yes, therapy helps!
Couple therapy: an aid to rebuild links

Couple therapy: an aid to rebuild links

May 17, 2024

Couples therapy is a type of help that many marriages or people involved in courtships use to get out of their relational crisis.

This option breaks with the idea that psychotherapy is a place that is attended only to express ideas that affect only oneself: psychology can also be applied to affective bonds and communication between two people.

  • Related article: "How to know when to go to couple therapy? 5 reasons of weight"

Interview with Cecilia Martín, psychologist

On this occasion we interviewed Cecilia Martín from the Psicode Institute, to explain what are the keys to couples therapy.


What are the types of problems most couples come to therapy for?

Although the motives are very varied, the most frequent reason for couples to consult now is infidelity.

Infidelity in couples, both men and women, is more frequent. And infidelities are forgiven. They are not a cause of rupture. But for the person to forgive and regain trust in their partner, they need therapy.

In the Psicode Institute we work the deep crises that couples go through after discovering an infidelity. And in 90% of cases, couples recover and even emerge strengthened from it. "I never thought I could forgive him and now I'm very glad that I found out about the deception. We love each other much more and we feel more united than ever and I trust our relationship "are some of the testimonies of our patients.


Another of the great reasons for consultation in couples therapy is that we help them recover their passion. Passion with capital letters because people want to feel for their partner and want to feel loved and desired by her.

After many years of relationship, routine and monotony often wear down the couple and sexual desire decreases. It is a current complaint of both men and women. Low sexual desire is often interpreted by the other as "you do not love me anymore" or "you do not want me anymore". And those misinterpreted messages produce a lot of suffering for people. One of the key points of our couples therapies is to recover the spark in the relationship, to recover the passion and the burning desire for the other.

In other cases they may be jealousy, dependence on one of them, problems of lack of space and care for oneself or difficulties in making decisions.


Sometimes they come to make the decision to continue together or not. Not because they misbehave as a couple, but because there is a conflict in values, each one has a scheme and they can not reach a "walk together". For example, having or not having children, giving up a career to accompany the couple to another country, the demand to have open sex by a member of the couple, etc.

And in other cases, recurrent discussions and conflicts are the main reason for consultation.

Couples want to learn to solve their differences regarding different topics, for example, with the political family, education of children, social relationships, domestic responsibilities, and fail to reach agreements. In some cases the communication becomes aggressive and the discussions take place in front of the children, which further aggravates the situation.

In these cases what is done in couples therapy?

In couples therapy, they learn to solve those problems by which they argue over and over again. The couple enters a daily conflict loop from which they can not leave. As soon as the subject of conversation is removed, it already produces tension in the environment. Why does an apparently simple subject cause so much commotion and so much aggression in the other?

Not only are issues of communication and points of view different but there are more emotional components involved. Possibly that theme drags a lot of history from the past and is touching weak points of each one.

All these factors are what we analyze in therapy: the fears of each one, the life stories that have marked their character, etc. Once you get to the click! It is easy to find solutions and couples manage to stop arguing.

Many times, when the couple's therapy is represented in the media of audiovisual fiction, the writers focus a lot on the discussions and conflicts that erupt during the sessions. Are discussions really part of the normal functioning of this type of therapy?

In our consultations we try that these scenes do not happen. Our philosophy is that "to discuss a psychologist is not paid, because they already know how to do it alone". Couples already have enough with the wear of their discussions at home to reinforce it in the consultation.In addition, allowing it would help to create more distance, because the psychologist is ahead, because we all like to be right, everything is magnified more (consciously or unconsciously) so that it is on our side.

That is why we avoid these situations although we do not evade the problems. The psychologist must know how to mediate correctly and prevent the climate of tension in the consultation from rising. The objective is for the session to end well and for the couple to emerge stronger from each session and having learned something.

What are the main objectives of this form of psychological intervention?

The main objective of the therapy is for the couple to believe in love again. That they feel that their relationship is worthwhile and that they feel that they have chosen someone special with whom to share their life. When the couple achieves this, they feel full and motivated to solve any adversity.

How do we get it? Well, sometimes you have to work things from the past. Reprocess and close the past to look at the present. Couples come with so much distrust, resentment, disappointment .. If you do not work the grudge for the past, this boycott the present.

We work on the expression of feelings and increase the emotional approach between them. We teach them effective communication techniques, we act as mediators in the discrepancies, we help them to recover their passion and, above all, to make them feel like a "team" to solve future difficulties that are part of everyday life.

Which are the most common and recurrent couple therapy variants, and how do you know which one best suits each case?

The couple therapy variants depend on the therapeutic approach that each professional works. From the Psicode Institute we work under an integrative approach, with techniques from different approaches: systemic therapy, cognitive-behavioral and even psychodrama techniques for more emotional work.

Each couple is unique and requires a unique job. There are usually no universal solutions that work for everyone. For this reason, couples do not find the solutions by looking at their friends. It is a deep work that tends to be more complex than individual therapy.

What kind of measures are promoted from the therapy so that the couples who come to this service commit themselves to make progress?

Ideally, the two members of the couple should come motivated to make changes and work together. When this happens, the therapy is usually brief and the changes are obtained in very few sessions.

But it is not usual. The normal thing is that both of them, or at least one of them, is already very tired of fighting for the relationship. They usually ask for help when they are already exhausted and when they only see separation as the only way.

In these cases you have to work motivation and look for the strengths of the relationship. Help them find the reasons to stay together.

Is it normal to go to couples therapy without having much hope of improving the situation?

It is the usual. We start from the base that most people when they call us to make an appointment, is because the ultimatum of rupture is just around the corner.

They say that when they come they have tried everything, but it is not true. They have tried again and again solutions that do not work, or that even aggravate the situation. They need the expert psychologist to help them see what they do not see.

Some, when they ask for an appointment, despite giving them as soon as possible, we find that many times in those days the couple has already ended the relationship and they do not go to their date. It's a shame, because they did not exhaust the last cartridge.

At other times if it is true that they come too late. For example, in infidelity problems, couples often ask for therapy when infidelity has been repeated several times. Here the person who has been betrayed, is so disenchanted that in order to restore confidence it takes more time for therapeutic work. If couples sought help after the first episode of infidelity, it would be much easier to work.

The good part of the unbelievers in the possibility of improvement, and that despite this they tried, is that they are then rewarded for their effort. They are the ones who are most amazed by the changes and therefore more grateful they are with their partners and with their decision to start the process.

Does this pessimistic perception of things change over the course of sessions?

Clear. As the process progresses and you see the changes maintained over time, optimism and credibility in the couple appear. Many couples, after experiencing the results of couples therapy, recognize that if they had known it, they would have come earlier. Couples therapy works.

When couple therapy does not seem to move forward, what do the causes tend to be?

When one of the members does not really intend to fight for the couple because he no longer loves her, but the couple therapy continues, only for a secondary gain for himself. It may happen that one of them wants to save the relationship, but it is clear that he needs to see a real involvement in the other in the therapy because if not, it is separated.

We have seen cases in which one of the two who wants to continue in the relationship but not because he loves his partner, but because the break involves a series of losses that he is not willing to assume and comes to couple therapy to prevent his couple you leave.

For example, the fear of losing their purchasing power, not wanting their children to live with separated parents, etc. The attitude of these people prevents the real development of couples therapy and it is very difficult to move forward.

In what situations would you recommend going to couple therapy? How to know if the problem is significant enough to take this step?

We recommend to go when a problem appears that causes suffering to the couple and that they can not solve by themselves. Sometimes, if the couple comes early to ask for help, in very few sessions the problem is solved and the couple can continue happy.

If the problem has not been solved and they just let it go, that problem will come out later in the future and will make the situation worse.

What would you say to people who start to wonder if their relationship is viable?

Important decisions in life are taken from a rational state, from calm and serenity. If you are in a situation where you are overwhelmed emotionally because in your partner there are constant confrontations, resentment and anger will not let you see if the separation solution is correct.

In the short term it can be a relief, but in the medium or long term you may realize that there were other options.


Rethinking infidelity ... a talk for anyone who has ever loved | Esther Perel (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Thérapie de couple: une aide pour reconstruire des liens

Thérapie de couple: une aide pour reconstruire des liens

Septembre 27, 2022

La thérapie de couple est un type d'aide que beaucoup de mariages ou de personnes impliquées dans les parquets utilisent pour se sortir de leur crise relationnelle.

Cette option rompt avec l'idée que la psychothérapie est un lieu fréquenté uniquement pour exprimer des idées qui ne concernent que soi-même: la psychologie peut également s'appliquer aux liens affectifs et à la communication entre deux personnes.

  • Article connexe: "Comment savoir quand aller en thérapie de couple? 5 raisons de poids"

Entretien avec Cecilia Martín, psychologue

À cette occasion, nous avons interviewé Cecilia Martín de l’Institut Psicode, pour expliquer quelles sont les clés de la thérapie de couple.


Quels sont les types de problèmes pour lesquels la plupart des couples ont recours à la thérapie?

Bien que les motifs soient très variés, la raison la plus fréquente pour les couples de consulter maintenant est l'infidélité.

L'infidélité chez les couples, hommes et femmes, est plus fréquente. Et les infidélités sont pardonnées. Ils ne sont pas une cause de rupture. Mais pour que la personne pardonne et retrouve confiance en son partenaire, elle a besoin d'une thérapie.

À l'Institut Psicode, nous travaillons sur les crises profondes que traversent les couples après avoir découvert une infidélité. Et dans 90% des cas, les couples se rétablissent et en ressortent même renforcés. "Je n'avais jamais pensé pouvoir lui pardonner et maintenant je suis très heureux d'avoir découvert cette supercherie. Nous nous aimons beaucoup plus et nous nous sentons plus unis que jamais et je suis convaincu que nos relations "sont quelques-uns des témoignages de nos patients.


Une autre des bonnes raisons de consulter en thérapie de couple est que nous les aidons à retrouver leur passion. Passion avec les majuscules parce que les gens veulent se sentir pour leur partenaire et veulent se sentir aimés et désirés par elle.

Après de nombreuses années de relation, la routine et la monotonie usent souvent le couple et le désir sexuel diminue. C'est une plainte courante des hommes et des femmes. Un faible désir sexuel est souvent interprété par l'autre comme "tu ne m'aimes plus" ou "tu ne me veux plus". Et ces messages mal interprétés produisent beaucoup de souffrance pour les gens. L'un des points clés de nos thérapies de couple est de retrouver l'étincelle dans la relation, de retrouver la passion et le désir ardent de l'autre.

Dans d'autres cas, il peut s'agir de jalousie, de dépendance à l'un d'entre eux, de problèmes de manque d'espace et de soin de soi ou de difficultés à prendre des décisions.


Parfois, ils viennent prendre la décision de continuer ensemble ou non. Non pas parce qu'ils se conduisent mal en tant que couple, mais parce qu'il y a un conflit de valeurs, chacun d'entre eux a un plan et ne peut pas atteindre une "promenade ensemble". Par exemple, avoir ou ne pas avoir d'enfants, abandonner une carrière pour accompagner le couple dans un autre pays, la demande de relations sexuelles ouvertes d'un membre du couple, etc.

Et dans d'autres cas, les discussions et les conflits récurrents sont le principal motif de consultation.

Les couples veulent apprendre à résoudre leurs différends sur différents sujets, par exemple avec la famille politique, l'éducation des enfants, les relations sociales, les responsabilités domestiques et ne parviennent pas à se mettre d'accord. Dans certains cas, la communication devient agressive et les discussions se déroulent devant les enfants, ce qui aggrave encore la situation.

Dans ces cas, que fait-on en thérapie de couple?

En thérapie de couple, ils apprennent à résoudre les problèmes par lesquels ils se disputent encore et encore. Le couple entre dans une boucle de conflit quotidienne à partir de laquelle ils ne peuvent pas sortir. Dès que le sujet de conversation est supprimé, cela crée déjà une tension dans l'environnement. Pourquoi un sujet apparemment simple cause-t-il tant d'agitation et d'agressivité chez l'autre?

Non seulement les problèmes de communication et les points de vue sont différents, mais il y a plus de composantes émotionnelles impliquées. Peut-être ce thème tire-t-il beaucoup d’histoire du passé et touche-t-il les points faibles de chacun.

Nous analysons tous ces facteurs en thérapie: les peurs de chacun, les récits de vie qui ont marqué leur caractère, etc. Une fois que vous obtenez au clic! Il est facile de trouver des solutions et les couples parviennent à arrêter de se disputer.

Souvent, lorsque la thérapie du couple est représentée dans les médias de la fiction audiovisuelle, les écrivains se concentrent beaucoup sur les discussions et les conflits qui éclatent au cours des séances. Les discussions font-elles vraiment partie du fonctionnement normal de ce type de thérapie?

Lors de nos consultations, nous essayons que ces scènes ne se produisent pas. Notre philosophie est la suivante: "discuter d'un psychologue n'est pas rémunéré, car il sait déjà comment le faire seul". Les couples en ont déjà assez avec l'usure de leurs discussions à la maison pour le renforcer dans la consultation.De plus, le permettre contribuerait à créer plus de distance, car le psychologue est en avance, parce que nous aimons tous avoir raison, tout est amplifié davantage (consciemment ou inconsciemment) de sorte qu'il soit de notre côté.

C’est la raison pour laquelle nous évitons ces situations même si nous n’évitons pas les problèmes. Le psychologue doit savoir comment intervenir correctement et éviter que le climat de tension dans la consultation ne se crée. L'objectif est que la session se termine bien et que le couple sorte plus fort de chaque session et ait appris quelque chose.

Quels sont les objectifs principaux de cette forme d'intervention psychologique?

L'objectif principal de la thérapie est que le couple croie à nouveau en l'amour. Qu'ils sentent que leur relation en vaut la peine et qu'ils ont le sentiment d'avoir choisi une personne spéciale avec qui partager leur vie. Lorsque le couple y parvient, ils se sentent rassasiés et motivés pour résoudre toute épreuve.

Comment l'obtenons-nous? Eh bien, il faut parfois travailler avec le passé. Retraite et ferme le passé pour regarder le présent. Les couples viennent avec tant de méfiance, de ressentiment, de déception. Si vous ne travaillez pas la rancune du passé, cela boycotte le présent.

Nous travaillons sur l'expression des sentiments et renforçons l'approche émotionnelle entre eux. Nous leur enseignons des techniques de communication efficaces, nous agissons en tant que médiateurs dans les divergences, nous les aidons à recouvrer leur passion et, surtout, à leur faire sentir comme une "équipe" pour résoudre les difficultés futures faisant partie de la vie quotidienne.

Quelles sont les variantes de thérapie de couple les plus courantes et les plus récurrentes, et comment savoir laquelle correspond le mieux à chaque cas?

Les variantes de thérapie de couple dépendent de l'approche thérapeutique que chaque professionnel travaille. Depuis l'Institut Psicode, nous travaillons selon une approche intégrative, avec des techniques issues de différentes approches: thérapie systémique, techniques cognitivo-comportementales et même psychodrame pour un travail plus émotionnel.

Chaque couple est unique et nécessite un travail unique. Il n'y a généralement pas de solutions universelles qui fonctionnent pour tout le monde. Pour cette raison, les couples ne trouvent pas de solutions en regardant leurs amis. C'est un travail en profondeur qui tend à être plus complexe que la thérapie individuelle.

Quel type de mesures préconise la thérapie afin que les couples qui viennent à ce service s’engagent à faire des progrès?

Idéalement, les deux membres du couple devraient être motivés pour apporter des changements et travailler ensemble. Lorsque cela se produit, la thérapie est généralement brève et les changements sont obtenus en très peu de séances.

Mais ce n'est pas habituel. La chose normale est que les deux, ou au moins l'un d'entre eux, est déjà très fatigué de se battre pour la relation. Ils demandent généralement de l'aide lorsqu'ils sont déjà épuisés et qu'ils ne voient que la séparation comme le seul moyen.

Dans ces cas, vous devez travailler votre motivation et rechercher les points forts de la relation. Aidez-les à trouver les raisons de rester ensemble.

Est-ce normal d'aller en thérapie de couple sans avoir beaucoup d'espoir d'améliorer la situation?

C'est l'habituel. Nous partons de la base selon laquelle la plupart des gens, lorsqu'ils nous appellent pour prendre rendez-vous, tiennent au fait que l'ultimatum de la rupture est imminent.

Ils disent que lorsqu'ils arrivent, ils ont tout essayé, mais ce n'est pas vrai. Ils ont essayé à plusieurs reprises des solutions qui ne fonctionnent pas ou qui aggravent même la situation. Ils ont besoin de l'expert psychologue pour les aider à voir ce qu'ils ne voient pas.

Certains, quand ils demandent un rendez-vous, malgré le fait de leur donner le plus tôt possible, nous constatons que souvent, à cette époque, le couple a déjà mis fin à la relation et ne va pas à leur rendez-vous. C'est dommage, car ils n'ont pas épuisé la dernière cartouche.

À d'autres moments, s'il est vrai qu'ils arrivent trop tard. Par exemple, dans les problèmes d'infidélité, les couples demandent souvent un traitement lorsque l'infidélité a été répétée plusieurs fois. Ici, la personne qui a été trahie est tellement désenchantée que pour restaurer la confiance, il faut plus de temps pour le travail thérapeutique. Si les couples cherchaient de l'aide après le premier épisode d'infidélité, il serait beaucoup plus facile de travailler.

La bonne partie des non-croyants dans la possibilité d'amélioration, et que malgré cela ils ont essayé, c'est qu'ils sont ensuite récompensés pour leurs efforts. Ce sont eux qui sont le plus étonnés par les changements et qui sont donc plus reconnaissants envers leurs partenaires et leur décision de commencer le processus.

Cette perception pessimiste des choses change-t-elle au cours des sessions?

Bien sûr Au fur et à mesure que le processus avance et que les changements se maintiennent au fil du temps, l'optimisme et la crédibilité du couple apparaissent. De nombreux couples, après avoir connu les résultats de la thérapie de couple, reconnaissent que s'ils l'avaient su, ils seraient venus plus tôt. La thérapie de couple fonctionne.

Quand la thérapie de couple ne semble pas aller de l'avant, quelles sont les causes possibles?

Lorsque l'un des membres n'a pas vraiment l'intention de se battre pour le couple parce qu'il ne l'aime plus, la thérapie de couple continue, mais uniquement pour un gain secondaire. Il se peut que l’un d’eux veuille sauver la relation, mais il est clair qu’il doit voir une implication réelle de l’autre dans la thérapie, sinon, elle est séparée.

Nous avons vu des cas dans lesquels l'un des deux qui veut continuer la relation mais pas parce qu'il aime son partenaire, mais parce que la rupture implique une série de pertes qu'il ne veut pas assumer et qu'il a recours à la thérapie de couple couple vous partez.

Par exemple, la peur de perdre leur pouvoir d'achat, de ne pas vouloir que leurs enfants vivent avec des parents séparés, etc. L'attitude de ces personnes empêche le développement réel de la thérapie de couple et il est très difficile d'avancer.

Dans quelles situations recommanderiez-vous une thérapie de couple? Comment savoir si le problème est suffisamment important pour passer à cette étape?

Nous recommandons d'y aller quand un problème apparaît qui cause de la souffrance au couple et qu'il ne peut pas résoudre seul. Parfois, si le couple arrive de bonne heure pour demander de l'aide, le problème est résolu en très peu de séances et le couple peut continuer heureux.

Si le problème n'a pas été résolu et qu'ils le laissent simplement partir, ce problème se posera plus tard dans le futur et aggravera la situation.

Que diriez-vous aux personnes qui commencent à se demander si leur relation est viable?

Les décisions importantes dans la vie sont prises à partir d'un état rationnel, du calme et de la sérénité. Si vous êtes dans une situation où vous êtes submergé émotionnellement, car les confrontations sont constantes chez votre partenaire, le ressentiment et la colère ne vous permettront pas de voir si la solution de séparation est la bonne.

À court terme, cela peut être un soulagement, mais à moyen ou à long terme, vous réaliserez peut-être qu'il existait d'autres options.


HYPNOSE : COUPER UNE RELATION TOXIQUE [DEPENDANCE AFFECTIVE] (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes