yes, therapy helps!
Consumption and crime as identity producers

Consumption and crime as identity producers

October 2, 2022

Consume, commit a crime, consume again . The problematic consumption and the compulsive act of committing crimes can be thought in the framework of a process of construction of subjectivity. This is a different reading to the simple idea that those who take drugs and steal are people who choose the "easy life" or the bad life.

Problematic substance use implies a relationship between a person and a drug , with a unique meaning and functions. In turn, for those who also commit crimes, this way of behaving has an implied function.

We observe identities constituted according to having, with repeated stories that allude to "I am" (I am someone, I am important), "because I have" (weapons or substance, ingested or in my pocket and to share). Phrases like "When I used / when I went out to steal, it was different, I felt better, more important". More "complete", we could add, understanding the abstinence of both compulsive acts as equivalent to a disturbing void , a crisis in identity and a loss of the sense of belonging built in peer groups, in the corner, in the street.


  • Related article: "The 16 most addictive drugs in the world"

An identity built by drug use

Failing to meet with fellow consumers represents a grieving process , an act of dis-affiliation, disengagement with the ties that he has been able to put together and sustain in that context. They are bonds united by the shared enjoyment that implies consuming and transgressing with others, which acts as a generator of identification that makes them belong.

If a person has felt excluded by their family, school or wider social context, they can, through consumption or crime, feel that it is part of society , for example under the label of being part of the "dangerous neighborhood boys". In this way it is seen by society, frowned upon but seen after all.


In the culture of the street there is something

On the corner, on the street, socialization processes occur that they have not been generated in other areas such as the family or the school, because of the crises that these institutions suffer, since they should integrate, contain, train and end up excluding.

Faced with the absence of other significant persons, new references are idealized, such as the leader of the band, the consumption partners or the kids on the corner. Belonging is created, which begins by consolidating something of subjectivity.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Psychopathology, delinquency and judicial responsibility"

In prison there is also something

In conceptualizing the act of crime as a way of (and being) someone, we can think that the fact of serving a sentence and, according to many, "owes nothing to justice" does not represent an act of liberation in all situations and freedom. In many cases, they feel that "in jail I was better". It is easier to transgress the law than to respect it , give rise to the compulsory act of crime that generate new ways of linking with the law and others.


As long as the rules and social norms are not internalized, the resolution of conflicts is not thought through the word and compulsive consumption is not seen as a health problem, Being free in society does not necessarily mean being free . On the contrary, he is imprisoned of himself, of his lack of control and his difficulty in setting limits, imprisoned in freedom of his repetition impossible to control, by what he pushes and pushes without elaboration by means of. Without incorporation of the law, it is sought to transgress, uncontrollably.

Addicts feel imprisoned in freedom, conditioned to abide by a law that they are not willing or prepared to respect, prisoners of their own freedom, with the magnitude of possibilities and responsibilities that freedom means.

Although it seems paradoxical, the transgression of the law is present within the prison system enabling compulsive acts, violence, addictions, among other risk situations not interpreted as such by those who carry them out. Therefore, they can make them feel free in the prison.

  • Related article: "The 9 types of drug addiction and their characteristics"

The meaning of life through consumption and violence

Consumption and violence begin to be seen as necessary and even more valued than their own health and freedom. Behavior patterns and thoughts constructed in the prison context they are internalized in such a way that the fact of producing changes when regaining freedom is a real challenge.

Consumption and delinquency end up giving a meaning to life and for this to stop having that function, new senses must be built.An integral approach will be necessary, with implications at a personal, family, social, cultural, political, etc. level.

Health promotion, reduction of risk factors and strengthening of protective factors: teaching and promoting healthy lifestyle habits, new ways of solving everyday conflicts, changing ways of relating to others, self-observation, impulse control and emotions, use of words instead of compulsive acts. In short, no longer compulsive consumption or crimes, seek and assume new ways of being and living.


The Roaring 20's: Crash Course US History #32 (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Consommation et crime en tant que producteurs d'identité

Consommation et crime en tant que producteurs d'identité

Juin 13, 2021

Consommer, commettre un crime, consommer à nouveau . La consommation problématique et l'acte compulsif de commettre des crimes peuvent être pensés dans le cadre d'un processus de construction de la subjectivité. Cette lecture est différente de la simple idée que ceux qui se droguent et volent sont ceux qui choisissent la "vie facile" ou la mauvaise vie.

La consommation problématique de substances implique une relation entre une personne et une drogue , avec une signification et des fonctions uniques. À son tour, pour ceux qui commettent également des crimes, cette façon de se comporter a une fonction implicite.

Nous observons des identités constituées selon avoir, avec des histoires répétées faisant allusion à "je suis" (je suis quelqu'un, je suis important), "parce que j'ai" (armes ou substance, ingérées ou dans ma poche et à partager). Des phrases telles que "Quand j'ai utilisé / quand je suis sorti pour voler, c'était différent, je me sentais mieux, plus important". Plus "complet", pourrait-on ajouter, comprendre que l'abstinence des deux actes compulsifs équivaut à un vide troublant , une crise d’identité et une perte du sentiment d’appartenance construites dans les groupes de pairs, dans le coin, dans la rue.


  • Article connexe: "Les 16 drogues les plus addictives au monde"

Une identité construite par l'usage de drogues

Le fait de ne pas rencontrer d'autres consommateurs représente un processus de deuil , un acte de désaffiliation, de désengagement avec les liens qu’il a pu rassembler et maintenir dans ce contexte. Ce sont des liens unis par la jouissance partagée qui implique de consommer et de transgresser avec les autres, ce qui génère des identifications qui les font appartenir.

Si une personne s'est sentie exclue par sa famille, son école ou son contexte social plus large, elle peut, à travers la consommation ou le crime, sentez que cela fait partie de la société , par exemple sous l’étiquette de faire partie des "dangereux voisins". De cette façon, il est vu par la société, mal vu mais vu après tout.


Dans la culture de la rue, il y a quelque chose

Au coin de la rue, des processus de socialisation se produisent qu'ils n'ont pas été générés dans d'autres domaines tels que la famille ou l'école, à cause des crises que ces institutions subissent, car elles doivent intégrer, contenir, former et finir par exclure.

Face à l'absence d'autres personnes significatives, de nouvelles références sont idéalisées, telles que le leader du groupe, les partenaires de consommation ou les enfants du coin. L'appartenance est créée, ce qui commence par consolider quelque chose de subjectif.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Psychopathologie, délinquance et responsabilité judiciaire"

En prison, il y a aussi quelque chose

En conceptualisant l'acte criminel comme un moyen (et d'être) de quelqu'un, on peut penser que le fait de purger une peine et, selon beaucoup, "ne doit rien à la justice" ne représente pas un acte de libération dans toutes les situations. et la liberté. Dans de nombreux cas, ils estiment que "en prison, c'était mieux". Il est plus facile de transgresser la loi que de la respecter , donnent lieu à un acte criminel obligatoire qui génère de nouveaux moyens de se lier au droit et à d’autres.


Tant que les règles et les normes sociales ne sont pas intériorisées, la résolution des conflits n’est pas pensée à travers le monde et la consommation compulsive n’est pas considérée comme un problème de santé, Être libre dans la société ne signifie pas nécessairement être libre . Au contraire, il est emprisonné de lui-même, de son manque de contrôle et de sa difficulté à fixer des limites, emprisonné dans une liberté de sa répétition impossible à contrôler, par ce qu'il pousse et pousse sans élaborer par le biais. Sans incorporation de la loi, on cherche à transgresser, de manière incontrôlable.

Les toxicomanes se sentent emprisonnés dans la liberté, conditionnés par une loi qu'ils ne veulent pas ou ne sont pas disposés à respecter, prisonniers de leur propre liberté, avec l'ampleur des possibilités et des responsabilités que cette liberté implique.

Bien que cela semble paradoxal, la transgression de la loi est présente dans le système pénitentiaire permettant des actes compulsifs, la violence, les dépendances, entre autres situations à risque pas interprété comme tel par ceux qui les exécutent. Par conséquent, ils peuvent leur faire sentir qu'ils sont libres dans la prison.

  • Article connexe: "Les 9 types de toxicomanie et leurs caractéristiques"

Le sens de la vie par la consommation et la violence

La consommation et la violence commencent à être considérées comme nécessaires et même plus valorisées que leur propre santé et leur propre liberté. Modèles de comportement et pensées construits dans le contexte carcéral ils sont intériorisés de telle sorte que le fait de produire des changements lors de la récupération de la liberté constitue un véritable défi.

La consommation et la délinquance finissent par donner un sens à la vie et pour que cela cesse d’avoir cette fonction, il faut construire de nouveaux sens.Une approche intégrale sera nécessaire, avec des implications au niveau personnel, familial, social, culturel, politique, etc.

Promotion de la santé, réduction des facteurs de risque et renforcement des facteurs de protection: enseigner et promouvoir de saines habitudes de vie, de nouvelles façons de résoudre les conflits quotidiens, de nouvelles façons de se relier aux autres, l'observation de soi, la maîtrise des impulsions et les émotions, l'utilisation de mots au lieu d'actes compulsifs. En bref, plus de consommation compulsive ou de crime, cherchez et assumez de nouvelles façons d'être et de vivre.


Le Jugement avec MagiCJacK (Juin 2021).


Articles Connexes