yes, therapy helps!
Criminology: the science that studies crimes and crimes

Criminology: the science that studies crimes and crimes

June 24, 2024

With the growing popularity of the dramatic series that involve solving crimes, pursuing criminals or trying to get into their minds to take them one step further, we believe we are familiar with the term criminology, adjudging that it is a science whose sole purpose is to solve the crime perpetrated.

And while criminal investigation is one of its functions, It should be noted that criminology is not limited exclusively to this field but has a wide possibility of being used and applied for the benefit of society .

What is criminology?

It was Rafaelle Garofalo, an Italian jurist, who coined the term for the first time criminology whose etymological meaning derives from Latin criminis (crime / crime) and the Greek logos (treaty or study) so that its purest definition is "study of crime". But to attribute this definition to the criminological task would be too vague.


Criminology is an inter and multidisciplinary science whose purpose is the study, analysis, intervention, prevention and prophylaxis of both crime, criminality and criminality . Therefore, the object of study of criminology would be antisocial behavior, those behaviors that deviate from what is normally accepted by society and even threaten the integrity of society, based on the premise that man is a biopsychosocial being and , therefore, crime as human behavior must be explained as a phenomenon that covers biological, psychological and sociological aspects.

Applications, and functions of criminology

Although it is true that criminology can be applied to processes of criminal investigation and assistance to the justice system such as the preparation of expert reports, survey, packaging and study of evidence, the issuance of opinions, criminal profiling, social readaptation, prison treatment among others, It is important to clarify that these tasks correspond only to the work of the criminologist in the public sphere.


On the other hand, since crime is a social, global and complex phenomenon, the private sector demands its work . Companies such as banks and insurers solicit experts in criminology to investigate suspicious banking movements to identify if some suspicious transactions are being obtained or used for illicit purposes such as financing terrorism or money laundering; they also demand the criminologist to analyze the risks to which an asset to be insured is exposed, investigate a claim that is insured, verify and analyze documents and signatures, and even when recruiting personnel.

Demand and labor field of the criminologist

In this present in which, unfortunately, It seems that criminality is increasing, the demand for criminologists has been increasing , especially in countries where organized crime has gained ground such as Mexico, Colombia, Chile, etc.


Private companies are also requesting criminology experts to prevent crimes or accidents that put their assets and their clients at risk. The work that the criminologist of the 21st century can carry out is extensive and it has become clear not only to engage in forensic investigation.

Procurator's offices and justice departments, research agencies, social reintegration centers, public ministries, banks, insurers, law firms, securities transfer companies, or private consultancy, etc. are some examples where the job opportunity is presented to the criminologist.


Criminology Week 1: What is Criminology? What is Crime? Who Decides? (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Criminologie: la science qui étudie les crimes et les crimes

Criminologie: la science qui étudie les crimes et les crimes

Septembre 18, 2019

Compte tenu de la popularité croissante des séries dramatiques qui traitent de la résolution de crimes, de la poursuite de criminels ou de la tentative d'aller dans leur esprit pour les pousser plus loin, nous pensons que nous connaissons bien le terme. criminologie, jugeant que c’est une science dont le seul but est de résoudre le crime commis.

Et tandis que l'enquête criminelle est l'une de ses fonctions, Il convient de noter que la criminologie ne se limite pas exclusivement à ce domaine, mais a de nombreuses possibilités d'être utilisée et appliquée au profit de la société. .

Qu'est ce que la criminologie?

C’est Rafaelle Garofalo, une juriste italienne, qui a inventé le terme pour la première fois. criminologie dont le sens étymologique dérive du latin criminis (crime / crime) et le grec logos (traité ou étude) de sorte que sa définition la plus pure soit "étude du crime". Mais attribuer cette définition à la tâche criminologique serait trop vague.


La criminologie est une science interdisciplinaire et multidisciplinaire dont le but est l'étude, l'analyse, l'intervention, la prévention et la prophylaxie de la criminalité, de la criminalité et de la criminalité . Par conséquent, l'objet de l'étude en criminologie serait le comportement antisocial, ces comportements qui s'écartent de ce qui est normalement accepté par la société et menacent même son intégrité, en partant du principe que l'homme est un être biopsychosocial et Par conséquent, le crime en tant que comportement humain doit être expliqué comme un phénomène couvrant les aspects biologiques, psychologiques et sociologiques.

Applications et fonctions de la criminologie

Il est vrai que la criminologie peut s’appliquer aux procédures d’enquête criminelle et à l’assistance au système de justice, telles que la préparation de rapports d’experts, l’enquête, la constitution et l’étude de preuves, la délivrance d’opinions, le profilage criminel, la réadaptation sociale le traitement en prison parmi d'autres, Il est important de préciser que ces tâches correspondent uniquement au travail du criminologue dans la sphère publique.


D'autre part, la criminalité étant un phénomène social, global et complexe, le secteur privé exige son travail . Des entreprises telles que des banques et des assureurs font appel à des experts en criminologie pour enquêter sur des mouvements bancaires suspects afin de déterminer si certaines transactions suspectes sont obtenues ou utilisées à des fins illicites telles que le financement du terrorisme ou le blanchiment d’argent; ils demandent également au criminologue d’analyser les risques auxquels un bien à assurer est exposé, d’enquêter sur une réclamation assurée, de vérifier et d’analyser les documents et les signatures, et même lors du recrutement de personnel.

Demande et terrain de travail du criminologue

Dans ce présent dans lequel, malheureusement, Il semble que la criminalité augmente, la demande de criminologues augmente , en particulier dans les pays où le crime organisé a gagné du terrain, tels que le Mexique, la Colombie, le Chili, etc.


Les entreprises privées demandent également à des experts en criminologie de prévenir les crimes ou les accidents mettant en danger leurs avoirs et leurs clients. Le travail du criminologue du XXIe siècle est considérable et il est devenu évident non seulement de mener une enquête médico-légale.

Parquets et services de la justice, agences de recherche, centres de réinsertion sociale, ministères, banques, assureurs, cabinets d'avocats, sociétés de transfert de titres ou sociétés de conseil privées, etc. Voici quelques exemples de possibilités d'emploi présentées au criminologue.


Découvrir le métier de criminologue en 4 min (Septembre 2019).


Articles Connexes