yes, therapy helps!
Crystal delirium: the delirium of believing itself to be very fragile

Crystal delirium: the delirium of believing itself to be very fragile

October 23, 2020

Throughout history there have been a lot of diseases that have caused great harm and harm to humanity and over time have ended up disappearing. This is the case of the black plague or the so-called Spanish flu. But not only has it happened with medical illnesses, but there have also been psychic sufferings typical of a specific historical period or stage. An example of this is the so-called glass delirium or crystal illusion , an alteration of which we are going to talk throughout this article.

  • Related article: "Delusions: what they are, types and differences with hallucinations"

The delirium or illusion of crystal: symptoms

It receives the name delirium or illusion of crystal a typical and highly frequent mental disorder of the Middle Ages and the Renaissance which is characterized by the presence of the delirious belief of being crystal , having the own body the properties of this one and especially its fragility.


In this sense, it was maintained in a fixed, persistent, unmodifiable manner despite the presence of contrary evidence and without social consensus that the body itself was crystal, tremendously fragile and easy to break.

This belief went hand in hand with a high level of panic and dread, practically phobic, to the idea of ​​breaking or breaking at the slightest blow , being frequent the adoption of attitudes like avoiding all physical contact with others, moving away from furniture and corners, standing defecating to avoid breaking or tying pillows and using reinforced attires with them to avoid possible damage when sitting or moving.

The disorder in question may include the feeling that the whole body is crystal or include only specific parts, such as limbs. In some cases it was even considered that the internal organs were crystal, being the psychic suffering and fear of these people very high.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The 12 most curious and striking types of delusions"

A common phenomenon in the middle ages

As we said this disorder appeared in the Middle Ages, a historical stage in which the glass began to be used in elements such as stained glass or the first lenses.

One of the oldest and best-known cases is that of the French monarch Charles VI , nicknamed "the beloved" (since he apparently fought against the corruption introduced by his regents) but also "the madman" because he ended up suffering from various psychiatric problems, among which are psychotic episodes (ending up with the life of one) of his courtiers) and being among them the crystal delirium. The monarch was dressed in a clothing lined to avoid damage to possible falls and remained motionless for long hours.

It was also the upheaval of Princess Alexandra Amelie of Bavaria , and of many other nobles and citizens (usually of the upper classes). Also the composer Chaikovski manifested symptoms that make think about this upheaval, fearing that its head fell to the ground while it directed the orchestra and it was broken and even holding it physically to avoid it.


In fact it was a condition so frequent that even René Descartes made mention of it in one of his works and it is even the affection suffered by one of the characters of Miguel de Cervantes in his "Licentiate Vidriera".

The records indicate a high prevalence of this disorder especially during the late Middle Ages and the Renaissance, especially between the fourteenth and seventeenth centuries. However with the passage of time and as the glass was increasingly frequent and less mythologized (initially it was seen as something exclusive and even magical), this disorder would decrease in frequency until practically disappear after 1830 .

There are still cases today

The delirium of glass was a delirium, as we have said, that had its maximum expansion throughout the middle ages and that apparently ceased to exist around 1830.

However, a Dutch psychiatrist named Andy Lameijin found a report of a patient of the thirties who presented the delusional belief that his legs were glass and that the minimum blow could break them, generating any approach or possibility of hitting a great anxiety or even self-injury

After reading this case, whose symptoms clearly resemble the medieval disorder, the psychiatrist proceeded to investigate similar symptomatology and was discovering different isolated cases of people with similar delirium.

However, he also found a living and current case at the center where he worked, at the Endegeest Psychiatric Hospital in Leiden: a man who claimed to feel made of glass or glass after having suffered an accident.

However, in this case there were differentials with respect to others, more centered with the transparency quality of the glass than with the fragility : the patient said to be able to appear and disappear from the sight of others, making him feel, according to the patient's own words, that "I am here, but I am not, like crystal".

It must be borne in mind, however, that the delusion or glass delirium is still considered a historical mental problem and that it can be considered an effect or part of other disorders, such as schizophrenia.

Theories about its causes

Explaining a mental disorder practically non-existent today is extremely complex, but through the symptomatology some experts have been offering hypotheses about it.

In general it could be thought that this disorder could originate as a defense mechanism in people with a high level of pressure and the need to show a certain social image, being a response to the fear of showing fragility.

It also associates its emergence and disappearance of the disorder to the evolution of the consideration on the material, being frequent that the subjects on which verses deliriums and different mental problems are linked to the evolution and own and more novel elements of each epoch.

In the most recent case attended by Lameijin, the psychiatrist considered that a possible explanation of the disorder in that particular case was the need to search for privacy and personal space in the face of excessive care on the part of the patient's environment, being the symptom in the form of a belief of being able to be transparent like glass, a way of trying to separate and maintain individuality.

This conception of the current version of the disorder stems from the anxiety generated by today's society, extremely individualistic and focused on appearance and with a high level of personal isolation despite the existence of large communication systems.

Bibliographic references:

  • Cervantes, M. (2003). The lawyer Vidriera. Editions University of Salamanca.
  • Speak, G. (1990) An odd kind of melancholy: reflections on the glass delusion in Europe (1440-1680) History of Psychiatry; 1: 191-206.
  • Speak, G. (1990) "Licentiate Vidriera" and the Glass Men of Early Modern Europe, The Modern Language Review; 85 (4): 850-865.

Yelawolf - American You (Official Music Video) (October 2020).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Délire de cristal: le délire de se croire très fragile

Délire de cristal: le délire de se croire très fragile

Juin 8, 2022

Au cours de l'histoire, de nombreuses maladies ont causé de graves dommages à l'humanité et ont fini par disparaître avec le temps. C'est le cas de la peste noire ou de la soi-disant grippe espagnole. Mais non seulement cela est arrivé avec des maladies, mais il y a eu aussi des souffrances psychiques typiques d'une période ou d'un stade historique spécifique. Un exemple de ceci est ce qu'on appelle le délire de verre ou l'illusion de cristal , une modification dont nous allons parler tout au long de cet article.

  • Article connexe: "Les délires: quels sont-ils, quels types et quelles différences avec les hallucinations"

Le délire ou l'illusion de cristal: symptômes

Il reçoit le nom de délire ou illusion de cristal, un trouble mental typique et très fréquent du Moyen Âge et de la Renaissance qui se caractérise par la présence de la croyance délirante d'être en cristal , ayant à son corps les propriétés de celui-ci et surtout sa fragilité.


En ce sens, il a été maintenu de manière fixe, persistante et non modifiable malgré la présence de preuves contraires et sans consensus social selon lequel le corps lui-même était cristallin, extrêmement fragile et facile à briser.

Cette croyance est allée de pair avec un niveau élevé de panique et d'effroi, pratiquement phobique, à l'idée de casser ou de casser au moindre coup , adoptant fréquemment des attitudes telles que l’évitement de tout contact physique avec les autres, l’éloignement des meubles et des coins, la défécation debout pour éviter de briser ou attacher des oreillers et l’utilisation d’attaches renforcées pour éviter les dommages éventuels en étant assis ou en mouvement.

Le trouble en question peut inclure le sentiment que tout le corps est en cristal ou ne comprendre que des parties spécifiques, telles que les membres. Dans certains cas, il a même été considéré que les organes internes étaient en cristal, constituant une souffrance psychique et une peur très élevées pour ces personnes.


  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Les 12 types de délires les plus curieux et les plus frappants"

Un phénomène commun au moyen âge

Comme nous l'avons dit, ce désordre est apparu au Moyen Âge, étape historique dans laquelle le verre a commencé à être utilisé dans des éléments tels que le vitrail ou les premières lentilles.

L'un des cas les plus anciens et les mieux connus est celui du monarque français Charles VI , surnommé "le bien-aimé" (puisqu'il a apparemment combattu la corruption introduite par ses régents) mais aussi "le fou" parce qu'il a fini par souffrir de divers problèmes psychiatriques, parmi lesquels des épisodes psychotiques (aboutissant à la vie d'un) de ses courtisans) et étant parmi eux le délire de cristal. Le monarque était vêtu d'un vêtement doublé pour éviter tout risque de chute et restait immobile pendant de longues heures.

C'était aussi le bouleversement de la princesse Alexandra Amélie de Bavière , et de nombreux autres nobles et citoyens (généralement des classes supérieures). Le compositeur Chaikovski a également manifesté des symptômes qui font penser à ce bouleversement, craignant que sa tête ne tombe au sol alors qu'il dirigeait l'orchestre et qu'il était cassé et même le tenant physiquement pour l'éviter.


En fait, c’était une condition si fréquente que même René Descartes l’a mentionnée dans l’une de ses œuvres et même dans l’affection de l’un des personnages de Miguel de Cervantes dans sa "Licence Vidriera".

Les enregistrements indiquent une forte prévalence de ce trouble, en particulier à la fin du Moyen Âge et à la Renaissance, en particulier entre le XIVe et le XVIIe siècle. Cependant, au fil du temps et du fait que le verre était de plus en plus fréquent et de moins en moins mythifié (au départ, il était perçu comme quelque chose d'exclusif et même magique), ce trouble diminuerait en fréquence jusqu'à pratiquement disparaître après 1830 .

Il y a encore des cas aujourd'hui

Le délire du verre était un délire, comme nous l'avons dit, qui avait connu une expansion maximale au cours du moyen âge et qui a apparemment cessé d'exister vers 1830.

Cependant, un psychiatre néerlandais du nom de Andy Lameijin a découvert le rapport d’un patient des années trente qui présentait la croyance délirante que ses jambes étaient en verre et que le coup minimum pouvait les briser, générant ainsi toute approche ou possibilité de créer une grande anxiété même automutilation

Après avoir lu ce cas, dont les symptômes ressemblent clairement au désordre médiéval, le psychiatre a procédé à des recherches sur une symptomatologie similaire et découvrait différents cas isolés de personnes présentant un délire similaire.

Cependant, il a également trouvé un cas vivant et d'actualité au centre où il travaillait, à l'hôpital psychiatrique Endegeest de Leiden: un homme qui prétendait se sentir fait de verre ou de verre après avoir été victime d'un accident.

Cependant, dans ce cas, il y avait des différences par rapport aux autres, plus centré sur la transparence du verre que sur la fragilité : le patient dit pouvoir apparaître et disparaître de la vue des autres, lui faisant ainsi sentir, selon ses propres mots, que "je suis ici, mais je ne suis pas comme le cristal".

Il faut cependant garder à l'esprit que le délire délirant ou le délire cristallin est toujours considéré comme un problème mental historique et qu'il peut être considéré comme un effet ou faisant partie d'autres troubles, tels que la schizophrénie.

Théories sur ses causes

Expliquer un trouble mental pratiquement inexistant aujourd'hui est extrêmement complexe, mais à travers la symptomatologie, certains experts ont émis des hypothèses à ce sujet.

En général, on pourrait penser que ce trouble pourrait provenir comme mécanisme de défense chez les personnes soumises à une forte pression et le besoin de montrer une certaine image sociale, en réponse à la peur de montrer la fragilité.

Il associe également son émergence et sa disparition du désordre à l'évolution de la considération sur le matériel, en étant fréquent que les sujets sur lesquels des vers deliriums et différents problèmes mentaux sont liés à l'évolution et à des éléments propres et plus nouveaux de chaque époque.

Dans l’affaire la plus récente à laquelle assistait Lameijin, le psychiatre estimait qu’une explication possible de la maladie dans cette affaire était: la nécessité de rechercher la vie privée et l'espace personnel face aux soins excessifs de la part de l’environnement du patient, en étant le symptôme sous la forme de la conviction de pouvoir être transparent comme du verre, une façon d’essayer de séparer et de maintenir l’individualité.

Cette conception de la version actuelle du trouble découle de l’anxiété générée par la société actuelle, extrêmement individualiste et centrée sur l’apparence, avec un niveau élevé d’isolement personnel malgré l’existence de vastes systèmes de communication.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Cervantes, M. (2003). L'avocat Vidriera. Editions Université de Salamanque.
  • Speak, G. (1990) Une sorte de mélancolie étrange: réflexions sur l'illusion de verre en Europe (1440-1680) History of Psychiatry; 1: 191-206.
  • Speak, G. (1990) "Licence Vidriera" et les hommes de verre du début de l'Europe moderne, The Modern Language Review; 85 (4): 850-865.

The Howling Mines | Critical Role | Campaign 2, Episode 6 (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes