yes, therapy helps!
Craving: causes and symptoms of the desire for substance use

Craving: causes and symptoms of the desire for substance use

August 6, 2022

The consumption of psychoactive substances If it is done more or less frequently, it ends up causing the body to generate tolerance to said substance. This means that in order to achieve the same effects as at the beginning, the administered dose must be gradually increased, or the consumption must be spaced out in order for the organism to become accustomed to working without it.

If the organism stops consuming or is maintained with doses that no longer take effect, some kind of withdrawal syndrome that causes a level of discomfort and variable suffering, appearing an intense desire to consume the substance in question. It's about craving .


  • Related article: "Types of drugs: know their characteristics and effects"

What is craving?

We understand how craving the feeling of urgent and urgent need to perform a certain activity, whose absence generates anxiety . In the case of drugs, it refers to the intense desire to obtain and consume the substance in question that generates it. This desire does not have to find a behavioral correlate, that is, it does not have to cause an action that leads to consumption.

This desire is given in subjects who have or have had dependence on a certain substance , forming an important part in the maintenance of the addictive process. It can be activated by the presence of stimuli previously associated with the consumption of the substance, by stressful events and even by the absence of sufficient stimulation.


The craving may appear even in individuals who have stopped using . Usually it can be present actively until two years later, although it is usually much more intense in the period between the month and the first year of the end of consumption. This without taking into account the existence of falls and relapses.

  • Related article: "Delirium tremens: a severe alcohol withdrawal syndrome"

Causes and contexts of appearance

The craving for drug use usually associated with the need caused by the abstinence of this , but that reason is only one of those that exist. Some of the main moments in which craving appears are the following.

1. Withdrawal syndrome

Abstinence to a substance to which the body and mind have become accustomed can be very hard.

If the withdrawal of consumption occurs abruptly Too fast or inadequate, it is common to see various symptoms of variable danger. Even if this is given in a patterned and correct way, the decrease in consumption or not increasing in order to feel the effects can cause discomfort, frustration, anxiety and even aggressiveness and under control to the subject. And even if the subject does not try to disengage, the progressive increase in the body's tolerance towards the drug provokes the need for ever-increasing consumption, generating discomfort when it is not achieved.


In all these circumstances it is frequent that craving appears, with the purpose of avoiding or diminishing the discomfort associated with non-consumption.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Addiction: disease or learning disorder?"

2. Conditioning stimulate

The use of drugs usually occurs in a specific context. Places, activities and even people are over time associated with the fact of consuming .

This causes that in the long term to come into contact with certain types of stimuli provokes an elicitation of the consumption response, appearing the craving before said stimuli, people or situations.

3. Pleasure seeking / displeasure avoidance

Many drug users begin to consume because it generates pleasant sensations or escape from problems concrete. Even if there is no physiological need as in the case of abstinence, a strong desire for consumption may appear in situations of life suffering, depression or simple boredom. Sometimes it also appears as a way to try to enhance a rewarding experience, as with sex or food.

Possible explanations of the craving for consumption

The causes of this phenomenon have been explored and studied by numerous authors and currents of thought. Some of the possible explanations offered are the following.

Neuropsychological explanation

At the neurobiological level, craving seems to be caused by the adaptation of the nervous system to the substance. The dependent subject who stops consuming keeps altered different brain mechanisms such as the brain reward system and the transmission of hormones such as dopamine, serotonin and endorphins .

When the consumption ceases or is not produced enough, the organism is altered by the absence of family elements. This causes an intense discomfort that is associated with the substance that is missing , with what appears the persistent desire to consume it. With the passage of time, if there is no consumption the brain returns to a normal state, so the need will not be so high.

  • Related article: "Types of hormones and their functions in the human body"

Explanation according to conditioning

Another explanation can be found in the conditioning.

On the one hand we can observe typical components of classical conditioning, which in this case would cause a link between consumption and environmental elements, so that the presence of these elements will evoke consumption. Thus, a desire for repeat the experience before the stimulation linked to it .

On the other, from operant conditioning, it can be established that the positive consequences of consumption and its persistent experimentation act as a reinforcement to one's own consumption while generating the expectation of continuously obtaining the same reward and in the same intensity. In the absence of it, the response to repeat the consumption is generated in order to achieve the same effects.

The cognitive perspective of craving

A more cognitive vision refers to the craving is mediated by the expectations and beliefs of self-efficacy of the person , being a main element to explain the processing of information.

One of the most popular cognitive-behavioral models in the explanation of craving is the model of double affection , which points out that craving comes from a part of the aversive emotional state that causes the withdrawal syndrome or unpleasant events and from the positive emotional state generated by the consumption of the substance. The events and stimuli of the environment generate the activation of the network of responses and cognitions that are linked to the appetitive effects of the drug and the aversives of its absence.

Another possible explanation is found in the cognitive processing model , which stipulates that in drug addicts the habit of consuming has been automated, requiring no effort to be consumed. From this perspective, craving is a non-automatic process caused by the effort not to consume.

Craving in the treatment of addictions

Treat dependence to a substance it is a difficult and prolonged process over time , in which very diverse factors can influence such as the type of treatment applied, the experiences of the individual during the period of time in which it is carried out or the perceived social support.

In this process, abstinence will cause deep suffering in the person under treatment , suffering that will generate in a very powerful way the desire or desire to consume again: the craving.

Craving is one of the main causes of fall (consume once but without necessarily reinstating the habit) and relapse (which recovers the habit of consumption), which must be especially taken into account when establishing treatment programs. It is because of that It is essential to develop relapse prevention programs during any treatment.

In order to prevent it, it is necessary in the first place inform and educate the patient in that the desire for consumption in normal and that the fact that craving appears does not mean that consumption will occur.

It is also useful to take into account the type of stimuli that facilitate consumption or provoke the desire to do so, in order to avoid them or learn to face them in an adaptive manner without resorting to consumption. Strengthen and empower the patient , as well as restoring his sense of control and giving him tools and strategies that help him manage stress and resist desire, is another useful strategy to apply.

Bibliographic references:

  • Iraurgi, J. and Corcuera, N. (2008). Craving: concept, measurement and therapy. North of Mental Health, 32; 9-22. Basque Country.
  • River, P. (1987). The motivation of drug use: a psichobiological analysis of urges. The Nebraska Symposium on Motivation: alcohol use and abuse. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press.
  • Sánchez, E .; Molina, N .; from El Olmo, R .; Tomás V. and Morales, E. (2001). Craving and drug addiction. Addictive disorders, vol. 3; 4; 237-243.
  • Tiffany, S. (1990). A cognitive model of drug urges and drug abuse behavior: role of automatic and non automatic processes. Psychol Rev, 84, 127-90.

The Neuroscience of Addiction - with Marc Lewis (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Craving: causes et symptômes du désir de consommer de la drogue

Craving: causes et symptômes du désir de consommer de la drogue

Mai 25, 2022

La consommation de substances psychoactives Si cela est fait plus ou moins fréquemment, le corps finira par générer une tolérance à ladite substance. Cela signifie que pour obtenir les mêmes effets qu'au début, la dose administrée doit être augmentée progressivement ou la consommation doit être espacée afin que l'organisme s'habitue à travailler sans elle.

Si l'organisme cesse de consommer ou est maintenu avec des doses qui n'agissent plus, il s'agit d'un syndrome de sevrage qui provoque un niveau d'inconfort et une souffrance variable, apparaissant un désir intense de consommer la substance en question. Il s'agit de soif .


  • Article connexe: "Types de drogues: connaître leurs caractéristiques et leurs effets"

Quel est le désir?

Nous comprenons à quel point le besoin de besoin urgent et urgent d'accomplir une certaine activité, dont l'absence génère de l'anxiété . Dans le cas des drogues, il s'agit du désir intense d'obtenir et de consommer la substance en question qui la génère. Ce désir ne doit pas nécessairement trouver un corrélat comportemental, c’est-à-dire qu’il ne doit pas provoquer une action menant à la consommation.

Ce désir est donné dans sujets qui ont ou ont eu une dépendance à une certaine substance , jouant un rôle important dans le maintien du processus de dépendance. Il peut être activé par la présence de stimuli associés à la consommation de la substance, par des événements stressants et même par l’absence de stimulation suffisante.


L'envie peut apparaître même chez les individus qui ont cessé d'utiliser . Habituellement, il peut être présent jusqu'à deux ans plus tard, bien qu'il soit généralement beaucoup plus intense entre le mois et la première année de la fin de la consommation. Ceci sans prendre en compte l'existence de chutes et de rechutes.

  • Article connexe: "Delirium tremens: un syndrome de sevrage alcoolique sévère"

Causes et contextes d'apparence

L'envie de consommer de la drogue généralement associée au besoin causé par l'abstinence de cette , mais cette raison n’est que l’une de celles qui existent. Certains des principaux moments d'apparition de l'envie sont les suivants.

1. syndrome de sevrage

L'abstinence à une substance à laquelle le corps et l'esprit se sont habitués peut être très difficile.

Si le retrait de la consommation se produit brusquement Trop rapide ou inadéquat, il est courant de voir divers symptômes de danger variable. Même si cela est donné de manière correcte et structurée, la diminution de la consommation ou l’augmentation de la fréquence pour en ressentir les effets peut entraîner gêne, frustration, anxiété et même agressivité et contrôle du sujet. Et même si le sujet ne cherche pas à se dégager, l’augmentation progressive de la tolérance de l’organisme à l’égard du médicament provoque le besoin d’une consommation toujours croissante, générant un inconfort lorsque celui-ci n’est pas atteint.


Dans toutes ces circonstances, il est fréquent que l’état de manque apparaisse, dans le but d’éviter ou de réduire le malaise associé à la non-consommation.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Dépendance: maladie ou trouble d'apprentissage?"

2. Stimuler le conditionnement

L'usage de drogues se produit généralement dans un contexte spécifique. Au fil du temps, les lieux, les activités et même les gens sont associés au fait de consommer .

Cela a pour conséquence que, à long terme, entrer en contact avec certains types de stimuli provoque une élicitation de la réponse de la consommation, apparaissant comme un état de manque avant lesdits stimuli, personnes ou situations.

3. Recherche de plaisir / évitement de déplaisir

De nombreux usagers de drogues commencent à consommer parce qu'il génère des sensations agréables ou échappe aux problèmes béton Même s'il n'y a pas de besoin physiologique comme dans le cas de l'abstinence, un fort désir de consommation peut apparaître dans des situations de souffrance, de dépression ou de simple ennui. Parfois, cela apparaît aussi comme un moyen d’essayer d’améliorer une expérience enrichissante, comme le sexe ou la nourriture.

Explications possibles du besoin de consommation

Les causes de ce phénomène ont été explorées et étudiées par de nombreux auteurs et courants de pensée. Certaines des explications possibles offertes sont les suivantes.

Explication neuropsychologique

Au niveau neurobiologique, le besoin impérieux semble être causé par l’adaptation du système nerveux à la substance. Le sujet dépendant qui cesse de consommer conserve différents mécanismes cérébraux modifiés, tels que le système de récompense du cerveau et la transmission d'hormones telles que la dopamine, la sérotonine et les endorphines .

Lorsque la consommation cesse ou n'est pas suffisamment produite, l'organisme est altéré par l'absence d'éléments familiaux. Cela provoque un inconfort intense associé à la substance manquante. , avec ce qui apparaît le désir persistant de le consommer. Avec le passage du temps, s'il n'y a pas de consommation, le cerveau revient à un état normal, le besoin ne sera donc pas si élevé.

  • Article connexe: "Types d'hormones et leurs fonctions dans le corps humain"

Explication selon le conditionnement

Une autre explication peut être trouvée dans le conditionnement.

D'une part, nous pouvons observer des composants typiques du conditionnement classique qui, dans ce cas, créeraient un lien entre la consommation et les éléments environnementaux, de sorte que la présence de ces éléments évoquera la consommation. Ainsi, un désir de répéter l'expérience avant la stimulation qui y est liée .

D'autre part, du conditionnement opérant, il peut être établi que les conséquences positives de la consommation et son expérimentation persistante renforcent sa propre consommation tout en générant l'espoir d'obtenir continuellement la même récompense et avec la même intensité. En l'absence de cela, la réponse à répéter la consommation est générée afin d'obtenir les mêmes effets.

La perspective cognitive du désir

Une vision plus cognitive se réfère à l'état de manque est médiée par les attentes et les croyances relatives à l'efficacité personnelle de la personne , étant un élément essentiel pour expliquer le traitement de l'information.

L'un des modèles cognitivo-comportementaux les plus populaires dans l'explication de l'état de manque est le modèle de double affection , qui indique que l'état de manque provient d'une partie de l'état émotionnel aversif qui cause le syndrome de sevrage ou des événements désagréables et de l'état émotionnel positif généré par la consommation de la substance. Les événements et les stimuli de l’environnement génèrent l’activation du réseau de réponses et de cognitions liées aux effets de la drogue sur l’appétit et aux aversifs de son absence.

Une autre explication possible se trouve dans le modèle de traitement cognitif , qui stipule que chez les toxicomanes, l’habitude de consommer a été automatisée, ne nécessitant aucun effort pour être consommé. De ce point de vue, le besoin impérieux est un processus non automatique causé par l’effort de ne pas consommer.

Craving dans le traitement des dépendances

Traiter la dépendance à une substance c'est un processus difficile et prolongé dans le temps , dans lesquels des facteurs très divers peuvent influencer, tels que le type de traitement appliqué, les expériences de l’individu pendant la période de son exécution ou le soutien social perçu.

Dans ce processus, l'abstinence causera une profonde souffrance chez la personne sous traitement , une souffrance qui générera de manière très puissante le désir ou le désir de consommer à nouveau: le désir.

L’état de manque est l’une des principales causes de chute (consommer une fois mais sans nécessairement rétablir l’habitude) et de rechute (qui recouvre l’habitude de consommer), ce qui doit être particulièrement pris en compte lors de l'établissement des programmes de traitement. C'est pourquoi Il est essentiel de développer des programmes de prévention des rechutes pendant n'importe quel traitement.

Afin de l'éviter, il est nécessaire en premier lieu informer et éduquer le patient en ce que le désir de consommer en temps normal et le fait que l'état de manque apparaisse ne signifie pas que la consommation se produira.

Il est également utile de prendre en compte le type de stimuli qui facilite la consommation ou provoque le désir de le faire, afin de les éviter ou d'apprendre à y faire face de manière adaptative sans recourir à la consommation. Renforcer et responsabiliser le patient , en plus de restaurer son sens du contrôle et de lui donner des outils et des stratégies qui l’aident à gérer le stress et à résister au désir, est une autre stratégie utile à appliquer.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Iraurgi, J. et Corcuera, N. (2008). Craving: concept, mesure et thérapie. Au nord de la santé mentale, 32; 9-22. Pays Basque.
  • River, P. (1987). La motivation de la consommation de drogues: une analyse psichobiologique des pulsions. Symposium du Nebraska sur la motivation: consommation et abus d’alcool. Lincoln: Presses de l'Université du Nebraska.
  • Sánchez, E.; Molina, N .; de El Olmo, R .; Tomás V. et Morales, E. (2001). Craving et toxicomanie. Troubles de dépendance, vol. 3; 4; 237-243.
  • Tiffany, S. (1990). Un modèle cognitif des besoins en drogues et du comportement d'abus de drogues: rôle des processus automatiques et non automatiques. Psychol Rev, 84, 127-90.

Quelle prise en charge pour lutter contre les addictions (drogue, alcool...) ? (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes