yes, therapy helps!
Crovitz technique: what it is and how it is used in mental health

Crovitz technique: what it is and how it is used in mental health

June 12, 2024

One of the methods that can be used to evaluate autobiographical memory, and therefore retrograde amnesia, is the Crovitz technique, based on the free association of words used by pioneers of psychology like Galton and Jung. In this article we will analyze the Crovitz method and the relationship between age and autobiographical memory.

  • Related article: "Types of memory: how memory stores the human brain?"

What is the Crovitz technique? What does it consist of?

The Crovitz technique is a psychological test that is used to evaluate autobiographical memory , mainly in people with some type of dementia. It was developed by Herbert F. Crovitz and Harold Schiffman in 1974; the authors relied on the free word association method, which had been created by Francis Galton and popularized by Carl Jung.


This simple test consists of presenting the subject of evaluation with a series of words. The person will have to tell a personal memory at any time of his life that associates the word stimulus. Although it is complicated to carry out quantitative evaluations of the results, these can be useful to analyze autobiographical memory in broad strokes.

The number and characteristics of the memories of the subject are compared with those of their normative group in order to detect signs of cognitive deterioration, or to discard them. In this sense, it is important to bear in mind that the quality of the memory varies according to the age at which a memory was encoded concrete; we will talk about this below.


Although many experts defend the consistency of this technique, several studies have warned about the weaknesses of the Crovitz technique. Beyond the difficulties related to the quantification of results, it is known that certain types of words favor the recovery of memories with emotional content or specific periods.

  • You may be interested: "What are false memories and why do we suffer them?"

Developments of the Crovitz technique

Different authors have reconceptualized or perfected the technique created by Crovitz and Schiffman . For example, Robinson updated the method by specifying two instructions: "Think of an experience of your own life that this word reminds you of" and "Keep thinking until you remember a particular event associated with the word."

For her part, Karis carried out a procedure in which she instructed the subjects to write any memories that came to mind when they read the word stimulus, specifying that they could be very specific ("like having broken a window one day in particular ") or general (" how to wash the windows every Saturday morning ").


Memory based on the coding age

Usually people remember well the events that have happened recently. The quality of memories diminishes very markedly as we go back in the last year of life, more or less; the memory for the previous events worsens more slowly from this point.

Consequently, when it is represented graphically the memory curve according to the coding age we observe a sharp drop in the last months of life that finally takes the form of asymptote. However, certain factors have obvious effects on the normal functioning of autobiographical memory.

So, the Crovitz technique and other similar methods can be useful to evaluate the presence of retrograde amnesia , which is defined as a great difficulty to remember events that took place before a certain brain injury, such as those that are typical of Korsakoff's syndrome and dementias, especially Alzheimer's.

Another striking fact is that elderly people, especially those with signs of cognitive impairment, recall biographical events that occurred when they were between 10 and 30 years old, approximately, compared to those that occurred in later years. This period has been called "peak of reminiscence" .

  • You may be interested: "The different types of amnesia (and their characteristics)"

History of the word association method

Francis Galton, considered one of the pioneers of statistics (and a strong advocate of controversial eugenic ideas), developed in the late nineteenth century a technique of psychological evaluation consisting of presenting words to a subject; then he verbalized one or two ideas related to the terms given by the evaluator.

Although Galton did not use the word association specifically to evaluate autobiographical memory, other authors adopted it for this purpose and for other purposes. The application made by the psychoanalyst Carl Jung is especially famous as a method of analysis of the unconscious, inspired by Freud's free association (or "fundamental rule").

The association of words has been used by psychologists belonging to very different branches of our science. Thus, in addition to the clinical uses that we have described, this method has received some attention from market researchers since it can help to evaluate the reactions of consumers to slogans, brand names, etc.

Bibliographic references:

  • Crovitz, H. F. & Schiffman, H. (1974). Frequency of episodic memories as a function of their age. Bulletin of the Psychonomic Society, 4 (5): 517-518.
  • Rubin, D.C. (1986). Autobiographical Memory. Cambridge, United Kingdom: Cambridge University Press.

What is METHOD OF LOCI? What does METHOD OF LOCI mean? METHOD OF LOCI meaning & explanation (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La technique de Crovitz: qu'est-ce que c'est et comment est-elle utilisée en santé mentale

La technique de Crovitz: qu'est-ce que c'est et comment est-elle utilisée en santé mentale

Juillet 16, 2024

L’une des méthodes permettant d’évaluer la mémoire autobiographique, et donc l’amnésie rétrograde, est la Technique de Crovitz, basée sur la libre association de mots utilisé par des pionniers de la psychologie comme Galton et Jung. Dans cet article, nous analyserons la méthode de Crovitz et la relation entre l'âge et la mémoire autobiographique.

  • Article connexe: "Types de mémoire: comment la mémoire stocke le cerveau humain?"

Quelle est la technique de Crovitz? En quoi consiste?

La technique de Crovitz est un test psychologique utilisé pour évaluer la mémoire autobiographique , principalement chez les personnes atteintes d’un certain type de démence. Il a été développé par Herbert F. Crovitz et Harold Schiffman en 1974; les auteurs ont utilisé la méthode d'association de mots libres, créée par Francis Galton et popularisée par Carl Jung.


Ce test simple consiste à présenter le sujet de l'évaluation avec une série de mots. La personne devra raconter un souvenir personnel à tout moment de sa vie qui associe le mot stimulus. Bien qu’il soit compliqué d’effectuer des évaluations quantitatives des résultats, celles-ci peuvent être utiles pour analyser la mémoire autobiographique à grands traits.

Le nombre et les caractéristiques des souvenirs du sujet sont comparés à ceux de leur groupe normatif afin de détecter les signes de détérioration cognitive ou de les éliminer. En ce sens, il est important de garder à l’esprit que la qualité de la mémoire varie en fonction de l'âge auquel une mémoire a été encodée en béton nous en parlerons ci-dessous.


Bien que de nombreux experts défendent la cohérence de cette technique, plusieurs études ont mis en garde sur les faiblesses de la technique de Crovitz. Au-delà des difficultés liées à la quantification des résultats, il est connu que certains types de mots favorisent la récupération de souvenirs à contenu émotionnel ou à des périodes spécifiques.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Quels sont les faux souvenirs et pourquoi les subissons-nous?"

Développements de la technique de Crovitz

Différents auteurs ont reconceptualisé ou perfectionné la technique créée par Crovitz et Schiffman . Par exemple, Robinson a mis à jour la méthode en spécifiant deux instructions: "Pensez à une expérience de votre propre vie que ce mot vous rappelle" et "Continuez à penser jusqu'à ce que vous vous souveniez d'un événement particulier associé au mot."

Pour sa part, Karis a effectué une procédure dans laquelle elle a demandé aux sujets d'écrire tous les souvenirs qui leur venaient à l'esprit quand ils lisaient le mot stimulus, en précisant qu'ils pouvaient être très spécifiques ("comme avoir cassé une fenêtre un jour de particulier ") ou général (" comment laver les vitres tous les samedis matins ").


Mémoire basée sur l'âge de codage

Habituellement, les gens se souviennent bien des événements survenus récemment. La qualité des souvenirs diminue très nettement à mesure que nous remontons dans la dernière année de la vie, plus ou moins; la mémoire des événements précédents s'aggrave plus lentement à partir de ce point.

Par conséquent, quand il est représenté graphiquement la courbe de mémoire en fonction de l'âge de codage on observe une forte baisse dans les derniers mois de la vie qui prend finalement la forme d'asymptote. Cependant, certains facteurs ont des effets évidents sur le fonctionnement normal de la mémoire autobiographique.

Ainsi, la technique de Crovitz et d'autres méthodes similaires peut être utile pour évaluer la présence d'amnésie rétrograde , qui est défini comme une grande difficulté à se souvenir des événements survenus avant une certaine lésion cérébrale, tels que ceux qui sont typiques du syndrome de Korsakoff et des démences, en particulier d’Alzheimer.

Un autre fait frappant est que les personnes âgées, en particulier celles qui présentent des signes de déficience cognitive, se souviennent des événements biographiques survenus vers l’âge de 10 à 30 ans environ, par rapport à celles survenues au cours des années suivantes. Cette période a été appelée "pic de réminiscence" .

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Les différents types d'amnésie (et leurs caractéristiques)"

Histoire de la méthode d'association de mots

Francis Galton, considéré comme l'un des pionniers de la statistique (et un ardent défenseur d'idées eugéniques controversées), développa à la fin du XIXe siècle une technique d'évaluation psychologique consistant à présenter des mots à un sujet; il a ensuite verbalisé une ou deux idées liées aux termes donnés par l'évaluateur.

Bien que Galton n'ait pas utilisé le mot association spécifiquement pour évaluer la mémoire autobiographique, d'autres auteurs l'ont adopté à cette fin et à d'autres fins. L'application du psychanalyste Carl Jung est particulièrement célèbre comme méthode d'analyse de l'inconscient, inspirée par la libre association de Freud (ou "règle fondamentale").

L'association de mots a été utilisée par des psychologues appartenant à des branches très différentes de notre science. Ainsi, en plus des utilisations cliniques que nous avons décrites, cette méthode a attiré l'attention des chercheurs de marché car cela peut aider à évaluer les réactions des consommateurs aux slogans, aux noms de marques, etc.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Crovitz, H.F. & Schiffman, H. (1974). Fréquence des mémoires épisodiques en fonction de leur âge. Bulletin of the Psychonomic Society, 4 (5): 517-518.
  • Rubin, D.C. (1986). Mémoire autobiographique. Cambridge, Royaume-Uni: Cambridge University Press.

Bécaye Mbaye : "La technique de Balla Gaye 2 a fait la différence" (Juillet 2024).


Articles Connexes