerative diseases, people with a high cognitive reserve take longer to show symptoms than those with a lower reserve. These effects have been related to the presence of greater cognitive abilities that allow supplement the behavioral and neuropsychological deficits of dementia.

However, in these cases usually the symptoms appear abruptly , in contrast to the typical progression of this type of diseases. This has been associated with the joint failure of the strategies used to deal with the deterioration; Once a certain degree of brain damage has been achieved, the person will be unable to activate these compensatory skills.


Unlike the term "brain reserve", which emphasizes the resistance of the nervous system, the cognitive reserve refers rather to the optimization of brain resources through different strategies that allow the performance to decrease to a lesser extent in the presence of neurological damage. Thus, it is a functional concept, not just a structural one.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 8 superior psychological processes"

Cognitive reserve and dementia

In a 1988 study, Katzman and his collaborators found that some people with Alzheimer disease they did not show symptoms of dementia, or they were very mild compared to the neurological damage they presented. These people also had a greater number of neurons and their brain weighed more than expected.

The results of this and other studies have been attributed to the existence of a cognitive reserve, that is, of a greater number of neurons and synapses before the development of the disease . It is believed that the cognitive reserve depends on the degree of physical and mental stimulation of the person; for example, education and employment reduce the risk of dementia.


The 25% of elderly people in whom no cognitive impairment is detected before their death meet the diagnostic criteria of Alzheimer's disease (Ince, 2001). In this way, even if someone presents a clinical picture of dementia at the neuroanatomical level, if their cognitive reserve is high, it is possible that the symptoms do not manifest themselves.

Although cognitive reserve is usually discussed in relation to dementia, it can actually be applied to any alteration of brain functions; for example, it has been found that a greater reserve prevents the cognitive manifestations of traumatic brain injuries, schizophrenia, bipolar disorder or depression .

  • Related article: "Alzheimer's: causes, symptoms, treatment and prevention"

Factors that prevent deterioration

There are different types of factors that contribute to the increase of cognitive reserve and, therefore, help to prevent the psychological symptoms of dementia and other disorders that affect the brain.

As we will see, these variables are fundamentally related to the level of activity and stimulation, both physically and mentally .

1. Cognitive stimulation

Several studies have found that continuous cognitive stimulation increases brain cognitive reserve. A very important factor in this regard is the educational level, which is associated with greater connectivity and neuronal growth throughout life, but especially at early ages.

On the other hand, professions that are more stimulating at the cognitive level are also very beneficial. These effects have been detected especially in jobs that require a complex use of language, mathematics and reasoning , and probably are related to a lower atrophy in the hippocampus, a structure involved in memory.

2. Physical activity

Research on the influence of physical activity on cognitive reserve is less conclusive than research on mental stimulation. It is believed that Aerobic exercise can improve cerebral blood flow , as well as the functioning of neurotransmitters and the growth of neurons.

3. Leisure and free time

This factor is related to the previous two, as well as to social interaction, which also stimulates brain functioning. Rodríguez-Álvarez and Sánchez-Rodríguez (2004) affirm that elderly people who perform more leisure activities show a 38% reduction in the likelihood of developing dementia symptoms .

However, correlational investigations carry a risk of reversal of causality; thus, it could simply happen that people with less cognitive impairment are involved in more leisure activities, and not that they prevent the progression of dementia.

4. Bilingualism

According to research by Bialystok, Craik and Freedman (2007), people who use at least two languages ​​in a very normal way during their lives take an average of 4 years more than monolinguals to present symptoms of dementia, once the encephalon starts to deteriorate .

The hypothesis proposed by these authors is that competition between languages ​​favors development of an attention control mechanism . This would not only explain the benefits of bilingualism for the cognitive reserve, but also the improvement in the cognitive functioning of children and adults who master several languages.

Bibliographic references:

  • Bialystok, E., Craik, E. I. & Freedman, M. (2007). Bilingualism as a protection against the onset of symptoms of dementia. Neuropsychology, 45: 459-464.
  • Ince, P. G (2001). Pathological correlates of late-onset dementia in a multicenter community-based population in England and Wales. Lancet, 357: 169-175.
  • Katzman, R., Terry, R., DeTeresa, R., Brown, T., Davies, P., Fuld, P., Renbing, X. & Peck, A. (1988). Clinical, pathological, and neurochemical changes in dementia: a subgroup with preserved mental status and numerous neocortical plaques. Annals of Neurology, 23 (2): 138-44.
  • Rodríguez-Álvarez, M. & Sánchez-Rodríguez, J. L. (2004). Cognitive reserve and dementia. Annals of psychology, 20: 175-186.
  • Stern, Y. (2009). Cognitive Reserve. Neuropsychologia, 47 (10): 2015-2028.

Can my Leisure Activities Protect my Cognitive Function? (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Réserve cognitive: qu'est-ce que c'est et comment ça nous protège de la démence

Réserve cognitive: qu'est-ce que c'est et comment ça nous protège de la démence

Juillet 26, 2022

Les lésions cérébrales entraînent souvent des altérations cognitives qui se manifestent de manières très différentes. La réserve cognitive, qui nous protège de ce type de symptômes , est définie comme la résistance de notre esprit aux blessures et à la détérioration.

Dans cet article, nous examinerons le concept de réserve cognitive, en particulier dans le cadre où il est le plus couramment utilisé: la démence. Nous décrirons également les facteurs qui influencent la présence d’une plus grande réserve cognitive et la préservation de la mémoire .

  • Article connexe: "Types de démence: formes de perte cognitive"

Définir la réserve cognitive

Le concept de "réserve cognitive" est utilisé pour désigner le capacité à résister à la détérioration du cerveau sans présenter de symptômes. Parfois, même s'il existe des dommages objectifs dans le système nerveux central qui justifieraient un diagnostic de démence, l'évaluation neuropsychologique ne détecte aucune altération cognitive de la personne atteinte de détérioration.


Une fois qu'ils commencent à développer des maladies neurodégénératives, les personnes ayant une réserve cognitive élevée mettent plus de temps à présenter des symptômes que celles ayant une réserve inférieure. Ces effets ont été liés à la présence de plus grandes capacités cognitives qui permettent de compléter les déficits comportementaux et neuropsychologiques de la démence.

Cependant, dans ces cas, généralement les symptômes apparaissent brusquement , contrairement à la progression typique de ce type de maladies. Ceci a été associé à l'échec commun des stratégies utilisées pour faire face à la détérioration; Une fois qu'un certain degré de lésion cérébrale a été atteint, la personne ne pourra plus activer ces compétences compensatoires.


Contrairement au terme "réserve cérébrale", qui met l'accent sur la résistance du système nerveux, la réserve cognitive se réfère plutôt à la optimisation des ressources cérébrales à travers différentes stratégies qui permettent à la performance de diminuer dans une moindre mesure en présence de dommages neurologiques. Il s’agit donc d’un concept fonctionnel, et pas uniquement structurel.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 8 processus psychologiques supérieurs"

Réserve cognitive et démence

Dans une étude de 1988, Katzman et ses collaborateurs ont découvert que certaines personnes atteintes de Maladie d'Alzheimer ils ne présentaient pas de symptômes de démence ou étaient très légers comparés aux dommages neurologiques qu’ils présentaient. Ces personnes avaient également un plus grand nombre de neurones et leur cerveau pesait plus que prévu.

Les résultats de cette étude et d’autres ont été attribués à l’existence d’une réserve cognitive, c’est-à-dire d’une plus grand nombre de neurones et de synapses avant le développement de la maladie . On pense que la réserve cognitive dépend du degré de stimulation physique et mentale de la personne; Par exemple, l'éducation et l'emploi réduisent le risque de démence.


Les 25% de personnes âgées chez lesquelles aucune déficience cognitive n'a été détectée avant leur décès répondent aux critères de diagnostic de la maladie d'Alzheimer (Ince, 2001). De cette manière, même si une personne présente un tableau clinique de démence au niveau neuroanatomique, si sa réserve cognitive est élevée, il est possible que les symptômes ne se manifestent pas.

Bien que la réserve cognitive soit généralement discutée en relation avec la démence, elle peut en réalité être appliquée à toute altération des fonctions cérébrales. par exemple, il a été constaté qu'une réserve plus importante empêche les manifestations cognitives de lésions cérébrales traumatiques, schizophrénie, trouble bipolaire ou dépression .

  • Article connexe: "Alzheimer: causes, symptômes, traitement et prévention"

Facteurs empêchant la détérioration

Différents types de facteurs contribuent à l'augmentation de la réserve cognitive et, par conséquent, aident à prévenir les symptômes psychologiques de la démence et d'autres troubles affectant le cerveau.

Comme nous le verrons, ces variables sont fondamentalement liées à le niveau d'activité et de stimulation physique et mentale .

1. Stimulation cognitive

Plusieurs études ont montré qu'une stimulation cognitive continue augmente la réserve cognitive du cerveau. Le niveau d'éducation, qui est associé à une plus grande connectivité et à une croissance neuronale tout au long de la vie, mais surtout à un âge précoce, est un facteur très important à cet égard.

Par ailleurs, les professions plus stimulantes au niveau cognitif sont également très bénéfiques. Ces effets ont été détectés en particulier dans les emplois qui nécessitent une utilisation complexe du langage, des mathématiques et du raisonnement , et sont probablement liés à une moindre atrophie de l’hippocampe, une structure impliquée dans la mémoire.

2. Activité physique

Les recherches sur l'influence de l'activité physique sur les réserves cognitives sont moins concluantes que celles sur la stimulation mentale. Se croit que L'exercice aérobie peut améliorer le flux sanguin cérébral , ainsi que le fonctionnement des neurotransmetteurs et la croissance des neurones.

3. Loisirs et temps libre

Ce facteur est lié aux deux précédents, ainsi qu’à l’interaction sociale, qui stimule également le fonctionnement du cerveau. Rodríguez-Álvarez et Sánchez-Rodríguez (2004) affirment que les personnes âgées qui pratiquent davantage de loisirs Réduction de 38% de la probabilité de développer des symptômes de démence .

Cependant, les enquêtes par corrélation comportent un risque de renversement du lien de causalité; ainsi, il pourrait tout simplement arriver que les personnes ayant une déficience cognitive moindre soient impliquées dans davantage d'activités de loisirs et non qu'elles empêchent la progression de la démence.

4. Bilinguisme

Selon les recherches de Bialystok, Craik et Freedman (2007), les personnes qui utilisent au moins deux langues de manière très normale au cours de leur vie prennent en moyenne 4 ans de plus que les monolingues pour présenter les symptômes de démence, une fois que l'encéphale commence à se détériorer .

L’hypothèse proposée par ces auteurs est que la concurrence entre les langues favorise développement d'un mécanisme de contrôle de l'attention . Cela expliquerait non seulement les avantages du bilinguisme pour la réserve cognitive, mais également l'amélioration du fonctionnement cognitif des enfants et des adultes maîtrisant plusieurs langues.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Bialystok, E., Craik, E. I. et Freedman, M. (2007). Le bilinguisme comme protection contre l'apparition de symptômes de démence. Neuropsychology, 45: 459-464.
  • Ince, P. G (2001). Corrélats pathologiques de la démence d'apparition tardive dans une population multicentrique basée sur la communauté en Angleterre et au Pays de Galles. Lancet, 357: 169-175.
  • R. Katzman, R. Terry, R. DeTeresa, T. Brown, P., Davies, P., P. Fuld, Renbing, X. et Peck, A. (1988). Changements cliniques, pathologiques et neurochimiques de la démence: un sous-groupe dont l'état mental est préservé et de nombreuses plaques néocorticales. Annals of Neurology, 23 (2): 138-44.
  • Rodríguez-Álvarez, M. et Sánchez-Rodríguez, J. L. (2004). Réserve cognitive et démence. Annals of psychology, 20: 175-186.
  • Stern, Y. (2009). Réserve cognitive. Neuropsychologia, 47 (10): 2015-2028.

WEED, reportage sur le cannabis médical par le Dr Sanjay Gupta (CNN) (2013) (STFR) (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes