yes, therapy helps!
Corporate identity: what it is and how it defines organizations

Corporate identity: what it is and how it defines organizations

October 4, 2022

The business environment is tremendously competitive. Thousands of companies are continually born and die, remaining and highlighting only a relatively small percentage of them. The reasons for some to survive and others can not be very varied, going through the presence of insufficient initial capital, a very small-scale projection or the absence of an added value that allows the product itself to stand out from the competition. .

Another aspect that can make a company stay is that it is a coherent organization, with a clear structure and objectives and that projects a positive and appealing image for its target audience. And one of the essential requirements for this is to have a clear corporate identity .


  • Related article: "Psychology of work and organizations: a profession with a future"

What is the corporate identity?

We understand corporate identity as the set of characteristics that provide a company or company with its own personality differentiated from that of other companies.

It is one of the most important elements when generating a coherent company, since it includes the set of elements that allow employees to be part of a whole, make clear the objectives of the company and generate a structure and a hierarchy clear organizational

Among other things, the corporate identity provides a framework in which the members of the company carry out their activity , with a determined plan of action and in a manner consistent with what the institution is and does. In other words, it defines the what and how things are done in the company, as well as the way in which they are projected abroad.


Another of the most relevant aspects facing abroad, and which in fact often happens to identify the brand without taking into account other factors, is the set of visual and physical elements that are identifiable and perceptible by the client or user.

However, in this case we would be talking about the visual identity, which, although it is an important part of the corporate identity, is not its entirety: within the corporate identity we also include the set of elements that structure and define the operation of the corporation .

Main elements

The concept of corporate identity is relatively simple to understand, but creating that identity means taking into account and generating the large number of elements that make it up.

Specifically, The main aspects and elements that are part of the corporate identity They are the following.


1. Corporate philosophy

Corporate philosophy is understood as the way the company sees and understands reality in relation to what is expected: that is, its orientation towards the future, as well as how it relates to the world. It also includes The main values ​​defended by the company and the type of long-term objectives that seeks to achieve.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 10 types of values: principles that govern our lives"

2. Corporate culture

The corporate culture is the set of non-tangible elements that explain how the corporation works today. Norms, guiding beliefs of the activity and values ​​present in day to day They are some of the main elements of the company's culture.

3. Organizational climate

This aspect refers to the type of environment present in the company. To the emotional, motivational and relational elements. We are not talking about culture or how the company is governed, but about aspects such as the sense of belonging, the type of relationship and relationship between employees and the perception of workers with respect to their role in the company.

4. Work plan

The work plan is the realization of a planning of the activities to be carried out by the company and how to do them. It includes objectives, methods, ways to observe progress and the tasks to be performed .

5. Visual identity

The visual identity refers to the set of visual and physical, tangible elements that allow identifying the brand or company in question. Within the visual identity we can find elements such as the name of the company or brand, the logo and the slogan, the colors or even the organization and decoration of the facilities or the uniforms of the employees. Although it seems somewhat incidental, the truth is that this aspect must be carefully planned.

6. Communication strategies

An aspect of great importance is the type of communication strategies that the company has. That is, how it communicates or projects outward. In this sense we must include methodologies and communication protocols , such as the use of blogs and web pages, brochures or press conferences.

7. Corporate Identity Manual

It is the document in which the set of characteristics that make the company somewhat differentiated : the rules of the institution, objectives and operation indications regarding how to use the logo or visual identity.

8. A great advantage

The presence of a strong and clear corporate identity is very useful in order to make the company in question more comprehensible and unitary, making its corporate image (that is, the way in which it is perceived externally) more reliable and facilitating that possible clients or users notice it .

And not only externally: it facilitates the management and organization of the company and that employees have links with the institution, improving productivity and facilitating their survival.

Bibliographic references:

  • Aldersey-Williams, H. (1993). Corporate identity. Parramón, Barcelona.
  • Mut, M. and Breva, E. (2003). From corporate identity to corporate visual identity, a necessary path. Jornades de Foment de la Investigació. Universitat Jaume I.

What is ORGANIZATIONAL IDENTITY? What does ORGANIZATIONAL IDENTITY mean? (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Identité visuelle: qu'est-ce que c'est et comment définit-il les organisations?

Identité visuelle: qu'est-ce que c'est et comment définit-il les organisations?

Janvier 17, 2022

L'environnement commercial est extrêmement compétitif. Des milliers d'entreprises naissent et meurent continuellement, restant et en soulignant un pourcentage relativement faible. Les raisons pour certaines de survivre et d’autres ne peuvent pas être très variées, en raison de la présence d’un capital initial insuffisant, d’une projection à très petite échelle ou de l’absence de valeur ajoutée permettant au produit de se démarquer de la concurrence. .

Un autre aspect qui peut rendre une entreprise durable est qu’il s’agit d’une organisation cohérente, dotée d’une structure et d’objectifs clairs, et projetant une image positive et attrayante pour son public cible. Et un des les exigences essentielles pour cela est d'avoir une identité d'entreprise claire .


  • Article connexe: "Psychologie du travail et des organisations: un métier d'avenir"

Quelle est l'identité de l'entreprise?

Nous comprenons l'identité de l'entreprise comme l'ensemble des caractéristiques qui donnent à une entreprise ou à une entreprise sa propre personnalité différenciée de celle d’autres sociétés.

C’est l’un des éléments les plus importants lors de la création d’une entreprise cohérente, car il comprend un ensemble d’éléments permettant aux employés de s’intégrer à un tout, de préciser les objectifs de l’entreprise et de générer une structure et une hiérarchie. organisation claire

Entre autres choses, l'identité de l'entreprise fournit un cadre dans lequel les membres de la société exercent leur activité , avec un plan d’action déterminé et conforme à ce que l’institution est et fait. En d'autres termes, il définit le quoi et comment les choses sont faites dans l'entreprise, ainsi que la manière dont elles sont projetées à l'étranger.


L’ensemble des éléments visuels et physiques identifiables et perceptibles par le client ou l’utilisateur est un autre aspect des plus importants à l’étranger, qui identifie souvent la marque sans prendre en compte d’autres facteurs.

Cependant, dans ce cas, il s’agirait de l’identité visuelle, qui, bien qu’elle soit une partie importante de l’identité de l’entreprise, n’en est pas l’intégralité: elle inclut également l’ensemble des éléments structurer et définir le fonctionnement de la société .

Éléments principaux

Le concept d'identité d'entreprise est relativement simple à comprendre, mais créer cette identité signifie prendre en compte et générer le grand nombre d'éléments qui le composent.

Plus précisément Les principaux aspects et éléments de l'identité de l'entreprise Ils sont les suivants.


1. philosophie d'entreprise

La philosophie d’entreprise est comprise comme la façon dont l’entreprise perçoit et comprend la réalité par rapport à ce qui est attendu: c’est-à-dire son orientation vers l’avenir, ainsi que son lien avec le monde. Il comprend également Les principales valeurs défendues par l'entreprise et le type d'objectifs à long terme qui cherche à atteindre.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 10 types de valeurs: principes qui régissent nos vies"

2. Culture d'entreprise

La culture d'entreprise est l'ensemble des éléments non tangibles qui expliquent le fonctionnement actuel de l'entreprise. Normes, croyances directrices de l'activité et valeurs présentes au jour le jour Ils font partie des principaux éléments de la culture de l'entreprise.

3. Climat organisationnel

Cet aspect fait référence au type d’environnement présent dans l’entreprise. Aux éléments émotionnels, motivationnels et relationnels. Nous ne parlons pas de culture ni de la manière dont l'entreprise est gouvernée, mais d'aspects tels que le sentiment d'appartenance, le type de relation et la relation entre les employés et la perception des travailleurs quant à leur rôle dans l'entreprise.

4. Plan de travail

Le plan de travail est la réalisation d'un planning des activités à réaliser par l'entreprise et de la manière de les réaliser. Comprend objectifs, méthodes, moyens d'observer les progrès et tâches à accomplir .

5. Identité visuelle

L'identité visuelle fait référence à l'ensemble des éléments visuels et physiques tangibles permettant d'identifier la marque ou l'entreprise en question. Dans l’identité visuelle, nous pouvons trouver des éléments tels que le nom de la société ou de la marque, le logo et le slogan, les couleurs ou même l'organisation et la décoration des installations ou les uniformes des employés. Bien que cela semble un peu accessoire, la vérité est que cet aspect doit être soigneusement planifié.

6. Stratégies de communication

Un aspect de grande importance est le type de stratégies de communication de l'entreprise. C'est-à-dire comment il communique ou se projette vers l'extérieur. Dans ce sens nous devons inclure des méthodologies et des protocoles de communication , tels que l’utilisation de blogs et de pages Web, de brochures ou de conférences de presse.

7. Manuel d'identité visuelle

C'est le document dans lequel l'ensemble des caractéristiques qui différencient quelque peu l'entreprise : les règles de l'institution, les objectifs et les indications de fonctionnement concernant l'utilisation du logo ou de l'identité visuelle.

8. Un grand avantage

La présence d’une identité visuelle forte et claire est très utile pour rendre l’entreprise en question plus compréhensible et unitaire, pour fiabiliser son image de marque (c’est-à-dire la manière dont elle est perçue à l’extérieur) et faciliter que les clients ou utilisateurs éventuels le remarquent .

Et pas seulement à l'extérieur: cela facilite la gestion et l'organisation de l'entreprise et permet aux employés d'avoir des liens avec l'institution, ce qui améliore la productivité et facilite leur survie.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Aldersey-Williams, H. (1993). L'identité d'entreprise. Parramón, Barcelone.
  • Mut, M. et Breva, E. (2003). De l'identité de l'entreprise à l'identité visuelle de l'entreprise, un chemin nécessaire. Jornades de Foment de la Investigació. Universitat Jaume I.

L'entreprise, ce monde d'hommes (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes