yes, therapy helps!
Conditioned stimulus: characteristics and uses in psychology

Conditioned stimulus: characteristics and uses in psychology

January 29, 2023

The human being and the rest of animals are active beings, who interact with a medium on which they depend for survival. But why do we do what we do? How do you explain that, for example, when a dog hears a bell starts to salivate or why do we run to seek refuge when we hear an alarm?

This how and why we act as we act is something that has always been of great scientific interest, and that from psychology have studied and researched different theoretical currents. One of them, behaviorism, considers that it is due to a conditioning process. And within this process, the bell or the alarm would be fulfilling the role of conditioned stimulus . It is on this concept, that of conditioned stimulus, about which we are going to talk throughout this article.


  • Related article: "Behaviorism: history, concepts and main authors"

What is a conditioned stimulus?

It receives the name of conditioned stimulus all that element that, being initially neutral and not provoking in the person or animal any reaction by itself, acquires the property of generate a response to the association with another stimulus that does generate a reaction .

Using the example used in the introduction, we react with fear to the sound of an alarm not because the alarm generates a reaction in itself but because we know that the sound is linked to the existence of danger or pain (the entrance of an intruder, a enemy attack or fire, for example). In the case of the dog and the bell (part of Pavlov's experiments that gave rise to the study of classical conditioning), the dog will begin to salivate at the sound of the bell as it is associated with bringing food (the sound of the bell being a conditioned stimulus).


This relationship is produced by the capacity of association between stimuli, which the more classical conditioning considered specifically specific to the stimulus itself (although nowadays through other currents we know that other aspects such as will, motivation or cognition influence) .

It is necessary that there is a minimum contingency (that is, that the appearance of one predicts the appearance of another or that they occur to a great extent simultaneously or followed) between the conditioned stimuli and those that have allowed them to become such a thing, the unconditioned stimuli. It is also necessary that the response generated by the latter be strong, and although it is not essential that there may be a relationship between the two.

Virtually any type of neutral stimulus can become conditioned as long as it is perceptible. The perception can come from any channel or sense, being able to be something visual (lights, an image, etc.), sounds (timbres, voices, concrete words, etc.), tactile perceptions (texture, temperature, pressure), tastes or smells . Even in some cases stimuli that do generate a response can be conditioned if they are paired with stimuli that generate a response that is more relevant to the subject.


Also, as we have seen, the conditioning appears in a large number of living beings . It can be seen in humans, but also in dogs, apes, cats, mice or pigeons among many others.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Classical conditioning and its most important experiments"

The birth of a conditioned stimulus

Thus, for there to be a conditioned stimulus there must be something that conditions it: the unconditioned stimulus that by itself generates a response. And the relationship that is established between them is what comes to be called conditioning. The birth of a conditioned stimulus occurs in what is called the acquisition phase (in which it acquires the properties that make it go from being neutral to being conditioned).

From the view of classical conditioning, one stimulus is conditioned by another due to the generation of a link between the appearance of the stimulus initially neutral and the unconditioned, which in itself generates an appetitive or aversive response (called unconditioned response).

Little by little and according to they are presented together or in a short interval , the subject is making associations, causing the initially neutral stimulus to acquire appetitive or aversive characteristics and going from not generating a response to generating the same one that generates the stimulus that did provoke a response. Thus, it will end up generating a conditioned response and the neutral stimulus will be considered a conditioned stimulus. From now on, the appearance of the conditioned stimulus will generate the same reaction as the unconditioned stimulus.

With the possibility of extinction

That a stimulus is conditioned and generates a conditioned response can arise on a daily basis or provoked voluntarily, but the truth is that this association will tend to become extinct if the subject observes that the joint appearance of unconditioned and conditioned stimulus stops occurring. Thus, the conditioned stimulus will happen over time to become neutral again and not generate answers .

This process of extinction can be more or less prolonged depending on several factors.

Among them we find how strong the association between stimuli has been or how many times it has been repeated, or if we have learned that the unconditioned stimulus always appears in all the situations in which the conditioner appears or a large part of the time (although it may seem counterintuitive, the association takes longer to become extinct if we are accustomed that both stimuli do not always appear together).

Of course, sometimes it is possible that spontaneous recoveries appear of the association.

Relationship with psychological problems

There are a lot of behavioral problems that are linked to conditioning, specifically with the fact that a stimulus has become a conditioned stimulus and generates a conditioned response.

In general the presence of any fear or even a phobia it can become linked (although a large number of factors and not only these come into play) to this type of association, if a stimulus has been associated with pain or suffering.

So, if once a dog bit us it is possible that we associate any dog ​​with pain, something that will make us afraid of new exposures and avoid them (being the dog the conditioned stimulus). And not only the fear of phobias but also that of post-traumatic stress disorders (for example in people who have suffered a rape may appear fear of sex or people with characteristics similar to the aggressor).

It can also happen in reverse, that we associate something with the pleasure or avoidance of displeasure and excitement or excessive appetite for that stimulus, conditioned. For example, conditioning has been used as an attempt to explain some paraphilias, impulse control disorders, eating disorders or addictions.


Classical conditioning: Extinction, spontaneous recovery, generalization, discrimination (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Stimulation conditionnée: caractéristiques et utilisations en psychologie

Stimulation conditionnée: caractéristiques et utilisations en psychologie

Mai 20, 2019

L'être humain et le reste des animaux sont des êtres actifs, qui interagissent avec un milieu dont ils dépendent pour leur survie. Mais pourquoi faisons-nous ce que nous faisons? Comment expliquez-vous cela, par exemple, lorsqu'un chien entend une cloche se mettre à saliver ou pourquoi courons-nous chercher refuge quand nous entendons une alarme?

Ce qui et comment nous agissons comme nous agissons est un sujet qui a toujours été d’un grand intérêt scientifique et qui, de la psychologie, a étudié et étudié différents courants théoriques. L'un d'entre eux, le behaviorisme, considère que cela est dû à un processus de conditionnement. Et dans ce processus, la cloche ou l'alarme serait remplissant le rôle de stimulus conditionné . C'est sur ce concept, celui du stimulus conditionné, dont nous allons parler tout au long de cet article.


  • Article connexe: "Behaviorism: histoire, concepts et principaux auteurs"

Qu'est-ce qu'un stimulus conditionné?

Il reçoit le nom de stimulus conditionné tout cet élément qui, étant initialement neutre et ne provoquant chez la personne ou l'animal aucune réaction en soi, acquiert la propriété de générer une réponse à l'association avec un autre stimulus qui génère une réaction .

À l'aide de l'exemple utilisé dans l'introduction, nous réagissons avec crainte au son d'une alarme, non pas parce que l'alarme génère une réaction en elle-même, mais parce que nous savons que le son est lié à l'existence d'un danger ou d'une douleur (l'entrée d'un intrus, attaque ou feu ennemi, par exemple). Dans le cas du chien et de la cloche (une partie des expériences de Pavlov ayant donné lieu à l’étude du conditionnement classique), le chien commencera à saliver au son de la cloche, car il est associé à l’apport de nourriture (le son de la cloche étant un stimulus conditionné).


Cette relation est produite par la capacité d'association entre les stimuli, que le conditionnement plus classique considère spécifiquement spécifique au stimulus lui-même (même si, de nos jours, nous savons par d'autres courants que d'autres aspects tels que la volonté, la motivation ou l'influence de la cognition) .

Il est nécessaire qu'il y ait un minimum de contingence (c’est-à-dire que l’apparition de l’un prédit l’apparition de l’autre ou qu’elles se produisent dans une large mesure simultanément ou suivies) entre les stimuli conditionnés et ceux qui leur ont permis de devenir une telle chose, les stimuli inconditionnés. Il est également nécessaire que la réponse générée par ces derniers soit forte et, bien qu’il ne soit pas essentiel qu’il y ait une relation entre les deux.

Pratiquement tous les types de stimulus neutres peuvent être conditionnés tant qu'ils sont perceptibles. La perception peut provenir de n’importe quel canal ou sens, pouvant être quelque chose de visuel (lumières, image, etc.), de sons (timbres, voix, mots concrets, etc.), de perceptions tactiles (texture, température, pression), de goûts ou d’odeurs. . Même dans certains cas, les stimuli qui génèrent une réponse peuvent être conditionnés s'ils sont associés à des stimuli qui génèrent une réponse plus pertinente pour le sujet.


En outre, comme nous l'avons vu, le conditionnement apparaît chez un grand nombre d'êtres vivants . On peut le voir chez l'homme, mais aussi chez les chiens, les grands singes, les chats, les souris ou les pigeons parmi beaucoup d'autres.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Le conditionnement classique et ses expériences les plus importantes"

La naissance d'un stimulus conditionné

Ainsi, pour qu'il y ait un stimulus conditionné, il doit y avoir quelque chose qui le conditionne: le stimulus inconditionné qui génère à lui seul une réponse. Et la relation qui s'établit entre eux est ce qu'on appelle le conditionnement. La naissance d'un stimulus conditionné se produit dans ce qu'on appelle la phase d'acquisition (dans lequel il acquiert les propriétés qui le font passer de l'état neutre au conditionnement).

Du point de vue du conditionnement classique, un stimulus est conditionné par un autre en raison de la création d'un lien entre l'apparition du stimulus initialement neutre et l'inconditionné, ce qui en soi génère une réponse appétissante ou aversive (appelée réponse non conditionnée).

Petit à petit et selon ils sont présentés ensemble ou dans un court intervalle , le sujet fait des associations, amenant le stimulus initialement neutre à acquérir des caractéristiques appétitives ou aversives et passant de ne pas générer de réponse à générer le même qui génère le stimulus qui a provoqué une réponse. Ainsi, il finira par générer une réponse conditionnée et le stimulus neutre sera considéré comme un stimulus conditionné. A partir de maintenant, l'apparition du stimulus conditionné va générer la même réaction que le stimulus non conditionné.

Avec possibilité d'extinction

Le fait qu'un stimulus soit conditionné et génère une réponse conditionnée peut survenir quotidiennement ou être provoqué volontairement, mais la vérité est que cette association aura tendance à s'éteindre si le sujet observe que l'apparence commune d'un stimulus non conditionné et conditionné cesse de se produire. Ainsi, le stimulus conditionné se produira avec le temps pour redevenir neutre et ne pas générer de réponses .

Ce processus d'extinction peut être plus ou moins prolongé en fonction de plusieurs facteurs.

Parmi ceux-ci, nous trouvons la force de l'association entre stimuli ou le nombre de fois où elle a été répétée, ou si nous avons appris que le stimulus non conditionné apparaît toujours dans toutes les situations dans lesquelles le conditionneur apparaît ou pendant une grande partie du temps (bien contre-intuitif, l'association met plus de temps à s'éteindre si nous sommes habitués à ce que les deux stimuli n'apparaissent pas toujours ensemble).

Bien sûr, parfois il est possible que des guérisons spontanées apparaissent de l'association.

Relation avec des problèmes psychologiques

Il existe de nombreux problèmes de comportement liés au conditionnement, notamment le fait qu'un stimulus est devenu un stimulus conditionné et génère une réponse conditionnée.

En général la présence de toute peur ou même une phobie il peut devenir lié (bien qu'un grand nombre de facteurs et pas seulement ceux-ci entrent en jeu) à ce type d'association, si un stimulus a été associé à une douleur ou à une souffrance.

Donc, si un chien nous mord une fois, il est possible que nous associons n'importe quel chien à la douleur, ce qui nous fera craindre de nouvelles expositions et les éviter (le chien étant le stimulus conditionné). Et non seulement la peur des phobies, mais aussi celle des troubles de stress post-traumatiques (par exemple, chez les personnes qui ont subi un viol, une peur du sexe ou des personnes présentant des caractéristiques similaires à celles de l'agresseur peuvent apparaître).

Il peut également arriver à l’inverse que nous associons quelque chose au plaisir ou à l’évitement du mécontentement et de l’excitation ou à un appétit excessif pour ce stimulus conditionné. Par exemple, le conditionnement a été utilisé pour tenter d'expliquer certaines paraphilies, des troubles du contrôle des impulsions, des troubles de l'alimentation ou des dépendances.


La Loi de l'Attraction (audiobook) (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes