yes, therapy helps!
Coulrophobia (fear of clowns): causes, symptoms and treatment

Coulrophobia (fear of clowns): causes, symptoms and treatment

May 10, 2021

The clowns they usually produce different feelings and emotions In us. We usually associate them with fun and endearing moments; to the pure entertainment of when we were children and enjoyed their occurrences.

However, for a small percentage of the population, the figure of the clown is associated with sensations negative and unpleasant , to the point that they feel genuine dread. It is what is known as'coulrophobia 'or fear of clowns.

The fear of clowns: the role of the subconscious in the coulrophobia

Clown phobia is often closely related to latent emotional causes in the person's subconscious, so there is no simple treatment to cure coulrophobia. However, there are different methods and techniques of treatment that help to help with a good rate of improvement to those who suffer from this fear.


Symptoms of coulrophobia

The visible part of clown phobia is panic, fear and the anguish of the phobic in the presence of the image of the clown. Although this fear is often perceived as something ridiculous or funny by third parties, the subject who experiences the phobia phobia can trigger severe anxiety attacks in the situations described.

Others associated symptoms to the fear of clowns are:

  • Feeling of intense fear
  • Tremors
  • Anxiety
  • Tachycardia and irregular heartbeat
  • Difficulty breathing

Causes of clown phobia

The causes responsible for this irrational phobia are several, and each case is unique. Most people affected by coulrophobia report having experienced a negative personal experience around the figure of a clown. However, most experts in clinical psychology and phobias maintain that the fundamental cause would be found in the imaginary created by the media (TV, movies, series) about clowns.


The figure of the clown has been used regularly in horror movies as a technique to cause fear to the spectator. Thus, the filmmaker creates a cognitive dissonance very effective, using a figure commonly associated with entertainment and fun as the opposite: a sadist or a psychopath, thus surprising the public.

There is also a great consensus among mental health professionals that one of the main causes of coulrophobia is due to the makeup features that clowns use. The bright colors, the exaggerated eyes and smiles, the red nose, are shocking stimuli for a child's mind, and can even cause fear, in the same way that some children are also afraid to sit in the lap of a child. Santa Claus.

The fear of clowns, consequently, may have one of its origins in the distrust generated by the histrionically made-up face, which does not allow to glimpse the authentic facial expression.


Treatment for coulrophobia

Many parents choose to try to prevent their children with fear of clowns from finding themselves in situations where there are clowns, such as birthday parties . This may seem a reasonable measure if the fear is very intense, but the truth is that clowns can appear in different contexts. The best treatment to overcome the coulrophobia is that a professional in psychotherapy can develop based on a good diagnosis, to adapt the remedy to the causes of irrational fear.

The most common techniques and methods of treatment for fighting clown phobia usually include psychological therapy , that through habituation, allows people with phobia to make progressive contact with the cause of fear (clowns, in this case), so that bad sensations gradually diminish.

In the course of psychotherapy based on desensitization , the anguish experienced should be diminishing. The first sessions tend to revolve around discussion and reflection on fear, and then start to see images related to the object of phobia: clowns. If the treatment is taking effect, the patient should be able to be comfortable and without suffering any of the symptoms of coulrophobia even in the presence of clowns in the same room. The process of desensitization makes it possible for people with clown phobia to become familiar little by little with their fear and, finally, become desensitized to the phobia, overcoming it.

Bibliographic references:

  • Durwin, J. (2010). Coulrophobia & The Trickster. Trinity

What Is The Name For The Fear Of Clowns (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Coulrophobie (peur des clowns): causes, symptômes et traitement

Coulrophobie (peur des clowns): causes, symptômes et traitement

Juin 27, 2022

Le clowns ils produisent habituellement différents sentiments et émotions en nous Nous les associons généralement à des moments amusants et attachants; au pur divertissement de quand nous étions enfants et avons apprécié leurs occurrences.

Cependant, pour un faible pourcentage de la population, le chiffre du clown est associé à des sensations négatif et désagréable , au point qu'ils ressentent une véritable peur. C'est ce qu'on appelle 'coulrophobie 'ou la peur des clowns.

La peur des clowns: le rôle de l'inconscient dans la coulrophobie

La phobie du clown est souvent étroitement liée à des causes émotionnelles latentes dans le subconscient de la personne. Il n'existe donc pas de traitement simple pour guérir la coulrophobie. Cependant, il existe différentes méthodes et techniques de traitement qui aident à améliorer le taux d’amélioration chez ceux qui souffrent de cette peur.


Symptômes de la coulrophobie

La partie visible de la phobie des clowns est la panique, la peur et la angoisse du phobique en présence de l'image du clown. Bien que cette peur soit souvent perçue comme quelque chose de ridicule ou d’amusant par des tiers, le sujet qui présente la phobie peut déclencher de graves crises d’anxiété dans les situations décrites.

Autres symptômes associés à la peur des clowns sont:

  • Sentiment de peur intense
  • Tremblements
  • Anxiété
  • Tachycardie et rythme cardiaque irrégulier
  • Difficulté à respirer

Causes de la phobie des clowns

Les causes de cette phobie irrationnelle sont multiples et chaque cas est unique. La plupart des personnes touchées par la coulrophobie rapportent avoir vécu une expérience personnelle négative autour de la figure d'un clown. Cependant, la plupart des experts en psychologie clinique et en phobies soutiennent que la cause fondamentale serait trouvée dans l'imaginaire créé par les médias (télé, films, séries) sur les clowns.


La figure du clown a été utilisée régulièrement dans films d'horreur comme une technique pour faire peur au spectateur. Ainsi, le cinéaste crée une dissonance cognitive très efficace, en utilisant une figure couramment associée au divertissement et à l'amusement au contraire: un sadique ou un psychopathe, surprenant ainsi le public.

Les professionnels de la santé mentale s'entendent également pour dire que l’une des principales causes de la coulrophobie est la fonctionnalités de maquillage que les clowns utilisent. Les couleurs vives, les yeux exagérés et les sourires, le nez rouge sont des stimulants choquants pour l’esprit de l’enfant et peuvent même susciter la peur, de la même manière que certains enfants ont également peur de s’asseoir sur les genoux d’un enfant. Le père noël.

La crainte des clowns, par conséquent, peut avoir ses origines dans la méfiance générée par le visage maquillé de façon amusante, qui ne permet pas d’entrevoir l’expression authentique du visage.


Traitement de la coulrophobie

De nombreux parents choisissent d’essayer d’empêcher leurs enfants craignant les clowns de se retrouver dans des situations où il y a des clowns, tels que fêtes d'anniversaire . Cela peut sembler une mesure raisonnable si la peur est très intense, mais la vérité est que les clowns peuvent apparaître dans différents contextes. Le meilleur traitement pour surmonter la coulrophobie est ce qu'un professionnel de la psychothérapie peut développer sur la base d'un bon diagnostic, afin d'adapter le remède aux causes de la peur irrationnelle.

Les techniques et méthodes de traitement les plus courantes pour lutter contre la phobie des clowns incluent généralement thérapie psychologique , que par l’habitude, permet aux personnes souffrant de phobie de prendre progressivement contact avec la cause de la peur (les clowns, dans ce cas), de sorte que les mauvaises sensations s’atténuent progressivement.

Au cours d'une psychothérapie basée sur désensibilisation , l'angoisse vécue devrait diminuer. Les premières séances ont tendance à tourner autour de la discussion et de la réflexion sur la peur, puis à commencer à voir des images liées à l’objet de la phobie: les clowns. Si le traitement prend effet, le patient doit pouvoir se sentir à l'aise et ne souffrir d'aucun des symptômes de la coulrophobie, même en présence de clowns dans la même pièce. Le processus de désensibilisation permet aux personnes souffrant de phobie des clowns de se familiariser petit à petit avec leur peur et, finalement, de devenir insensibles à la phobie et de la surmonter.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Durwin, J. (2010). Coulrophobia et le filou. Trinité

Phobias - specific phobias, agoraphobia, & social phobia (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes