yes, therapy helps!
Cortical blindness: causes, symptoms and treatment

Cortical blindness: causes, symptoms and treatment

July 12, 2024

The sense of sight is one of the most developed and most important for the human being. Although it is not impossible to live without this sense (as many people who live their lives with blindness merit), their absence is an important difficulty when relating to the world, especially if the blindness is not birth but acquired.

There are many types of blindness, with different characteristics and causes. One of these types is cortical blindness , which will be discussed throughout this article.

  • Related article: "The 15 most frequent neurological disorders"

Cortical blindness

We call cortical blindness, more recently called neurological visual impairment , to the alteration or pathology in which there is a loss of vision in both eyes due to bilateral involvement of the occipital lobes.


The eyes and nerve pathways that receive the visual information work correctly, even reacting the pupils to nerve stimulation, but this information is not processed cerebrally due to the injuries produced in the fibers in which it would generally occur. A) Yes, the subject does not see because his brain does not record the visual information . It is possible that even if the subject is not able to process the visual information, I may experience visual hallucinations.

There can also be a certain conspiracy, imagining what could be seen (without being aware that what is described is not a real vision but a construction of one's own). Also, something that is often called attention is the fact that some subjects with cortical blindness are not aware of the loss of vision, presenting anosognosia.


Although strictly cortical blindness would indicate the complete absence of vision, the truth is that in its new name (neurological visual disability) this and other situations in which there is a partial loss of vision are included. Although it is called blindness, in some cases the subject is able to perceive some minimal stimulation, such as light . It is possible that in some cases blindness may not be perceived externally, as some are able to avoid tripping or colliding with objects due to said remnants of processed information.

It can occur at any age and for a variety of causes.

Possible causes

The direct cause of cortical blindness is the presence of lesions bilaterally in the occipital lobes , unable to process visual information from the visual system. This injury is usually caused by the existence of a stroke in said area or in the vessels that irrigate it.


The presence of anoxia or the suffering of certain viral and neurological diseases can also lead to cortical blindness. Another etiology can be the suffering of traumatic brain injuries that destroy both occipital. Poisoning and tumors (the latter, either because they directly affect the occipital or because it generates compression against the skull wall of said region of the cortex).

Finally, cortical blindness can also be observed in subjects who do not have such a lobe or who have it dysfunctional, as in some malformations produced during pregnancy .

  • You may be interested: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

Looking for treatment

Cortical blindness does not have specific treatment, since it is the result of the destruction of the cerebral elements that allow visual processing. The exception would be those cases in which the cause was a dysfunction of the occipital cortex generated by some treatable cause, such as an infection, as long as the brain tissue has not died.

In addition, in cases where there is a perception of brightness, it is possible to perform different types of training to strengthen that capacity and use it adaptively in daily life. Depending on the degree of involvement, there may be some improvement in these cases (especially in children, with greater cerebral plasticity), and even a recovery. However, usually when there is complete loss of vision this will remain.

The fact of losing sight or not having it can have a hard impact on the person who suffers it, and psychological intervention may be required. It will be necessary psychoeducation to understand and accept what has happened , what the patient is living and the consequences he will have in his daily life. Not only in the patient, but also it is convenient to do it on the near environment. It is necessary to provide guidelines for action and advice before the next steps. Psychotherapy may also be necessary to treat adaptive and emotional problems.

At a functional level, it may be necessary to use external aids, such as white canes or support for the blind and / or guide dogs. The learning of Braille and the use of adapted technology also facilitates the lives of blind people. In addition, it is necessary to adapt urban elements such as traffic lights, as well as adapt education or different employment positions in such a way that their disability does not imply a disability .

In principle there is no solution for cortical blindness, but the research carried out has made it possible to develop mechanisms that stimulate the brain regions responsible for the processing of visual information. It could be reactivated or made connections between occipital areas not injuries that would allow the processing and partial functioning of the vision.

Bibliographic references:

  • Hutto C, Arvin A, Jacobs R, et al. (1987). Intrauterine herpes simplex infection. J Pediatrics 110: 97-101.
  • Greene M, Benacerraf B, Crawford J, Hydranencephaly. (2001). Us apperance during in utero evolution. Radiology

What is CORTICAL BLINDNESS? What does CORTICAL BLINDNESS mean? CORTICAL BLINDNESS meaning (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Cécité corticale: causes, symptômes et traitement

Cécité corticale: causes, symptômes et traitement

Juillet 13, 2024

Le sens de la vue est l’un des plus développés et des plus importants pour l’être humain. Bien qu'il ne soit pas impossible de vivre sans ce sens (comme beaucoup de personnes qui vivent leur vie avec une cécité méritante), leur absence est une difficulté importante lorsqu’elles sont liées au monde, surtout si la cécité n’est pas une naissance, mais une acquis.

Il existe de nombreux types de cécité, avec des caractéristiques et des causes différentes. L'un de ces types est la cécité corticale , qui sera discuté tout au long de cet article.

  • Article connexe: "Les 15 troubles neurologiques les plus fréquents"

Cécité corticale

Nous appelons cécité corticale, plus récemment appelé déficience visuelle neurologique , à l'altération ou à la pathologie entraînant une perte de vision des deux yeux due à une atteinte bilatérale des lobes occipitaux.


Les voies oculaires et nerveuses qui reçoivent les informations visuelles fonctionnent correctement, même en cas de stimulation nerveuse des pupilles, mais ces informations ne sont pas traitées de manière cérébrale en raison des lésions des fibres dans lesquelles elles se produisent. Ainsi, le sujet ne voit pas parce que son cerveau n'enregistre pas l'information visuelle . Il est possible que même si le sujet ne soit pas en mesure de traiter les informations visuelles, je puisse avoir des hallucinations visuelles.

Il peut aussi y avoir un certain complot, imaginant ce qui pourrait être vu (sans se rendre compte que ce qui est décrit n'est pas une vision réelle mais une construction de la sienne). De plus, on appelle souvent attention le fait que certains sujets atteints de cécité corticale ne sont pas conscients de la perte de vision et présentent une anosognosie.


Bien que la cécité strictement corticale indiquerait une absence totale de vision, la vérité est que, dans son nouveau nom (déficience visuelle neurologique), cette situation et d’autres dans lesquelles il existe une perte partielle de la vision sont incluses. Bien que cela s'appelle la cécité, dans certains cas, le sujet est capable de percevoir une stimulation minimale, telle que la lumière . Il est possible que, dans certains cas, la cécité ne soit pas perçue de l'extérieur, car certains sont en mesure d'éviter de trébucher ou d'entrer en collision avec des objets en raison des restes d'informations traités.

Il peut survenir à tout âge et pour diverses causes.

Causes possibles

La cause directe de la cécité corticale est la présence de lésions bilatérales dans les lobes occipitaux , incapable de traiter les informations visuelles du système visuel. Cette blessure est généralement causée par l’existence d’un accident vasculaire cérébral dans ladite zone ou dans les vaisseaux qui l’irriguent.


La présence d'anoxie ou la souffrance de certaines maladies virales et neurologiques peuvent également conduire à la cécité corticale. Une autre étiologie peut être la souffrance de lésions cérébrales traumatiques qui détruisent les deux occipitaux. Empoisonnements et tumeurs (ces dernières, soit parce qu’elles affectent directement l’occipital, soit parce qu’elles génèrent une compression contre la paroi crânienne de ladite région du cortex).

Enfin, la cécité corticale peut également être observée chez des sujets ne présentant pas un tel lobe ou souffrant de dysfonctionnement, comme dans certaines malformations produites pendant la grossesse .

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

À la recherche d'un traitement

La cécité corticale ne fait pas l'objet d'un traitement spécifique, car elle résulte de la destruction des éléments cérébraux permettant un traitement visuel. L'exception serait les cas dans lesquels la cause était un dysfonctionnement du cortex occipital généré par une cause traitable, telle qu'une infection, tant que le tissu cérébral ne serait pas mort.

De plus, dans les cas où il y a une perception de luminosité, il est possible d'effectuer différents types de formation pour renforcer cette capacité et l'utiliser de manière adaptative dans la vie quotidienne. Selon le degré d'implication, il peut y avoir une amélioration dans ces cas (en particulier chez les enfants, avec une plasticité cérébrale plus grande) et même une guérison. Cependant, généralement, en cas de perte de vision complète, cela reste.

Le fait de perdre de vue ou de ne pas l'avoir peut avoir de lourdes conséquences sur la personne qui en souffre et une intervention psychologique peut être nécessaire. Il sera nécessaire que la psychoéducation comprenne et accepte ce qui est arrivé , ce que vit le patient et les conséquences qu’il aura dans sa vie quotidienne. Non seulement chez le patient, mais il est également pratique de le faire dans l'environnement proche. Il est nécessaire de fournir des directives d’action et de conseil avant les prochaines étapes. Une psychothérapie peut également être nécessaire pour traiter des problèmes d'adaptation et émotionnels.

Au niveau fonctionnel, il peut être nécessaire d'utiliser des aides externes, telles que des cannes blanches ou un support pour les chiens aveugles et / ou guides. L'apprentissage du braille et l'utilisation de technologies adaptées facilitent également la vie des personnes aveugles. En outre, il est nécessaire d’adapter les éléments urbains tels que les feux de circulation, ainsi que adapter l'éducation ou différents postes d'emploi de telle sorte que leur handicap n'implique pas un handicap .

En principe, il n'y a pas de solution pour la cécité corticale, mais les recherches effectuées ont permis de développer des mécanismes stimulant les régions du cerveau responsables du traitement de l'information visuelle. Il pourrait être réactivé ou établir des connexions entre les zones occipitales et non des blessures qui permettraient le traitement et le fonctionnement partiel de la vision.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Hutto C, Arvin A, Jacobs R, et al. (1987). Infection par l'herpès simplex intra-utérin. J Pediatrics 110: 97-101.
  • Greene M, Benacerraf B, Crawford J, Hydranencéphalie. (2001). Notre apparence au cours de l'évolution in utero. Radiologie

OPHTALMOLOGIE LES CAUSES DE CECITE ET BAISSE BRUTALE DE LA VISION (Juillet 2024).


Articles Connexes