yes, therapy helps!
Colors and emotions: how do they relate to each other?

Colors and emotions: how do they relate to each other?

September 14, 2022

There are different colors in nature, and each of them affects our emotions in a different way. Surely you have already realized, for example, when you have to decorate your home, pay special attention to what colors you will use. Each of the colors will make you feel a certain way.

Companies have long carefully select the colors they use for their logos or for their premises, because depending on what they use they make us experience one or other emotions. Did you know that red color stimulates hunger? That's why McDonald's, Pizza Hut, KFC or Wendy's use it to represent their brand.


  • Related article: "Emotional psychology: main theories of emotion"

What is the psychology of color

Psychology is everything in our life, mainly because everything we see, hear and feel goes through our thinking organ. Our eyes alone can not see, and in the brain there is a specific area for vision, which is the occipital lobe. However, this one it is not the only region of the brain that is involved in the processes of vision , since information from the occipital cortex is sent to other parts, such as the frontal lobe or the thalamus.

That is why color is able to stimulate or create joy or sadness. Colors can make us feel energetic or relaxed, favor thermal sensations of cold or heat, and also make us perceive order or disorder. Although the perception of color is an individual and subjective process , cultural factors also influence how color affects us. For example, some colors are identified with the masculine and with the feminine, and others with the romantic.


For this reason was born what is known as the psychology of color, which is a field of study that is aimed at analyzing how we perceive, feel and behave in different shades, brightness and color intensities.

  • You can delve into the psychology of color in our article: "Psychology of color: meaning and curiosities of colors"

What emotions are the different colors

The language of color is known by professionals of marketing or decoration and even by artists, and the psychology of color is necessary for the development of products, such as clothing, advertising, etc.

But. How do colors affect the emotional level? Below you can find a list of the different emotions that colors provoke in the inhabitants of Western countries:

1. Blue

The blue is a color that inspires tranquility and is relaxing . It gives a feeling of freshness and calmness and is associated with the sky and the water. It is synonymous with purity, freedom, harmony, fidelity, seriousness, security, sincerity and loyalty.


2. Green

Green represents nature and humanity. On an emotional level it is the color of balance, of hope and growth . In Western culture, it also represents money and financial security. Now, it also has its negative side, and that is the color of poison, jealousy and the demonic.

3. Violet

For a long time, the violet has been associated with royalty, because it is wrapped in an air of luxury. He has been very used in painting to give a feeling of elegance. The lighter shades of violet they evoke spring and romance . The darkest attract the mystery, and can even symbolize creativity. Individuals who wear a dress of this color tend to project that they are empathic and affective people, with artistic and creative tendencies.

4. Red

I have already commented that red is related to appetite, but it is also the color of dominance. With this color it is possible to go to the two extremes: that of love and that of war . The lighter shades emphasize the energetic aspects of red, including youth, while the darkest are associated with power.

5. Rosa

No one can doubt that the rose is associated with the feminine, but also with friendship, pure love or delicacy. It is a color that inspires calm, relaxes and is romantic. It is also associated with sugar and It is used to give a sweet feeling and it is a color that is related to childhood.

6. White

The color white is the color of relaxation par excellence, and inspires purity, peace, innocence and cleanliness . It is a color that can be used for tranquility, serenity and purifies the mind.

7. Black

This color conveys elegance sobriety and formality. Black may seem distant and has some negative elements associated, because it is the color of death and destruction . It also awakens some negative emotions, such as despair, sadness, melancholy, unhappiness or irritability.It is the color of the mysterious and the hidden.

8. Gray

Gray is considered a neutral color, which It has balance, order, respect and elegance . However, it is also associated with mediocrity or decrepitude. Light gray gives peace, tenacity and tranquility.

9. Orange

Orange is the color of action, movement and enthusiasm . It is a cheerful color, which increases optimism and confidence. It is also associated with lust or sensuality. However, excess orange seems to increase anxiety.

How colors affect us in our daily lives

The psychology of color has many applications and surely one of the best known is marketing. As we have in this article "Emotional Marketing: reaching the heart of the client", although many individuals think that the decisions we make are based on reason, the truth is that, almost always, it is our most emotional part that influences until practically deciding for us.

Often, it is us who have to choose what color to use. For example, when dressing or painting our house. This last aspect is important for us, since we spend long hours in our home. Choosing one color or another will make us experience one emotion or another. If you want to know how to paint your house, we recommend reading this article: "How to paint my house? The psychology of color explains it to you. "

conclusion

The concept of color psychology has been validated by many studies and by the research field , but you do not have to be a scientist to realize the effect colors have on our emotions and behavior.

We live in a world full of color and it is only necessary to take a look around us to see how companies use different colors for their logos, advertisements, even the walls of their shops.

Each of these colors has an effect on us and sends a message or another to the consumer.


How Colors Affect Your Mood (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Couleurs et émotions: comment sont-elles liées les unes aux autres?

Couleurs et émotions: comment sont-elles liées les unes aux autres?

Janvier 22, 2021

Il y a différentes couleurs dans la nature, et chacun d'eux affecte nos émotions d'une manière différente. Vous avez sûrement déjà compris, par exemple, que lorsque vous devez décorer votre maison, faites particulièrement attention aux couleurs que vous utiliserez. Chacune des couleurs vous fera sentir d'une certaine manière.

Les entreprises ont longtemps choisissez soigneusement les couleurs ils l'utilisent pour leurs logos ou pour leurs locaux, car selon leur utilisation, ils nous font vivre l'une ou l'autre de ces émotions. Saviez-vous que la couleur rouge stimule la faim? C'est pourquoi McDonald's, Pizza Hut, KFC ou Wendy's l'utilisent pour représenter leur marque.


  • Article connexe: "Psychologie émotionnelle: principales théories de l'émotion"

Quelle est la psychologie de la couleur

La psychologie est tout dans notre vie, principalement parce que tout ce que nous voyons, entendons et ressentons passe par notre organe pensant. Nos yeux seuls ne peuvent pas voir, et dans le cerveau, il existe une zone spécifique pour la vision, le lobe occipital. Cependant, celui-ci ce n'est pas la seule région du cerveau impliquée dans les processus de vision , puisque les informations du cortex occipital sont envoyées à d’autres parties, telles que le lobe frontal ou le thalamus.

C'est pourquoi la couleur est capable de stimuler ou de créer de la joie ou de la tristesse. Les couleurs peuvent nous faire sentir énergiques ou détendues, favoriser les sensations thermiques de froid ou de chaleur et aussi nous faire percevoir l'ordre ou le désordre. Bien que la perception de la couleur soit un processus individuel et subjectif , les facteurs culturels influencent également la façon dont la couleur nous affecte. Par exemple, certaines couleurs s’identifient au masculin et au féminin, d’autres au romantique.


Pour cette raison, est née ce qu'on appelle la psychologie de la couleur, qui est un domaine d'étude qui vise à analyser comment nous percevons, ressentons et nous comportons dans différentes nuances, luminosité et intensités de couleur.

  • Vous pouvez plonger dans la psychologie de la couleur dans notre article: "Psychologie de la couleur: signification et curiosité des couleurs"

Quelles émotions sont les différentes couleurs

Le langage de la couleur est connu des professionnels du marketing ou de la décoration et même des artistes, et la psychologie de la couleur est nécessaire au développement de produits tels que les vêtements, la publicité, etc.

Mais Comment les couleurs affectent-elles le niveau émotionnel? Vous trouverez ci-dessous une liste des différentes émotions provoquées par les couleurs chez les habitants des pays occidentaux:

1. bleu

Le bleu est une couleur qui inspire la tranquillité et la détente . Il procure une sensation de fraîcheur et de calme et est associé au ciel et à l'eau. C'est synonyme de pureté, de liberté, d'harmonie, de fidélité, de sérieux, de sécurité, de sincérité et de loyauté.


2. vert

Le vert représente la nature et l'humanité. Sur le plan émotionnel c'est la couleur de l'équilibre, de l'espoir et de la croissance . Dans la culture occidentale, cela représente également de l'argent et une sécurité financière. Maintenant, il a aussi son côté négatif, c’est la couleur du poison, de la jalousie et du démoniaque.

3. Violet

Pendant longtemps, la violette a été associée à la royauté, car elle est enveloppée dans un air de luxe. Il a été très utilisé en peinture pour donner un sentiment d'élégance. Les teintes plus claires du violet ils évoquent le printemps et la romance . Les plus sombres attirent le mystère et peuvent même symboliser la créativité. Les personnes qui portent une robe de cette couleur ont tendance à projeter qu'elles sont empathiques et affectives, avec des tendances artistiques et créatives.

4. rouge

J'ai déjà commenté que le rouge est lié à l'appétit, mais c'est aussi la couleur de la domination. Avec cette couleur il est possible d'aller au deux extrêmes: celui de l'amour et celui de la guerre . Les nuances plus claires mettent l'accent sur les aspects énergétiques du rouge, y compris la jeunesse, tandis que les plus sombres sont associées au pouvoir.

5. Rosa

Personne ne peut douter que la rose soit associée au féminin, mais aussi à l'amitié, au pur amour ou à la délicatesse. C'est une couleur qui inspire le calme, la détente et le romantisme. Il est également associé au sucre et Il est utilisé pour donner une douce sensation et c'est une couleur qui est liée à l'enfance.

6. blanc

La couleur blanche est la couleur de la détente par excellence, et inspire la pureté, la paix, l'innocence et la propreté . C'est une couleur qui peut être utilisée pour la tranquillité, la sérénité et purifie l'esprit.

7. noir

Cette couleur traduit l'élégance, la sobriété et la formalité. Noir peut sembler lointain et a certains éléments négatifs associés, parce que c'est la couleur de la mort et de la destruction . Cela suscite également des émotions négatives telles que le désespoir, la tristesse, la mélancolie, le malheur ou l'irritabilité.C'est la couleur du mystérieux et du caché.

8. gris

Le gris est considéré comme une couleur neutre, qui Il a équilibre, ordre, respect et élégance . Cependant, il est également associé à la médiocrité ou à la décrépitude. Le gris clair donne la paix, la ténacité et la tranquillité.

9. orange

Orange est la couleur de action, mouvement et enthousiasme . C'est une couleur gaie, ce qui augmente l'optimisme et la confiance. Il est également associé à la luxure ou à la sensualité. Cependant, l'excès d'orange semble augmenter l'anxiété.

Comment les couleurs nous affectent dans notre vie quotidienne

La psychologie de la couleur a de nombreuses applications et l’une des plus connues est le marketing. Comme dans cet article "Marketing émotionnel: atteindre le cœur du client", bien que de nombreuses personnes pensent que les décisions que nous prenons sont fondées sur la raison, la vérité est que, presque toujours, c’est notre partie la plus émotionnelle qui influence jusqu’à ce que nous décidions de manière pratique. pour nous.

C'est souvent nous qui devons choisir quelle couleur utiliser. Par exemple, en s'habillant ou en peignant notre maison. Ce dernier aspect est important pour nous, car nous passons de longues heures chez nous. Choisir une couleur ou une autre nous fera vivre une émotion ou une autre. Si vous voulez savoir comment peindre votre maison, nous vous recommandons de lire cet article: "Comment peindre ma maison? La psychologie de la couleur vous l'explique. "

conclusion

Le concept de psychologie des couleurs a été validé par de nombreuses études et par le domaine de la recherche , mais il n’est pas nécessaire d’être un scientifique pour comprendre l’effet des couleurs sur nos émotions et notre comportement.

Nous vivons dans un monde plein de couleurs et il suffit de regarder autour de nous pour voir comment les entreprises utilisent des couleurs différentes pour leurs logos, leurs publicités et même les murs de leurs magasins.

Chacune de ces couleurs a un effet sur nous et envoie un message ou un autre au consommateur.


[David Elbaz] L’Univers est-il une illusion ? (Janvier 2021).


Articles Connexes