yes, therapy helps!
Daniel Goleman: biography of the author of Emotional Intelligence

Daniel Goleman: biography of the author of Emotional Intelligence

December 5, 2021

Daniel Goleman is one of the most famous psychologists of recent years, due to the international best-seller of his book: Emotional Intelligence (1995).

Although the concept of emotional intelligence appears in literature thanks to American psychologists Peter Salovey and John Mayer in 1990, it was Goleman who, thanks to the publication of his work, made this concept famous. Currently, emotional intelligence is applied in many fields (clinic, organizations, sports ...) because it provides benefits for both mental health and performance (sports or work).


You can deepen your work, in this article: "What is emotional intelligence?"

Biography of Daniel Goleman

Currently, Daniel Goleman teaches lectures for entrepreneurs, teachers, psychologists and other groups of professionals , but for many years he was a journalist in The New York Times, because it informed on the science of the brain and the behavior in the prestigious American newspaper. In his book Emotional Intelligence, he explains that the competencies of self-knowledge, self-discipline, persistence or empathy are more important for life than the IQ (Intellectual Quotient), and he affirms that ignoring these competencies is a risk for us.


Therefore, we must teach children to develop these skills from an early age, because they are beneficial for their future. His work was the best-seller in the ranking The New York Times for a year and a half, with more than 5,000,000 books sold worldwide. Further, It was also a best-seller in Europe, Asia and Latin America, and was translated into almost 30 languages. .

Recommended article: "The benefits of emotional intelligence at work"

Daniel Goleman: a renowned psychologist

Daniel Goleman was born in Stockton, California, where his parents were university professors. His father taught literature at San Joaquin Delta College, while his mother taught sociology at Universidad del Pacífico. Goleman, who was a great student, He graduated and PhD in Clinical Development of Psychology and Personality at Harvard University , where he usually holds conferences and is a visiting professor.


He currently resides in Berkshires and is co-president of the Research Consortium on Emotional Intelligence in Organizations, which is located in Graduate School of Applied and Professional Psychology at Rutgers University. This institution recommends best practices for the development of emotional intelligence skills, and promotes rigorous research for greater effectiveness of emotional intelligence in the workplace and the organizations.

In addition, Goleman was co-founder of the Collaborative for Academic, Social and Emotional Learning (CASEL) at the Yale University Child Studies Center (now at the University of Illinois at Chicago), which aims to help schools introduce emotional literacy courses, an important part of the communication of emotions. Hundreds of schools around the globe have begun to implement these courses.

His beginnings as a writer: building a long life of success

When he was studying at Harvard University, his mentor was David McClelland, a renowned psychologist who developed the famous theory of achievement. Thanks to him, Goleman started working in the famous journal PsychologyToday. Although he wanted to be a teacher like his parents, writing caught his attention, and the magazine served as a learning experience for the rest of his life and for his successful career as a writer and theoretician.

His first book was "The Varieties of the Meditative Experience", 1977 (later called: "The Paths of Meditation"), in which he described the different meditative systems.In addition to this, Goleman has written the following works:

  • Triple focus (2016)
  • Focus (2013)
  • The brain and emotional intelligence (2013)
  • The power of emotional intelligence (2013)
  • The creative spirit (2009)
  • Ecological Intelligence (2009)
  • Emotional intelligence for children and youth (2009)
  • The blind spot (2008)
  • Transparency: How leaders forge a culture of sincerity (2008)
  • Social intelligence The new science of human relations (2006)
  • Emotional intelligence at work (2005)
  • The resonant leader creates more (2003)
  • Destructive emotions How to understand and overcome them (2003)
  • The practice of emotional intelligence (1999)
  • Meditation and higher states of consciousness (1997)
  • Emotional health: conversations with the Dalai Lama (1997)
  • Emotional Intelligence (1995)

Obviously, his great work and for which he is world-renowned is the book of Emotional Intelligence who wrote in 1995.

Awards and awards

Daniel Goleman has received several awards for his texts, including an award for his career as a journalist awarded by the APA (American Psychological Association). He was nominated twice for the Pulitzer Prize and has received numerous awards in recognition of his research and outreach.

Your contribution to Emotional Intelligence

As has already been said, Goleman made the term emotional intelligence famous when nobody talked about it, and since then, this construct has had a great reception in different areas (business, clinic, education ...).

If we stop to think about the transcendence of our emotions in our daily life we ​​will quickly realize that there are many occasions in which these have a decisive influence on our life, even if we do not realize it. Because, emotional intelligence is key to our mental well-being and our relationships with others .

The psychologist Adrián Triglia , in an article published months ago in Psychology and Mind, says that Emotional Intelligence helps people because:

  • Improves self-knowledge, self-discovery and improves decision-making
  • Improves work performance and productivity
  • Protects and prevents stress and nervousness
  • Improves interpersonal relationships and empathy
  • Encourages personal development
  • Provides capacity for influence and leadership
  • It promotes psychological well-being and emotional balance
  • Reduces anxiety and helps overcome depression and sadness
  • Increase motivation and help achieve goals
  • Help to sleep better
You can learn more about the benefits of Emotional Intelligence in our article: "The 10 benefits of emotional intelligence"

Daniel Goleman Introduces Emotional Intelligence (December 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Daniel Goleman: biographie de l'auteur de Emotional Intelligence

Daniel Goleman: biographie de l'auteur de Emotional Intelligence

Mai 22, 2019

Daniel Goleman est l'un des psychologues les plus célèbres de ces dernières années, en raison du best-seller international de son livre: Emotional Intelligence (1995).

Bien que le concept d'intelligence émotionnelle apparaisse dans la littérature grâce aux psychologues américains Peter Salovey et John Mayer en 1990, c'est Goleman qui, grâce à la publication de son travail, a rendu ce concept célèbre. Actuellement, l'intelligence émotionnelle est appliquée dans de nombreux domaines (clinique, organisations, sports ...) car elle apporte des avantages à la fois pour la santé mentale et la performance (sports ou travail).


Vous pouvez approfondir votre travail dans cet article: "Qu'est-ce que l'intelligence émotionnelle?"

Biographie de Daniel Goleman

Actuellement, Daniel Goleman donne des conférences pour entrepreneurs, enseignants, psychologues et autres groupes de professionnels , mais pendant de nombreuses années, il a été journaliste à Le New York Times, car il a informé sur la science du cerveau et le comportement dans le prestigieux journal américain. Dans son livre Emotional Intelligence, il explique que les compétences de connaissance de soi, de discipline personnelle, de persistance ou d'empathie sont plus importantes pour la vie que le quotient intellectuel (QI), et il affirme qu'ignorer ces compétences est un risque pour nous.


Par conséquent, nous devons apprendre aux enfants à développer ces compétences dès leur plus jeune âge, car elles sont bénéfiques pour leur avenir. Son travail était le best-seller dans le classement Le New York Times pendant un an et demi, avec plus de 5 000 000 de livres vendus dans le monde. En outre, C'était également un best-seller en Europe, en Asie et en Amérique latine et il a été traduit dans près de 30 langues. .

Article recommandé: "Les avantages de l'intelligence émotionnelle au travail"

Daniel Goleman: un psychologue de renom

Daniel Goleman est né à Stockton, en Californie, où ses parents étaient professeurs d'université. Son père enseignait la littérature au San Joaquin Delta College, tandis que sa mère enseignait la sociologie à l'Universidad del Pacífico. Goleman, qui était un excellent élève, Il est diplômé et docteur en développement clinique de la psychologie et de la personnalité à l'Université Harvard. , où il tient habituellement des conférences et est professeur invité.


Il réside actuellement à Berkshires et est co-président du Consortium de recherche sur l'intelligence émotionnelle dans les organisations, qui est situé à École supérieure de psychologie appliquée et professionnelle à l'Université Rutgers. Cette institution recommande les meilleures pratiques pour le développement des compétences en intelligence émotionnelle, et encourage la recherche rigoureuse pour une plus grande efficacité de l'intelligence émotionnelle en milieu de travail et les organisations.

En outre, Goleman était cofondateur de la Collaboratif pour l'apprentissage scolaire, social et émotionnel (CASEL) au Child Studies Center de l’Université de Yale (actuellement à l’Université de l’Illinois à Chicago), qui vise à aider les écoles à mettre en place des cours d’alphabétisation émotionnelle, élément important de la communication des émotions. Des centaines d'écoles du monde entier ont commencé à mettre en œuvre ces cours.

Ses débuts en tant qu'écrivain: construire une longue vie de succès

Lorsqu'il étudiait à l'Université Harvard, son mentor était David McClelland, un psychologue de renom qui avait développé la célèbre théorie de la réussite. Grâce à lui, Goleman a commencé à travailler dans la célèbre revue PsychologyToday. Bien qu'il veuille être un enseignant comme ses parents, l'écriture a attiré son attention, et le magazine a été une expérience d'apprentissage pour le reste de sa vie et pour sa carrière réussie d'écrivain et de théoricien.

Son premier livre était "Les variétés de l'expérience méditative", 1977 (appelé plus tard: "Les chemins de la méditation"), dans lequel il décrivit les différents systèmes méditatifs. En plus de cela, Goleman a écrit les travaux suivants:

  • Triple focus (2016)
  • Focus (2013)
  • Le cerveau et l'intelligence émotionnelle (2013)
  • Le pouvoir de l'intelligence émotionnelle (2013)
  • L'esprit créatif (2009)
  • Intelligence écologique (2009)
  • Intelligence émotionnelle pour les enfants et les jeunes (2009)
  • L'angle mort (2008)
  • Transparence: comment les dirigeants créent une culture de sincérité (2008)
  • Intelligence sociale La nouvelle science des relations humaines (2006)
  • Intelligence émotionnelle au travail (2005)
  • Le chef résonant crée plus (2003)
  • Émotions destructrices Comment les comprendre et les surmonter (2003)
  • La pratique de l'intelligence émotionnelle (1999)
  • Méditation et états de conscience supérieurs (1997)
  • Santé émotionnelle: conversations avec le Dalaï Lama (1997)
  • Intelligence émotionnelle (1995)

De toute évidence, son grand travail et pour lequel il est connu dans le monde entier est le livre de Intelligence émotionnelle qui a écrit en 1995.

Prix ​​et récompenses

Daniel Goleman a reçu plusieurs prix pour ses textes, dont un pour sa carrière de journaliste récompensé par l'APA (American Psychological Association). Il a été mis en nomination à deux reprises pour le prix Pulitzer et a reçu de nombreux prix en reconnaissance de ses recherches et de son rayonnement.

Votre contribution à l'intelligence émotionnelle

Comme cela a déjà été dit, Goleman a rendu célèbre le terme d'intelligence émotionnelle lorsque personne n'en a parlé, et depuis lors, cette construction a été bien accueillie dans différents domaines (affaires, clinique, éducation ...).

Si nous nous arrêtons pour penser à la transcendance de nos émotions dans notre vie quotidienne, nous réaliserons rapidement qu’il existe de nombreuses occasions dans lesquelles celles-ci ont une influence déterminante sur notre vie, même si nous ne le réalisons pas. Pour cela, l'intelligence émotionnelle est la clé de notre bien-être mental et de nos relations avec les autres .

Le psychologue Adrián Triglia , dans un article publié il y a des mois dans Psychologie et esprit, dit que l'intelligence émotionnelle aide les gens parce que:

  • Améliore la connaissance de soi, la découverte de soi et améliore la prise de décision
  • Améliore les performances et la productivité du travail
  • Protège et prévient le stress et la nervosité
  • Améliore les relations interpersonnelles et l'empathie
  • Encourage le développement personnel
  • Fournit une capacité d'influence et de leadership
  • Il favorise le bien-être psychologique et l'équilibre émotionnel
  • Réduit l'anxiété et aide à surmonter la dépression et la tristesse
  • Augmenter la motivation et aider à atteindre les objectifs
  • Aide à mieux dormir
Vous pouvez en apprendre plus sur les avantages de l'intelligence émotionnelle dans notre article: "Les 10 avantages de l'intelligence émotionnelle"

Les Objectifs précis et l'intelligence émotionnelle par Dr Rachid AMOKRANE (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes