yes, therapy helps!
'Dear Professor': a video to understand the student with ADHD

'Dear Professor': a video to understand the student with ADHD

January 29, 2023

The majority of children with Attention deficit disorder and hyperactivity o ADHD manifests an incongruous behavior: they are smart and cunning, but their performance in the classroom is poor, they show disinterest, they do not remain in a physical listening position and they even develop less disciplined and challenging attitudes.

In the following interview, Mireia Garibaldi, psychologist and psycho-pedagogue collaborator of the Mensalus Psychological and Psychological Assistance Institute, presents an interesting video about the problems that surround children with ADHD in the classrooms. An emotional project that, we hope, opens a reflection on the necessary psychopedagogical tools.


Before reading the article, you can watch the video below:

How is the relationship between ADHD and emotional management?

Children with ADHD (Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder) present significant difficulties to self-regulate and manage their emotions. Something that initially is not easy for most, is especially expensive for them. To be more exact, one of the complicated tasks is the ability to internalize and reserve emotions. For this reason, children with ADHD, sometimes express their feelings in an intense and uncontrolled. What do they end up seeing others? An immature behavior ("always making the clown"), inappropriate, changing and even heavy (the externalization of the emotion lasts longer than in the rest of equals). The adult has difficulty understanding that this behavior comes, among other factors, due to the difficulty in emotional management, so the common outcome in the classroom is repetitive punishment: sanctions that label the child and place him in a highly defensive setting.


What is the most common emotion among children with ADHD?

When the efforts are in vain, the result is a sea of ​​frustration. With this, self-concept can be seriously affected. The video we present today justly claims the importance of "not pointing" to the child with ADHD. In his process of development and maturation, it is crucial to avoid actions that make him feel constantly judged. If all the fingers point to him daily, he may grow from an anxious and insecure base, and end up forming a very deteriorated self-concept that leads to low self-esteem.

You told us about a defensive framework in which the child is enclosed ...

True. A defensive frame fruit of the fear of being hurt again. It is common for the child to challenge the figure of authority and manifest himself irreverently. As we said, when this happens, punishment is the main tool ("class salt", "today you run out of court") and again the child is discriminated against and labeled as "the bad guy". The consequence? The frustration reaches unsuspected levels and its management becomes "mission impossible".


What can happen then?

Before assuming a new failure, one of the most used strategies is lying (for example, lying to justify that you have not brought the duties done). Likewise, it is common that the outcome of the difficult emotional self-management is a behavior full of anger and irritability visible physically (kicks, jumps, grimaces, etc.) and verbally (bad responses to the teacher's guidelines). The child with ADHD is very dependent on the environment. The self-regulation of their emotions and their behavior responds more to the stimuli they receive than to their own thoughts (something that, from the outset, is already common in infants). Be that as it may, the difficulty of doing a work of introspection and attending to one's own thoughts takes you away from tools such as the analysis of events, reflection and the setting of goals. For this reason, it is essential to help the child.

How can we help the child with ADHD?

Through the use of more attractive and visual strategies that promote emotional expression and collaborate in this internalization. When the child is able to understand what is happening to him, it is then that he takes a first step towards emotional self-regulation. Training the child in this sense is essential since, otherwise, he may enter a spiral of sadness and negativity that alienates him, not only from academic goals, but also from the context of friends and colleagues.

On the other hand, children with ADHD have an important difficulty motivating themselves. They have serious problems at the time of beginning the prescribed work and sustain the activity until its completion. This difficulty is accompanied by a high need to be gratified in the short term (mainly after tasks that are not especially attractive and do not generate a reward instantly).Returning the child with an acknowledgment makes it easy to remain connected to the context (for example, a game, a sports activity, a math exercise, etc.)

From Psychopedagogy we advise parents and teachers to establish a recognition system through positive messages. The lack of internal motivation is the main driver of the lack of objectives and the self-discipline to achieve them.

That said, with what message could we stay today?

As the video shows, it is important that children with ADHD perceive the social approval of the surrounding environment through rewarding messages, words that approximate the rest and not dismiss them as disinterested or other derogatory labels that diminish their sense of ability. They depend emotionally on positive recognition and, of course, they need adults to facilitate their work.

Understanding the child with ADHD is the way for him to do so too.

  • Related article: Piper: an endearing short on the ability to overcome

How to Teach Children With ADHD (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
'Cher professeur': une vidéo pour comprendre l'étudiant atteint de TDAH

'Cher professeur': une vidéo pour comprendre l'étudiant atteint de TDAH

Janvier 22, 2022

La majorité des enfants avec Trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention o Le TDAH manifeste un comportement incongru: ils sont intelligents et rusés, mais leur performance en classe est médiocre, ils font preuve de désintérêt, ils ne restent pas dans une position d'écoute physique et ils développent même des attitudes moins disciplinées et stimulantes.

Dans l'entretien qui suit, Mireia Garibaldi, psychologue et collaboratrice en psychopédagogie de l'Institut d'aide psychologique et psychologique Mensalus, présente une vidéo intéressante sur les problèmes qui entourent les enfants atteints de TDAH en classe. Un projet émotionnel qui, nous l’espérons, ouvre une réflexion sur les outils psychopédagogiques nécessaires.


Avant de lire l'article, vous pouvez regarder la vidéo ci-dessous:

Quelle est la relation entre le TDAH et la gestion émotionnelle?

Les enfants atteints de TDAH (trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention) présentent des difficultés importantes pour s'autoréguler et gérer leurs émotions. Ce qui, au départ, n’est pas facile pour la plupart des gens, est particulièrement coûteux pour eux. Pour être plus précis, l'une des tâches compliquées est la capacité à intérioriser et à réserver des émotions. Pour cette raison, les enfants atteints de TDAH expriment parfois leurs sentiments de manière intense et incontrôlée. Qu'est-ce qu'ils finissent par voir les autres? Un comportement immature ("faisant toujours le clown"), inapproprié, changeant et même lourd (l'externalisation de l'émotion dure plus longtemps que chez le reste des égaux). L'adulte a du mal à comprendre que ce comportement découle, entre autres facteurs, de la difficulté de gestion émotionnelle, de sorte que le résultat courant en classe est la punition répétitive: des sanctions qui étiquettent l'enfant et le placent dans un cadre hautement défensif.


Quelle est l'émotion la plus commune chez les enfants atteints de TDAH?

Lorsque les efforts sont vains, le résultat est un océan de frustration. Avec cela, le concept de soi peut être sérieusement affecté. La vidéo que nous présentons aujourd'hui affirme à juste titre l'importance de "ne pas montrer du doigt" l'enfant atteint du TDAH. Dans son processus de développement et de maturation, il est crucial d’éviter les actions qui le font se sentir constamment jugé. Si tous les doigts le pointent tous les jours, il risque de passer d'une base anxieuse et incertaine à la personne et finit par former un concept de soi très détérioré menant à une faible estime de soi.

Vous nous avez parlé d'un cadre défensif dans lequel l'enfant est enfermé ...

Droit Un cadre défensif issu de la peur d'être à nouveau blessé. Il est courant que l’enfant conteste la figure de l’autorité et se manifeste de façon irréversible. Comme nous l'avons dit, lorsque cela se produit, la peine est l'outil principal ("classe de sel", "aujourd'hui, vous courez hors du tribunal") et, encore une fois, l'enfant est discriminé et étiqueté comme "le méchant". La conséquence? La frustration atteint des niveaux insoupçonnés et sa gestion devient "mission impossible".


Que peut-il arriver ensuite?

Avant d’assumer un nouvel échec, l’une des stratégies les plus utilisées consiste à mentir (par exemple, mentir pour justifier que vous n’ayez pas rempli vos obligations). De même, il est fréquent que la difficile gestion de soi par les émotions aboutisse à un comportement plein de colère et d'irritabilité visible physiquement (coups de pied, sauts, grimaces, etc.) et verbal (mauvaises réponses aux directives de l'enseignant). très dépendant de l'environnement. L'autorégulation de leurs émotions et de leur comportement répond davantage aux stimuli qu'ils reçoivent que à leurs propres pensées (quelque chose qui, dès le début, est déjà courant chez les nourrissons). Quoi qu’il en soit, la difficulté de faire un travail d’introspection et d’assister à ses propres pensées vous éloigne d’outils tels que l’analyse des événements, la réflexion et la fixation d’objectifs. Pour cette raison, il est essentiel d'aider l'enfant.

Comment pouvons-nous aider l'enfant atteint de TDAH?

En utilisant des stratégies plus attrayantes et visuelles qui favorisent l'expression émotionnelle et collaborent à cette internalisation. Lorsque l’enfant est capable de comprendre ce qui lui arrive, c’est alors qu’il fait un premier pas vers l’autorégulation émotionnelle. Entraîner l’enfant dans ce sens est essentiel car, sinon, il risque de sombrer dans une spirale de tristesse et de négativité qui l’aliène non seulement les objectifs scolaires, mais aussi le contexte de ses amis et de ses collègues.

D'autre part, les enfants atteints de TDAH ont une difficulté importante à se motiver. Ils ont de graves problèmes au moment de commencer le travail prescrit et maintiennent l'activité jusqu'à son achèvement. Cette difficulté s'accompagne d'un besoin impérieux de satisfaction à court terme (principalement après des tâches qui ne sont pas particulièrement attrayantes et qui ne génèrent pas une récompense instantanément).Renvoyer l'enfant avec un accusé de réception facilite le fait de rester connecté au contexte (par exemple, un jeu, une activité sportive, un exercice de calcul, etc.).

En psychopédagogie, nous conseillons aux parents et aux enseignants d’établir un système de reconnaissance par le biais de messages positifs. Le manque de motivation interne est le principal facteur du manque d'objectifs et de l'autodiscipline pour les atteindre.

Cela dit, avec quel message pourrions-nous rester aujourd'hui?

Comme le montre la vidéo, il est important que les enfants atteints de TDAH perçoivent l'approbation sociale de l'environnement environnant par le biais de messages enrichissants, des mots qui se rapprochent du reste et ne les rejettent pas comme des étiquettes désintéressées ou péjoratives qui diminuent leur sens des capacités. Ils dépendent émotionnellement de la reconnaissance positive et, bien sûr, ils ont besoin d'adultes pour faciliter leur travail.

Comprendre l'enfant atteint du TDAH lui est également utile.

  • Article connexe: Piper: un short attachant sur la capacité de vaincre

Connecting Brains: The BrainNet - VPRO documentary - 2014 (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes