yes, therapy helps!
Cyberbullying: technological aggression

Cyberbullying: technological aggression

July 19, 2024

It is a reality that people start using technologies (mobile, internet, etc.) at increasingly younger ages. Whenever I think about this I remember the video of that baby trying to enlarge a paper photo with the sole power of his fingers.

Having premature contact with this infinite virtual world full of possibilities is not matched to the maturity, also necessary, to know the risks of the network and the appropriate tools to self-protect, as well as the criterion to discriminate the moderately reliable information from which it is not.

When technological means such as internet, mobile or online videogames are used to exert peer psychological harassment, we talk about a phenomenon called cyberbullying or cyberbullying .


What is cyberbullying?

It is a particular type of harassment that occurs between peers, friends and people of similar age group and that can have different manifestations within the ICT environment (offenses, threats, blackmail, humiliation, insults ...).

The cyber goes one step beyond bullying or traditional harassment. They are two forms of aggression between equals that share many characteristics. However, the first has certain peculiarities that make it even more harmful for the victim.

In anonymity in networks

In the first place, the fact that aggression is exercised through a virtual space favors the anonymity of the aggressor. This status gives the individual greater freedom to act, since he is less exposed to being caught . Put another way, compared to what happens in traditional harassment, in cyberbullying the attacker gets "more for less".


Constant and almost uncontrollable attacks

Second, the victim of cyberbullying becomes, once elected, an "easy target" for the aggressor . It is available 24 hours a day, while in bullying, attacks are usually limited to those moments and spaces where both parties coexist (for example, the school), leaving the child "freed" from the pressure when he returns to the security of your home.

In addition, it must be added that contacts are always initiated at the will of the aggressor, without the victim having any control over them.

It is accessible at all times and can not avoid, as would happen in bullying, transit certain sites that you know are dangerous, since the network, in this sense, keeps them continuously connected. This causes the victim to develop a feeling of unpredictability and uncontrollability that generates anxiety and fears.


Lack of empathy in cyberbullying

Another differentiating aspect of this type of harassment has to do with distancing from the victim and the absence of social cues. The fact of not seeing the face and suffering of the person who is being insulted, humiliating, threatening, etc. facilitates the development of these behaviors.

This distance hinders empathy, that is, the ability to put oneself in the skin of the victim and know how he is feeling, which could suppose a brake on the aggression.

Regarding social cues, in cyberbullying neither are there direct spectators who give negative feedback to the aggressor (disagreement, bad faces, defense of the victim and other elements used in initiatives such as the KiVa method) that allow the latter to regulate their own behavior. He is alone and free of all feedback to act.

The massive use -and in some cases exclusive- of virtual environments for the development of social relations has some risks such as the tendency to depersonalization ("I in the network vs. I in reality"), the fantasy-reality confusion (forgetting that this insult is as real as if I say it in person) or the construction of erroneous moral judgments.

Public humiliation

Two last characteristics make the effect of cyberbullying more powerful. First, thanks to the technologies, the harasser can reach a much wider audience , for example, spreading a hoax about the person in one of their social networks. Second, I'm sure you've heard that "what's hanging on the net, stays in the network".

Because of this, the effect of aggression through the environment of technologies and the Internet is much more permanent. It is not limited to the moment in which the person is insulted, but rather it stays for a long time in that virtual cloud .

The cases of cyberbullying are growing in a worrying way. The introduction into the world of technologies should come with an "instruction manual", administered by educators, parents, etc., that Include a section aimed at raising awareness about the risks and the real impact that cyberbullying can have in a person's life and train in adequate self-protection measures.


Cyberbullying - What Can You Do to Help? (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Cyberintimidation: agression technologique

Cyberintimidation: agression technologique

Juin 5, 2020

En réalité, les gens commencent à utiliser les technologies (mobile, Internet, etc.) de plus en plus jeunes. Chaque fois que je pense à cela, je me souviens de la vidéo de ce bébé essayant d'agrandir une photo sur papier avec la seule force de ses doigts.

Avoir un contact prématuré avec ce monde virtuel infini plein de possibilités n’est pas à la mesure de la maturité, elle aussi nécessaire, pour connaître les risques du réseau et des outils appropriés pour se protéger, ainsi que du critère permettant de discriminer les informations moyennement fiables dont on dispose. ce n'est pas ça.

Lorsque des moyens technologiques tels qu'Internet, des jeux vidéo mobiles ou en ligne sont utilisés pour exercer du harcèlement psychologique entre pairs, on parle de un phénomène appelé cyberintimidation ou cyberintimidation .


Qu'est-ce que la cyberintimidation?

C’est un type particulier de harcèlement qui se produit entre pairs, amis et personnes du même groupe d’âge et qui peut avoir différentes manifestations dans l'environnement des TIC (délits, menaces, chantage, humiliation, insultes ...).

La cyber-informatique va au-delà de l’intimidation ou du harcèlement traditionnel. Ce sont deux formes d’agression entre égaux qui partagent de nombreuses caractéristiques. Cependant, le premier présente certaines particularités qui le rendent encore plus préjudiciable pour la victime.

Dans l'anonymat dans les réseaux

En premier lieu, le fait que l'agression soit exercée à travers un espace virtuel favorise l'anonymat de l'agresseur. Ce statut donne à la personne une plus grande liberté d’agir, puisque il est moins exposé à être attrapé . En d'autres termes, par rapport à ce qui se passe dans le harcèlement traditionnel, l'attaquant victime de cyberintimidation obtient "plus pour moins".


Attaques constantes et presque incontrôlables

Deuxièmement, la victime de la cyberintimidation devient, une fois élu, une "cible facile" pour l'agresseur . Il est disponible 24 heures sur 24, tandis que dans le cas d'intimidation, les attaques se limitent généralement aux moments et aux espaces où les deux parties coexistent (par exemple, l'école), laissant ainsi "l'enfant" libéré de la pression lorsqu'il revient votre maison

En outre, il faut ajouter que les contacts sont toujours établis à la volonté de l'agresseur, sans que la victime puisse les contrôler.

Il est accessible à tout moment et ne peut éviter, comme ce serait le cas en cas d’intimidation, le transit de certains sites que vous savez dangereux, car le réseau, en ce sens, les maintient connectés en permanence. Cela provoque la victime à développer un sentiment d'imprévisibilité et incontrôlable cela génère de l'anxiété et des peurs.


Manque d'empathie dans la cyberintimidation

Un autre aspect différenciant de ce type de harcèlement a trait à l'éloignement de la victime et à l'absence de signaux sociaux. Le fait de ne pas voir le visage et la souffrance de la personne qui est insulté, humiliant, menaçant, etc. facilite le développement de ces comportements.

Cette distance entrave l'empathie, c'est-à-dire la capacité de se mettre dans la peau de la victime et de savoir comment il se sent, ce qui pourrait supposer un frein à l'agression.

En ce qui concerne les signaux sociaux, dans la cyberintimidation il n'y a pas non plus de spectateurs directs qui donnent une réaction négative à l'agresseur (désaccord, mauvais visage, défense de la victime et autres éléments utilisés dans des initiatives telles que la méthode KiVa) qui permettent à cette dernière de réglementer son propre comportement. Il est seul et libre de tout retour pour agir.

L'utilisation massive - et dans certains cas exclusive - d'environnements virtuels pour le développement de relations sociales présente certains risques, tels que la tendance à la dépersonnalisation ("I dans le réseau contre I en réalité"), la confusion fantasmatique / réalité (en oubliant que cette insulte est aussi réelle que si je le disais en personne) ou la construction de jugements moraux erronés.

Humiliation publique

Deux dernières caractéristiques renforcent l’effet de la cyberintimidation. Tout d’abord, grâce aux technologies, le harceleur peut atteindre un public beaucoup plus large , par exemple, répandre un canular sur la personne dans l’un de ses réseaux sociaux. Deuxièmement, je suis sûr que vous avez entendu dire que "ce qui est suspendu sur le net reste dans le réseau".

De ce fait, l’agression à travers l’environnement des technologies et d’Internet est bien plus permanente. Il ne se limite pas au moment où la personne est insultée, mais plutôt il reste longtemps dans ce nuage virtuel .

Les cas de cyberintimidation se multiplient de manière inquiétante. L'introduction dans le monde des technologies devrait s'accompagner d'un "manuel d'instruction", administré par les éducateurs, les parents, etc., qui Inclure une section visant à sensibiliser le public aux risques et à l'impact réel de la cyberintimidation dans la vie d'une personne et s'entraîner aux mesures d'autoprotection adéquates.


Cyber intimidation- sec 1 (Juin 2020).


Articles Connexes