yes, therapy helps!
Cyberbullying: analyzing the characteristics of virtual bullying

Cyberbullying: analyzing the characteristics of virtual bullying

June 24, 2021

Adolescence is a time of change and evolution. In this stage, in which both physical and mental maturation occurs, adolescents begin to move away from the family and authority figures to begin to give increasing importance to the group of peers, people who like them are searching for his identity.

However, this approach to their peers does not always result in a positive interaction, but it is possible that sometimes an abusive relationship is established, the result being bullying or, if the new technologies, cyberbullying, are used for it.

Related article: "The KiVa method: an idea that is ending bullying"

The invisible violence

"After the diffusion of that image in which he appeared nude, Fran found that they kept getting messages laughing at his physique, the situation is not only due to the virtual level, but in the class the mockery and humiliation were constant, reaching even to find the picture hooked on poles both inside and outside the school, his parents filed several complaints in order to stop the situation, but in spite of all the damage was already done.One day, after two months of continuous mockery, Fran he did not return home, he would be found a day later, hanging a tree in a nearby field, leaving behind him a farewell letter. "


The description of the previous events belongs to a fictitious case, but at the same time it has a very real similarity with the reality that many young people are harassed. In fact, its elaboration has been based on several real cases. To better understand the situation, it is essential to better understand what cyberbullying is .

What is cyberbullying?

Cyberbullying or cyberbullying is a subtype of indirect bullying that is carried out through social networks and new technologies . As in all types of bullying, this type of interaction is based on the intentional emission of a behavior with the objective of damaging or harassing another person, establishing a relationship of inequality between both subjects (that is, having the person dominate). aggressor on the victim) and being stable in time.


However, the fact of applying new technologies means that these characteristics of harassment are nuanced. While the existence of a relationship of inequality always occurs, we must bear in mind that the trigger can be a photo, a comment or a content that has been published or issued without the intention of harming anyone, being the harassment derived from a bad use of this publication (being located in this third person the intention to harm).

For example, if a friend or the same individual hangs up or sends someone a photo in which a partner goes wrong, it may not imply that he or she wants to humiliate him or her, but a third person may use it differently than intended. In the case of cyberbullying, Keep in mind that what is published on the Internet can be seen by many people (many of them unknown) and at any time, so that a single situation of harassment can have repercussions in numerous time intervals.


Further, the victim has a feeling of helplessness greater than in other types of aggressions , because because of the networks the attack can arrive at any time and place, and also does not know when it will be seen or by whom it will occur. Finally, unlike in cases of traditional bullying, in cyberbullying the harasser can be anonymous.

Types of cyberbullying

Cyberbullying is not a unitary phenomenon that occurs in a single way; There is a wide variety of forms that range from harassment of the victim and their social exclusion to the manipulation of data to harm a person in their own name. Internet is an environment known for the great variety of technological possibilities it offers, and unfortunately this also applies when using this medium as a tool to harass others ..

In the case of cyberbullying, strategies to harm someone can use all the potentialities of the network, from stored and easily disseminated photographs to the use of voice recordings or photomontages.

Clear examples are photographs and videos made and published without consent in order to blackmail or humiliate, direct threats through various platforms or websites created specifically to ridicule the victim. In addition, depending on the objective of the harassment, we can find cases like sextorssion, in which the victim is blackmailed in exchange for not publishing or extending photographs or videos of a sexual nature.

On the other hand, we must bear in mind that the most common cyberbullying, carried out by children and adolescents, can exploit all imaginable resources, given that the people belonging to the generation of digital natives They already learn to use all these tools from their early years.

The difference with grooming

It is important to note that cyberbullying occurs between minors or at least between peer groups. It is thus distinguished from grooming, in which an adult harasses a minor through the internet (usually for sexual purposes). In this second case, harassment through the Internet is frequent go associated with crimes .

What happens to the victim of cyberbullying?

It is common to see in the victims of cyberbullying a marked decrease in the level of self-esteem and self-concept, sometimes even to self-blame the situation. Insecurity, feelings of lack of competence and the shame of not being able to make the situation go away are frequently encountered in cases of cyberbullying.

In addition, many of the victims are coerced to maintain the law of silence for fear of the consequences of reporting. This causes a drop in school performance, which in turn feeds the decline in self-esteem. The victims of continued cyberbullying also perceive less social support, and in the long run the future affective bonding with third parties is hindered, inhibiting social development.

Also, when cyberbullying is very intense and lasts for months it is possible that victims end up presenting pathologies of personality or mood, such as severe depression or social phobia, even arriving (as in the fictitious case previously recreated) to lead to the suicide of the victim.

Prevent cyberbullying

In order to detect cases of cyberbullying, some indications that could be useful would be the monitoring and surveillance of changes in habits and the use of devices with Internet access (including concealment when used), lack of class attendance, abandonment of favorite activities, drastic reduction of school performance, changes in eating habits, weight variations, vomiting and diarrhea for no apparent reason, absence of eye contact, fear of recess, excessive closeness to adults, apathy, or lack of defense against jokes that may seem innocuous.

What to do if cyberbullying is detected?

In the case of detecting a situation of this type, it is necessary to establish a fluent communication with the student and his family, making him see that he is living an undeserved situation of which the minor is not at fault, helping to denounce the case and making him feel continued support. It is essential to teach and contribute to collect evidence of harassment (such as screen captures or use of programs that record conversations), in order to prove their existence.

In order to remedy the existence of cyberbullying, the establishment of preventive measures is fundamental. Different methodologies, such as the KiVa method, have proven the usefulness of working with the whole class group and especially with those students who are witnesses of the aggression, in order that the aggressor perceives rejection of his actions and does not see his behavior reinforced .

In the same way, it is essential to work with the attacked student and the aggressor student, in order to show support and improve the self-esteem of the first one and awaken the second's empathy making him see the possible damages that his behavior can cause both to the aggressed and to others ( including himself).

Cyberbullying, at a legal level in Spain

The virtual harassment supposes a series of serious crimes that can cause jail sentences of several years of duration . However, it must be considered that in Spain only from the age of 14 a criminal charge can be imputed, which means that jail sentences are mostly not applied.

In spite of this, the legal system has a series of disciplinary measures that can be put into practice in these cases. In addition, although the legal responsibility is of the minor aggressor in the first place, the legal responsible of the minor and the school where they are related harassed and stalker also possess it. It will be up to them to assume the compensations to the harassed as well as the sanctions that could correspond to them by themselves.

Before a case of cyberbullying crimes of induction to suicide, injuries (physical or moral), threats, coercion, torture may occur or crime against moral integrity, crimes against privacy, insults, violation of the right to one's own image and the inviolability of the domicile, discovery and disclosure of secrets (including the processing of personal data), computer damage and identity theft.

The corrective measures proposed for the aggressor include weekends, conducting socio-educational tasks for the benefit of the community, supervised release and restraining order.

A final reflection

The current study of the phenomenon of cyberbullying makes clear that there is much to work on, especially taking into account the constant evolution of technology and networks (new trends and applications appear). In addition, taking into account that new generations are born in an increasingly virtualized environment, the preventive policies that are currently applied should be advanced, going from being done in Secondary Education to providing basic notions in Primary Education.

In the same way, more training is needed in this respect in the professional sectors that deal with this type of case . Research in this regard is relatively scarce and very recent, requiring the creation of increasingly effective measures and protocols that can help end this scourge and improve the safety and quality of life of youth.

A psychosocial approach is necessary to end the problem of cyberbullying. This is a task that can be fulfilled if there are a series of social and cultural changes, among which are the development of awareness on the subject and the development of policies and school intervention methods that prevent this phenomenon. The KiVa method, for example, points in this direction, and has proven to be very effective. What is involved is not to intervene only in victims and abusers, but in all the social fabric that surrounds both.

Bibliographic references:

  • Calvete, E., Orue, I., Estévez, A., Villardón, L. & Padilla, P. (2010). Cyberbullying in Adolescents: Modalities and aggressors' profile. Computers in Human Behavior. 26, 1128-1135.
  • Castellana, M .; Sanchez-Carbonell, X .; Graner, C. & Beranuy, M. (2007). The adolescent in front of the information and communication technologies: Internet, mobile and videogames. Papers of the Psychologist. 28 (3); 196-204.
  • Del Rey, R., Elipe, P. & Ortega-Ruiz, R. (2012). Bullying and Cyberbullying: Overlapping and Predictive Value of the Co-occurrence. Psicothema 24, 608-613.
  • Del Rey, R .; Flores, J .; Garmendia, M; Martínez, G .; Ortega, R. & Tejerina, O. (2011). Protocol of school performance before cyberbullying. Bilbao: Department of Education, Universities and Research. Basque Country; Multidisciplinary Research Team on cyberbullying.
  • Attorney General of the State (2005). Instruction FGE 10/2005, of October 6, on the treatment of bullying from juvenile justice.
  • Garaigordobil, M. (2011). Prevalence and consequences of cyberbullying: a review. International Journal of Psychology and Psychological Therapy. 11, 233-254.
  • Ortega, R., Calmaestra, J. & Mora-Merchán, J. (2008) Cyberbullying. International Journal of Psychology and Psychological Therapy. 8 (2), 183-192
  • Richardson, D.R., Green, L.R. (1999) Social sanction and threat explanations of gender effects on direct and indirect aggression. Aggressive Behavior 25 (6), 425-434.
  • Romera, E., Cano, J.J., García-Fernández, C.M., Ortega-Ruiz, R. (2016). Cyberbullying: social competence, motivation and relationships between equals. Communicate. 48, 71-79.
  • Siegel, D. (2014). Brain Storm Barcelona: Alba.
  • Smith P.K. (1989). The Silent Nightmare: Bullying and Victimization in School Peer Groups. Paper. London: Annual Congress British Psychological Society.
  • Smith, P.K., Mahdavi, J., Carvalho, C. & Tippett, N. (2006). An investigation into cyberbullying, its forms, awareness and impact, and the relationship between age and gender in cyberbullying. A Report to the Anti-Bullying AllianceReserch Report. London Department for Education and Skills.
  • Torrealday, L. & Fernández, A. (2014). Cyberbullying Organization and Educational Management. Four.

What cyberbullying really is and how we can fight it | Nafsika Antoniadou | TEDxThessaloniki (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Cyberintimidation: analyser les caractéristiques de l'intimidation virtuelle

Cyberintimidation: analyser les caractéristiques de l'intimidation virtuelle

Mai 11, 2021

L'adolescence est une période de changement et d'évolution. Dans cette phase de maturation physique et mentale, les adolescents commencent à s'éloigner de la famille et les figures d'autorité commencent à accorder une importance croissante au groupe de pairs, des personnes qui, comme eux, recherchent votre identité

Cependant, cette approche vis-à-vis de leurs pairs n'entraîne pas toujours une interaction positive, mais il est parfois possible qu'une relation abusive soit établie, entraînant le harcèlement ou, si les nouvelles technologies, la cyberintimidation, sont utilisés pour cela.

Article connexe: "La méthode KiVa: une idée qui met fin à l'intimidation"

La violence invisible

"Après la diffusion de cette image dans laquelle il est apparu nu, Fran a constaté qu’ils n'arrêtaient pas de se moquer de son physique, la situation n’est pas due au niveau virtuel, mais dans la classe les moqueries et les humiliations étaient constantes, atteignant même pour trouver la photo accrochée aux poteaux à la fois à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur de l'école, ses parents ont déposé plusieurs plaintes afin de mettre un terme à la situation, mais en dépit de tous les dégâts déjà causés. Un jour, après deux mois de moqueries continuelles, Fran il n'est pas rentré chez lui, on le retrouverait un jour plus tard, suspendu à un arbre dans un champ voisin, laissant derrière lui une lettre d'adieu. "


La description des événements précédents appartient à une affaire fictive, mais elle présente en même temps une similitude très réelle avec le fait que beaucoup de jeunes sont harcelés. En fait, son élaboration a été basée sur plusieurs cas réels. Pour mieux comprendre la situation, il est essentiel de mieux comprendre ce qu'est la cyberintimidation. .

Qu'est-ce que la cyberintimidation?

Cyberintimidation ou cyberintimidation est un sous-type d'intimidation indirecte réalisée via les réseaux sociaux et les nouvelles technologies . Comme dans tous les types d'intimidation, ce type d'interaction est basé sur l'émission intentionnelle d'un comportement ayant pour objectif de blesser ou de harceler une autre personne, en établissant une relation d'inégalité entre les deux sujets (c'est-à-dire en faisant dominer la personne). agresseur sur la victime) et stable dans le temps.


Cependant, le fait d’appliquer de nouvelles technologies signifie que ces caractéristiques du harcèlement sont nuancées. Bien que l'existence d'un lien d'inégalité existe toujours, nous devons garder à l'esprit que le déclencheur peut être une photo, un commentaire ou un contenu publié ou publié sans intention de nuire à personne, étant du harcèlement. dérive d'une mauvaise utilisation de cette publication (étant situé dans cette tierce personne l'intention de nuire).

Par exemple, si un ami ou la même personne raccroche ou envoie à quelqu'un une photo dans laquelle un partenaire va mal, cela ne signifie pas nécessairement qu'il ou elle veut l'humilier, mais une tierce personne peut l'utiliser autrement que prévu. Dans le cas de la cyberintimidation, Gardez à l'esprit que ce qui est publié sur Internet peut être vu par beaucoup de gens (nombre d’entre eux inconnus) et à tout moment, de sorte qu’une seule situation de harcèlement puisse avoir des répercussions à plusieurs reprises.


En outre, la victime a un sentiment d'impuissance plus grand que dans d'autres types d'agressions , à cause des réseaux, l’attaque peut arriver à tout moment et n’importe où, et ne sait pas non plus quand elle sera vue ni par qui elle se produira. Enfin, contrairement aux cas d’intimidation traditionnelle, le harceleur peut être anonyme dans la cyberintimidation.

Types de cyberintimidation

La cyberintimidation n'est pas un phénomène unitaire qui se produit de manière unique; Il existe une grande variété de formes allant du harcèlement de la victime et de son exclusion sociale à la manipulation de données pour nuire à une personne en son nom propre. Internet est un environnement reconnu pour la grande variété de possibilités technologiques qu’il offre et, malheureusement, cela s’applique également lors de l’utilisation de ce support. comme un outil pour harceler les autres ..

Dans le cas de la cyberintimidation, les stratégies visant à blesser quelqu'un peuvent utiliser toutes les potentialités du réseau, des photographies stockées et facilement diffusées à l'utilisation d'enregistrements vocaux ou de photomontages.

Des exemples clairs sont des photographies et des vidéos réalisées et publiées sans consentement afin de faire chanter ou d'humilier des menaces directes via des plates-formes ou des sites Web créés spécifiquement pour ridiculiser la victime. En outre, en fonction de l'objectif du harcèlement, nous pouvons trouver des cas tels que sextorssion, où la victime est soumise à un chantage en échange de ne pas publier ou prolonger des photographies ou des vidéos à caractère sexuel.

D'autre part, nous devons garder à l'esprit que la cyberintimidation la plus courante, pratiquée par des enfants et des adolescents, peut exploiter toutes les ressources imaginables, étant donné que les personnes appartenant à le génération de natifs numériques Ils apprennent déjà à utiliser tous ces outils dès leur plus jeune âge.

La différence avec le toilettage

Il est important de noter que la cyberintimidation se produit entre mineurs ou au moins entre groupes de pairs. Il se distingue ainsi du toilettage, dans lequel un adulte harcèle un mineur par Internet (généralement à des fins sexuelles). Dans ce second cas, le harcèlement via Internet est fréquent aller associé à des crimes .

Qu'advient-il de la victime de la cyberintimidation?

Il est fréquent de voir chez les victimes de cyberintimidation une diminution marquée du niveau d'estime de soi et de confiance en soi, parfois même de blâmer la situation. L'insécurité, les sentiments d'incompétence et la honte de ne pas pouvoir faire disparaître la situation sont fréquents dans les cas de cyberintimidation.

En outre, de nombreuses victimes sont contraintes de respecter la loi du silence par crainte des conséquences de la dénonciation. Cela entraîne une baisse des performances scolaires, ce qui alimente à son tour le déclin de l'estime de soi. Les victimes de la cyberintimidation continuent également à percevoir moins de soutien social et, à long terme, le futur lien affectif avec des tiers est compromis, ce qui entrave le développement social.

En outre, lorsque la cyberintimidation est très intense et dure des mois, il est possible que les victimes présentent des pathologies de la personnalité ou de l'humeur, telles qu'une dépression grave ou une phobie sociale, et parviennent même (comme dans le cas fictif précédemment recréé) à conduire au suicide de la victime.

Prévenir la cyberintimidation

Afin de détecter les cas de cyberintimidation, des indications utiles pourraient être le suivi et la surveillance des changements d'habitudes et l'utilisation d'appareils avec accès à Internet (y compris la dissimulation lors de l'utilisation), le manque d'assiduité aux cours, l'abandon des cours. activités préférées, réduction drastique des performances scolaires, modification des habitudes alimentaires, variations de poids, vomissements et diarrhée sans raison apparente, absence de contact visuel, peur de se faire récréer, proximité excessive avec les adultes, apathie ou absence de défense contre des blagues qui peuvent paraître anodines.

Que faire si la cyberintimidation est détectée?

Dans le cas de la détection d’une situation de ce type, il est nécessaire d’établir une communication fluide avec l’étudiant et sa famille, en lui faisant voir qu’il vit une situation imméritée dont le mineur n’est pas fautif, en aidant à dénoncer le cas et en lui faisant sentir soutien continu. Il est essentiel d'enseigner et de contribuer à la collecte de preuves de harcèlement (telles que des captures d'écran ou l'utilisation de programmes enregistrant des conversations), afin de prouver leur existence.

Afin de remédier à la cyberintimidation, la mise en place de mesures préventives est fondamentale. Différentes méthodologies, telles que la méthode KiVa, ont prouvé l'utilité de travailler avec tout le groupe de la classe, et en particulier avec les élèves témoins de l'agression, afin que l'agresseur perçoive le rejet de ses actions et ne voit pas son comportement renforcé .

De la même manière, il est essentiel de travailler avec l'élève attaqué et l'élève agresseur, afin de montrer son soutien et d'améliorer l'estime de soi du premier et d'éveiller l'empathie du second en lui faisant voir les dommages éventuels que son comportement peut causer à la fois à l'agressé et aux autres ( y compris lui-même).

Cyberintimidation au niveau juridique en Espagne

Le harcèlement virtuel suppose une série de crimes graves pouvant entraîner des peines de prison de plusieurs années. . Cependant, il faut considérer qu'en Espagne, une accusation pénale ne peut être imputée qu'à partir de 14 ans, ce qui signifie que les peines d'emprisonnement ne sont généralement pas appliquées.

Malgré cela, le système juridique prévoit une série de mesures disciplinaires pouvant être mises en pratique dans ces affaires. En outre, bien que la responsabilité légale incombe en premier lieu à l'agresseur mineur, le responsable légal du mineur et l'école où ils sont liés sont harcelés et le harceleur le possède également. Il leur appartiendra d'assumer les compensations aux personnes harcelées ainsi que les sanctions qui pourraient leur correspondre.

Avant un cas de cyberintimidation des crimes d'induction au suicide, des blessures (physiques ou morales), des menaces, la contrainte, la torture peuvent se produire ou crime contre l'intégrité morale, crimes contre la vie privée, insultes, violation du droit à la propre image et de l'inviolabilité du domicile, découverte et divulgation de secrets (y compris le traitement de données à caractère personnel), dommages informatiques et vol d'identité.

Les mesures correctives proposées pour l'agresseur comprennent les week-ends, l'exécution de tâches socio-éducatives au profit de la communauté, la libération surveillée et les ordonnances de ne pas faire

Une dernière réflexion

L’étude actuelle du phénomène de la cyberintimidation montre clairement qu’il reste encore beaucoup à faire, compte tenu en particulier de l’évolution constante de la technologie et des réseaux (de nouvelles tendances et applications apparaissent). En outre, compte tenu du fait que les nouvelles générations sont nées dans un environnement de plus en plus virtualisé, les politiques préventives actuellement appliquées devraient être renforcées, passant de l'enseignement secondaire à la fourniture des notions de base de l'enseignement primaire.

De la même manière, plus de formation est nécessaire à cet égard dans les secteurs professionnels concernés par ce type de cas. . La recherche à cet égard est relativement rare et très récente, nécessitant la création de mesures et de protocoles de plus en plus efficaces pour aider à mettre fin à ce fléau et à améliorer la sécurité et la qualité de vie des jeunes.

Une approche psychosociale est nécessaire pour mettre fin au problème de la cyberintimidation. C’est une tâche qui peut être remplie s’il ya une série de changements sociaux et culturels, parmi lesquels le développement de la sensibilisation sur le sujet et l’élaboration de politiques et de programmes. méthodes d'intervention scolaire qui empêchent ce phénomène. La méthode KiVa, par exemple, va dans cette direction et s’est révélée très efficace. Il ne s'agit pas d'intervenir uniquement auprès des victimes et des agresseurs, mais de tout le tissu social qui les entoure.

Références bibliographiques:

  • E. Calvete, I. Orue, A. Estévez, L. Villardón et P. Padilla (2010). Cyberintimidation chez les adolescents: modalités et profil des agresseurs. Ordinateurs dans le comportement humain. 26, 1128-1135.
  • Castellana, M.; Sanchez-Carbonell, X .; Graner, C. & Beranuy, M. (2007). L'adolescent face aux technologies de l'information et de la communication: Internet, mobile et jeux vidéo. Papiers du psychologue. 28 (3); 196-204.
  • Del Rey, R., Elipe, P. et Ortega-Ruiz, R. (2012). Intimidation et cyberintimidation: Chevauchement et valeur prédictive de la cooccurrence. Psicothema 24, 608-613.
  • Del Rey, R .; Flores, J .; Garmendia, M; Martínez, G.; Ortega, R. & Tejerina, O. (2011). Protocole de performance scolaire avant la cyberintimidation. Bilbao: Département de l’éducation, des universités et de la recherche. Pays Basque; Équipe de recherche multidisciplinaire sur la cyberintimidation.
  • Procureur général de l'État (2005). Instruction FGE 10/2005 du 6 octobre sur le traitement des brimades par la justice pour mineurs.
  • Garaigordobil, M. (2011). Prévalence et conséquences de la cyberintimidation: examen. Journal international de psychologie et de thérapie psychologique, 11, 233-254.
  • Ortega, R., Calmaestra, J. et Mora-Merchán, J. (2008) Cyberbullying. Journal international de psychologie et de thérapie psychologique. 8 (2), 183-192
  • Richardson, D.R., Green, L.R. (1999) Sanction sociale et explications de la menace des effets du genre sur l'agression directe et indirecte. Comportement agressif 25 (6), 425-434.
  • Romera, E., Cano, J.J., García-Fernández, C. M., Ortega-Ruiz, R. (2016). Cyberintimidation: compétence sociale, motivation et relations entre égaux. Communiquer 48, 71-79.
  • Siegel, D. (2014). Tempête de cerveau Barcelone: ​​Alba.
  • Smith P.K. (1989). The Silent Nightmare: Intimidation et victimisation dans les groupes de camarades d'école. Papier. Londres: Congrès annuel British Psychological Society.
  • Smith, P.K., Mahdavi, J., Carvalho, C. et Tippett, N. (2006). Une enquête sur la cyberintimidation, ses formes, sa notoriété et son impact, ainsi que sur la relation entre l'âge et le sexe dans la cyberintimidation. Rapport au rapport AllianceReserch contre l'intimidation. Londres Département de l'éducation et des compétences.
  • Torrealday, L. & Fernández, A. (2014). La cyberintimidation Organisation et gestion de l'éducation. 4

SERENE RISC Comportement d'autrui (Mai 2021).


Articles Connexes