yes, therapy helps!
Criminal psychology: how is a serial killer?

Criminal psychology: how is a serial killer?

June 21, 2024

Psychology of the serial killer, criminal psychology

Perhaps because of the alarm it generates, because of its harshness or the intellectual challenge that its study demands, the serial murders have been since the appearance of Forensic Psychiatry one of the main foundations of the study of the criminal. Until now, it has not been possible to establish definitively which is the psycho-clinical profile that delimits the murderer in series of a normal citizen.

It is known that the psychological background of the profile of a serial killer is that of a child humiliated, abused and violated. In half of the cases he has suffered paternal absence and considers his mother as a danger that must be protected.


Research

Even so, in a recent discovery presented in the New England Journal of Medicine the anatomical differences between serial killers and ordinary people are confirmed. In the serial killer we can see a larger frontal lobe and therefore more functional, characteristic that gives them greater aggression and less empathy than the average .

The behavior, the strategy, the working memory and the planning capacity reside in the frontal lobe. It could be said that it is the most "human" part of our brain. Its hypertrophy indicates a high aggressiveness and, in turn, an increase in the ability to strategy as well as a low capacity for empathy that can lead to some risk of sadism.


The neurochemistry of the serial killer

According to Dr. Reid Meloy, another differential characteristic between serial killers and the rest of the population is an abnormally high level of manganese, iron and copper, such that has a direct impact on the decrease of dopamine and serotonin , which are relaxing substances that lower testosterone levels (a hormone that causes not only excessive aggression but also the need for mastery), in such a way that the individual suffers a behavioral alteration that overrides the criminal act in a desperate attempt to impose its superiority to their peers.

Unfortunately, even with the advance of this discovery, which allows us to get a little closer to the mind of the referential serial killer, these clinical findings do not yet allow us to predict or prevent the sadistic drive of these subjects.


It is necessary decipher the exact combination of factors that leads to this criminal behavior . Does science have an answer to this challenge? Without a doubt, possibly in a few years the answer will be found.

Discovering the life and minds of some serial killers

For detailed analyzes of the criminal psychology of some famous killers, we recommend the following monographs:

Ed Gein, 'the butcher of Plainfeld'

Jack the Ripper'


Psychology of Serial Killers with Jim Clemente (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Psychologie criminelle: comment se porte un tueur en série?

Psychologie criminelle: comment se porte un tueur en série?

Janvier 25, 2023

Psychologie du tueur en série, psychologie criminelle

Peut-être à cause de l'alarme qu'il suscite, de sa dureté ou du défi intellectuel que son étude réclame, les meurtres en série sont, depuis l'apparition de la psychiatrie légale, l'un des principaux fondements de l'étude du criminel. Jusqu'à présent, il n'a pas été possible d'établir de manière définitive quelle est la profil psycho-clinique qui délimite le meurtrier en série d'un citoyen normal.

On sait que le profil psychologique d’un tueur en série est celui d’un enfant humilié, maltraité et violé. Dans la moitié des cas, il a subi une absence paternelle et considère sa mère comme un danger à protéger.


Enquêtes

Néanmoins, dans une récente découverte présentée dans le New England Journal of Medicine les différences anatomiques entre les tueurs en série et les gens ordinaires sont confirmées. Dans le tueur en série, nous pouvons voir un lobe frontal plus large et donc plus fonctionnel, caractéristique qui leur donne une plus grande agressivité et moins d'empathie que la moyenne .

Le comportement, la stratégie, la mémoire de travail et la capacité de planification résident dans le lobe frontal. On pourrait dire que c'est la partie la plus "humaine" de notre cerveau. Son hypertrophie dénote une forte agressivité et, partant, une plus grande capacité de stratégie ainsi qu'une faible capacité d'empathie pouvant entraîner un risque de sadisme.


La neurochimie du tueur en série

Selon le Dr. Reid Meloy, une autre caractéristique différente entre les tueurs en série et le reste de la population est une teneur anormalement élevée en manganèse, en fer et en cuivre, telle que a un impact direct sur la diminution de la dopamine et de la sérotonine , qui sont des substances relaxantes qui abaissent le taux de testostérone (une hormone qui provoque non seulement une agression excessive, mais également un besoin de maîtrise), de telle sorte supériorité à leurs pairs.

Malheureusement, même avec l’avancée de cette découverte qui nous permet de nous rapprocher un peu de l’esprit du tueur en série référentiel, ces découvertes cliniques ne nous permettent pas encore de prédire ou d’empêcher la pulsion sadique de ces sujets.


C'est précis déchiffrer la combinaison exacte de facteurs qui conduit à ce comportement criminel . La science a-t-elle une réponse à ce défi? Sans aucun doute, la réponse sera peut-être trouvée dans quelques années.

Découvrir la vie et l'esprit de certains tueurs en série

Pour des analyses détaillées de la psychologie criminelle de certains assassins célèbres, nous recommandons les monographies suivantes:

Ed Gein, 'le boucher de Plainfeld'

Jack l'éventreur'


6 Énigmes Célèbres Pour Réveiller Ton Cerveau (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes