yes, therapy helps!
Crack (drug): its effects and consequences of consuming it

Crack (drug): its effects and consequences of consuming it

September 11, 2022

The world of drugs shows us every day that, in certain circumstances, the behavior of the human being can become as irrational as it is self-destructive. The fact of falling again and again in the consumption of an addictive substance that little by little is taking possession of one's life is an example of the extent to which a single habit is capable of stealing our freedom, without the need to be locked up.

Of course, not all drugs are equally addictive and destructive to the body itself. Normally, those consumed mostly by the lower classes are those that have more toxic and radical effects on the body. In this article, specifically, we will see how is the drug known as crack , one of the most common cocaine variants.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of psychostimulants (or psychoanalytics)"

Crack: "the cocaine of the poor"

The drug commonly known as crack is a variant of cocaine that is usually made by boiling together cocaine hydrochloride and sodium bicarbonate . When the water leaves in the form of vapor, the remainder of crystals that remains is this substance.

Normally, the crack is sold having stone appearance composed of tiny crystals, and you can easily create a powder from this material. In addition, although crack is associated with white, these crystals can be of virtually any color. Now, the degrees of purity of crack stones vary a lot, and It is usually mixed with very different substances , such as talc or amphetamines.


It is a drug for recreational use and, due to its commercialization outside the law, it can be sold totally adulterated and with potentially deadly elements with a single consumption.

Consumption mode

In deference to cocaine in stripes, Crack is consumed in an inhaled way, heating it and smoking it , usually with a pipe or similar object. The name of this drug comes from the cracking sound that occurs when it is heated.

  • Related article: "The 5 types of cocaine (and differences in addiction)"

The effects of this drug

Crack is one of the variants of cocaine with more powerful effects on the body. On the one hand, This substance reaches the brain faster than conventional cocaine . In fact, it comes into contact with the nerve cells of the brain in a matter of seconds, and in less than a minute the effects reach their maximum.


This peak or "rush" also lasts very little , so that in a time that goes from 5 to 15 minutes the person who has taken crack notes how the euphoria disappears and remains in a state of exhaustion and discomfort.

This is because, at the peak of the euphoric effects generated by crack, the brain is flooded by a large amount of dopamine , whereas when the effects of the drug disappear, the amount of this neurotransmitter collapses to levels lower than those before the consumption.

  • Related article: "Dopamine: 7 essential functions of this neurotransmitter"

Usual symptoms of its consumption

Among the most common effects of crack consumption are the feeling of euphoria, panic attacks, insomnia, hallucinations, persecutory delusions and paranoia. And, among the most serious effects, are seizures, psychotic outbreaks and cardiovascular accidents derived from the sudden increase in heart rate.

In practice, people who consume crack fulfill all the characteristics of drug addicts who act by limiting themselves to following all the steps that must be taken to return to consume as soon as possible. Among these behaviors are the attempts to steal money, the destructuring of schedules and problems to stay in the workplace, the deterioration of affective and social relationships , including those involving friends and family, etc.

Regarding cognitive and emotional symptoms, both mood swings and denial of the problem are frequent, since showing this "weak point" is seen as something that can make other people stop it from consuming crack again. brief moments of euphoria, who has consumed crack often shows joy and full confidence in their own abilities (often, to extremes of delirium), while when the effect is passed, depressive symptoms and insecurities appear, of course, the more time spent consuming Crack worse is the prognosis and the harder it will be to stay away from this drug.

The addictive potential of crack

As we have seen, crack has euphoric effects as immediate as fleeting. This, in practice, makes whoever uses it try get another dose of this drug a few minutes after having consumed , given that the changes in the organism occur very suddenly.

Currently it is believed that crack is one of the most addictive drugs because of the type of habits that are promoted by this immediacy of the effects , as for its chemical composition and the rapidity with which dependence can appear. In fact less than 3 drinks are able to generate a strong craving and malaise caused by the absence of this drug in blood.


Your Brain on Crack Cocaine (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Crack (drogue): ses effets et les conséquences de sa consommation

Crack (drogue): ses effets et les conséquences de sa consommation

Mai 25, 2022

Le monde de la drogue nous montre chaque jour que, dans certaines circonstances, le comportement de l’être humain peut devenir aussi irrationnel qu’il est autodestructeur. Le fait de tomber encore et encore dans la consommation d'une substance addictive qui s'empare peu à peu de la vie est un exemple de la mesure dans laquelle une habitude est capable de voler notre liberté, sans avoir besoin d'être enfermée.

Bien sûr, toutes les drogues ne créent pas une dépendance égale et détruisent le corps lui-même. Normalement, ceux qui sont principalement consommés par les classes inférieures sont ceux qui ont des effets plus toxiques et radicaux sur le corps. Dans cet article, spécifiquement, nous verrons comment le médicament est appelé crack , l'une des variantes de cocaïne les plus courantes.


  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Types de psychostimulants (ou psychanalytiques)"

Crack: "la cocaïne des pauvres"

La drogue communément appelée crack est une variante de la cocaïne est généralement fabriqué en faisant bouillir ensemble du chlorhydrate de cocaïne et du bicarbonate de sodium . Lorsque l'eau quitte sous forme de vapeur, le reste de cristaux qui reste est cette substance.

Normalement, la fissure est vendue avec une apparence de pierre composée de cristaux minuscules et vous pouvez facilement créer une poudre à partir de ce matériau. De plus, bien que la fissure soit associée au blanc, ces cristaux peuvent être de toutes les couleurs. Maintenant, les degrés de pureté des fissures varient beaucoup, et Il est généralement mélangé avec des substances très différentes tels que le talc ou les amphétamines.


C'est une drogue à usage récréatif et, du fait de sa commercialisation en dehors de la loi, elle peut être vendue totalement adultérée et avec des éléments potentiellement mortels avec une seule consommation.

Mode de consommation

Par respect pour la cocaïne à rayures, Le crack est consommé par inhalation, en le chauffant et en le fumant , généralement avec un tuyau ou un objet similaire. Le nom de ce médicament vient du craquement qui se produit lorsqu'il est chauffé.

  • Article connexe: "Les 5 types de cocaïne (et les différences de dépendance)"

Les effets de ce médicament

Le crack est l'une des variantes de la cocaïne avec des effets plus puissants sur le corps. D'un côté, Cette substance atteint le cerveau plus rapidement que la cocaïne conventionnelle . En fait, il entre en contact avec les cellules nerveuses du cerveau en quelques secondes et en moins d’une minute, les effets atteignent leur maximum.


Ce pic ou "rush" dure aussi très peu Ainsi, dans un laps de temps qui va de 5 à 15 minutes, la personne qui a pris le crack note comment l'euphorie disparaît et reste dans un état d'épuisement et d'inconfort.

En effet, au plus fort des effets euphoriques générés par le crack, le cerveau est inondé par une grande quantité de dopamine , alors que lorsque les effets du médicament disparaissent, la quantité de ce neurotransmetteur s’effondre à des niveaux inférieurs à ceux d’avant la consommation.

  • Article connexe: "Dopamine: 7 fonctions essentielles de ce neurotransmetteur"

Symptômes habituels de sa consommation

Les effets les plus courants de la consommation de crack sont les suivants: le sentiment d'euphorie, attaques de panique, insomnie, hallucinations, délires de persécution et paranoïa. Et, parmi les effets les plus graves, figurent les convulsions, les épidémies psychotiques et les accidents cardiovasculaires dérivés de l’augmentation soudaine de la fréquence cardiaque.

En pratique, les personnes qui consomment du crack remplissent toutes les caractéristiques des toxicomanes qui agissent en se limitant à suivre toutes les étapes qui doivent être suivies pour revenir pour consommer le plus rapidement possible. Parmi ces comportements figurent les tentatives de vol d’argent, la déstructuration des horaires et problèmes de rester sur le lieu de travail, la détérioration des relations affectives et sociales , y compris ceux impliquant des amis et la famille, etc.

En ce qui concerne les symptômes cognitifs et émotionnels, les sautes d'humeur et le déni du problème sont fréquents, car montrer ce "point faible" est perçu comme pouvant empêcher d'autres personnes de cesser de consommer du crack. de brefs moments d'euphorie, qui a consommé du crack fait souvent preuve de joie et de confiance en ses propres capacités (souvent jusqu'à un délire extrême); Plus le pronostic est sombre, plus il sera difficile d'éviter ce médicament.

Le potentiel addictif de crack

Comme nous l’avons vu, la fissure a des effets euphoriques aussi immédiats que fugaces. Ceci, dans la pratique, fait quiconque l'utilise essayer prenez une autre dose de ce médicament quelques minutes après avoir consommé , étant donné que les changements dans l'organisme se produisent très soudainement.

Actuellement, on pense que le crack est l’une des drogues les plus addictives en raison du type d’habitudes que sont promus par cette immédiateté des effets , quant à sa composition chimique et à la rapidité avec laquelle la dépendance peut apparaître. En fait, moins de trois boissons sont en mesure de générer une forte envie et un malaise causés par l’absence de ce médicament dans le sang.


"Crocodile" : dans l'enfer de la drogue en Russie (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes