yes, therapy helps!
Cultural identity: what it is and how it helps us understand each other

Cultural identity: what it is and how it helps us understand each other

November 29, 2022

The concept of cultural identity has allowed us to think about how we come to recognize ourselves as competent subjects of dynamics and relationships based on specific values, customs and traditions.

In this article we explain briefly what is cultural identity , and in what way this concept has been used to understand various psychological and social phenomena.

  • Related article: "This facet of psychology is responsible for studying the way in which ethnic groups and groups live"

What is cultural identity?

Studies on cultural identity go back to the 18th century, that is, to the beginnings of anthropology as a social science . They have followed a very diverse trajectory and have been modified according to the transformations in the definition of the concept of "identity" and also that of "culture".


Among other things, studies on cultural identity have led us to ask whether cultural identity impacts the individual psyche, or is it the opposite process? How is cultural identity related to local and global processes? Is cultural identity the same as, for example, social identity, national identity or family identity ?

Without intending to respond in detail to these questions, but to explain with greater precision what the concept of "cultural identity" refers to, in this article we will define, on the one hand, the term "identity", and for another one of "culture".

  • Maybe you're interested: "Group identity: the need to feel part of something"

Theories about identity

Identity has been understood in very different ways within the social sciences. There are perspectives that from the most traditional psychology propose that the identity is an individual fact, that is fixed in a total, natural and fixed way, with particularities that are specific to each individual .


On the other hand, the most classic proposals of sociology speak of identity as the effect of a series of norms and guidelines that people simply reproduce and put into practice. On the other hand, the most contemporary proposals of the social sciences tell us that identity is not a fact, but a process , with which, there is not a beginning and an end that take place in certain life cycles.

It is rather a series of transformations that take place under different circumstances that are not fixed or immovable. Identity is, in this sense, understood as the effect of a series of social influences; but it is likewise understood as the result of the agency itself.

In other words, the most contemporary theories about identity take distance from psychology considering that it is a process mediated by environmental influences; and they also raise a distance with sociology by considering that people do not limit themselves to reproducing those influences of the environment, but that we interpret them, we choose them, we create projects with them, and so on.


Likewise, identity is thought of as the product of establishing a difference, either complementary or antagonistic. That is, the result of recognizing oneself with characteristics common to a given group, which are at the same time different from the characteristics of other individuals and groups. It is a difference that we establish for generate a certainty about what individually and collectively we are .

Culture: some definitions

The concept of culture has been understood and used in very different ways that can be traced from the North American and European intellectual context of the eighteenth century. In its origins, the concept of culture it was very much related to civilization , referred to all those qualities that are recognized as necessary for a member to be considered competent in a society.

Culture is later understood as the set of tools, activities, attitudes and forms of organization that allow people to meet their needs. For example, from small tasks to social institutions and economic distribution. Already in the nineteenth century the culture begins to be understood in relation to the intellect , as a series of ideas that are reflected in patterns of behavior that the members of a society acquire and share by instruction or by imitation. From here, culture began to be understood also in relation to the arts, religions, customs and values.

After the intellect, the concept of culture is also understood in a humanistic sense closely related to individual development, both intellectually and spiritually, which is combined with the activities and interests of a particular community.In this same sense, and along with the development of science, culture is understood as a collective discourse, which is symbolic and which articulates values ​​with knowledge.

Finally, and in view of the evident multiplicity of ways of understanding "culture", there is no other way but to begin to think that there is not a single manifestation of it, with which a new understanding of the same concept is generated. Culture is then understood from the diversity of worldviews and behaviors , including the lifestyles and attitudes that are part of different communities around the world.

In this context, the recognition of cultural diversity was confronted with some reminiscences of the old relationship between culture and civilization, with what some cultures understood as superior and others as inferior. Not only that, but culture was established in opposition to nature, and even as an obstacle to economic development, especially when it is taken to the terrain of territorial management.

In short, culture is understood in operational terms as the set of features that distinguish a social group (which share the same group). These traits are understood as socially acquired and can be spiritual, material or emotional. They can also be ways of life, artistic expressions and forms of knowledge , values, beliefs and traditions.

We are part of a group and at the same time individuals

The traits that are considered to be typical of a culture because they are socially acquired, and because they serve as the hallmarks of a group, are elements that give rise to an identity. That is to say, to a process of recognition of oneself before the frames of interaction that belong to the social group to which we belong.

These are frameworks that offer us reference and identification schemes according to the values ​​of the group itself; and that offer us certainty about the links and our function in the community. In addition, cultural identity gives us a series of historical and physical references about our place in the social group .

For example, the possibilities of recognizing ourselves as women or men, or as people belonging to one class or another, may be different between different cultures. The same goes for the identity that corresponds to certain functions and institutions, such as students, teachers, friends, brothers, relatives, etc.

All these features give shape to different dimensions of identity that coexist and they make up the process by means of which we generate a perception and appreciation of ourselves, our group, and others.

Bibliographic references:

  • The beginning anthropologist (2018). What is culture? 17 definitions of the word culture in anthropology. Retrieved July 17, 2018. Available at //antropologoprincipiante.com/2015/04/20/la-palabra-cultura/.
  • Molano, L. (2004). Cultural identity: a concept that evolves. Opera, 7: 69-84.
  • Pujal i Llombart, M. (2004). The identity. In Ibáñez, T. (Ed) Introduction to social psychology. Editorial UOC: Barcelona.
  • Hall, S. and du Gay, P. (1996). Cultural Identity Issues. Amorrortu: Buenos Aires-Madrid.

What is CULTURAL IDENTITY? What does CULTURAL IDENTITY mean? CULTURAL IDENTITY meaning & explanation (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Identité culturelle: qu'est-ce que c'est et comment ça nous aide à nous comprendre

Identité culturelle: qu'est-ce que c'est et comment ça nous aide à nous comprendre

Novembre 13, 2022

Le concept d'identité culturelle nous a permis de réfléchir à la manière dont nous en venons à nous reconnaître comme sujets compétents de la dynamique et des relations fondées sur des valeurs, des coutumes et des traditions spécifiques.

Dans cet article, nous expliquons brièvement quelle est l'identité culturelle et comment ce concept a été utilisé pour comprendre divers phénomènes psychologiques et sociaux.

  • Article connexe: "Cette facette de la psychologie est chargée d'étudier le mode de vie des groupes ethniques et des groupes"

Qu'est-ce que l'identité culturelle?

Les études sur l’identité culturelle remontent au 18e siècle, c’est-à-dire les débuts de l'anthropologie en tant que science sociale . Ils ont suivi une trajectoire très diverse et ont été modifiés en fonction des transformations apportées à la définition du concept "d'identité" et également à celui de "culture".


Entre autres choses, des études sur l'identité culturelle nous ont amenés à nous demander si l'identité culturelle avait un impact sur la psyché de l'individu ou si c'était le processus inverse. Comment l'identité culturelle est-elle liée aux processus locaux et mondiaux? L'identité culturelle est-elle la même chose que, par exemple, identité sociale, identité nationale ou identité familiale ?

Sans vouloir répondre en détail à ces questions, mais pour expliquer plus précisément à quoi le concept d '"identité culturelle" fait référence, nous définirons dans cet article, d'une part, le terme "identité", et un autre de "culture".

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Identité de groupe: le besoin de se sentir partie de quelque chose"

Théories sur l'identité

L'identité a été comprise de manière très différente dans les sciences sociales. La psychologie la plus traditionnelle propose, selon certaines perspectives, que l’identité est un fait individuel, fixé de manière totale, naturelle et fixe, avec des particularités spécifiques à chaque individu .


Par ailleurs, les propositions les plus classiques de la sociologie parlent d’identité comme l’effet d’une série de normes et de directives que les gens reproduisent et mettent en pratique. D'autre part, les propositions les plus contemporaines des sciences sociales nous disent que l'identité n'est pas un fait, mais un processus , avec lequel, il n’existe pas de début ni de fin dans certains cycles de vie.

C'est plutôt une série de transformations qui ont lieu dans des circonstances différentes qui ne sont ni fixes ni immuables. Dans ce sens, l’identité est comprise comme l’effet d’une série d’influences sociales; mais il est pareillement compris comme le résultat de l'agence elle-même.

En d'autres termes, les théories les plus contemporaines sur l'identité prennent de la distance avec la psychologie considérant qu'il s'agit d'un processus médié par des influences environnementales; et ils soulèvent également une distance avec la sociologie en considérant que les gens ne se limitent pas à reproduire ces influences de l'environnement, mais que nous les interprétons, nous les choisissons, nous créons des projets avec eux, etc.


De même, l’identité est conçue comme le produit de l’établissement d’une différence, complémentaire ou antagoniste. C’est-à-dire le résultat de la reconnaissance de caractéristiques communes à un groupe donné, différentes à la fois des caractéristiques d’individus et de groupes. C’est une différence que nous établissons pour générer une certitude sur ce que nous sommes individuellement et collectivement .

Culture: quelques définitions

Le concept de culture a été compris et utilisé de manières très différentes qui peuvent être retracées du contexte intellectuel nord-américain et européen du dix-huitième siècle. A l'origine, le concept de culture il était très lié à la civilisation , fait référence à toutes les qualités qui sont reconnues comme nécessaires pour qu'un membre soit considéré comme compétent dans une société.

La culture est ensuite comprise comme un ensemble d’outils, d’activités, d’attitudes et d’organisations permettant aux individus de répondre à leurs besoins. Par exemple, des petites tâches aux institutions sociales et à la répartition économique. Déjà au XIXe siècle, la culture commence à être compris par rapport à l'intellect , comme une série d’idées reflétées dans des schémas de comportement que les membres d’une société acquièrent et partagent par instruction ou par imitation. À partir de là, la culture a commencé à être comprise également en ce qui concerne les arts, les religions, les coutumes et les valeurs.

Après l’intellect, le concept de culture est également compris dans un sens humaniste étroitement lié au développement individuel, tant intellectuel que spirituel, associé aux activités et aux intérêts d’une communauté donnée.Dans le même sens, et parallèlement au développement de la science, la culture est comprise comme un discours collectif, qui est symbolique et qui articule des valeurs avec la connaissance.

Enfin, et compte tenu de la multiplicité évidente des façons de comprendre la "culture", il n’ya pas d’autre moyen que de commencer à penser qu’il n’ya pas une manifestation unique de celle-ci, avec laquelle une nouvelle compréhension du même concept est générée. La culture est alors comprise à partir de la diversité des visions du monde et des comportements , y compris les modes de vie et les attitudes des différentes communautés du monde.

Dans ce contexte, la reconnaissance de la diversité culturelle a été confrontée à certaines réminiscences de la relation ancienne entre culture et civilisation, à ce que certaines cultures ont compris comme supérieur et d’autres inférieur. De plus, la culture s’est établie en opposition à la nature et même en tant qu’obstacle au développement économique, en particulier lorsqu’elle s’applique sur le terrain de la gestion territoriale.

En bref, la culture est comprise en termes opérationnels comme l'ensemble des caractéristiques qui distinguent un groupe social (qui partage le même groupe). Ces traits sont compris comme acquis socialement et peuvent être spirituels, matériels ou émotionnels. Ils peuvent aussi être des modes de vie, des expressions artistiques et des formes de connaissance , valeurs, croyances et traditions.

Nous faisons partie d'un groupe et en même temps des individus

Les traits qui sont considérés comme typiques d'une culture parce qu'ils sont acquis socialement et parce qu'ils servent de signes distinctifs à un groupe, sont des éléments qui donnent lieu à une identité. C’est-à-dire à un processus de reconnaissance de soi-même devant les cadres d’interaction appartenant au groupe social auquel nous appartenons.

Ce sont des cadres qui nous offrent des schémas de référence et d’identification en fonction des valeurs du groupe lui-même; et cela nous offre une certitude sur les liens et notre fonction dans la communauté. De plus, l’identité culturelle nous donne une série de références historiques et physiques sur notre place dans le groupe social .

Par exemple, les possibilités de nous reconnaître en tant que femmes ou hommes, ou en tant que personnes appartenant à une classe ou à une autre, peuvent être différentes selon les cultures. Il en va de même pour l'identité qui correspond à certaines fonctions et institutions, telles qu'étudiants, enseignants, amis, frères, parents, etc.

Toutes ces caractéristiques donnent forme à différentes dimensions de l'identité qui coexistent et ils constituent le processus par lequel nous générons une perception et une appréciation de nous-mêmes, de notre groupe et des autres.

Références bibliographiques:

  • L'anthropologue débutant (2018). Qu'est ce que la culture? 17 définitions du mot culture en anthropologie. Récupéré le 17 juillet 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //antropologoprincipiante.com/2015/2015/20/la-palabra-cultura/.
  • Molano, L. (2004). Identité culturelle: un concept qui évolue. Opera, 7: 69-84.
  • Pujal i Llombart, M. (2004). L'identité In Ibáñez, T. (Ed) Introduction à la psychologie sociale. UOC éditorial: Barcelone.
  • Hall, S. et du Gay, P. (1996). Problèmes d'identité culturelle. Amorrortu: Buenos Aires-Madrid.

C'est quoi l'anthropologie ? (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes