yes, therapy helps!
Cynics earn less money than optimists, study finds

Cynics earn less money than optimists, study finds

November 27, 2021

Many times the optimists are criticized for not having their feet on the ground. Although the excess of optimism can be harmful, especially when one stops being objective and is carried away by unfounded optimism, or Research reveals that optimistic people earn more money than cynical people .

Cynicism has a price

Being a cynical person has a price: it causes you to earn less money. This is the conclusion reached by the researchers from the University of Cologne (Germany). The study, published by the APA (American Psychological Association) and headed by Olga Stavrova and Daniel Ehlebracht, affirms that cynicism is not only affects physical and emotional health, but also affects the portfolio.


This only happens in countries with high levels of altruistic behavior and a low homicide rate. In this group are Holland, Italy, Finland and Sweden.

Cynicism affects the health and the portfolio

Olga Stravova, a researcher at the Institute of Sociology and Social Psychology at the University of Cologne, says: "Previous research on the consequences of having an attitude of cynicism indicate that it negatively affects different aspects. Cynicism has negative consequences for physical health, psychological well-being, the relationship of a couple and, as this study states, the pocket of the cynical person ".

This investigation revealed that the optimists earn an average of $ 3,600 more per year than the cynics . In addition, the latter often miss valuable opportunities to work as a team and cooperate with people who can help them increase their income.


The study used data from Europe and the United States

The study involved more than 16,000 subjects who responded to questionnaires that measured distrust and attitude of cynicism. Afterwards, these results were compared with the income of the respondents. The participants were people residing in Europe and the United States and the study combines results from different investigations.

The first investigation used data from 1,146 participants who participated in a survey of Americans' Changing Lives in 2002 and 2011.

The second study used data from 497 participants in a study published in the General Social Survey that was conducted in 2010 and 2012. The responses were similar to the study mentioned above.

The third study involved 15,698 Germans who were surveyed annually from 2003 to 2012. The findings were similar in all the studies.


Despite the results obtained, Olga Stavrova, the co-author of the research, points out that "paradoxically in other countries where there is less philanthropy and more antisocial behavior, the most cynical people earn less than the optimists. This happens in countries where this type of attitude is justified on a cultural level. "


Getting stuck in the negatives (and how to get unstuck) | Alison Ledgerwood | TEDxUCDavis (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Une étude révèle que les cyniques gagnent moins d'argent que les optimistes

Une étude révèle que les cyniques gagnent moins d'argent que les optimistes

Mai 16, 2022

Les optimistes sont souvent critiqués pour ne pas avoir les pieds sur terre. Bien que l'excès d'optimisme puisse être préjudiciable, en particulier lorsque l'on cesse d'être objectif et se laisse emporter par un optimisme sans fondement, vous La recherche révèle que les personnes optimistes gagnent plus d'argent que les cyniques .

Le cynisme a un prix

Être cynique a un prix: cela vous fait gagner moins d’argent. C’est la conclusion à laquelle sont parvenus les chercheurs de l’Université de Cologne (Allemagne). L’étude, publiée par le APA (American Psychological Association) et présidée par Olga Stavrova et Daniel Ehlebracht, affirme que le cynisme n’affecte pas seulement la santé physique et émotionnelle, mais aussi le portefeuille.


Cela ne se produit que dans les pays où niveaux élevés de comportement altruiste et un faible taux d'homicides. La Hollande, l’Italie, la Finlande et la Suède font partie de ce groupe.

Le cynisme affecte la santé et le portefeuille

Olga Stravova, chercheuse à l'Institut de sociologie et de psychologie sociale de l'Université de Cologne, a déclaré: "Des recherches antérieures sur les conséquences d'une attitude cynique indiquent qu'elle affecte négativement différents aspects. Le cynisme a des conséquences négatives sur la santé physique, le bien-être psychologique, la relation de couple et, comme le dit cette étude, la poche de la personne cynique ".

Cette enquête a révélé que les optimistes gagnent en moyenne 3 600 $ de plus par an que les cyniques . En outre, ces derniers manquent souvent de précieuses opportunités de travailler en équipe et de coopérer avec des personnes susceptibles de les aider à augmenter leurs revenus.


L'étude a utilisé des données provenant d'Europe et des États-Unis.

L'étude a impliqué plus de 16 000 sujets ayant répondu à des questionnaires mesurant la méfiance et l'attitude cynique. Ensuite, ces résultats ont été comparés au revenu des répondants. Les participants étaient des personnes résidant en Europe et aux États-Unis et l’étude combine les résultats de différentes enquêtes.

La première enquête a utilisé les données de 1 146 participants ayant participé à une enquête sur les vies en mutation des Américains en 2002 et 2011.

La deuxième étude a utilisé les données de 497 participants à une étude publiée dans l'Enquête sociale générale menée en 2010 et 2012. Les réponses étaient similaires à celles de l'étude susmentionnée.

La troisième étude portait sur 15 698 Allemands interrogés chaque année entre 2003 et 2012. Les résultats étaient similaires dans toutes les études.


Malgré les résultats obtenus, Olga Stavrova, co-auteur de la recherche, souligne que "paradoxalement, dans les pays où la philanthropie est moins présente et le comportement antisocial plus développé, les personnes les plus cyniques gagnent moins que les optimistes. Cela se produit dans des pays où ce type d'attitude est justifié sur le plan culturel. "


Biblical Series IV: Adam and Eve: Self-Consciousness, Evil, and Death (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes