yes, therapy helps!
Conformism: why do we submit to the pressure of the group?

Conformism: why do we submit to the pressure of the group?

December 5, 2021

Probably, have you ever considered why most people have a tendency to follow the dictates of the majority .

Psychology has tried to find out what makes people bend to the pressure of the group, what are the causes of gregarious behavior, what is the nature of group pressure and to what extent an individual is able to give up their own criteria in favor of the masses.

Conformism: definition

The conformism it can be defined as those modifications or changes that occur in the behavior or opinion of a person as a result of real or imaginary pressure of people or groups of people.


Several experiments that bring us closer to the phenomenon of conformism

One of the most significant psychological experiments was that carried out in the 1950s by Solomon Asch. I propose that you put yourselves in the following situation.

Acudes as a volunteer to participate in an experiment on perceptual judgment. In a room together with other participants, the experimenter shows you all a straight line (line X), at the same time shows you three other lines of comparison (lines A, B and C). The task is to determine which of the three lines has the same length as line X.


You clearly know that the correct answer is line B and so you will indicate it to the experimenter when your turn comes. However, the first participant answers that it is line A, logically you are surprised by his response. When the second person's turn arrives, line A also responds, probably this second answer will surprise you even more and you will begin to think, how can it be, if clearly it is line B? But when the third participant's turn arrives and it also says line A, you examine the lines once more and begin to doubt and ask yourself if you can be wrong. A fourth participant responds clearly on line A. Finally, your turn comes and naturally you answer line A, you knew it from the beginning.

This is the conflict experienced by the participants of the Asch study. The experiment was simple: it consisted of gathering university students and showing them the different cards with the standard line and with three other lines to compare. The participants had to answer aloud, and the experimental subject was never placed in the first positions to respond, in order that the rest of the experimenter's accomplices participants could give the incorrect answer agreed upon before the subject.


The pressure of the group 'modifies' our perception

The results of the experiment showed that when the subject was not subject to the pressure of the group and they were allowed to make a series of judgments about the length of the lines alone, there was an almost total absence of errors, given the simplicity of the task. In cases where the subject was faced with a unanimous majority that responded incorrectly, approximately 35 percent of all the answers were incorrect, they folded to the incorrect judgments made by the accomplices .

Other experiments similar to Asch's

The Asch experiment has been replicated in more than one hundred studies in different countries showing identical results. The results show that before a majority that emits a wrong judgment, people tend to settle for the wrong social perception .

In a situation in which there were no restrictions on individuality, nor sanctions against nonconformity, the participants tended to conformism. Why did the participants bend to the opinion of others?

The causes and factors of compliance

The conformity was due to two possible causes: they were convinced, before the unanimous opinion of the majority, that their opinion was wrong or followed the opinion of the others in order to be accepted by the majority or to avoid the rejection that the disagreement would produce in the group. That is, the subjects had two goals: to be right and ingratiate themselves with the rest of the group. In many circumstances, both goals can be met with a single action.

In the Asch experiment, if the opinion of others about the length of the lines were the same as yours, both goals could be met. But nevertheless, both goals were in conflict, producing the effect of compliance . The effect of accommodating the responses of others has not so much to do with imitation but with the need to reduce the dissonance between one's perception and the judgments made by others.

Factors that increase or reduce conformism

1. Unanimity

The unanimity or lack of unanimity in the opinion of the majority, is one of the crucial factors that determine the propensity of the subject to conformism. If one of the members of the group gives a different response to the majority, the pressure towards conformity is drastically reduced and the chances that the subject is more inclined to give their opinion increases.

That is to say, it is enough for a single person to provide a different response so that conformism is reduced and the power of the group decreases . However, if there is unanimity, it is not necessary that the volume of the majority be high so that it causes the maximum conformism in a person. The tendency to adapt to the pressure of the group, with a unanimous majority is practically the same regardless of the number of people who make up that majority.

2. Commitment

The commitment it is one of the factors that can reduce conformism, when individuals have publicly committed themselves to a trial or an opinion before listening to the opinion of the majority, the person is more likely to hold his or her opinion and not accommodate those of the majority .

3. Individual variables: self-esteem and ability

There are certain individual variables that increase or reduce conformism. In general, people with a poor opinion about themselves tend more to bend to the pressure of the group in order to avoid rejection than those with high self-esteem. Another factor to consider is the person's belief in their own ability to perform the task successfully, for example in the Asch experiment those subjects who were previously allowed to experiment judge the length of the lines indicating the correct answer , they tended less to conformism than those who were not allowed to perform the task previously.

4. Group composition

The group composition that exerts pressure is another factor that modulates the effect of compliance. A) Yes, a group will be more effective in inducing conformism if it is composed of experts , if the members are important for the individual and if they are in any way similar or comparable to the individual, such as classmates.

5. Feeling of group belonging

The valuation of group membership It influences the degree of compliance. A) Yes, those who value belonging to the group and feel only moderately accepted will show greater tendency to adapt to the norms and guidelines created by the group that those who feel fully accepted.

6. Authority

Finally, the authority it increases conformism. In those situations in which the opinion or judgment comes from an authority figure, the appearance of authority can grant legitimacy to an opinion or petition and generate a high degree of compliance . As was found in another of the most famous experiments in psychology, the Milgram experiment in which most participants showed obedience to authority.

Conclusions

In conclusion, this experiment shows the great influence that others have on our own elaboration of beliefs and opinions. It also shows that in some cases we are easily manipulated and we can vary our most subjective beliefs such as ideals, political tendencies and even one's own tastes.

Bibliographic references:

  • Aronson, E. (2000). The social animal: Introduction to social psychology (8th ed. In Alianza Editorial.). Madrid: Alliance.
  • PaĆ©z, D., and Campos, M. (2005). Culture and Social Influence: Conformity and Innovation. Social Psychology, Culture and Education. (pp. 693-718) Dialnet. Recovered from: //dialnet.unirioja.es/servlet/articulo?codig ...

Social Influence: Conformity and the Normative Influence (December 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Conformisme: pourquoi nous soumettons-nous à la pression du groupe?

Conformisme: pourquoi nous soumettons-nous à la pression du groupe?

Février 18, 2019

Probablement, avez-vous déjà envisagé pourquoi la plupart des gens ont tendance à suivre les diktats de la majorité .

La psychologie a essayé de comprendre ce qui pousse les gens à se plier à la pression du groupe, quelles sont les causes du comportement grégaire, quelle est la nature de la pression du groupe et dans quelle mesure un individu est en mesure de renoncer à ses propres critères en faveur des masses.

Conformisme: définition

Le conformisme il peut être défini comme les modifications ou les changements qui se produisent dans le comportement ou l'opinion d'une personne à la suite d'une pression réelle ou imaginaire de personnes ou de groupes de personnes.


Plusieurs expériences qui nous rapprochent du phénomène du conformisme

L'une des expériences psychologiques les plus significatives a été celle menée dans les années 1950 par Solomon Asch. Je vous propose de vous mettre dans la situation suivante.

Acudes en tant que volontaire pour participer à une expérience de jugement perceptuel. Dans une salle avec d'autres participants, l'expérimentateur vous montre une ligne droite (ligne X) et trois autres lignes de comparaison (lignes A, B et C). La tâche consiste à déterminer laquelle des trois lignes a la même longueur que la ligne X.


Vous savez clairement que la bonne réponse est la ligne B et ainsi vous le signalerez à l'expérimentateur quand viendra votre tour. Cependant, le premier participant répond que c'est la ligne A, sa réponse vous surprend logiquement. Lorsque le tour de la deuxième personne arrive, la ligne A répond également. Cette deuxième réponse vous surprendra probablement davantage et vous commencerez à penser: comment cela peut-il être, s'il est clair que c'est la ligne B? Mais lorsque le tour du troisième participant arrive et qu'il indique également la ligne A, vous examinez à nouveau les lignes et commencez à douter et à vous demander si vous pouvez vous tromper. Un quatrième participant répond clairement à la ligne A. Enfin, votre tour arrive et naturellement vous répondez à la ligne A, vous le saviez depuis le début.

C’est le conflit vécu par les participants à l’étude Asch. L’expérience était simple: elle consistait à rassembler des étudiants universitaires et à leur montrer les différentes cartes avec la ligne standard et avec trois autres lignes à comparer. Les participants devaient répondre à voix haute et le sujet expérimental n'était jamais placé dans les premières positions de réponse, afin que le reste des participants complices de l'expérimentateur puissent donner la mauvaise réponse convenue avant le sujet.


La pression du groupe "modifie" notre perception

Les résultats de l'expérience ont montré que lorsque le sujet n'était pas soumis à la pression du groupe et qu'il était autorisé à émettre une série de jugements sur la longueur des lignes, il y avait une absence presque totale d'erreurs compte tenu de la simplicité de la tâche. Dans les cas où le sujet était confronté à une majorité unanime qui a mal répondu, environ 35% de toutes les réponses étaient incorrectes, ils se sont pliés aux jugements incorrects formulés par les complices .

Autres expériences similaires à Asch's

L’expérience Asch a été reproduite dans plus d’une centaine d’études menées dans différents pays et donnant des résultats identiques. Les résultats montrent que devant une majorité qui émet un jugement erroné, les gens ont tendance à se contenter d'une mauvaise perception sociale .

Dans une situation où il n'y avait pas de restrictions à l'individualité, ni de sanctions contre la non-conformité, les participants avaient tendance à se conformer au conformisme. Pourquoi les participants se sont-ils pliés à l'opinion des autres?

Les causes et les facteurs de conformité

La conformité était due à deux causes possibles: ils étaient convaincus, avant l’avis unanime de la majorité, que leur opinion était erronée ou suivaient l’avis des autres pour être acceptés par la majorité ou pour éviter le rejet que le désaccord produirait. dans le groupe. Autrement dit, les sujets avaient deux objectifs: avoir raison et se faire plaisir avec le reste du groupe. Dans de nombreuses circonstances, les deux objectifs peuvent être atteints en une seule action.

Dans l’expérience Asch, si l’opinion des autres sur la longueur des lignes était la même que la vôtre, les deux objectifs pourraient être atteints. Cependant, les deux objectifs étaient en conflit, produisant l'effet de la conformité . La prise en compte des réponses des autres n’a pas tant à voir avec l’imitation qu'avec le besoin de réduire la dissonance entre sa perception et les jugements des autres.

Facteurs qui augmentent ou réduisent le conformisme

1. l'unanimité

Le à l'unanimité ou l'unanimité dans l'opinion de la majorité, est l'un des facteurs cruciaux qui déterminent la propension du sujet au conformisme. Si l'un des membres du groupe donne une réponse différente à la majorité, la pression en faveur de la conformité est considérablement réduite et les chances que le sujet soit plus enclin à donner son opinion augmentent.

C'est-à-dire, il suffit qu'une seule personne donne une réponse différente pour que le conformisme soit réduit et que la puissance du groupe diminue . Cependant, s'il y a unanimité, il n'est pas nécessaire que le volume de la majorité soit élevé pour qu'il provoque le maximum de conformisme chez une personne. La tendance à s’adapter à la pression du groupe, à la majorité unanime, est pratiquement la même quel que soit le nombre de personnes qui composent cette majorité.

2. engagement

Le compromis c'est l'un des facteurs pouvant réduire le conformisme, lorsque des individus se sont publiquement engagés dans un procès ou un avis avant d'écouter l'opinion de la majorité, la personne est plus susceptible de garder son opinion et de ne pas accommoder ceux de la majorité .

3. Variables individuelles: estime de soi et capacité

Certaines variables individuelles augmentent ou réduisent le conformisme. En général, les personnes ayant une mauvaise opinion d’elles-mêmes ont tendance à se plier davantage à la pression du groupe afin d’éviter le rejet que celles qui ont une grande estime de soi. Un autre facteur à prendre en compte est la conviction de la personne en sa propre capacité à exécuter la tâche avec succès. Par exemple, dans l'expérience Asch, les sujets qui étaient autorisés auparavant à expérimenter jugent la longueur des lignes indiquant la bonne réponse. , ils avaient moins tendance au conformisme que ceux à qui on n’avait pas été autorisé auparavant.

4. Composition du groupe

Le composition du groupe le fait d’exercer une pression est un autre facteur qui module l’effet de la compliance. Ainsi, un groupe sera plus efficace pour induire le conformisme s'il est composé d'experts , si les membres sont importants pour l’individu et s’ils sont similaires ou comparables à l’individu, tels que ses camarades de classe.

5. Sentiment d'appartenance à un groupe

La valorisation de appartenance à un groupe Cela influence le degré de conformité. Ainsi, ceux qui valorisent l'appartenance au groupe et ne se sentent que modérément acceptés manifesteront une plus grande tendance à s'adapter aux normes et des lignes directrices créées par le groupe que ceux qui se sentent pleinement acceptés.

6. Autorité

Enfin, le autorité cela augmente le conformisme. Dans les cas où l'opinion ou le jugement provient d'une figure d'autorité, l'apparence d'autorité peut conférer une légitimité à un avis ou à une requête et générer un degré élevé de conformité . Comme cela a été constaté dans une autre des plus célèbres expériences en psychologie, l'expérience de Milgram dans laquelle la plupart des participants ont montré l'obéissance à l'autorité.

Conclusions

En conclusion, cette expérience montre la grande influence que d'autres ont sur notre propre élaboration de croyances et d'opinions. Cela montre aussi que dans certains cas nous sommes facilement manipulés et nous pouvons varier nos croyances les plus subjectives tels que les idéaux, les tendances politiques et même ses propres goûts.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Aronson, E. (2000). L'animal social: Introduction à la psychologie sociale (8ème éd. Dans Alianza Editorial.). Madrid: alliance.
  • Paéz, D. et Campos, M. (2005). Culture et influence sociale: conformité et innovation. Psychologie sociale, culture et éducation. (pp. 693-718) Dialnet. Récupéré de: //dialnet.unirioja.es/servlet/articulo?codig ...

Le top 5 des études de psychologie sociale qui vous feront requestionner les choses (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes