yes, therapy helps!
Crouzon syndrome: symptoms, causes and intervention

Crouzon syndrome: symptoms, causes and intervention

January 25, 2023

At birth, most human beings have a malleable skull which allows us to come to the world through the birth canal. These bones are going to be closing and suturing with age, as our brain grows in size and maturing.

However, there are cases of different disorders in which said suture occurs prematurely, which can affect both the morphology and the functionality of the brain and various facial organs. One of the disorders that people are talking about Crouzon syndrome, a hereditary disorder of genetic origin.

The Crouzon Syndrome

Crouzon syndrome is a disease of genetic origin characterized by the presence of a craniosynostosis or suture of the bones of the premature skull. This closure causes the skull to have to grow in the direction of the sutures that remain open, which generates malformations in the physiognomy of the skull and face.


These malformations can mean serious complications for the correct development of the encephalon and the set of organs that make up the head, problems that are going to manifest themselves with the passage of time as the boy or girl grows.

Symptoms of Crouzon syndrome

The symptoms usually appear near the two years of age of the minor, not being generally visible at the time of birth.

The most obvious symptoms are the presence of a bulge of the skull with the upper and / or posterior parts flattened, as well as exophthalmos or projection of the eyeball to the outside due to the presence of shallow eye orbits, a compressed nasal cavity that hinders breathing in this way, the cleft palate and other malformations facial and buccal such as prognathism or forward projection of the jaw or alterations in the dentition.


However, the most relevant and dangerous are respiratory and alimentary difficulties , that can end up endangering your life. It is also possible that hydrocephalus and other neurological disorders may occur. Intracranial pressure is also higher than usual, and seizures may occur

All these difficulties can cause the child to have severe problems along its growth such as dizziness, frequent headaches and perceptual problems both in vision and in hearing.

With regard to the ocular alterations , the prominence of these causes that they are prone to infections and even to the atrophy of the visual system, being able to lose the vision.

In addition, facial malformations hinder the learning of oral communication, which tends to generate a delay in learning. In any case, despite the fact that these malformations could affect intellectual development, in most cases the subjects with Crouzon syndrome usually have an intelligence in the average corresponding to your developmental age.


Causes of this syndrome (etiology)

As mentioned previously, Crouzon syndrome is a congenital and inherited disorder of genetic origin. Specifically, the cause of this syndrome can be found in the presence of mutations in the FGFR2 gene , or fibroblast growth factor receptor, on chromosome 10. This gene is involved in cell differentiation, and its mutation causes an acceleration of the suture process of some or all of the bones of the skull.

It is an autosomal dominant disease , so that a person with this mutation has a 50% chance of transmitting this disease to their offspring.

Treatment

Crouzon syndrome is a congenital condition without a cure, although some of its complications can be avoided and / or the impact of its consequences can be reduced. The treatment to be applied must be interdisciplinary , with the help of professionals from different branches such as medicine, speech therapy and psychology.

Surgery

In a large number of cases part of the problems can be corrected through the use of surgery. Specifically, cranioplasty can be used to try to equip the child's head in a way that allows the normative development of the encephalon and in turn relieve intracranial pressure (which also makes it possible to avoid to a large extent the usual headaches that usually suffer, which in many cases results in this pressure). It can also be used to treat a possible hydrocephalus derived from the abnormal growth of the brain.

Also, it can be very useful to surgical intervention of the nasal and bucco-pathways , so as to facilitate breathing and passage of food through the digestive tract and solve problems such as prognathism and cleft palate.Dental surgery may also be necessary, as the case may be.

The eyes can also benefit from treatment by surgery, reducing exophthalmia as much as possible and with it the possibility of the visual organs becoming dry or becoming infected.

Logopedia and education

Due to the difficulties that can cause malformations in the phonatory system , the use of speech therapist services is very useful. The language can be altered and delayed, so you have to take into account their difficulties and provide adequate help. In cases where there is an intellectual disability, this must also be taken into account when adjusting the education and training of the minor.

Psychotherapy

The psychological treatment and advice to the minor as well as to family and educators is fundamental in order to understand the situation of the affected person and allow the expression of doubts and fears and the resolution of psychological and emotional problems derived from the experience of the disorder for both the child and his environment.

Bibliographic references:

  • Beltrán, P .; Rosas, N. & Jorges, I. (2004). Crouzon syndrome. Journal of Neurology. twenty-one).
  • Hoyos, M. (2014). Crouzon syndrome. Rev. Act. Clin. Med .: 46. La Paz.
  • Liu, J .; Nam, H.K .; Wang, E. & Hatch, N.E. (2013). Further analysis of the Crouzon mouse: effects of the FGFR2 (C342Y) mutation are cranial bone-dependent. Clcif. Tissue Int. 92 (5): 451-466.

Explaining Craniofacial Conditions (1 of 9) (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome de Crouzon: symptômes, causes et intervention

Syndrome de Crouzon: symptômes, causes et intervention

Septembre 18, 2019

À la naissance, la plupart des êtres humains ont un crâne malléable qui nous permet de venir au monde par le canal utérin. Ces os vont se refermer et suturer avec l’âge, à mesure que notre cerveau grossit et mûrit.

Cependant, il existe des cas de troubles différents dans lesquels ladite suture survient prématurément, ce qui peut affecter à la fois la morphologie et la fonctionnalité du cerveau et de divers organes de la face. Un des désordres dont on parle Syndrome de Crouzon, trouble héréditaire d'origine génétique.

Le syndrome de Crouzon

Le syndrome de Crouzon est une maladie d'origine génétique caractérisé par la présence d'une craniosynostose ou d'une suture des os du crâne prématuré. Cette fermeture oblige le crâne à se développer dans la direction des sutures qui restent ouvertes, ce qui génère des malformations dans la physionomie du crâne et du visage.


Ces malformations peuvent signifier complications graves pour le développement correct de l'encéphale et l'ensemble des organes qui composent la tête, problèmes qui vont se manifester avec le passage du temps, à mesure que le garçon ou la fille grandit.

Symptômes du syndrome de Crouzon

Les symptômes apparaissent généralement vers l'âge de deux ans du mineur et ne sont généralement pas visibles au moment de la naissance.

Les symptômes les plus évidents sont la présence de un renflement du crâne avec les parties supérieures et / ou postérieures aplaties, ainsi que l'exophtalmie ou la projection du globe oculaire vers l'extérieur en raison de la présence d'orbites oculaires superficielles, une cavité nasale comprimée qui gêne la respiration, la fente palatine et d'autres malformations faciales et buccales telles que le pronostic ou la projection en avant de la mâchoire ou des modifications de la dentition.


Cependant, les plus pertinents et les plus dangereux sont difficultés respiratoires et alimentaires , cela peut mettre votre vie en danger. Il est également possible que l'hydrocéphalie et d'autres troubles neurologiques se produisent. La pression intracrânienne est également supérieure à la normale et des convulsions peuvent survenir

Toutes ces difficultés peuvent entraîner chez l’enfant de graves problèmes de croissance tels que étourdissements, maux de tête fréquents et problèmes de perception à la fois en vision et en audience.

En ce qui concerne le altérations oculaires , l’importance de ces causes fait qu’elles sont sujettes aux infections et même à l’atrophie du système visuel, pouvant perdre la vision.

De plus, les malformations faciales entravent l'apprentissage de la communication orale, ce qui tend à générer un retard dans l'apprentissage. En tout état de cause, bien que ces malformations puissent affecter le développement intellectuel, dans la plupart des cas les sujets atteints du syndrome de Crouzon ont généralement une intelligence moyenne correspondant à votre âge de développement.


Causes de ce syndrome (étiologie)

Comme mentionné précédemment, le syndrome de Crouzon est une maladie d'origine génétique héréditaire et congénitale. Plus précisément, la cause de ce syndrome peut être trouvée en présence de mutations dans le gène FGFR2 , ou récepteur du facteur de croissance des fibroblastes, sur le chromosome 10. Ce gène est impliqué dans la différenciation cellulaire et sa mutation provoque une accélération du processus de suture de tout ou partie des os du crâne.

C'est une maladie autosomique dominante , de sorte qu'une personne portant cette mutation a 50% de chances de transmettre cette maladie à sa progéniture.

Traitement

Le syndrome de Crouzon est une affection congénitale sans guérison, bien que certaines de ses complications puissent être évitées et / ou que l'impact de ses conséquences puisse être réduit. Le traitement à appliquer doit être interdisciplinaire , avec l’aide de professionnels de différentes branches telles que la médecine, l’orthophonie et la psychologie.

La chirurgie

Dans un grand nombre de cas, une partie des problèmes peut être corrigée par le recours à la chirurgie. Plus précisément, la cranioplastie peut être utilisée pour essayer d'équiper la tête de l'enfant d'une manière qui permet le développement normatif de l'encéphale et soulager à son tour la pression intracrânienne (ce qui permet également d’éviter dans une large mesure les maux de tête habituels qui souffrent habituellement, ce qui entraîne souvent cette pression). Il peut également être utilisé pour traiter une hydrocéphalie éventuelle dérivée d'une croissance anormale du cerveau.

En outre, il peut être très utile de intervention chirurgicale des voies nasale et buccale , afin de faciliter la respiration et le passage des aliments dans le tube digestif et de résoudre des problèmes tels que le prognathisme et la fente palatine.La chirurgie dentaire peut également être nécessaire, selon le cas.

Les yeux peuvent également bénéficier d’un traitement chirurgical, réduisant au maximum l’exophtalmie et, partant, le risque de dessèchement ou d’infection des organes de la vue.

Logopédie et éducation

En raison des difficultés que cela peut causer malformations dans le système phonatoire , l’utilisation des services d’orthophoniste est très utile. La langue peut être modifiée et retardée, vous devez donc prendre en compte leurs difficultés et fournir une aide adéquate. Dans les cas de déficience intellectuelle, il faut également en tenir compte lors de l'adaptation de l'éducation et de la formation du mineur.

Psychothérapie

Le traitement psychologique et les conseils donnés au mineur, à sa famille et aux éducateurs sont fondamentaux pour comprendre la situation de la personne touchée et permettre l'expression des doutes et des peurs. et la résolution des problèmes psychologiques et émotionnels dérivé de l'expérience du trouble pour l'enfant et son environnement.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Beltrán, P .; Rosas, N. & Jorges, I. (2004). Syndrome de Crouzon. Journal de neurologie. 2 (1)
  • Hoyos, M. (2014). Syndrome de Crouzon. Rev. Act Clin. Med.: 46. La Paz.
  • Liu, J .; Nam, H.K .; Wang, E. et Hatch, N.E. (2013). Analyse complémentaire de la souris Crouzon: les effets de la mutation FGFR2 (C342Y) sont dépendants de l’os crânien. Clcif. Tissue Int 92 (5): 451-466.

Pendred Syndrome (Septembre 2019).


Articles Connexes