yes, therapy helps!
Comparative psychology: the animal part of psychology

Comparative psychology: the animal part of psychology

January 10, 2023

It has long been known that the mental and behavioral life of nonhuman animals is much richer than might be assumed at first glance. Comparative psychology is an effort to understand the logic behind the way of acting, thinking and feeling of these forms of life.

Of course, it is also a field of study that is not free from criticism both its use of the comparative method and its ethical approaches. Let's see what this branch of research in psychology consists of .

What is comparative psychology?

Comparative psychology has been defined as an effort to understand the behavior and mental life of animals In general, starting from the idea that there are certain characteristics of these two areas that have been evolving through the passage of time.


Thus, comparative psychology is not just a type of research in which the similarities and differences of different types of animals are compared (including our own species), but it assumes that behind these similarities and differences there is a history about how the mental life and behavior of these life forms have evolved through the passage from one generation to the next and through the creation of new species.

The use of the comparative method

So, comparative psychology uses the comparative method , which consists of studying psychological processes in certain species and see how these conclusions can be extrapolated to other species.


In general, the studies are focused to see at what point in the evolutionary history certain psychological characteristics appear and, from there, to check how they have evolved until they reach the most "evolved" animal species in a certain characteristic.

In practice, this means that the species whose behavior and mental processes are intended to be investigated indirectly with species related to it is almost always ours. However, many researchers believe that the goal of comparative psychology should not be an excuse to end up talking about the psychology of the human being, but that Mental life and behavior of non-human animal species have self-interest .

Experimenting with animals or observation?

In principle, there is nothing in the definition of what comparative psychology is of what can be assumed that it depends only on the experimental method; it could also be based on field observations made on the natural terrain in which a species lives, as ethology has traditionally done .


However, in practice, experimentation is the most used option in comparative psychology, for two reasons:

  • It is cheaper and faster.
  • Possible unforeseen events are avoided.
  • It allows to isolate the variables much better.
  • The fact of discarding the influence of the specific natural environment of a species makes it easier to draw conclusions that provide information about the behavior of human beings.

Of course, this has made comparative psychology very criticized for cases of animal abuse , like that of the Harry Harlow experiment and the monkeys that are deprived of contact with their mother during their first weeks of life.

Comparative psychology and behaviorism

Historically, behaviorism has been the current of psychology that has resorted most to comparative psychology to make discoveries.

This is so because, since behavioral researchers focused on the components of psychology that can be recorded objectively and quantified, they assumed that contingencies, which for them were the basic building blocks of behavior patterns, they can be studied in their most basic elements in life forms with a less complex nervous system than the human.

Thus, for example, B. F. Skinner became well known with his experiments with pigeons, and Edward Thorndike, who was one of the precedents of behaviorism, established theories about the use of intelligence experimenting with cats.

Of course, Iván Pavlov, who laid the foundations for behaviorism to be developed by studying simple conditioning, experimented with dogs from the field of physiology . Even Edward Tolman, a researcher trained in behaviorism who questioned the assumptions of this psychological current, did so through the study of rats.

The possibilities of this branch of psychology

The wild appearance of animals, the absence of facial gestures such as human and language make us tend to assume that everything related to the psychology of these forms of life is simple. Comparative psychology attaches great importance to the way animals behave .

In any case, it is very controversial if it does so with the eyes of human beings or if it seeks a genuine understanding of the mental life of these organisms. There are many different animal species, and traditionally comparative psychology has basically studied non-human primates and some animals that can adapt well to domestic life, like rats or guinea pigs.

The possibilities of comparative psychology have to do with a better understanding of the life forms that surround us and also with a deeper knowledge of patterns of behavior inherited from millennia through our evolutionary lineage.

Its limitations have to do with the use of the comparative method and with you never know very well to what extent it is possible to extrapolate conclusions from one species to another . And, of course, the ethical problems posed by animal experimentation have entered fully into the debate on whether comparative psychology is useful or not.


What is COMPARATIVE PSYCHOLOGY? What does COMPARATIVE PSYCHOLOGY mean? (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Psychologie comparée: la partie animale de la psychologie

Psychologie comparée: la partie animale de la psychologie

Janvier 17, 2022

On sait depuis longtemps que la vie mentale et comportementale des animaux non humains est beaucoup plus riche qu'on pourrait le croire à première vue. La psychologie comparée est un effort pour comprendre la logique derrière la façon d’agir, de penser et de ressentir ces formes de vie.

Bien entendu, il s’agit également d’un domaine d’étude qui n’est pas exempt de critiques, tant par son utilisation de la méthode comparative que par ses approches éthiques. Voyons en quoi consiste cette branche de recherche en psychologie .

Qu'est-ce que la psychologie comparée?

La psychologie comparée a été définie comme un effort pour comprendre le comportement et la vie mentale des animaux En général, partant de l’idée que certaines caractéristiques de ces deux domaines ont évolué avec le temps.


Ainsi, la psychologie comparée n'est pas simplement un type de recherche dans lequel on compare les similitudes et les différences entre différents types d'animaux (y compris notre propre espèce), mais elle suppose que derrière ces similitudes et ces différences, il existe une histoire. sur la manière dont la vie mentale et le comportement de ces formes de vie ont évolué à travers le passage d’une génération à l’autre et la création de nouvelles espèces.

L'utilisation de la méthode comparative

Donc, psychologie comparée utilise la méthode comparative , qui consiste à étudier les processus psychologiques chez certaines espèces et à voir comment ces conclusions peuvent être extrapolées à d’autres espèces.


En général, les études sont centrées sur le point de savoir à quel moment de l’histoire de l’évolution apparaissent certaines caractéristiques psychologiques et, à partir de là, sur leur évolution jusqu’à atteindre les espèces animales les plus "évoluées" selon une caractéristique donnée.

En pratique, cela signifie que les espèces dont le comportement et les processus mentaux sont destinés à être étudiés indirectement avec des espèces qui leur sont apparentées sont presque toujours les nôtres. Cependant, de nombreux chercheurs estiment que l'objectif de la psychologie comparée ne devrait pas être une excuse pour finir par parler de la psychologie de l'être humain, mais que La vie mentale et le comportement d'espèces animales non humaines ont un intérêt personnel .

Expérimenter avec des animaux ou observer?

En principe, il n’ya rien dans la définition de ce qu'est la psychologie comparée et de ce que l’on peut supposer que cela ne dépend que de la méthode expérimentale; il pourrait également être basé sur des observations de terrain effectuées sur le terrain naturel dans lequel vit une espèce, comme l'éthologie a toujours fait .


Cependant, en pratique, l’expérimentation est l’option la plus utilisée en psychologie comparée, pour deux raisons:

  • C'est moins cher et plus rapide.
  • Les imprévus possibles sont évités.
  • Cela permet de mieux isoler les variables.
  • Le fait d'écarter l'influence de l'environnement naturel spécifique d'une espèce facilite la conclusion de conclusions fournissant des informations sur le comportement des êtres humains.

Bien sûr, cela a rendu la psychologie comparée très critiqué pour les cas d'abus d'animaux , comme celle de l'expérience Harry Harlow et des singes privés de contact avec leur mère pendant leurs premières semaines de vie.

Psychologie comparée et comportementalisme

Historiquement, le behaviorisme a été le courant de la psychologie qui a eu le plus recours à la psychologie comparée pour faire des découvertes.

En effet, comme les chercheurs en sciences du comportement se sont concentrés sur les éléments de la psychologie pouvant être enregistrés et quantifiés de manière objective, ils ont supposé ces éventualités, qui constituaient pour elles les éléments de base des modèles de comportement. ils peuvent être étudiés dans leurs éléments les plus fondamentaux dans des formes de vie avec un système nerveux moins complexe que l'humain.

Ainsi, par exemple, B. F. Skinner est devenu bien connu grâce à ses expériences avec des pigeons et Edward Thorndike, l'un des précédents du behaviorisme, a établi des théories sur l'utilisation de l'intelligence expérimentant avec des chats.

Bien sûr, Iván Pavlov, qui a jeté les bases du behaviorisme à développer en étudiant le conditionnement simple, expérimenté avec des chiens du domaine de la physiologie . Même Edward Tolman, un chercheur formé au béhaviorisme qui a mis en doute les hypothèses de ce courant psychologique, l’a fait par l’étude du rat.

Les possibilités de cette branche de la psychologie

L’apparence sauvage des animaux, l’absence de gestes faciaux tels que l’humain et le langage font croire que tout ce qui touche à la psychologie de ces formes de vie est simple. La psychologie comparée attache une grande importance au comportement des animaux .

En tout état de cause, cela est très controversé s’il le fait avec les yeux de l’être humain ou s’il cherche à véritablement comprendre la vie mentale de ces organismes. Il existe de nombreuses espèces animales et, traditionnellement, la psychologie comparée a essentiellement étudié les primates non humains et certains animaux pouvant bien s’adapter à la vie domestique, comme des rats ou des cobayes.

Les possibilités de la psychologie comparée sont liées à une meilleure compréhension des formes de vie qui nous entourent ainsi qu’à une connaissance plus approfondie des modes de comportement hérités des millénaires de notre lignée évolutionnaire.

Ses limites sont liées à l’utilisation de la méthode comparative et à la on ne sait jamais très bien dans quelle mesure il est possible d'extrapoler les conclusions d'une espèce à une autre . Et, bien sûr, les problèmes éthiques posés par l’expérimentation animale ont été au cœur du débat sur la question de savoir si la psychologie comparée est utile ou non.


CHOISIS UN ANIMAL - CE TEST PSYCHOLOGIQUE RÉVÈLE QUI TU ES EN AMOUR (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes