yes, therapy helps!
Combat anxiety: 5 guidelines to reduce stress

Combat anxiety: 5 guidelines to reduce stress

October 5, 2022

Anxiety is a vicious circle from which it is difficult to leave. We are facing a psychological disorder that is a true pandemic in today's society.

But, What exactly is anxiety, what symptoms does it present and how can we get out of this situation?

What is anxiety?

Anxiety is a mental state of anticipation, in which we experience nervousness and restlessness. It is an unpleasant sensation that puts us in tension. Anxiety is a normal response of our body , which interprets that we must be alert to an event close to the time, but some people are seized by anxiety and report a series of symptoms and signs (psychological and somatic) annoying.


The feeling of anxiety is particularly difficult to describe, it can not always be related to a specific origin (examination, medical results, etc.) and feeds on the consequences that it generates (such as the postponement of pending tasks). .

Fighting anxiety and its causes

Therefore, it is complicated to face it, although not impossible. These five guidelines for fight anxiety They can be of help in mitigating their adverse effects and understanding their nature better:

1. Learn to be your own boss or boss

Anxiety is a unpleasant feeling that most of us want to avoid . The problem is aggravated when we decide to compensate the state of anxiety by resorting to stereotyped and repetitive forms of behavior. These are behaviors that usually start unconsciously, are partly automatic and can be more or less simple (stretching or pulling the hair, tapping one leg, etc.) or something more complex (travel to the refrigerator and eat something ).


In addition to the adverse effect that these behaviors can have on our body, such as obesity or hair loss, getting carried away has the disadvantage that it makes us enter a vicious circle : as they are so associated with periods of stress, they act as a reminder that the sensation you want to avoid is there. That is why, to combat anxiety, it is convenient to recognize these stereotyped patterns of behavior and put them to a halt.

2. Combat anxiety is to fight the "I'll do it tomorrow"

Periods of anxiety may have been triggered by day-to-day elements that are related to work, obligations and decision making. For this reason, combating anxiety also means recognizing situations in which this sensation can lead to an self-fulfilling prophecy in which the negative mood itself invites throwing in the towel before time.


Anxiety is one of the ways that fear can begin to do something that can go wrong and that, as a consequence, is postponed again and again in a process called procrastination. Paradoxically, these postponements that make anxiety have reason to be, because thanks to them the obligation that generates stress is still there.

3. Divide your day to day in small pieces

Surely you have realized that, from the moment you start a task that makes you too lazy to do, it becomes more and more enjoyable and assumable. Something similar happens with anxiety: to keep attention away from that which produces tension, start an activity It is much more effective than thinking about starting that same activity.

And the fact that being aware that anxiety acts as a burden when doing things we want to do is in itself a anxiogenic source . If you want to make sure that what is done must be done without anxiety acting as a brake, nothing like breaking the most complex tasks into short sequences. If you have to write a report, for example, the first task can be as simple as turning on the computer and opening a text editor. The following sequence must start from there and also be very brief (write the first paragraph, etc.).

4. Take your time

The other face of combating procrastination is making sure we make good use of the time we dedicate to rest , since being all day doing things to try to distract our attention can be exhausting. If we do not know the source of the anxiety, this coming and going of distracting activities can act as a reminder that we are anxious, and if the source of the anxiety is in the pending obligations, a feeling of guilt can be generated. That is why it is worthwhile to be methodical with the rest periods and make these allow a better orientation towards the objectives.

In addition, breathing control exercises that are included in activities such as meditation, Mindfulness or Tai Chi they are very useful to reduce the levels of stress that set in motion all the anxiogenic machinery. Take a while to relax Although the body asks for the opposite and making these times not longer than necessary to adjust hormone levels are two basic guidelines to combat anxiety.

5. Do not insist on making anxiety go away

From a biological point of view, Anxiety is the result of complex neuroendocrine dynamics with which nobody would want to have to deal without the help of the subconscious processes that regulate them. Therefore, it is important to be clear that anxiety can only be fought indirectly. No matter how much you try to ignore the feelings of tension and fear, they will not go away just because our conscious mind asks for it with kindness.

In fact, trying to mentally suppress these biological processes is just a way of recognizing that this problem is there. For anxiety to stop being a problem, you have to fight against its symptoms by creating new behaviour standards . The solution is not in the privacy of one's mind, but in the relations between the body and the environment.

Bibliographic references:

  • Mayor Lapiedra, M. T. (1991). Behavioral disorders in childhood and their relationships with the experiences of anxiety and depression. Zaragoza: University.
  • Arce, E. A. (2000). The man of the 21st century: anxiety or fullness? Buenos Aires: Editorial Argenta Sarlep.
  • Brinkerhoff, S. (2004). Drug therapy and anxiety disorders. Philadelphia: Mason Crest Publishers.
  • Cano-Vindel, A., & Fern√°ndez-Castro, J. (1999). Cognitive Processes and Emotion. (Monograph of 'Anxiety and Stress'). Murcia: Compobell.
  • Friedman, S. (1997). Cultural issues in the treatment of anxiety. New York: Guilford Press.
  • Kasper, S., Boer, J. A. d., & Sitsen, J. M. A. (2003). Handbook of depression and anxiety (2nd ed.). New York: M. Dekker.
  • Root, B. A. (2000). Understanding panic and other anxiety disorders. Jackson: University Press of Mississippi.
  • Veeraraghavan, V., & Singh, S. (2002). Anxiety disorders: psychological assessment and treatment. New Delhi; Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications.

Reduce Stress with Healthy Diet (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Combattez l'anxiété: 5 lignes directrices pour réduire le stress

Combattez l'anxiété: 5 lignes directrices pour réduire le stress

Juin 13, 2022

L'anxiété est un cercle vicieux dont il est difficile de sortir. Nous sommes confrontés à un désordre psychologique qui est une véritable pandémie dans la société d'aujourd'hui.

Mais Qu'est-ce que l'anxiété, quels symptômes présente-t-elle et comment pouvons-nous nous en sortir?

Qu'est-ce que l'anxiété?

L'anxiété est un état mental d'anticipation dans lequel nous éprouvons de la nervosité et de l'agitation. C'est une sensation désagréable qui nous met en tension. L'anxiété est une réponse normale de notre corps , ce qui implique que nous devons être attentifs à un événement proche du temps, mais certaines personnes sont prises de anxiété et signalent une série de symptômes et de signes (psychologiques et somatiques) gênants.


Le sentiment d'anxiété est particulièrement difficile à décrire, il ne peut pas toujours être associé à une origine spécifique (examen, résultats médicaux, etc.) et se nourrir des conséquences qu'il engendre (telles que le report de tâches en attente). .

Combattre l'anxiété et ses causes

Par conséquent, il est compliqué d'y faire face, bien que ce ne soit pas impossible. Ces cinq directives pour lutter contre l'anxiété Ils peuvent être utiles pour atténuer leurs effets néfastes et mieux comprendre leur nature:

1. Apprenez à être votre propre patron ou patron

L'anxiété est un sentiment désagréable que la plupart d'entre nous veulent éviter . Le problème s'aggrave lorsque nous décidons de compenser l'état d'anxiété en recourant à des comportements stéréotypés et répétitifs. Ce sont des comportements qui commencent généralement inconsciemment, sont partiellement automatiques et peuvent être plus ou moins simples (étirer ou tirer les cheveux, taper sur une jambe, etc.) ou quelque chose de plus complexe (aller au réfrigérateur et manger quelque chose ).


Outre les effets néfastes que ces comportements peuvent avoir sur notre corps, tels que l'obésité ou la perte de cheveux, s'emballer a le désavantage que cela nous fait entrer dans un cercle vicieux : comme ils sont associés aux périodes de stress, ils rappellent que la sensation que vous souhaitez éviter existe. C’est pourquoi, pour lutter contre l’anxiété, il convient de reconnaître ces schémas comportementaux stéréotypés et de les y mettre fin.

2. Combattre l’anxiété, c’est combattre le "je le ferai demain"

Les périodes d'anxiété peuvent avoir été déclenchées par des éléments quotidiens liés au travail, aux obligations et à la prise de décisions. Pour cette raison, combattre l’anxiété, c’est aussi reconnaître des situations dans lesquelles cette sensation peut conduire à une perte de conscience. prophétie auto-réalisatrice dans lequel l'humeur négative elle-même invite à jeter l'éponge avant l'heure.


L’anxiété est l’un des moyens par lesquels la peur peut commencer à faire quelque chose qui peut mal tourner et qui, en conséquence, est reportée encore et encore dans un processus appelé procrastination. Paradoxalement, ces reports qui font peur sont des raisons d'être, car grâce à eux l'obligation qui génère le stress est toujours là.

3. Divisez votre journée en petits morceaux

Vous vous êtes sûrement rendu compte que, dès que vous commencez une tâche qui vous rend trop paresseux, cela devient de plus en plus agréable et assumable. Quelque chose de semblable se produit avec l’anxiété: garder l’attention à l’écart de ce qui produit de la tension, commencer une activité C'est beaucoup plus efficace que de penser à lancer la même activité.

Et le fait de savoir que l’anxiété est un fardeau lorsque nous faisons ce que nous voulons faire est en soi un source anxiogène . Si vous voulez vous assurer que ce qui est fait doit être fait sans anxiété agissant comme un frein, rien de mieux que de diviser les tâches les plus complexes en séquences courtes. Si vous devez rédiger un rapport, par exemple, la première tâche peut être aussi simple que d'allumer l'ordinateur et d'ouvrir un éditeur de texte. La séquence suivante doit commencer à partir de là et doit également être très brève (écrivez le premier paragraphe, etc.).

4. Prenez votre temps

L’autre volet de la lutte contre la procrastination consiste à faire bon usage du temps dont nous disposons. nous dédions au repos , car passer toute la journée à essayer de distraire notre attention peut être épuisant. Si nous ne connaissons pas la source de l’anxiété, ce va-et-vient d’activités distrayantes peut rappeler que nous sommes anxieux, et si la source de l’anxiété se trouve dans les obligations en suspens, un sentiment de culpabilité peut être généré. C’est pourquoi il vaut la peine d’être méthodique avec les périodes de repos et de leur permettre de mieux s’orienter vers les objectifs.

De plus, des exercices de contrôle de la respiration inclus dans des activités telles que la méditation, la pleine conscience ou tai chi ils sont très utiles pour réduire les niveaux de stress qui mettent en mouvement tous les mécanismes anxiogènes. Prenez le temps de se détendre Bien que le corps demande le contraire et que ces durées ne soient pas plus longues que nécessaire pour ajuster les niveaux d'hormones sont deux principes fondamentaux pour combattre l'anxiété.

5. N'insistez pas pour faire disparaître l'anxiété

D'un point de vue biologique, L'anxiété est le résultat d'une dynamique neuroendocrine complexe avec lequel personne ne voudrait avoir à traiter sans l'aide des processus subconscients qui les régulent. Il est donc important de préciser que l’anxiété ne peut être combattue qu’indirectement. Même si vous essayez d'ignorer les sentiments de tension et de peur, ils ne disparaîtront pas simplement parce que notre esprit conscient le demande avec gentillesse.

En fait, essayer de supprimer mentalement ces processus biologiques n’est qu’un moyen de reconnaître que ce problème existe. Pour que l’anxiété cesse d’être un problème, vous devez lutter contre ses symptômes en créant nouveau modèles de comportement . La solution ne réside pas dans l'intimité de l'esprit, mais dans les relations entre le corps et l'environnement.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Le maire Lapiedra, M. T. (1991). Troubles du comportement chez les enfants et leurs relations avec les expériences d'anxiété et de dépression. Zaragoza: Université.
  • Arce, E.A. (2000). L'homme du 21ème siècle: anxiété ou plénitude? Buenos Aires: Éditorial Argenta Sarlep.
  • Brinkerhoff, S. (2004). Traitement médicamenteux et troubles anxieux. Philadelphie: Éditeurs Mason Crest.
  • Cano-Vindel, A. et Fernández-Castro, J. (1999). Processus cognitifs et émotion. (Monographie de «Anxiété et stress»). Murcie: Compobell.
  • Friedman, S. (1997). Problèmes culturels dans le traitement de l'anxiété. New York: Guilford Press.
  • Kasper, S., Boer, J.A. D. et Sitsen, J.M.A. (2003). Manuel de la dépression et de l'anxiété (2e éd.). New York: M. Dekker.
  • Root, B. A. (2000). Comprendre la panique et d’autres troubles anxieux. Jackson: Presses universitaires du Mississippi.
  • Veeraraghavan, V., & Singh, S. (2002). Troubles anxieux: évaluation psychologique et traitement. New Delhi; Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications.

relaxation sophrologie au quotidien (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes