yes, therapy helps!
Critical Incident Interview (EIB): what it is and how to use it

Critical Incident Interview (EIB): what it is and how to use it

May 28, 2022

We live in a highly competitive world. We can see this fact in many aspects of life, one of them being the workplace. For each job offered we can find hundreds of people wishing to be selected, being necessary for employers to assess the suitability of each candidate to select those most capable of performing the roles of the position.

In this sense, there is the personal competence of each one, which can be assessed through methods such as the Critical Incident Interview, or Behavioral Event Interview .

The Critical Incident Interview

The Critical Incident Interview, also known by the acronym BEI by Behavioral Event Interview, is an interview technique devised by John C. Flanagan in 1954, which has been modified over time and is mainly used to achieve the goal. get an idea of ​​the real skills of people .


It is defined as the set of processes used for the collection of observations of human behavior to facilitate the analysis of the utility of the individual's behavior and your mental capacity in solving practical problems .

This procedure can be used either in the form of a questionnaire that the subject can answer or directly during an interview, counting in the second case with the advantage of being able to directly observe the behavior and non-verbal language.

The form of interview used frequently was developed and popularized by Mc.Clelland , based on the assumption that the best predictor of a person's future performance in a specific task is the one he had in the past with similar tasks.


Its main use is in the selection of personnel , at the time of assessing the suitability of a candidate for a position, but techniques based on this type of interview in training, preparation and distribution of tasks in different areas can also be used.

  • Related article: "Psychology of work and organizations: a profession with a future"

What is valued?

It is about assessing the level of performance of the candidate through a highly structured interview , through which the consistency of the displayed competences is valued.

The interviewer will ask the candidate to explain how he confronted a particular event in the past, this event being a real situation that has lived the candidate who has some kind of relationship with the position to which it applies. Not only the facts are valued (although the most important and fundamental thing is what the subject did), but that it is also requested that the thoughts and emotions be elicited that they awoke in the candidate. An explanation is requested, not an evaluation of what happened


It is important to make clear that what is valued are the facts, thoughts and attitudes that he or she showed, in the first person, not the performance of the company or company to which he belonged.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The different types of interviews and their characteristics"

Objectives of the interview

Although the main objective of the interview of critical incidents is the obtaining of information regarding the past competence of the subjects in order to predict your future performance , said obtaining of information can be carried out for different purposes.

In the first place, as already indicated above, one of the purposes for which this type of interview is usually used is the realization of personnel selection processes. Based on the previous behavior and the lessons learned from it, it is possible to assess the existence of specific competences that may be useful (or, on the contrary, not very recommendable) to exercise the position in question.

Once inside the company, it can also be used to evaluate the performance of workers, in order to assess their capabilities and even assess the need for some type of training or training with workers.

Another possible application can be given in the world of marketing and market research, in order to assess the needs of the population based on the skills and experiences they manifest. For example, it can be used to identify the need for a specific service or product.

Aspects assessed

Throughout the process the interviewee will be asked to answer a series of questions. Although to take into account the situations that are going to be reported and from which competences are going to be inferred, open questions are generally used, closed and very specific questions can occasionally be used as an introduction to these aspects.

Some of the basic questions focus on visualizing a specific experience and asks how it happened, how that situation was arrived at, what the subject's role was or what final result it produced.

The aspects to assess in each interview will depend on the type of position offered and the roles and capacities required in it. However, there are a number of aspects that are usually valued in most interviews of this type. Below we present a few aspects and the type of questions that are usually used.

  • Maybe you're interested: "10 keys to detect and retain talent in your company"

1. Sense of achievement

Those things that we are proud of they say a lot about our personality and our way of thinking . In addition, knowing how they have been achieved can be very valuable when predicting the direction that future decisions will take the individual. For example, a typical question could be. "Explain to me a situation or a result that you feel satisfied with and how you got there."

2. Group work

Group work is one of the fundamental pillars of most organizations and companies . Being able to organize, work with competent professionals in the same or other matters, accept other opinions and / or negotiate are essential elements today when offering a good service and maintaining high performance in a company. An example of questions of this type could be: "Do you like to work in a group? Tell me about a situation where you think collaboration with others has benefited you. "

3. Autonomy

Although this element seems to contradict the previous point, the truth is that although group work is essential, it is also necessary to be able to act without needing a continuous guide, especially when events occur that are beyond the forecasts. This does not mean that you do not consult others or that you do not report what you do, but rather not depend solely on external criteria to act . An example of a question: "Tell me what you did at a time when you had to act quickly in the face of an unforeseen event".

4. Influence

The ability to influence others, persuade them and / or make them see perspectives different from their own It is usually an element highly valued by various companies and companies that offer goods or services. An example of a typical question might be: "Describe me the last time you tried to convince someone of something".

5. Flexibility and adaptation to change

We live in a dynamic world in which things change constantly. Be able to adapt and open ourselves to new possibilities It is very helpful in most jobs. They could ask us something like: "What is the last thing you have had to adapt in your last job and how did you live it?".

6. Creativity and proactivity

The capacity of contribute something to the company It is usually an added value that companies value positively. Some typical questions would be: Are you considered an innovator? Tell me one time when you have caused an improvement in your job. "

Structure of the interview: Phases

The interview of critical incidents is a highly structured interview that follows a script prefixed by the company that performs, generally independent of the individual's response (although depending on the answer, questions could be added to deepen one of the aspects).

We can usually see that the Critical Incident Interview It is divided into three phases; welcome, development and closing .

1. Home

The first moment of the interview as such. The candidate is welcomed, an explanation of what is going to happen throughout the interview is offered, the approximate time that will last and it is assured that the content of said interview will be confidential. Also, the interviewer must try to make sure that you have no doubts about the procedure , leaving to express any initial doubt that the candidate may have.

2. Development

In this second phase, the data of the file and curriculum are analyzed first with the interviewee in order to have a better idea of ​​the areas and aspects with which he is accustomed to deal with.

After this brief data check the interviewer proceeds to perform different types of open questions Regarding situations that the interviewee has spent throughout his life, focusing on the description of the facts, thoughts and emotions he had at the time. It should be made clear that a specific and not generic response is sought, and they do not value the reflections that the subject makes about it since what is to be evaluated is only the competence.

3. Closure

In the closing phase it is intended to recapitulate and make sure that you have all the necessary information, to finish providing information about the position, that the candidate can ask for those elements about which he has doubts , and indicate how the contact will be maintained in order to communicate the decision.

Advantages and disadvantages

The interview of critical incidents has multiple advantages over other types of evaluation , but also a series of drawbacks.

As a main advantage we can establish that it allows us to make a more or less clear idea of ​​the ways of acting that the subject has had and the type of competences that it has, with which it allows predicting future performance with greater accuracy than a classic interview. In addition to it we work from situations that the subject has had in real life , not forcing him to imagine a strange situation. It is an economical and easily understandable methodology for both the interviewee and the interviewer.

However, as disadvantages, it should be mentioned that specific events may not be fully remembered by the subject , besides that this can falsify them. In addition, the fact that the situation is chosen by the interviewee means that there may be a certain lack of control in this regard and that moments are selected that are not fully representative of what is intended to be evaluated. Finally, personal experiences can be difficult for some people to count on, assuming for them an invasion of their privacy that can limit the answers given.


Breaking News:Eye Witness Reveals Ev.il Secret BEHIND the Dro.wned Pastor (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Entrevue d'incident critique (BEI): qu'est-ce que c'est et comment l'utiliser

Entrevue d'incident critique (BEI): qu'est-ce que c'est et comment l'utiliser

Juin 25, 2019

Nous vivons dans un monde hautement concurrentiel. Nous pouvons constater ce fait dans de nombreux aspects de la vie, l’un d’eux étant le lieu de travail. Pour chaque poste proposé, nous pouvons trouver des centaines de personnes souhaitant être sélectionnées. Il est donc nécessaire pour les employeurs d'évaluer l'aptitude de chaque candidat à sélectionner les personnes les plus aptes à assumer les rôles du poste.

Dans ce sens, il y a la compétence personnelle de chacun, qui peut être évaluée à travers des méthodes telles que l'entrevue d'incident critique ou l'entrevue d'événement comportemental .

L'entrevue d'incident critique

L'entretien critique d'incident, également connu sous l'acronyme BEI par Behavioral Event Interview, est une technique d'entretien conçue par John C. Flanagan en 1954, qui a été modifiée au fil du temps et principalement utilisée pour atteindre l'objectif. avoir une idée des compétences réelles des gens .


Il est défini comme l'ensemble des processus utilisés pour la collecte d'observations du comportement humain afin de faciliter l'analyse de l'utilité du comportement de l'individu et votre capacité mentale à résoudre des problèmes pratiques .

Cette procédure peut être utilisée soit sous forme de questionnaire auquel le sujet peut répondre, soit directement lors d'un entretien, en comptant dans le deuxième cas avec l'avantage de pouvoir observer directement le comportement et le langage non verbal.

La forme d'interview utilisée fréquemment a été développé et popularisé par Mc.Clelland , en partant de l’hypothèse que le meilleur prédicteur de la performance future d’une personne dans une tâche donnée est celui qu’il avait auparavant dans le passé avec des tâches similaires.


Son utilisation principale est dans la sélection du personnel , au moment de l’évaluation de l’aptitude d’un candidat à un poste, mais des techniques basées sur ce type d’entretien pour la formation, la préparation et la répartition de tâches dans différents domaines peuvent également être utilisées.

  • Article connexe: "Psychologie du travail et des organisations: un métier d'avenir"

Qu'est-ce qui est valorisé?

Il s'agit d'évaluer le niveau de performance du candidat à travers un entretien très structuré , grâce auquel la cohérence des compétences affichées est valorisée.

L'intervieweur demandera au candidat d'expliquer comment il a affronté un événement particulier dans le passé, cet événement étant une situation réelle vécue par le candidat qui entretient une relation quelconque avec le poste auquel il s'applique. Non seulement les faits sont valorisés (bien que la chose la plus importante et fondamentale soit ce que le sujet a fait), mais cela il est également demandé que les pensées et les émotions soient suscitées qu'ils se sont réveillés dans le candidat. Une explication est demandée, pas une évaluation de ce qui s'est passé


Il est important de préciser que ce qui est apprécié, ce sont les faits, les pensées et les attitudes qu’il ou elle a montrés à la première personne, et non la performance de la société ou de la société à laquelle il appartenait.

  • Peut-être que vous êtes intéressé: "Les différents types d'entretiens et leurs caractéristiques"

Objectifs de l'entretien

Bien que l’objectif principal de l’interview d’incidents critiques soit d’obtenir des informations sur la compétence passée des sujets afin de prédire votre performance future , l'obtention d'informations peut être réalisée à des fins différentes.

Comme nous l’avons déjà indiqué plus haut, l’un des objectifs pour lesquels ce type d’entretien est généralement utilisé est la mise en place de processus de sélection du personnel. Sur la base du comportement précédent et des enseignements qui en ont été tirés, il est possible d’évaluer l’existence de compétences spécifiques pouvant être utiles (ou au contraire très peu recommandables) pour exercer le poste en question.

Une fois dans l'entreprise, il peut également être utilisé pour évaluer les performances des travailleurs, afin d'évaluer leurs capacités et même évaluer le besoin d'une formation ou formation avec des travailleurs.

Une autre application possible peut être donnée dans le monde du marketing et des études de marché, afin d’évaluer les besoins de la population en fonction des compétences et des expériences qu’ils manifestent. Par exemple, il peut être utilisé pour identifier le besoin d’un service ou d’un produit spécifique.

Aspects évalués

Tout au long du processus, il sera demandé à la personne interrogée de répondre à une série de questions. Bien que pour prendre en compte les situations qui vont être rapportées et à partir desquelles des compétences vont être déduites, des questions ouvertes sont généralement utilisées, des questions fermées et des questions très spécifiques pouvant occasionnellement être utilisées pour introduire ces aspects.

Certaines des questions de base se concentrent sur la visualisation d'une expérience spécifique et demande comment cela s'est passé, comment s'est produite cette situation, quel était le rôle du sujet ou quel résultat final elle a produit.

Les aspects à évaluer lors de chaque entretien dépendront du type de poste proposé et des rôles et capacités nécessaires. Cependant, un certain nombre d'aspects sont généralement valorisés dans la plupart des entretiens de ce type. Nous présentons ci-dessous quelques aspects et le type de questions habituellement utilisées.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "10 clés pour détecter et fidéliser les talents dans votre entreprise"

1. Sentiment d'accomplissement

Ces choses dont nous sommes fiers ils en disent long sur notre personnalité et notre façon de penser . En outre, il peut être très utile de savoir comment ils ont été atteints pour prédire la direction que les décisions futures prendront. Par exemple, une question typique pourrait être. "Expliquez-moi une situation ou un résultat qui vous satisfait et comment vous y êtes arrivé."

2. Travail en groupe

Le travail de groupe est l'un des piliers fondamentaux de la plupart des organisations et des entreprises . Pouvoir s'organiser, travailler avec des professionnels compétents dans le même domaine ou dans d'autres domaines, accepter d'autres opinions et / ou négocier sont aujourd'hui des éléments essentiels pour offrir un bon service et maintenir une performance élevée dans une entreprise. Un exemple de question de ce type pourrait être: "Aimez-vous travailler en groupe? Parlez-moi d'une situation où vous pensez que la collaboration avec d'autres vous a été bénéfique. "

3. Autonomie

Bien que cet élément semble contredire le point précédent, la vérité est que, même si le travail de groupe est essentiel, il est également nécessaire de pouvoir agir sans recourir à un guide continu, en particulier lorsque des événements dépassent les prévisions. Cela ne signifie pas que vous ne consultez pas les autres ou que vous ne rapportez pas ce que vous faites, mais plutôt ne dépend pas uniquement de critères externes pour agir . Exemple de question: "Dis-moi ce que tu as fait à un moment où tu devais agir rapidement face à un événement imprévu".

4. Influence

La capacité d'influencer les autres, les persuader et / ou leur faire voir des perspectives différentes de la leur Il s’agit généralement d’un élément très prisé des diverses entreprises et des entreprises offrant des biens ou des services. Voici un exemple de question type: "Décrivez-moi la dernière fois que vous avez essayé de convaincre quelqu'un de quelque chose".

5. Flexibilité et adaptation au changement

Nous vivons dans un monde dynamique dans lequel les choses changent constamment. Être capable de s'adapter et s'ouvrir à de nouvelles possibilités C'est très utile dans la plupart des emplois. Ils pourraient nous demander quelque chose comme: "Quelle est la dernière chose que vous avez eu à adapter dans votre dernier emploi et comment l'avez-vous vécu?".

6. Créativité et proactivité

La capacité de apporter quelque chose à l'entreprise C'est généralement une valeur ajoutée que les entreprises valorisent de manière positive. Voici quelques questions typiques: êtes-vous considéré comme un innovateur? Dis-moi une fois quand tu as provoqué une amélioration de ton travail. "

Structure de l'interview: phases

L’interview d’incidents critiques est une interview hautement structurée qui suit un script préfixé par la société exécutante, généralement indépendante de la réponse de l’individu (bien qu’en fonction de la réponse, des questions puissent être ajoutées pour approfondir l’un des aspects).

On peut généralement voir que l’interview sur un incident critique Il est divisé en trois phases. bienvenue, développement et fermeture .

1. accueil

Le premier moment de l'entretien en tant que tel. Le candidat est le bienvenu, une explication de ce qui va se passer tout au long de l'entretien est proposée, le temps approximatif qui va durer et il est assuré que le contenu de cet entretien sera confidentiel. En outre, l'intervieweur doit essayer de s'assurer que que vous ne doutez pas de la procédure , laissant pour exprimer tout doute initial que le candidat peut avoir.

2. développement

Dans cette seconde phase, les données du fichier et du curriculum sont d'abord analysées avec l'enquêté afin d'avoir une meilleure idée des domaines et des aspects avec lesquels il est habitué.

Après ces brèves données, vérifiez l'intervieweur procède pour effectuer différents types de questions ouvertes Concernant les situations que l’interviewé a passées tout au long de sa vie, concentrez-vous sur la description des faits, des pensées et des émotions qu’il avait à l’époque. Il convient de préciser qu'une réponse spécifique et non générique est recherchée, et ils ne valorisent pas les réflexions que le sujet en fait, car ce qu'il faut évaluer, ce n'est que la compétence.

3. fermeture

Dans la phase de clôture, il est prévu de récapituler et de vous assurer que vous avez toutes les informations nécessaires, pour finir de fournir des informations sur le poste, que le candidat puisse demander les éléments sur lesquels il a des doutes , et indiquez comment le contact sera maintenu afin de communiquer la décision.

Avantages et inconvénients

L'entretien des incidents critiques présente de multiples avantages par rapport aux autres types d'évaluation , mais aussi une série d'inconvénients.

Comme avantage principal, nous pouvons établir que cela nous permet d’avoir une idée plus ou moins claire des manières d’agir que le sujet a eues et du type de compétences qu’il possède, avec lesquelles il permet de prédire les performances futures avec plus de précision que les entretiens classiques. En plus de cela nous travaillons à partir de situations vécues par le sujet , ne le forçant pas à imaginer une situation étrange. C'est une méthodologie économique et facilement compréhensible à la fois pour l'interviewé et l'intervieweur.

Cependant, comme inconvénients, il convient de mentionner que des événements spécifiques peuvent ne pas être entièrement mémorisés par le sujet , outre que cela peut les falsifier. De plus, le fait que la personne interrogée ait choisi la situation signifie qu'il peut exister un certain manque de contrôle à cet égard et que les moments sélectionnés ne sont pas pleinement représentatifs de ce que l'on souhaite évaluer. Enfin, certaines personnes peuvent avoir du mal à compter sur leurs expériences personnelles, en supposant que leur vie privée soit envahie de manière à limiter les réponses fournies.


DANS LA GUEULE DU LOUP #1 - Répartition des richesses et fiscalité (Juin 2019).


Articles Connexes