yes, therapy helps!
Dialogic learning: principles, precedents and benefits

Dialogic learning: principles, precedents and benefits

May 1, 2024

Just as society advances and changes with time, the way of educating, as well as learning, also changes and advances. Dialogical learning It is a great example of this type of transformation.

The growth and popularization of the learning community has favored that this type of teaching currents flourish and demonstrate its benefits over other more traditional types of education.

  • Related article: "Educational psychology: definition, concepts and theories"

What is dialogical learning?

Dialogical learning constitutes a practical framework in which these learning communities are developed. It encourages people to learn through interaction with other people, with communication being the main source of education.


From the point of view of dialogical learning, interaction with third parties is essential for establishing a learning process or mechanism. Through this process of dialogue we elaborate a series of knowledge from an initially social and intersubjective plane , to later assimilate it as an own or intrasubjective knowledge.

In addition, another characteristic of dialogical learning is that all those who participate in it do so in an equal relationship. This implies that the contributions of each and every one of the participants are important and are based on criteria of validity and not power.

In the beginning, the idea of ​​dialogical learning was developed based on the observation about how people are capable of learning not only inside schools or educational centers of any kind, but outside of these have the opportunity to absorb large amounts of information freely and with the possibility of participating in said learning.


As a consequence of this fact, the first learning communities began to develop as we understand them today. Which aim to give greater importance to equal dialogue within the learning group and revolutionize the teaching methods practiced to date.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 13 types of learning: what are they?"

The 7 principles of dialogical learning

In order to carry out the dialogical learning as it was founded, 7 fundamental principles must be given. They are the following.

1. Equal dialogue

By dialogue we mean an exchange of information between two or more people who express their ideas and comments in an alternative way. Yes to this we add the qualification of egalitarian, that is to say on equal terms, we get break the hierarchical and authoritarian relations of traditional education .


This means that each idea, opinion or thought is accepted based on a criterion of validity of the arguments, instead of being imposed by means of the power or the simple fact of having an accrediting title.

2. Cultural intelligence

The concept of cultural intelligence is one of the most important within the dynamics of dialogical learning. This type of intelligence overcomes the limitations of traditional conceptions of intelligence, which are based almost entirely on the IQ and have a certain cultural and class bias.

The advantage of cultural intelligence, compared to traditional notions of intelligence, is that it includes both academic intelligence and practical intelligence and communicative intelligence.

3. Transformation

As mentioned above, dialogical learning seeks the transformation of the socio-cultural environment in order to also transform learning. In this way, the transformation of the contexts prior to the exchange of knowledge occurs through the interaction of all the people from whom you learn , including oneself.

4. Instrumental dimension

In dialogical learning, instrumental dimension is understood as those means or tools that form the basis to achieve the rest of learnings , being an essential principle to ensure a quality education.

The objective of this dimension is to avoid social exclusion through the intervention and participation of all people belonging to the learning communities.

5. Creation of meaning

The creation of meaning refers to the creation of a vital orientation of our existence. The involvement of families in the communities and the education of their children; as well as the creation of spaces for interaction and dialogue for solving problems together .

Dialogic learning aims to shape a whole universe of learning with a social and ethical background that goes beyond the mere administration and assimilation of knowledge.

6Solidarity

In order to develop routines and educational experiences based on equality, it is necessary to assimilate an egalitarian conception of education, in which educational welfare is pursued of all the students.

In this way, the principle of solidarity promotes an inclusive education that offers the same opportunities to all students and that, far from fostering competitiveness among them, promotes collaboration and the sharing of learning mechanisms and techniques.

This implies that both teachers, students, and the rest of the people of the community commit themselves to ensure that all students can enjoy satisfactory academic results .

7. Equality of differences

Traditionally it has been understood that diversity within the classroom tends to hinder teaching processes, hence the supposed need to create classrooms and specific classes for students with special needs and favoring segregation and educational inequalities.

On the contrary, in dialogical learning, this diversity is recognized and accepted, with the difference that this diversity is used for its own benefit as a motor of learning. Finally, this principle supports the right of children to enjoy a high quality education regardless of their characteristics or personal situation.

Advantages and contributions

Once you know what they are the theoretical and practical foundations of dialogic learning As well as the fundamental principles on which it is based, we can reach a series of conclusions about its advantages and contributions to the field of current education.

These benefits are specified in the following points:

  • Creating a common language that favors the functioning of the group and the inclusion of all the members.
  • Empowerment of individual thinking and the construction of knowledge.
  • Promotion of values ​​such as communication, collaboration and responsibility.
  • Enhancement of skills for teamwork.
  • The accompaniment and inclusion in a work group favors the motivation for learning.
  • Generation of a positive interdependence in which the members of the group need each other to improve and learn.
  • Positive evaluation of collaborations and individual contributions .
  • Enhancement of a context of discussion and constructive communication.
  • Generation of synergies within the learning groups.
  • Grant opportunities to all students regardless of their abilities and personal situation.
  • Encourages the involvement and active participation of both students and the rest of the community.

GSD Talks: Richard Sennett, “The Open City” (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Apprentissage dialogique: principes, précédents et avantages

Apprentissage dialogique: principes, précédents et avantages

Novembre 14, 2022

Tout comme la société avance et évolue avec le temps, la manière d’éduquer, tout comme l’apprentissage, change et progresse. Apprentissage dialogique C'est un excellent exemple de ce type de transformation.

La croissance et la vulgarisation de la communauté d'apprentissage ont favorisé le développement de ce type de courants d'enseignement et la démonstration de ses avantages par rapport à d'autres types d'enseignement plus traditionnels.

  • Article connexe: "Psychologie de l'éducation: définition, concepts et théories"

Qu'est-ce que l'apprentissage dialogique?

L'apprentissage dialogique constitue un cadre pratique dans lequel ces communautés d'apprentissage sont développées. Cela encourage les gens à apprendre par le biais d'interactions avec d'autres personnes, la communication étant la principale source d'éducation.


Du point de vue de l’apprentissage dialogique, l’interaction avec des tiers est essentielle à l’établissement d’un processus ou d’un mécanisme d’apprentissage. A travers ce processus de dialogue nous élaborons une série de connaissances à partir d'un plan initialement social et intersubjectif , pour l'assimiler plus tard comme une connaissance propre ou intrasubjective.

En outre, une autre caractéristique de l'apprentissage dialogique est que tous ceux qui y participent le font dans une relation d'égalité. Cela implique que les contributions de chacun des participants sont importantes et reposent sur des critères de validité et non de pouvoir.

Au début, l'idée d'apprentissage dialogique a été développée en se basant sur l'observation de la capacité des personnes à apprendre non seulement dans les écoles ou les centres éducatifs, mais aussi en dehors de ceux-ci. avoir la possibilité d'absorber librement de grandes quantités d'informations et avec la possibilité de participer à cet apprentissage.


En conséquence, les premières communautés d'apprentissage ont commencé à se développer telles que nous les comprenons aujourd'hui. Lesquelles visent à donner plus d'importance à un dialogue égal au sein du groupe d'apprentissage et à révolutionner les méthodes d'enseignement pratiquées à ce jour.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Les 13 types d’apprentissage: que sont-ils?"

Les 7 principes de l'apprentissage dialogique

Pour mener à bien l'apprentissage dialogique tel qu'il a été fondé, 7 principes fondamentaux doivent être énoncés. Ils sont les suivants.

1. Dialogue égal

Par dialogue, nous entendons un échange d'informations entre deux personnes ou plus qui expriment leurs idées et leurs commentaires de manière alternative. Oui, nous ajoutons la qualification d’égalitaire, c’est-à-dire à égalité de conditions, nous obtenons rompre les relations hiérarchiques et autoritaires de l'éducation traditionnelle .


Cela signifie que chaque idée, opinion ou pensée est acceptée sur la base d'un critère de validité des arguments, au lieu d'être imposée au moyen du pouvoir ou du simple fait d'avoir un titre accréditant.

2. Intelligence culturelle

Le concept d'intelligence culturelle est l'un des plus importants de la dynamique de l'apprentissage dialogique. Ce type d'intelligence surmonte les limites des conceptions traditionnelles de l'intelligence, qui reposent presque entièrement sur le QI et comportent un certain biais de culture et de classe.

L'avantage de l'intelligence culturelle par rapport aux notions traditionnelles d'intelligence est qu'elle inclut à la fois l'intelligence académique et l'intelligence pratique et l'intelligence communicative.

3. Transformation

Comme mentionné ci-dessus, l'apprentissage dialogique cherche à transformer l'environnement socioculturel afin de transformer également l'apprentissage. De cette manière, la transformation des contextes avant l’échange de connaissances se fait par le biais de interaction de toutes les personnes chez qui vous apprenez , y compris soi-même.

4. Dimension instrumentale

Dans l’apprentissage dialogique, la dimension instrumentale est comprise comme celle des moyens ou des outils qui forment la base pour réaliser le reste des apprentissages , étant un principe essentiel pour assurer une éducation de qualité.

L'objectif de cette dimension est d'éviter l'exclusion sociale grâce à l'intervention et à la participation de toutes les personnes appartenant aux communautés d'apprentissage.

5. Création de sens

La création de sens fait référence à la création d'une orientation vitale de notre existence. L'implication des familles dans les communautés et l'éducation de leurs enfants; ainsi que la création d'espaces d'interaction et de dialogue pour résoudre des problèmes ensemble .

L’apprentissage dialogique vise à façonner tout un univers d’apprentissage avec un contexte social et éthique qui dépasse la simple administration et l’assimilation de connaissances.

6La solidarité

Afin de développer des routines et des expériences éducatives basées sur l'égalité, il est nécessaire d'assimiler une conception égalitaire de l'éducation, dans laquelle le bien-être éducatif est poursuivi de tous les étudiants.

Ainsi, le principe de solidarité favorise une éducation inclusive offrant les mêmes possibilités à tous les élèves et qui, loin de favoriser la compétitivité entre eux, favorise la collaboration et le partage de mécanismes et de techniques d'apprentissage.

Ceci implique que les enseignants, les étudiants et le reste de la communauté s’engagent à veiller à ce que tous les élèves puissent bénéficier de résultats scolaires satisfaisants .

7. Égalité des différences

Traditionnellement, on a compris que la diversité au sein de la classe tend à entraver les processus d’enseignement, d’où la nécessité supposée de créer des salles de classe et des classes spécifiques pour les élèves ayant des besoins particuliers et favoriser la ségrégation et les inégalités éducatives.

Au contraire, dans l'apprentissage dialogique, cette diversité est reconnue et acceptée, à la différence que cette diversité est utilisée pour son propre bénéfice en tant que moteur de l'apprentissage. Enfin, ce principe soutient le droit des enfants de bénéficier d'une éducation de qualité, quelles que soient leurs caractéristiques ou leur situation personnelle.

Avantages et contributions

Une fois que vous savez ce qu'ils sont les fondements théoriques et pratiques de l'apprentissage dialogique Outre les principes fondamentaux sur lesquels il repose, nous pouvons tirer une série de conclusions sur ses avantages et sa contribution au domaine de l’éducation actuelle.

Ces avantages sont spécifiés dans les points suivants:

  • Créer un langage commun qui favorise le fonctionnement du groupe et l'inclusion de tous les membres.
  • Habilitation de la pensée individuelle et construction du savoir.
  • Promotion de valeurs telles que la communication, la collaboration et la responsabilité.
  • Amélioration des compétences pour le travail en équipe.
  • L'accompagnement et l'inclusion dans un groupe de travail favorise la motivation pour apprendre.
  • Génération d’une interdépendance positive dans laquelle les membres du groupe ont besoin les uns des autres pour s’améliorer et apprendre.
  • Évaluation positive de collaborations et contributions individuelles .
  • Amélioration d'un contexte de discussion et de communication constructive.
  • Génération de synergies au sein des groupes d'apprentissage.
  • Accorder des opportunités à tous les étudiants, quelles que soient leurs capacités et leur situation personnelle.
  • Encourage l'implication et la participation active des étudiants et du reste de la communauté.

La pensée complexe pas si compliquée ! (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes