yes, therapy helps!
Diabetic neuropathies: types, symptoms, causes and treatments

Diabetic neuropathies: types, symptoms, causes and treatments

June 20, 2024

The sugar. A substance that hides practically in any food and that, with time, has been increased its consumption until reaching levels of great concern. This concern is based on the large number of health effects that this sweet and addictive substance has.

One of these consequences is diabetes. Which, although it does not have to be highly damaging to the person, can get complicated. That's when the so-called diabetic neuropathies appear , of which we will talk throughout this article.

  • Related article: "The 15 most frequent neurological disorders"

what is the diabetic neuropathy?

Diabetes is a type of condition that is characterized by producing, in those who suffer from it, high blood sugar levels. This excess of glucose causes the deterioration of the nerves , causing any of the types of diabetic neuropathy. Therefore, diabetic neuropathies are described as a set of nerve disorders caused by an excess of glucose in the blood and usually causes the deterioration of nerves related to the lower extremities, although it can spread to other areas of the body.


The clinical picture of diabetic neuropathy may vary depending on the groupings of damaged nerves. These symptoms range from sensation of pain and numbness of the legs, gastric alterations or cardiac problems. In addition, the intensity of the symptoms may also differ from one person to another, since while in some cases the symptoms are very weak, in others they can be highly disabling and even deadly .

Despite the fact that diabetic neuropathy is a serious complication of diabetic disease, its symptoms can be avoided or diminished in intensity if the person commits to maintain a healthy lifestyle and regular blood glucose checks.


This type of nervous disorder affects 60-70% of the population suffering from diabetes . Although anyone with a diabetic disease is susceptible to developing a neuropathy, the risk tends to increase with age and with the passage of the disease years. That is, the longer a person suffers from diabetes, the more likely it is to develop a neuropathy.

However, this nervous disorder does not only affect patients with diabetes, but it can also appear in people who experience problems controlling blood sugar levels or in people who suffer from hypertension and who possess a large amount of body fat mass, as well as in overweight people .

  • Maybe you're interested: "Diabetes and mental health: taking care of diabetics from Psychology"

Types of diabetic neuropathy and symptoms

As discussed in the previous section, there are several types of diabetic neuropathies . These four categories are distinguished according to the nerves damaged, as well as by presenting a clinical picture or different symptomatology.


It is necessary to specify that the different types of neuropathies are not exclusive. That is, the person can develop symptoms of the different types simultaneously or, on the contrary, their symptoms only belong to one of the neuropathies.

In most cases, the symptoms appear and evolve progressively, with the danger that the person is not aware of them until the neuropathy has already caused a significant deterioration .

These four types of neuropathy are the following.

1. Peripheral neuropathy

The peripheral is the most common of all neuropathies. Initially the person experiences a series of symptoms in the upper extremities, which eventually they extend to arms and hands and, in addition, tend to get worse at nightfall.

These symptoms are:

  • Numbness decreased sensitivity to pain and the temperature in the extremities.
  • Spiciness, cramping or penetrating pains.
  • Increase in general sensitivity to touch.
  • Sensation of laziness
  • Decreased reflexes
  • Loss of balance capacity and coordination.
  • Alterations in the feet such as infections, malformations and bone pain.

2. Autonomic neuropathy

As its name suggests, this second type of neuropathy affects the autonomic nervous system. As a consequence, the nerve cells that govern the functioning of organs such as lungs, heart, eyes or sexual organs can be highly damaged.

Among the symptoms of autonomic neuropathy we can find:

  • Gastric disorders such as constipation or diarrhea.
  • Infections in the urinary tract and incontinence.
  • Gastroparesis
  • Problems in swallowing.
  • Erectile dysfunction.
  • Vaginal dryness
  • Decrease in blood pressure .
  • Increase of the cardiac rate in state of rest.

3. Radiculoplexopathy neuropathy

Also known as diabetic amyotrophy, this type of neuropathic disorder affects mostly the lower extremities; including the hips and glutes. Usually, symptoms only appear on one side of the body , but it is possible that they are dispersed towards the other.

The main symptoms are:

  • Sudden and acute pain sensation .
  • Problems to incorporate.
  • Weakness and muscular atrophy .
  • Weightloss.

4. Mononeuropathy

This last class of neuropathy usually appears suddenly and is more typical of people in older age and is characterized by the deterioration of a particular nerve. The most well-known of the syndromes caused by a mononeuropathy is the carpal tunnel syndrome, whose symptoms are concentrated in the hands of the person.

Even though the symptoms may depend on the affected nerves, The symptoms of mononeuropathy tend to diminish with the passage of time . These symptoms include:

  • Severe pain in chest or abdomen.
  • Pain in the lower back area or in the pelvis.
  • Thigh pain.
  • Calf or foot pain.

Causes and risk factors

As already mentioned throughout the article, the origin of neuropathies is found in a deterioration of nerve fibers caused by excessive levels of blood sugar . Although the reason for this association has not yet been determined, it is hypothesized that it is due to the complex interaction between nerves and blood vessels.

Excessive levels of glucose in the bloodstream can obstruct the function of nerves, which are difficult to transmit signals. In addition, hyperglycemia can cause wear on the walls of capillaries, also obstructing the administration of nutrients and oxygen to the nerves .

The conditions that can cause this increase in sugar levels are:

  • An alteration of the autoimmune response that causes the inflammation of the nerves.
  • Genetic factors .
  • Toxic habits such as smoking and the consumption of alcoholic beverages.

In addition, there are a number of risk factors that can facilitate the onset of any type of neuropathy:

  • Lack of control of blood sugar levels .
  • Duration of diabetic disease.
  • Kidney diseases .
  • Overweight.

Treatment

At the moment, it has not been possible to develop a treatment that completely reverses the symptoms of neuropathies. However, very effective protocols have been developed and with the following objectives:

  • Reduce the progression of the disease by maintaining a healthy lifestyle, which allows the person to maintain adequate levels of blood sugar.
  • Ease the pain through medication or physiotherapy.
  • Control of possible complications and restoration of functions by symptomatic treatment.

Thanks to these intervention guidelines, it is possible to improve the quality of life of people suffering from neuropathy, which can lead to a completely normal life.


Peripheral Neuropathy (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Neuropathies diabétiques: types, symptômes, causes et traitements

Neuropathies diabétiques: types, symptômes, causes et traitements

Juillet 4, 2022

Le sucre. Une substance qui se cache pratiquement dans n'importe quel aliment et qui, avec le temps, a augmenté sa consommation jusqu'à atteindre des niveaux de grande préoccupation. Cette préoccupation est basée sur le grand nombre d'effets sur la santé de cette substance douce et addictive.

Le diabète est l’une de ces conséquences. Qui, bien que cela ne doive pas être très dommageable pour la personne, peut devenir compliqué. C'est alors que les soi-disant neuropathies diabétiques apparaissent , dont nous parlerons tout au long de cet article.

  • Article connexe: "Les 15 troubles neurologiques les plus fréquents"

Qu'est-ce que la neuropathie diabétique?

Le diabète est un type de maladie caractérisé par l’obtention, chez les personnes qui en souffrent, d’un taux élevé de sucre dans le sang. Cet excès de glucose provoque la détérioration des nerfs , causant l'un des types de neuropathie diabétique. Par conséquent, les neuropathies diabétiques sont décrites comme un ensemble de troubles nerveux provoqués par un excès de glucose dans le sang et provoquent généralement la détérioration des nerfs liés aux extrémités inférieures, bien qu’il puisse se propager à d’autres parties du corps.


Le tableau clinique de la neuropathie diabétique peut varier en fonction des groupes de nerfs endommagés. Ces symptômes vont de la sensation de douleur et d’engourdissement des jambes à des modifications gastriques ou à des problèmes cardiaques. En outre, l’intensité des symptômes peut également différer d’une personne à l’autre, car même si, dans certains cas, les symptômes sont très faibles, dans d'autres, ils peuvent être très invalidants et même mortels .

Bien que la neuropathie diabétique soit une complication grave de la maladie diabétique, ses symptômes peuvent être évités ou atténués en intensité si la personne s’engage à maintenir un mode de vie sain et à vérifier régulièrement sa glycémie.


Ce type de trouble nerveux affecte 60-70% de la population souffrant de diabète . Bien que toute personne atteinte de diabète soit susceptible de développer une neuropathie, le risque tend à augmenter avec l’âge et au fil des années. Autrement dit, plus une personne souffre de diabète longtemps, plus elle est susceptible de développer une neuropathie.

Cependant, ce trouble nerveux ne touche pas seulement les patients diabétiques, mais peut également apparaître chez les personnes qui ont des problèmes de contrôle de la glycémie ou chez les personnes souffrant d'hypertension et qui possèdent une masse importante de masse grasse, ainsi que chez les personnes en surpoids .

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Diabète et santé mentale: prendre soin des diabétiques de la psychologie"

Types de neuropathie diabétique et symptômes

Comme discuté dans la section précédente, il existe plusieurs types de neuropathies diabétiques . Ces quatre catégories se distinguent en fonction des nerfs endommagés, ainsi que par un tableau clinique ou une symptomatologie différente.


Il est nécessaire de préciser que les différents types de neuropathies ne sont pas exclusifs. C'est-à-dire que la personne peut développer simultanément des symptômes de types différents ou, au contraire, que leurs symptômes n'appartiennent qu'à l'une des neuropathies.

Dans la plupart des cas, les symptômes apparaissent et évoluent progressivement, avec le danger que la personne n'en est pas consciente jusqu'à ce que la neuropathie ait déjà provoqué une détérioration significative .

Ces quatre types de neuropathie sont les suivants.

1. Neuropathie périphérique

Le périphérique est la plus commune de toutes les neuropathies. Au début, la personne ressent une série de symptômes dans les membres supérieurs, qui finalement ils s'étendent aux bras et aux mains et, en outre, ont tendance à s'aggraver à la tombée de la nuit.

Ces symptômes sont:

  • Engourdissement diminution de la sensibilité à la douleur et la température dans les extrémités.
  • Piquant, crampes ou douleurs pénétrantes.
  • Augmentation de la sensibilité générale au toucher.
  • Sensation de paresse
  • Diminution des réflexes
  • Perte de capacité d'équilibre et coordination.
  • Altérations des pieds telles qu'infections, malformations et douleurs osseuses.

2. Neuropathie autonome

Comme son nom l'indique, ce deuxième type de neuropathie affecte le système nerveux autonome. En conséquence, les cellules nerveuses qui régissent le fonctionnement d'organes tels que les poumons, le cœur, les yeux ou les organes sexuels peuvent être gravement endommagées.

Parmi les symptômes de la neuropathie autonome, on peut trouver:

  • Troubles gastriques tels que constipation ou diarrhée.
  • Infections dans les voies urinaires et l'incontinence.
  • Gastroparésie
  • Problèmes de déglutition.
  • Dysfonction érectile
  • Sécheresse vaginale
  • Diminution de la pression artérielle .
  • Augmentation de la fréquence cardiaque en état de repos.

3. Neuropathie par radiculoplexopathie

Également appelé amyotrophie diabétique, ce type de trouble neuropathique affecte principalement les membres inférieurs. y compris les hanches et les fessiers. Habituellement, les symptômes n'apparaissent que d'un côté du corps , mais il est possible qu’ils se dispersent vers l’autre.

Les principaux symptômes sont:

  • Sensation de douleur soudaine et aiguë .
  • Problèmes à intégrer.
  • Faiblesse et atrophie musculaire .
  • Perte de poids.

4. Mononeuropathie

Cette dernière classe de neuropathie apparaît généralement soudainement et est plus typique des personnes âgées et se caractérise par la détérioration d'un nerf particulier. Le plus connu des syndromes provoqués par une mononévrite est le syndrome du canal carpien, dont les symptômes sont concentrés dans les mains de la personne.

Même si les symptômes peuvent dépendre des nerfs touchés, Les symptômes de la mononeuropathie ont tendance à diminuer avec le temps . Ces symptômes incluent:

  • Douleur intense dans la poitrine ou l'abdomen.
  • Douleur dans le bas du dos ou dans le bassin.
  • Douleur à la cuisse.
  • Douleur au mollet ou au pied.

Causes et facteurs de risque

Comme nous l’avons déjà mentionné tout au long de l’article, l’origine des neuropathies se trouve dans une détérioration des fibres nerveuses causée par une glycémie excessive . Bien que la raison de cette association n’ait pas encore été déterminée, on suppose que cela est dû à l’interaction complexe entre les nerfs et les vaisseaux sanguins.

Des taux excessifs de glucose dans le sang peuvent entraver la fonction des nerfs, qui sont difficiles à transmettre des signaux. En outre, l'hyperglycémie peut provoquer une usure des parois des capillaires, obstruant également l'administration de nutriments et d'oxygène aux nerfs .

Les conditions pouvant causer cette augmentation du taux de sucre sont les suivantes:

  • Une altération de la réponse auto-immune qui provoque l'inflammation des nerfs.
  • Facteurs génétiques .
  • Habitudes toxiques telles que le tabagisme et la consommation de boissons alcoolisées.

En outre, un certain nombre de facteurs de risque peuvent faciliter l'apparition de tout type de neuropathie:

  • Manque de contrôle de la glycémie .
  • Durée de la maladie diabétique.
  • Maladies du rein .
  • En surpoids.

Traitement

À l'heure actuelle, il n'a pas été possible de développer un traitement qui renverse complètement les symptômes des neuropathies. Cependant, des protocoles très efficaces ont été développés avec les objectifs suivants:

  • Réduire la progression de la maladie en maintenant un mode de vie sain, ce qui permet à la personne de maintenir un taux de sucre sanguin adéquat.
  • Soulager la douleur médicaments ou physiothérapie.
  • Contrôle des complications possibles et restauration des fonctions par traitement symptomatique.

Grâce à ces recommandations d'intervention, il est possible d'améliorer la qualité de vie des personnes atteintes de neuropathie, ce qui peut mener à une vie complètement normale.

Articles Connexes