yes, therapy helps!
Commitment in the couple: 5 keys to achieve stability

Commitment in the couple: 5 keys to achieve stability

June 25, 2022

In a time when freedom is increasingly valued to live life in the way we want, the issue of commitment in the couple is very complex .

In our days, individualism permeates everything, and for some it means that certain intense emotional bonds, such as the love of a couple, no longer make much sense. However, any love relationship requires a certain amount of commitment, something that demonstrates that we are willing to invest efforts in it .

In the next few lines we will see several key ideas to cultivate commitment in the couple and at the same time prevent this from becoming a constant and sickly control system that turns the relationship into a tyranny.


  • Related article: "The 6 habits of strong relationships"

What is the commitment in the couple?

Any relationship of couple needs, to survive, something more than the pure feeling of love . To maintain and develop requires material elements, an environment in which to thrive. After all, love is no more than the people who form it: it does not exist if there are no bodies, and bodies need an environment in which to live their day to day.

The commitment in the couple is the set of all those guarantees that show that the couple's relationship has and will have a context in which to develop and exist as such. So, its fundamental component is stability, which allows to have confidence that the courtship or marriage have a future .


For example, all those initiatives that have to do with looking for a work schedule that allow spending a minimum of hours of the week together is an expression of commitment in the couple, and the same happens with the search for a place where can rent a flat to live as a couple, if that is the will of both.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 4 types of love: what different kinds of love are there?"

How to enhance commitment and stability in the couple?

These tips can be very useful to reinforce commitment in the couple and create an environment in which it is possible to draw plans for the future in common.

1. Ensure material means of life as a couple

It may sound unromantic, but if you do not work for achieve and maintain the minimum conditions of life in common , it is very difficult for the commitment to be maintained. This means, for example, that we must take care of all the material elements that are shared and that allow us to share a place.


On the other hand, if you want to live in the same property you have to take into account that this space is more than a roof where you live yourself, since it fits with the needs of both (and since it would be difficult to find another place that satisfy the needs of both, it is valued even more).

2. Betting on honesty

Honesty is one of the main values that you have to cultivate in a couple relationship.

Of course, maintaining a healthy love relationship does not mean having to share each and every one of the secrets we have given that our individuality must be preserved, but in any case, we must get used to sharing opinions, reflections, concerns with the other person. beliefs and everything that structures our way of being and behaving.

Only through honesty is it possible to demonstrate that the couple is holding on to equality, given that all the relevant information is on the table, each person knows what can be expected from the other and what she wants in her life.

3. Appreciate the sacrifices of the other

Although to strive for the couple is essential for this to enjoy good health, it is necessary to remember that every time a sacrifice is made to keep the bond alive, that is a reason for thanks and a show of appreciation.

4. Maintain respect

Respecting the other person is a basic need of relationships, not only when maintaining stability and expressing the love commitment.

However, as regards the issue we are dealing with here, respect brings the idea that the other person is recognized as a being with its own criteria and will, capable of making its own decisions autonomously, and therefore its value is expressed. This is a guarantee that it will be a decisive part in the future direction of the couple's relationship.

5. Look for relational symmetry

We must ensure that the forms of commitment are the same for both, without the situation that only one must meet certain requirements, while the other is not subject to this rule. In this way it is clear that important decisions will not occur unilaterally .

Bibliographic references:

  • Sternberg, R.J. (1987). "Liking versus loving: A comparative evaluation of theories". Psychological Bulletin. 102 (3): 331-345.
  • Giles, James (1994). "A theory of love and sexual desire".Journal for the Theory of Social Behavior. 24 (4): 339-357.

6 Tips on How to Have a Strong Relationship (June 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Engagement dans le couple: 5 clés pour la stabilité

Engagement dans le couple: 5 clés pour la stabilité

Juillet 6, 2020

À une époque où la liberté est de plus en plus valorisée pour vivre notre vie comme nous le souhaitons, la question de l'engagement dans le couple est très complexe .

De nos jours, l'individualisme imprègne tout et, pour certains, cela signifie que certains liens émotionnels intenses, tels que l'amour d'un couple, n'ont plus beaucoup de sens. Cependant, toute relation amoureuse nécessite un certain engagement, ce qui démontre que nous sommes prêts à y investir des efforts .

Dans les prochaines lignes, nous verrons plusieurs idées clés pour cultiver l’engagement dans le couple et empêcher en même temps que cela ne devienne un système de contrôle constant et maladif qui transforme la relation en tyrannie.


  • Article connexe: "Les 6 habitudes d'une relation forte"

Quel est l'engagement dans le couple?

Toute relation de couple a besoin, pour survivre, quelque chose de plus que le pur sentiment d'amour . Maintenir et développer nécessite des éléments matériels, un environnement dans lequel s’épanouir. Après tout, l'amour n'est pas plus que les personnes qui le forment: il n'existe pas s'il n'y a pas de corps et les corps ont besoin d'un environnement dans lequel ils puissent vivre au quotidien.

L'engagement dans le couple est l'ensemble de toutes ces garanties qui démontrent que la relation de couple a et aura un contexte dans lequel se développer et exister en tant que telle. Ainsi, sa composante fondamentale est stabilité, ce qui permet d’avoir confiance dans le fait que la cour ou le mariage a un avenir .


Par exemple, toutes les initiatives qui consistent à rechercher un horaire de travail permettant de passer un minimum d’heures de la semaine ensemble sont une expression de l’engagement du couple, et il en va de même pour la recherche d’un lieu où peut louer un appartement pour vivre en couple, si telle est la volonté des deux.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Les 4 types d’amour: quels sont les différents types d’amour?"

Comment renforcer l'engagement et la stabilité du couple?

Ces conseils peuvent être très utiles pour renforcer l’engagement du couple et créer un environnement dans lequel il est possible de dessiner des projets pour l’avenir.

1. Assurer les moyens matériels de la vie en couple

Cela peut sembler peu romantique, mais si vous ne travaillez pas pour atteindre et maintenir les conditions minimales de vie en commun , il est très difficile de maintenir l’engagement. Cela signifie, par exemple, que nous devons prendre soin de tous les éléments matériels qui sont partagés et qui nous permettent de partager un lieu.


D'autre part, si vous voulez habiter dans la même propriété, vous devez tenir compte du fait que cet espace est plus qu'un toit sur lequel vous vivez vous-même, car il répond aux besoins des deux (et puisqu'il serait difficile de trouver un autre satisfaire les besoins des deux, il est encore plus apprécié).

2. Parier sur l'honnêteté

L'honnêteté est l'une des valeurs principales que vous devez cultiver dans une relation de couple.

Bien sûr, maintenir une relation amoureuse saine ne signifie pas avoir à partager chacun des secrets que nous avons donnés pour préserver notre individualité, mais dans tous les cas, nous devons nous habituer à partager des opinions, des réflexions, des préoccupations avec l'autre personne. croyances et tout ce qui structure notre façon d’être et de nous comporter.

C’est seulement par honnêteté qu’il est possible de démontrer que le couple tient à l’égalité, étant donné que toutes les informations pertinentes sont sur la table, chaque personne sait ce que l'on peut attendre de l'autre et ce qu'elle veut dans sa vie.

3. Apprécier les sacrifices de l'autre

Bien qu’il soit essentiel de s’efforcer d’assurer le bien-être du couple, il est important de se rappeler que chaque fois qu’un sacrifice est consenti pour maintenir le lien en vie, c'est une raison pour remercier et une démonstration d'appréciation.

4. maintenir le respect

Le respect de l'autre personne est un besoin fondamental de relations, pas seulement pour maintenir la stabilité et exprimer l'engagement amoureux.

Cependant, en ce qui concerne la question dont nous traitons ici, le respect amène l’idée que l’autre personne est reconnue un être avec ses propres critères et volonté, capable de prendre ses propres décisions de manière autonome, et donc sa valeur est exprimée. C'est une garantie que ce sera un élément décisif dans la future direction de la relation du couple.

5. Rechercher une symétrie relationnelle

Nous devons veiller à ce que les formes d'engagement soient les mêmes pour les deux, sans que l'un ne réponde à certaines exigences, tandis que l'autre n'est pas soumis à cette règle. De cette façon, il est clair que les décisions importantes ne se produiront pas unilatéralement .

Références bibliographiques:

  • Sternberg, R.J. (1987). "Aimer contre aimer: Une évaluation comparative des théories". Bulletin psychologique. 102 (3): 331-345.
  • Giles, James (1994). "Une théorie de l'amour et du désir sexuel".Journal pour la théorie du comportement social. 24 (4): 339-357.

Mon copain a peur de s'engager : 3 solutions ! (Juillet 2020).


Articles Connexes