yes, therapy helps!
Delirium tremens: a severe alcohol withdrawal syndrome

Delirium tremens: a severe alcohol withdrawal syndrome

May 10, 2021

Throughout history, society has assimilated the consumption of alcoholic beverages , becoming a feature of some cultures. It is something that can be observed in parties, concerts and discos, traditions, as part of the leisure habits of youth and even in the popularity of phenomena such as large bottles.

However, it must be borne in mind that the consumption of alcohol can generate addiction, the drinker losing control of the intake, which leads to dependence on the substance. And this dependence is not expressed only through the abuse of the substance, but also through signs and symptoms that appear when you stop drinking alcohol. Among the most serious phenomena of abstinence from alcohol is delirium tremens . Let's see what it consists of.


The mechanics of abstinence

Once a dependency has been generated, the fact of removing the object to which one is dependent causes withdrawal syndrome , that is, the absence of the substance in the body causes symptomatic reactions. That is why in many cases ending alcoholism is not as simple as removing the possibility of consuming these types of drinks once and for all. The lack of this substance also produces a series of symptoms that, sometimes, can be dangerous by themselves.

The opposite effect to the one produced by the substance usually occurs, which means that in the case of a depressant substance (such as alcohol) there will be manic symptoms, whereas in the case of the excitants the withdrawal syndrome will consist of a lowering of the general activity of the organism. In any case, the withdrawal of the desired substance must be controlled , because a too abrupt cessation of the supply can cause these syndromes.


Within the abstinence syndromes related to alcohol abuse, the one considered to be the most serious is the so-called delirium tremens.

What is delirium tremens?

It is called delirium tremens at Acute confusion caused by alcohol deprivation . It is caused by the interruption of alcohol intake in chronic drinkers who have developed a physical dependence, and frequently appears after between 4 and 72 hours of abstinence.

Although delirium tremens usually occurs in patients who stop drinking after excessive consumption of alcohol, it is possible to find cases in which this syndrome has been caused by diseases, injuries or infections in individuals with high alcohol consumption in the past.

The symptoms of delirium tremens

The main symptoms of this syndrome are a disintegration of consciousness in which visual hallucinations, delusions, emotional lability and stupor appear . Tremors, psychomotor agitation and seizures are also frequent.


Generally, delirium tremens has a short duration, but independently of this it is a dangerous syndrome, since 20% of cases are fatal in case of not receiving medical attention, and even with this 5% of cases end at the death of the patient.

Phases of delirium tremens

In a first phase, vegetative symptoms such as anxiety, tachycardia, dizziness, restlessness and insomnia begin to be observed, caused by a rise in norepinephrine in the blood. If you reach the second phase, about 24 hours after its appearance, the intensity of the previous symptoms increase, with uncontrollable tremors and intense sweating . Seizures may also appear.

Finally, in the third phase (defining delirium tremens), there appears a state of disturbance of consciousness called obnubilation. This is defined by the propensity for distractions and confusion, along with a profound disorientation. The most characteristic of this phase is the appearance of visual hallucinations (usually microzoopsies) and delusions, together with a high sense of anguish. Likewise, agitation, tachypnea, hyperthermia and tachycardia also occur.

Possible treatments

Taking into account that delirium tremens is a problem that can cause the death of the patient, immediate hospitalization of those who present the described symptoms is required, and it may be necessary to enter the ICU.

The treatment to be applied will have as basic objectives to keep the patient alive, avoid complications and relieve symptoms. Thus, the surveillance of the affected will be constant, observing its hydroelectric balance and vital signs.

Although the specific measures will depend on the case, the administration of diazepam, lorazepam and dipotassium chloracepate is frequent to achieve sedation of the patient, hydroelectrolytic control in order to maintain the hydration of the patient and administration of vitamins to maintain correct functionality of the organism.Likewise, haloperidol is also commonly used to control the psychotic process and hallucinations .

A final consideration

While excessive consumption of alcohol is a dangerous phenomenon, and those who cease drinking do so for good reasons, it is necessary that those who decide to stop drinking take into account the physical dependence that their body maintains with that substance.

It is essential in cases of addiction or substance use for a long time (including medications such as tranquilizers or antidepressants), that the withdrawal of the substance occurs gradually, since in the initial compasses the body needs a certain dose of the substance to continue functioning properly.

In addition, it should be remembered that the type of health hazards associated with delirium tremens can be avoided detecting cases of alcohol addiction in time , which allows to close the passage in time to alcoholism. The use of this kind of drinks is socially widely accepted and extended in all kinds of contexts, and that is why detecting their first signs can be complicated, given the degree of normalization of the abuse of these substances.

To know some of the signs that indicate the presence of the beginnings of alcoholism, you can read this article: "The 8 signs of alcohol addiction."

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Fifth edition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelona.
  • Correas, J.; Ramírez, A. & Chinchilla, A. (2003). Manual of Psychiatric Emergencies. Masson
  • Ferri, F.F. (2015). Delirium tremens. In: Ferri FF, ed. Ferri's Clinical Advisor. 1st ed. Philadelphia: PA Elsevier Mosby; p. 357
  • Golberg, D. & Murray, R. (2002). The Maudsley hanbook of practical psychiatry. Oxford
  • Marta, J. (2004). Practical approach to delirium. Masson
  • O'Connor, P.G. (2016). Alcohol use disorders. In: Goldman L, Schafer AI, eds. Goldman's Cecil Medicine. 25th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Elsevier Saunders; chap 33.

Delirium Tremens (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Delirium tremens: un syndrome de sevrage alcoolique grave

Delirium tremens: un syndrome de sevrage alcoolique grave

Août 11, 2020

Au cours de l'histoire, la société a assimilé la consommation de boissons alcoolisées , devenant une caractéristique de certaines cultures. C'est quelque chose que l'on peut observer dans les fêtes, les concerts et les discothèques, les traditions, dans le cadre des habitudes de loisirs de la jeunesse et même dans la popularité de phénomènes tels que grandes bouteilles.

Cependant, il convient de garder à l'esprit que la consommation d'alcool peut générer une dépendance, le buveur perd le contrôle de sa consommation, ce qui entraîne une dépendance à la substance. Et cette dépendance ne s'exprime pas seulement par l'abus de substance, mais également par les signes et les symptômes qui apparaissent lorsque vous cessez de boire de l'alcool. Parmi les phénomènes les plus graves d'abstinence d'alcool delirium tremens . Voyons en quoi cela consiste.


La mécanique de l'abstinence

Une fois qu'une dépendance a été générée, le fait de retirer l'objet dont on est dépendant provoque le syndrome de sevrage c'est-à-dire que l'absence de substance dans l'organisme provoque des réactions symptomatiques. C’est pourquoi, dans de nombreux cas, mettre fin à l’alcoolisme n’est pas aussi simple que d’éliminer la possibilité de consommer ces types de boissons une fois pour toutes. L'absence de cette substance produit également une série de symptômes qui, parfois, peuvent être dangereux par eux-mêmes.

L’effet opposé à celui produit par la substance se produit généralement, ce qui signifie que dans le cas d’une substance dépressive (telle que l’alcool), il y aura des symptômes maniaques, alors que dans le cas des excitants, le syndrome de sevrage consistera en une diminution de l'activité générale de l'organisme. En tout cas, le retrait de la substance désirée doit être contrôlé , car un arrêt trop brutal de l’approvisionnement peut être à l’origine de ces syndromes.


Parmi les syndromes d’abstinence liés à l’abus d’alcool, celui qui est considéré comme le plus grave est le soi-disant delirium tremens.

Qu'est-ce que le delirium tremens?

Il s’appelle delirium tremens à Confusion aiguë causée par la privation d'alcool . Elle est causée par l'interruption de la consommation d'alcool chez les buveurs chroniques ayant développé une dépendance physique et apparaît fréquemment après 4 à 72 heures d'abstinence.

Bien que le delirium tremens survienne généralement chez les patients qui arrêtent de boire après une consommation excessive d'alcool, il est possible de trouver des cas dans lesquels ce syndrome a été provoqué par des maladies, des blessures ou des infections chez des personnes ayant une consommation d'alcool élevée.

Les symptômes du delirium tremens

Les principaux symptômes de ce syndrome sont une désintégration de la conscience dans laquelle hallucinations visuelles, délires, instabilité émotionnelle et stupeur apparaissent . Les tremblements, l'agitation psychomotrice et les convulsions sont également fréquents.


De manière générale, le delirium tremens a une courte durée, mais il constitue indépendamment un syndrome dangereux, dans la mesure où 20% des cas sont mortels en cas d'absence de soins médicaux, et même avec cela 5% des cas finissent. à la mort du patient.

Phases du delirium tremens

Dans une première phase, on commence à observer des symptômes végétatifs tels qu'anxiété, tachycardie, vertiges, agitation et insomnie, causés par une augmentation de la noradrénaline dans le sang. Si vous atteignez la deuxième phase, environ 24 heures après son apparition, l'intensité des symptômes précédents augmente, avec des tremblements incontrôlables et une transpiration intense . Des convulsions peuvent également apparaître.

Enfin, dans la troisième phase (définition du delirium tremens), apparaît un état de trouble de la conscience appelé obnubilation. Ceci est défini par la propension à la distraction et à la confusion, accompagnée d'une profonde désorientation. Le plus caractéristique de cette phase est l’apparition d’hallucinations visuelles (généralement des microzoopsies) et de délires, ainsi qu’un sens aigu de l’angoisse. De même, il existe également une agitation, une tachypnée, une hyperthermie et une tachycardie.

Traitements possibles

Étant donné que le delirium tremens est un problème pouvant entraîner la mort du patient, une hospitalisation immédiate de ceux qui présentent les symptômes décrits est nécessaire et il peut s’avérer nécessaire de passer en unité de soins intensifs.

Le traitement à appliquer aura pour objectifs fondamentaux de maintenir le patient en vie, d’éviter les complications et de soulager les symptômes. Ainsi, la surveillance des personnes affectées sera constante, en observant son bilan hydroélectrique et ses signes vitaux.

Bien que les mesures spécifiques dépendent du cas, l'administration de diazépam, de lorazépam et de chloracepate de dipotassium est fréquente pour obtenir une sédation du patient, un contrôle hydroélectrolytique pour maintenir l'hydratation du patient et une administration de vitamines pour maintenir un fonctionnement correct de l'organisme.De même l'halopéridol est également couramment utilisé pour contrôler le processus psychotique et les hallucinations .

Une dernière considération

Bien que la consommation excessive d'alcool soit un phénomène dangereux et que ceux qui cessent de boire le fassent pour de bonnes raisons, il est nécessaire que ceux qui décident de cesser de boire prennent en compte la dépendance physique que leur corps entretient avec cette substance.

En cas de dépendance ou de consommation de substances pendant une longue période (y compris des médicaments tels que des tranquillisants ou des antidépresseurs), il est essentiel que le sevrage de la substance se fasse progressivement, car dans le compas initial le corps a besoin substance pour continuer à fonctionner correctement.

En outre, il convient de rappeler que le type de risques pour la santé associés au delirium tremens peut être évité. détecter les cas de dépendance à l'alcool dans le temps , ce qui permet de fermer le passage dans le temps à l’alcoolisme. L'usage de ce type de boissons est socialement largement accepté et étendu dans toutes sortes de contextes. C'est pourquoi la détection de leurs premiers signes peut être compliquée compte tenu du degré de normalisation de l'abus de ces substances.

Pour connaître certains des signes qui indiquent la présence des débuts de l’alcoolisme, vous pouvez lire cet article: "Les 8 signes de la dépendance à l’alcool".

Références bibliographiques:

  • Association américaine de psychiatrie. (2013). Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux. Cinquième édition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelone.
  • Correas, J., Ramírez, A. et Chinchilla, A. (2003). Manuel des urgences psychiatriques. Masson
  • Ferri, F.F. (2015). Delirium tremens. Dans: Ferri FF, éd. Conseiller clinique de Ferri. 1ère éd. Philadelphie: PA Elsevier Mosby; p. 357
  • Golberg, D. & Murray, R. (2002). Le livre de psychiatrie pratique de Maudsley. Oxford
  • Marta, J. (2004). Approche pratique du délire. Masson
  • O'Connor, P.G. (2016). Troubles de la consommation d'alcool. Dans: Goldman L, Schafer AI, eds. La médecine Cecil de Goldman. 25 e éd. Philadelphie, PA: Elsevier Saunders; chap 33.

6 signes d’addiction à l’alcool (Août 2020).


Articles Connexes