yes, therapy helps!
Compulsions: definition, causes and possible symptoms

Compulsions: definition, causes and possible symptoms

February 21, 2024

There are people who, feeling frustrated for some reason, unconsciously perform a ritualized action through which they try to reduce their discomfort.

This is this kind of behavior they reflect a psychological phenomenon that is known as compulsion .

What are compulsions?

The idea of ​​what compulsions are can be defined in a slightly different way according to two different psychological approaches: psychoanalysis born with Sigmund Freud and cognitive-behavioral psychology.

Compulsions according to psychoanalysis

The concept of compulsion was widely used in the field of psychoanalysis, and from this approach it was understood that its meaning was that of a repetitive behavior that is used to give vent to the frustration of not being able to satisfy desires that are born in the most unconscious part and passionate of the mind.


In this way, compulsions will be ways of compensating for the impossibility of responding to a desire of an emotional type while keeping the consciousness distracted and away from the true source of frustration. In this way, for the psychoanalytic approach, compulsion is a way of masking a need whose idea is tried to repress so that it does not pass to the conscious part of the psyche.

But this deception does not correspond to reality, and in fact it is not effective to definitively end the need, since it is a superficial and momentary arrangement; that is why this forbidden desire is still latent in the unconscious, and makes the compulsions have to be repeated all the time.


Compulsions according to the cognitive-behavioral paradigm

According to this current of psychology, there is no conscious entity that tries to suppress contents stored in another unconscious entity, so the definition of compulsion renounces these concepts. Thus, from this point of view a compulsion is a behavior (like stretching the hair or washing one's hands) or a mental act (like mentally repeating a word) that it becomes a repetitive ritual without having to lead to a clear purpose of which the person has conscience.

With the passage of time, compulsions can be repeated so frequently that they can significantly damage the quality of life of the person by not allowing him to carry out normal plans and tasks on a day-to-day basis.

Causes

As we have seen, the definition of what a compulsion is changes significantly depending on what stream we pay attention to. From the current psychology, however, it is considered that the psychoanalytic concept of compulsion is not useful, since it does not allow experimentation to be hypothesized; that's why the second one is the dominant one.


According to the concept of compulsion used by the cognitive-behavioral current, the cause of this phenomenon it is due to a maladaptive association . That is, the compulsions are the result of an apprenticeship that tries to respond to a feeling of discomfort that occurs with assiduity and that is just as bad or worse than what you want to fight, since it repeats all the time and makes The person feels good if he does not perform a series of very determined and rigid steps.

The role of obsessions

It is considered that that unpleasant stimulus that makes the person repeatedly compulsions is something called obsession . An obsession is an idea or a mental image (that is, an idea that instead of being able to communicate with words is rather visual) it is unbearable or too intrusive .

For example, you may often think of a scene that produces a lot of embarrassment, or think of a picture that is disgusting.

These obsessions appear without prior notice and without the person's wish, and generate discomfort. Compulsion is the improvised strategy that is made to try to reduce the discomfort. Regrettably, over time the compulsion becomes as uncontrollable and unpredictable as the obsession , because as it has been repeated it has been totally associated with it. This mechanism is the foundation of Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder.

  • You can read more about Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder in this article: "Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder (OCD): what is it and how does it manifest?"

Symptoms in cases of compulsion

These are some of the most frequent symptoms related to compulsions and Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder. It must be taken into account that if there is no sense of inability to control these actions and if a worsening of the quality of life is not perceived due to them, it is premature to consider that there are compulsions. In any case, the diagnosis must be made by clinical psychologists or other professionals specialized in such kind of practices within the health system.

  • Frequent ritual of handwashing
  • Need to have a certain area of ​​the house very well ordered , with perfectly aligned objects, symmetrical organizations, etc.
  • Frequent ritual of wash an object always following the same steps in the same order
  • Need to check several times if a door has been locked
  • Need to check many times if the gas cock has been closed

Psychological Disorders : Definition of Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder (February 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Compulsions: définition, causes et symptômes possibles

Compulsions: définition, causes et symptômes possibles

Août 11, 2022

Il y a des gens qui, se sentant frustrés pour une raison quelconque, accomplissent inconsciemment une action ritualisée par laquelle ils essaient de réduire leur inconfort.

C'est ce genre de comportement ils reflètent un phénomène psychologique appelé contrainte .

Que sont les compulsions?

L'idée de ce que sont les compulsions peut être définie de manière légèrement différente selon deux approches psychologiques différentes: la psychanalyse née avec Sigmund Freud et la psychologie cognitivo-comportementale.

Compulsions selon la psychanalyse

Le concept de compulsion a été largement utilisé dans le domaine de la psychanalyse et il a été compris de cette approche que son sens était celui d'un comportement répétitif utilisé pour donner libre cours à la frustration de ne pas pouvoir satisfaire les désirs nés dans la partie la plus inconsciente et passionné de l'esprit.


De cette manière, les compulsions constitueront un moyen de compenser l'impossibilité de répondre à un désir de type émotionnel tout en maintenant la conscience distraite et en l'éloignant de la véritable source de frustration. De cette façon, pour l'approche psychanalytique, la contrainte est un moyen de masquer un besoin dont l’idée est essayée de réprimer pour qu’elle ne passe pas à la partie consciente de la psyché.

Mais cette déception ne correspond pas à la réalité et, en fait, il n’est pas efficace de mettre définitivement fin au besoin, car il s’agit d’un arrangement superficiel et momentané; c'est pourquoi ce désir interdit est encore latent dans l'inconscient et oblige les compulsions à être répétées tout le temps.


Compulsions selon le paradigme cognitivo-comportemental

Selon ce courant psychologique, il n'y a pas d'entité consciente qui essaie de supprimer les contenus stockés dans une autre entité inconsciente. La définition de la contrainte renonce donc à ces concepts. Ainsi, de ce point de vue, une contrainte est un comportement (comme tendre les cheveux ou se laver les mains) ou un acte mental (comme répéter mentalement un mot) qui il devient un rituel répétitif sans avoir à mener à un but clair dont la personne a conscience.

Au fil du temps, les compulsions peuvent être répétées à une fréquence telle qu'elles peuvent nuire considérablement à la qualité de la vie de la personne en l'empêchant d'exécuter ses tâches et ses plans normaux au quotidien.

Les causes

Comme nous l'avons vu, la définition de ce qu'est une contrainte varie de manière significative en fonction du flux auquel nous portons attention. Cependant, d'après la psychologie actuelle, le concept psychanalytique de contrainte est inutile, car il ne permet pas de faire des expérimentations; c'est pourquoi le second est le dominant.


Selon le concept de contrainte utilisé par le courant cognitivo-comportemental, la cause de ce phénomène c'est dû à une association inadaptée . C’est-à-dire que les compulsions résultent d’un apprentissage qui tente de répondre à un malaise causé par l’assiduité et qui est tout aussi mauvais ou pire que ce que vous voulez combattre, car il se répète tout le temps et fait La personne se sent bien si elle n'effectue pas une série d'étapes très déterminées et rigides.

Le rôle des obsessions

Il est considéré que ce stimulus désagréable qui fait que la personne subit régulièrement des compulsions s'appelle une obsession . Une obsession est une idée ou une image mentale (c'est-à-dire une idée qui, au lieu de pouvoir communiquer avec des mots, est plutôt visuelle) c'est insupportable ou trop intrusif .

Par exemple, vous pouvez souvent penser à une scène qui engendre beaucoup d'embarras ou penser à une image qui est dégoûtante.

Ces obsessions apparaissent sans préavis et sans le désir de la personne et génèrent un inconfort. La compulsion est la stratégie improvisée mise en place pour tenter de réduire l'inconfort. Malheureusement au fil du temps, la compulsion devient aussi incontrôlable et imprévisible que l'obsession , car comme cela a été répété, il y a été totalement associé. Ce mécanisme est à la base du trouble obsessionnel-compulsif.

  • Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur le trouble obsessionnel-compulsif dans cet article: "Le trouble obsessionnel-compulsif (TOC): de quoi s'agit-il et comment se manifeste-t-il?"

Symptômes en cas de contrainte

Ce sont quelques-uns des symptômes les plus fréquents liés aux compulsions et au trouble obsessionnel-compulsif. Il faut tenir compte du fait que s'il n'y a pas de sentiment d'incapacité à contrôler ces actions et si une détérioration de la qualité de la vie n'est pas perçue comme telle, il est prématuré de considérer qu'il existe des contraintes. Dans tous les cas, le diagnostic doit être posé par des psychologues cliniciens ou d’autres professionnels spécialisés dans ce type de pratiques au sein du système de santé.

  • Rituel fréquent de se laver les mains
  • Besoin de avoir un certain secteur de la maison très bien ordonné , avec des objets parfaitement alignés, des organisations symétriques, etc.
  • Rituel fréquent de laver un objet en suivant toujours les mêmes étapes dans le même ordre
  • Besoin de vérifier plusieurs fois si une porte a été verrouillée
  • Besoin de vérifier à plusieurs reprises si le robinet de gaz a été fermé

Obsessive compulsive disorder (OCD) - causes, symptoms & pathology (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes