yes, therapy helps!
Dandy Walker malformation: causes, symptoms and treatment

Dandy Walker malformation: causes, symptoms and treatment

June 24, 2021

Congenital diseases occur during the intrauterine development of the baby. In this article we will talk about one of them: the malformation of Dandy Walker , which affects the cerebellum and nearby regions and produces severe symptoms such as hydrocephalus.

We will explain what they are the causes of this syndrome and what signs and symptoms can help to identify it . The early detection of this malformation can be fundamental to ensure the survival of the baby.

What is the malformation of Dandy Walker?

Dandy Walker syndrome is an encephalic disorder that occurs during embryonic development. In particular, they are produced malformations in the cerebellum, at the base of the skull and in the fourth ventricle.


The cerebellum is located in the lower part of the brain. He is involved in the control of movement, cognition, attention and learning. Damage to the cerebellum often hinders movement, balance and motor learning.

The cerebral ventricles are cavities of the brain through which the cerebrospinal fluid circulates, which cushions blows to the head and transports nutrients to the brain, among other functions similar to those of blood plasma. The fourth ventricle connects the brain to the central duct of the spinal cord.

The malformation of Dandy Walker occurs in 1 in 30 thousand births approximately, and is the cause of between 4 and 12% of cases of infantile hydrocephalus. It is more common in girls than boys.


Approximately 70% of babies with this syndrome die . However, the prognosis varies according to the intensity of the alterations. While some affected children develop normally in the cognitive area, others may have very severe affectations even after treatment.

  • Related article: "Human cerebellum: its parts and functions"

Symptoms and signs

The three main manifestations of the alterations in the posterior fossa are the underdevelopment of the cerebellar vermis , which connects the two hemispheres of this structure, the cystic dilation of the fourth ventricle and the increase in the size of the posterior cerebral fossa, located at the base of the skull.

The malformation of Dandy Walker frequently causes hydrocephalus , a disorder in which the cerebrospinal fluid accumulates in the brain increasing the cranial pressure, inflaming the head and damaging the brain.


The symptoms of this disease vary depending on the severity of the case and the age. In addition to hydrocephalus, girls and boys diagnosed with Dandy Walker usually present The following associated signs and symptoms :

  • Muscular atrophy
  • Alteration of muscle tone
  • Discoordination and lack of balance (ataxia)
  • Delay in motor development
  • Cognitive deficits
  • Increase in intracranial pressure
  • Nystagmus (uncontrollable movements of the eyes)
  • Convulsive crisis
  • Headache
  • Vomiting
  • Respiratory failure

Causes of this syndrome

The malformation of Dandy Walker occurs due to alterations in the development of the cerebellum and the surrounding areas during early pregnancy. Specifically, this syndrome has been associated with the suppression, absence and duplication of some chromosomes .

Genetic components have been found related to these alterations, possibly linked to the X chromosome or consisting of autosomal recessive inheritance. The risk of recurrence in children of women who have already had babies with Dandy Walker is between 1 and 5%.

These genetic factors are multiple and they can interact with each other, as well as give rise to different alterations of the posterior cerebral fossa.

Environmental factors may also be relevant in the development of this disorder, although they appear to have a lower weight than that of biological factors.

Related disorders

Normally the malformations of the posterior cerebral fossa are classified within the Dandy Walker syndrome, although there may be various alterations depending on the affected areas.

A similar disorder is what we know as "variant of Dandy-Walker syndrome"; This category includes conditions of the cerebellum and fourth ventricle that are not strictly classifiable as Dandy-Walker malformation.

In these cases the signs and symptoms are less severe: generally the posterior fossa and the fourth ventricle are less enlarged and the encysted part is also smaller. In the variant of the Dandy-Walker syndrome, hydrocephalus is less frequent.

Other nearby diseases are ciliopathies, which affect the intracellular organelles called cilia . The ciliopathies are caused by genetic defects and cause multiple alterations in body development, including those that are specific to Dandy-Walker.

Intervention and treatment

Hydrocephalus is treated by draining affected areas of the brain in an assisted manner: a tube is surgically inserted to redirect cerebrospinal fluid to regions where it can be reabsorbed.

Another method that has recently been used in the treatment of Dandy Walker syndrome is the puncture of the third ventricle. This is carried out with the aim of decreasing the size of the ventricular cyst and thus reduce the symptoms.

Motor therapy and linguistic rehabilitation They are essential to help children with this disease. The support of families is also key to ensure the welfare and proper development of children.


What is Dandy Walker Syndrome? (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Malformation de Dandy Walker: causes, symptômes et traitement

Malformation de Dandy Walker: causes, symptômes et traitement

Juillet 22, 2022

Les maladies congénitales surviennent pendant le développement intra-utérin du bébé. Dans cet article, nous allons parler de l'un d'entre eux: la malformation de Dandy Walker , qui affecte le cervelet et les régions avoisinantes et produit des symptômes graves tels que l’hydrocéphalie.

Nous allons expliquer ce qu'ils sont le causes de ce syndrome et quels signes et symptômes peuvent aider à l'identifier . La détection précoce de cette malformation peut être fondamentale pour assurer la survie du bébé.

Quelle est la malformation de Dandy Walker?

Le syndrome de Dandy Walker est un trouble encéphalique qui survient au cours du développement embryonnaire. En particulier, ils sont produits malformations au cervelet, à la base du crâne et dans le quatrième ventricule.


Le cervelet est situé dans la partie inférieure du cerveau. Il est impliqué dans le contrôle du mouvement, de la cognition, de l'attention et de l'apprentissage. Les dommages au cervelet entravent souvent le mouvement, l'équilibre et l'apprentissage moteur.

Les ventricules cérébraux sont des cavités du cerveau dans lesquelles circule le liquide céphalo-rachidien, qui amortit les coups portés à la tête et transportent les nutriments vers le cerveau, entre autres fonctions analogues à celles du plasma sanguin. Le quatrième ventricule relie le cerveau au conduit central de la moelle épinière.

La malformation de Dandy Walker se produit dans 1 naissance sur 30 000 est à l’origine de 4 à 12% des cas d’hydrocéphalie infantile. Il est plus fréquent chez les filles que les garçons.


Environ 70% des bébés atteints de ce syndrome meurent . Cependant, le pronostic varie en fonction de l'intensité des modifications. Bien que certains enfants affectés se développent normalement dans la région cognitive, d’autres peuvent avoir des affections très graves même après le traitement.

  • Article connexe: "Cervelet humain: ses parties et ses fonctions"

Symptômes et signes

Les trois principales manifestations des altérations de la fosse postérieure sont le sous-développement du vermis cérébelleux , qui relie les deux hémisphères de cette structure, la dilatation kystique du quatrième ventricule et l’augmentation de la taille de la fosse cérébrale postérieure, située à la base du crâne.

La malformation de Dandy Walker provoque fréquemment une hydrocéphalie , trouble dans lequel le liquide céphalo-rachidien s'accumule dans le cerveau, augmentant la pression crânienne, enflammant la tête et endommageant le cerveau.


Les symptômes de cette maladie varient en fonction de la gravité du cas et de l'âge. En plus de l’hydrocéphalie, les filles et les garçons chez qui Dandy Walker a été diagnostiqué présentent habituellement Les signes et symptômes associés suivants :

  • Atrophie musculaire
  • Altération du tonus musculaire
  • Discoordination et manque d'équilibre (ataxie)
  • Retard dans le développement moteur
  • Déficits cognitifs
  • Augmentation de la pression intracrânienne
  • Nystagmus (mouvements incontrôlables des yeux)
  • Les saisies
  • Mal de tête
  • Vomissements
  • Insuffisance respiratoire

Causes de ce syndrome

La malformation de Dandy Walker est due à des modifications du développement du cervelet et des zones environnantes en début de grossesse. Plus précisément, ce syndrome a été associé à la suppression, l'absence et la duplication de certains chromosomes .

Des composants génétiques liés à ces altérations, possiblement liés au chromosome X ou consistant en une transmission autosomique récessive, ont été mis en évidence. Le risque de récurrence chez les enfants de femmes ayant déjà eu un bébé avec Dandy Walker est compris entre 1 et 5%.

Ces facteurs génétiques sont multiples et ils peuvent interagir les uns avec les autres et engendrer différentes altérations de la fosse cérébrale postérieure.

Les facteurs environnementaux peuvent également jouer un rôle dans le développement de ce trouble, même s'ils semblent avoir un poids inférieur à celui des facteurs biologiques.

Troubles connexes

Normalement, les malformations de la fosse cérébrale postérieure sont classées dans le syndrome de Dandy Walker, bien qu'il puisse y avoir diverses altérations en fonction des zones touchées.

Un trouble similaire est ce que nous connaissons sous le nom de "variante du syndrome de Dandy-Walker"; Cette catégorie comprend les affections du cervelet et du quatrième ventricule qui ne peuvent pas être classées strictement comme malformation de Dandy-Walker.

Dans ces cas, les signes et les symptômes sont moins graves: généralement, la fosse postérieure et le quatrième ventricule sont moins élargis et la partie enkystée est également plus petite. L'hydrocéphalie est moins fréquente dans la variante du syndrome de Dandy-Walker.

Les autres maladies à proximité sont les ciliopathies, qui affecter les organites intracellulaires appelés cils . Les ciliopathies sont causées par des défauts génétiques et provoquent de multiples altérations du développement corporel, y compris celles spécifiques à Dandy-Walker.

Intervention et traitement

L'hydrocéphalie est traitée en drainant de manière assistée les zones cérébrales touchées: un tube est inséré chirurgicalement pour rediriger le liquide céphalo-rachidien dans les régions où il peut être réabsorbé.

Une autre méthode récemment utilisée dans le traitement du syndrome de Dandy Walker est la ponction du troisième ventricule. Ceci est effectué dans le but de réduire la taille du kyste ventriculaire et ainsi réduire les symptômes.

Thérapie motrice et rééducation linguistique Ils sont essentiels pour aider les enfants atteints de cette maladie. Le soutien des familles est également essentiel pour assurer le bien-être et le bon développement des enfants.


Dandy Walker Children (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes