yes, therapy helps!
Delusions: what they are, types and differences with hallucinations

Delusions: what they are, types and differences with hallucinations

November 14, 2019

It is usual that at some time, and especially under high levels of stress, we are faced with the firm belief that someone is watching us, that someone is following us or that someone is talking about us even if this is not true.

However, when these ideas flood the person's mind and you are not able to see reality, we can talk about the known delusions . Throughout this article we will delve into the nature of this experience, as well as its causes, types and differences with other false beliefs.

  • Related article: "The 12 most curious and shocking types of delusions"

What are delusions?

Within the scope of psychopathology delirium is understood as a false belief or idea that the patient accepts with total conviction , even though the evidence or external evidence shows the opposite. Although it has not yet been possible to generate a fully accepted and satisfactory description of this concept, the previous description would be one of the most approximate.


Despite its pathological characteristics, delirium it is not considered a mental illness or disorder by itself , but rather it would be a symptom of a wide variety of psychological conditions such as bipolar disorder, schizophrenia, mania or psychotic depression.

During the course of delirium the mental state of the person experiences a great number of changes. These make the patient live feelings of confusion and behavior alterations .

Other manifestations or problems typical of delirious states are:

  • Abrupt changes between states of lucidity and unconsciousness.
  • Loss of contact with reality .
  • Alteration of attention and memory.
  • Emotional swings
  • Problems in the control of the musculature.
  • Alterations of the dream.

Diagnostic criteria

Although, as specified in the previous point, delusions do not constitute a clinical disorder, but are part of a larger pathological picture. Of course, they must meet a series of special and specific requirements in order that they can be considered as such.


Some authors and researchers have developed a series of defining constructs of delirium. These dimensions or constructs are given in the form of continuums that start from what is considered a normal belief, to a pathological one , and are key to differentiating delirium from other types of beliefs or misconceptions. These characteristics are what we will see below.

1. Fixed and unchangeable beliefs or ideas

The delirium must be maintained over time ; being little or nothing possible that this can be modified or corrected independently of the evidence that has against him.

2. Intense conviction

A delirium is a firmly held idea. That is to say, the person believes blindly in an idea or concrete event.

3. Lack of cultural supports

It is necessary to specify that the idea that the patient maintains it can not be shared by other people or cultural group . This means that for the belief to be considered irrational it can not be shared or accepted by the rest of the reference society.


4. Excess of concern

Unlike other types of false or irrational beliefs, in delusions the person presents a great concern or rumination of the delusional idea, which it implies a significant psychological wear since the patient thinks of her in an obsessive way.

5. Degree of likelihood

This last criterion refers to the degree of probability that exists that the idea can be real. This degree of plausibility may vary from one delirium to another. This means that although in some cases it is easy to detect the impossibility of the delusional idea, in others they may be totally plausible but false .

What causes do they have?

Delusions and delusions have as their origin a series of mental and psychological disorders that accompany and shape it. These psychological conditions are:

  • Paranoid disorders
  • Paranoid, schizoid and schizotypal personality disorders.
  • Schizophrenia .
  • Affective disorders such as psychotic depression and mania.

However, also they can be part of other alterations of organic origin derived from the consumption of drugs and alcohol in abuse, as well as detoxification processes and as a secondary reaction to certain drugs.

  • Related article: "Delirium tremens: a severe alcohol withdrawal syndrome"

What types of delusions are there?

Despite the large number of existing delusions, these can be categorized and classified according to their content. Below we will see some of the most frequent and known.

1. Paranoid delirium

In the case of paranoid ideas, the person is convinced that a person or group wants to cause some kind of harm , whether physical, psychological or social. This delirium can be realized in the idea that others want to kill him or that someone is trying to drive him crazy.

2. Delusion of persecution

People suffering from persecution delirium firmly claim that someone is persecuting them, or even that there is a conspiracy against them. This persecution can be either on the street, directly, or more veiled: patients may think they are entering their home, opening their mail or registering their mobile devices or computers.

3. Delirium of greatness

The content of this delirium is manifested by excessive self-assessment of skills and powers of the patient; which attributes special abilities as well as a great consideration of its own identity.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Megalomania and delusions of grandeur: playing at being God"

4. Reference delirium

As the name suggests, in the delirium of reference the patient believes that certain events, phrases or statements of other people have to do with his person or have a special significance that has to do with him.

It is common for these patients to think that both the media and other people are sending them all kinds of messages.

5. Somatic delirium

In this last case, the patient shows the conviction that you are sick or your body is getting sick . In the same way you may come to perceive a series of false changes or abnormalities in this. These are only a small sample of what is really a long list of delusions and delusions.

6. Other

Other well-known delusions are:

  • Control delirium.
  • Metacognitive delirium
  • Delirium of guilt or sin.
  • Celotypic delirium .
  • Delusion of false identification.
  • Erotomaniac delirium.

What is the difference between delirium and hallucination?

The fact of in many occasions come together and share certain characteristics makes delusions and hallucinations are frequently confused . However, once we know what delusions are, it is much easier to differentiate them.

Unlike delusions, hallucinations are an original product of the person's mind. That is, they do not really exist in reality or in the external world of this. In addition, just as delirium is an idea, hallucinations can be auditory, visual, tactile or even gustatory experiences. Therefore, the main difference between both concepts is that the hallucination is a totally original product and invented by the mind of the person, while the delirium would be a distortion of an external stimulus .

For example, in a delirium the person can perceive a real stimulus such as the radio; However, the mind distorts the message or interprets it as a kind of communication for him. While in the hallucination auditory stimulus would be completely invented by the mind, not being able to be perceived by anyone else.

Delirium would consist of a belief or misinterpretation of reality based on a fact, situation or real stimulus. However, both concepts have a common point. In this case it is that patients are fully convinced of the reality and truth of their ideas or beliefs.


Schizophrenia Overview | Clinical Presentation (November 2019).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Délires: quels sont-ils, quels types et quelles différences avec les hallucinations

Délires: quels sont-ils, quels types et quelles différences avec les hallucinations

Juillet 16, 2024

Il est habituel qu'à un moment donné, et particulièrement lorsque le stress est intense, nous ayons la ferme conviction que quelqu'un nous surveille, que quelqu'un nous suit ou que quelqu'un parle de nous, même si ce n'est pas vrai.

Cependant, lorsque ces idées inondent l'esprit de la personne et que vous ne pouvez pas voir la réalité, nous pouvons parler de les délires connus . Tout au long de cet article, nous approfondirons la nature de cette expérience, ainsi que ses causes, types et différences avec d’autres fausses croyances.

  • Article connexe: "Les 12 types de délires les plus curieux et les plus choquants"

Que sont les délires?

Dans le cadre de la psychopathologie le délire est compris comme une fausse croyance ou une idée que le patient accepte avec une conviction totale , même si les preuves ou des preuves externes montrent le contraire. Bien qu'il n'ait pas encore été possible de générer une description entièrement acceptée et satisfaisante de ce concept, la description précédente serait l'une des plus approximatives.


En dépit de ses caractéristiques pathologiques, le délire il n'est pas considéré comme une maladie mentale ou un trouble en soi , mais ce serait plutôt le symptôme d’une grande variété de troubles psychologiques tels que le trouble bipolaire, la schizophrénie, la manie ou la dépression psychotique.

Au cours du délire, l'état mental de la personne subit un grand nombre de changements. Ceux-ci font vivre le patient sentiments de confusion et changements de comportement .

Les autres manifestations ou problèmes typiques des états délirants sont:

  • Changements brusques entre les états de lucidité et d'inconscience.
  • Perte de contact avec la réalité .
  • Altération de l'attention et de la mémoire.
  • Sautes émotionnelles
  • Problèmes dans le contrôle de la musculature.
  • Altérations du rêve.

Critères de diagnostic

Bien que, comme spécifié au point précédent, les délires ne constituent pas un trouble clinique, mais font partie d'un tableau pathologique plus large. Bien entendu, ils doivent répondre à une série d'exigences particulières et spécifiques pour pouvoir être considérés comme tels.


Certains auteurs et chercheurs ont développé une série de constructions définissant le délire. Ces dimensions ou constructions sont données sous forme de continuums qui commencent de ce qui est considéré comme une croyance normale à une croyance pathologique et sont essentiels pour différencier le délire d’autres types de croyances ou d’idées fausses. Ces caractéristiques sont ce que nous verrons ci-dessous.

1. Croyances ou idées fixes et immuables

Le délire doit être maintenu dans le temps ; étant peu ou rien possible que cela peut être modifié ou corrigé indépendamment de la preuve qui a contre lui.

2. conviction intense

Un délire est une idée fermement ancrée. C'est-à-dire, la personne croit aveuglément à une idée ou événement concret.

3. Manque de soutien culturel

Il est nécessaire de préciser que l’idée que le patient entretient il ne peut pas être partagé par d'autres personnes ou groupe culturel . Cela signifie que pour que la croyance soit considérée comme irrationnelle, elle ne peut être partagée ou acceptée par le reste de la société de référence.


4. Excès de préoccupation

Contrairement aux autres types de croyances fausses ou irrationnelles, dans les illusions, la personne présente une grande préoccupation ou rumination de l'idée délirante, qui cela implique une usure psychologique importante puisque le patient pense d'elle d'une manière obsessionnelle.

5. Degré de probabilité

Ce dernier critère fait référence au degré de probabilité existant que l’idée puisse être réelle. Ce degré de vraisemblance peut varier d'un délire à l'autre. Cela signifie que bien que dans certains cas, il soit facile de détecter l'impossibilité de l'idée délirante, dans d'autres, ils peuvent être totalement plausibles mais faux .

Quelles sont leurs causes?

Les délires et les délires ont pour origine une série de troubles mentaux et psychologiques qui l’accompagnent et le façonnent. Ces conditions psychologiques sont:

  • Troubles paranoïaques
  • Troubles de la personnalité paranoïaques, schizoïdes et schizotypiques.
  • La schizophrénie .
  • Troubles affectifs tels que dépression psychotique et manie.

Cependant, aussi ils peuvent faire partie d'autres altérations d'origine organique dérivés de la consommation de drogues et d'alcool abusés, ainsi que de processus de détoxification et d'une réaction secondaire à certaines drogues.

  • Article connexe: "Delirium tremens: un syndrome de sevrage alcoolique sévère"

Quels types de délires existe-t-il?

Malgré le grand nombre de délires existants, ceux-ci peuvent être classés et classés en fonction de leur contenu. Ci-dessous, nous verrons quelques-uns des plus fréquents et connus.

1. Délire paranoïaque

Dans le cas d'idées paranoïaques, la personne est convaincu qu'une personne ou un groupe veut causer un préjudice quelconque , qu’elles soient physiques, psychologiques ou sociales. Ce délire peut être réalisé dans l’idée que d’autres veulent le tuer ou que quelqu'un essaie de le rendre fou.

2. Illusion de persécution

Les personnes souffrant de délire de persécution affirment fermement que quelqu'un les persécute ou même qu'il existe un complot contre elles. Cette persécution peut être soit dans la rue, directement, soit plus voilée: les patients peuvent penser qu'ils entrent chez eux, ouvrent leur courrier ou enregistrent leurs appareils mobiles ou ordinateurs.

3. délire de grandeur

Le contenu de ce délire se manifeste par autoévaluation excessive des compétences et des pouvoirs du patient; qui attribue des capacités spéciales ainsi qu'une grande considération de sa propre identité.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Mégalomanie et délires de grandeur: jouer à être Dieu"

4. Délire de référence

Comme son nom l'indique, dans le délire de référence, le patient estime que certains événements, phrases ou déclarations d'autrui ont un rapport avec sa personne ou ont une signification particulière qui le concerne.

Il est courant que ces patients pensent que les médias et d’autres personnes leur envoient toutes sortes de messages.

5. Délire somatique

Dans ce dernier cas, le patient montre la conviction que vous êtes malade ou que votre corps tombe malade . De la même manière, vous pouvez en venir à percevoir une série de faux changements ou d’anomalies. Ce ne sont que quelques exemples de ce qui est en réalité une longue liste de délires et de délires.

6. Autre

Les autres illusions connues sont:

  • Contrôler le délire.
  • Délire métacognitif
  • Délire de culpabilité ou de péché.
  • Délire célotypique .
  • Illusion de fausse identification.
  • Délire érotomane.

Quelle est la différence entre le délire et les hallucinations?

Le fait de se réunir à plusieurs reprises et de partager certaines caractéristiques fait des illusions et des hallucinations sont souvent confondus . Cependant, une fois que nous savons ce que sont les illusions, il est beaucoup plus facile de les différencier.

Contrairement aux idées délirantes, les hallucinations sont un produit original de l'esprit de la personne. C'est-à-dire qu'ils n'existent pas vraiment dans la réalité ou dans le monde extérieur de cela. De plus, tout comme le délire est une idée, les hallucinations peuvent être des expériences auditives, visuelles, tactiles ou même gustatives. Par conséquent, la principale différence entre les deux concepts est que l'hallucination est un produit totalement original et inventé par l'esprit de la personne, tandis que le délire serait une distorsion d'un stimulus externe .

Par exemple, dans un délire, la personne peut percevoir un stimulus réel tel que la radio; Cependant, l'esprit déforme le message ou l'interprète comme une sorte de communication pour lui. Tandis que dans l'hallucination, le stimulus auditif serait complètement inventé par l'esprit, ne pouvant être perçu par personne d'autre.

Le délire consisterait en une croyance ou une interprétation erronée de la réalité basée sur un fait, une situation ou un stimulus réel. Cependant, les deux concepts ont un point commun. Dans ce cas, les patients sont pleinement convaincus de la réalité et de la vérité de leurs idées ou de leurs croyances.


Dr Nuss : Schizophrénie : Comparaison avec la bipolarité - Live Doctors (Juillet 2024).


Articles Connexes