yes, therapy helps!
Diazepam: uses, precautions and side effects of this drug

Diazepam: uses, precautions and side effects of this drug

May 3, 2024

Of all the benzodiazepines in the pharmacological market, the diazepam is the one that has achieved the most fame since in the 50s the Polish chemist Leo Henryk Sternbach synthesized it for the first time.

In this article we will discuss the uses of this drug when treating various physical and psychological conditions, as well as the side effects and precautions that should be taken by those who take it.

  • Related article: "Benzodiazepines (psychodrugs): uses, effects and risks"

What is diazepam?

Diazepam, popularly known as Valium , is a medicine of the benzodiazepine group.


Roughly, benzodiazepines they are psychotropic drugs, that is to say, that their focus of action is the central nervous system . Its sedative, anxiolytic and muscle relaxant properties, among many others, are used to treat anxiety states, sleep disturbances, withdrawal problems or muscular disorders.

However, in the case of diazepam its properties are much more specific. These are:

  • Anxiolytic properties : decreases the symptoms of anxiety.
  • Muscle relaxants: decreases tonicity, tension or contraction of muscles.
  • Anticonvulsant : combat, avoid and prevent seizures or epileptic seizures.
  • Sedative : tranquilizing and somnolent effects.

Diazepam has been constituted as one of the most used benzodiazepines due to its high effectiveness , both at the anxiolytic level and in the treatment of muscle spasms; being one of the most administered and prescribed drugs in this category.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of psychotropic drugs: uses and side effects"

How does it act?

Like the rest of benzodiazepines, diazepam it is a central nervous system depressant . Its focus of action are the neurons that are in these structures on which it exerts a reducing effect on nerve conduction, and can produce from sedative effects to coma, depending on the amount administered.

Its main mechanism of action lies in favoring and increase the inhibitory potential of the neurotransmitter known as gamma aminobutyric acid or GABA ; acting on the limbic system, the thalamus and the hypothalamus.

One of its main advantages is that it does not affect or block the peripheral autonomic nervous system, so it does not produce any type of extrapyramidal side effect.

In what cases is it administered?

Given its multiple actions, diazepam has been established as the medication of choice for a large number of conditions and disorders both psychological and physical.


Since it is mainly known for its anxiolytic effects, its administration contexts are those related to the treatment of anxiety, psychosomatic affections, panic attacks or sleep problems such as insomnia.

As for the rest of cases or conditions, diazepam is indicated in cases of:

  • Vertigo .
  • Seizures and muscle spasms.
  • Sedation prior to surgery .
  • Delirium tremens.
  • Dyspnoea or breathing problems.
  • Paraneoplastic syndrome

Finally, thanks to its properties as a muscle relaxant , is highly recommended in cases of spasticity in which any type of condition such as paraplegia or paralysis, cause a permanent contraction of some muscle groups.

What is your dosage?

The most used form of administration in this medicine is orally in the form of tablets, capsules or a concentrated liquid solution of prolonged release. Also, also it is possible that in certain cases it is administered intravenously , always from a health professional.

Although the recommended dose of diazepam is usually between 5 and 10 milligrams daily, it is necessary to adjust to the indications of the specialist doctor. Which will agree the necessary dose according to the individual response of each patient.

However, the maximum dose of diazepam does not exceed 20 milligrams per day, since the patient is at risk of overdosing , with all the harmful effects that entails.

Due to its own characteristics, the increase of the dose on its own account, or the administration of diazepam for longer than required, may cause tolerance or diminution of its effects and, therefore, dependence on this drug .

Therefore, as discussed above, the patient must follow in a firm and precise manner all the indications provided by the healthcare professional, with whom he should contact in case any type of doubt arises in relation to the medication. or with any aspect of the treatment.

Side effects

Among the list of most common side effects of diazepam are:

  • Fatigue .
  • Drowsiness.
  • Dizziness .
  • Sensation of weakness
  • Gastric problems such as stomach pain or diarrhea.

On the other hand there are a number of undesirable effects that are much less common but in which it will be necessary to contact the relevant professional immediately:

  • Constipation.
  • Alterations in appetite .
  • Problems urinating.
  • Alterations in vision.
  • Alterations in the libido.
  • Fever .
  • Convulsive crisis.
  • Trouble breathing.
  • Difficulty in swallowing
  • Tremors .
  • Motor alterations.
  • Rash .
  • Abnormal palpitations

Finally, there have been cases of paradoxical adverse reactions such as overexcitation, irritation and cholera; mainly when diazepam is administered in children and elderly people.

What precautions or contraindications are there?

Like the rest of benzodiazepines, patients must take into account a series of precautions when taking a drug such as diazepam .

First of all, the patient has the obligation to inform his doctor in the case of consuming any other type of medication or drug, as well as his alcoholic habits; in order to avoid any kind of unwanted interaction.

After a long time of treatment, the patient should not stop taking diazepam suddenly , just as once it has finished it must be withdrawn gradually. Otherwise they may suffer a risk of rebound effect characterized by nervousness and extreme alteration. In addition, after its abrupt withdrawal may also appear depression and sleep problems. In any case, you have to follow the doctor's instructions.

In cases in which the patient is pregnant, the administration of diazepam in the first and third trimesters is not recommended. As well as during the period of lactation since this can be transferred to breast milk, causing in the infant effects such as sedation, alterations in appetite and weight loss.

Finally, although these effects are subject to the amount of diazepam administered and the sensitivity of each patient, it is necessary to take precautions When driving any type of vehicle or machinery that requires the complete attention or concentration of the person. The sedative and somnolent effects of diazepam make it practically incompatible with any of these activities or practices.


Diazepam: Psychotropic Drug to Treat Anxiety, Seizures, and Muscle spasm (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Diazépam: utilisations, précautions et effets secondaires de ce médicament

Diazépam: utilisations, précautions et effets secondaires de ce médicament

Décembre 3, 2022

Parmi toutes les benzodiazépines du marché pharmacologique, le diazépam est celui qui a obtenu le plus de gloire depuis les années 50, le chimiste polonais Leo Henryk Sternbach l'a synthétisé pour la première fois.

Dans cet article, nous discuterons des utilisations de ce médicament dans le traitement de diverses affections physiques et psychologiques, ainsi que des effets secondaires et des précautions à prendre par ceux qui le prennent.

  • Article connexe: "Benzodiazépines (psychodrugs): usages, effets et risques"

Qu'est-ce que le diazépam?

Diazépam, communément appelé Valium , est un médicament du groupe des benzodiazépines.


En gros, les benzodiazépines ce sont des drogues psychotropes, c'est-à-dire que leur système d'action est centré sur le système nerveux central . Ses propriétés sédatives, anxiolytiques et relaxantes musculaires, parmi beaucoup d'autres, sont utilisées pour traiter les états d'anxiété, les troubles du sommeil, les problèmes de sevrage et les troubles musculaires.

Cependant, dans le cas du diazépam, ses propriétés sont beaucoup plus spécifiques. Ceux-ci sont:

  • Propriétés anxiolytiques : diminue les symptômes d'anxiété.
  • Relaxants musculaires: diminue la tonicité, la tension ou la contraction des muscles.
  • Anticonvulsivant : combattre, éviter et prévenir les crises convulsives ou épileptiques.
  • Sédatif : effets calmants et somnolents.

Le diazépam a été constitué comme une des benzodiazépines les plus utilisées en raison de sa grande efficacité , tant au niveau anxiolytique que dans le traitement des spasmes musculaires; étant l'un des médicaments les plus administrés et prescrits de cette catégorie.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Types de médicaments psychotropes: usages et effets secondaires"

Comment agit-il?

Comme le reste des benzodiazépines, le diazépam c'est un dépresseur du système nerveux central . Ses neurones qui se trouvent dans ces structures exercent un effet réducteur sur la conduction nerveuse et peuvent produire des effets sédatifs menant au coma, en fonction de la quantité administrée.

Son principal mécanisme d'action consiste à favoriser et à augmenter le potentiel inhibiteur du neurotransmetteur connu sous le nom d'acide gamma-aminobutyrique ou GABA ; agissant sur le système limbique, le thalamus et l'hypothalamus.

L’un de ses principaux avantages est qu’il n’affecte ni le système nerveux autonome périphérique, il ne produit donc aucun type d’effet secondaire extrapyramidal.

Dans quels cas est-il administré?

Compte tenu de ses multiples actions, le diazépam a été établi comme le médicament de choix pour un grand nombre d'affections et de troubles à la fois psychologique et physique.


Comme il est principalement connu pour ses effets anxiolytiques, ses contextes d'administration sont ceux liés au traitement de l'anxiété, des affections psychosomatiques, des attaques de panique ou des problèmes de sommeil tels que l'insomnie.

Comme pour le reste des cas ou des affections, le diazépam est indiqué dans les cas de:

  • Vertige .
  • Convulsions et spasmes musculaires.
  • Sédation avant la chirurgie .
  • Delirium tremens.
  • Dyspnée ou des problèmes respiratoires.
  • Syndrome paranéoplasique

Finalement, grâce à ses propriétés de relaxant musculaire , est fortement recommandé dans les cas de spasticité dans lesquels tout type de problème tel que la paraplégie ou la paralysie provoque une contraction permanente de certains groupes musculaires.

Quelle est votre posologie?

La forme d'administration la plus utilisée dans ce médicament se présente sous forme de comprimés, de gélules ou d'une solution liquide concentrée à libération prolongée. Aussi, aussi il est possible que dans certains cas, il soit administré par voie intraveineuse , toujours d'un professionnel de la santé.

Bien que la dose recommandée de diazépam soit généralement comprise entre 5 et 10 milligrammes par jour, il est nécessaire de s’ajuster aux indications du médecin spécialiste. Qui conviendra de la dose nécessaire en fonction de la réponse individuelle de chaque patient.

Cependant, la dose maximale de diazépam ne dépasse pas 20 milligrammes par jour, car le patient court un risque de surdose , avec tous les effets nocifs que cela entraîne.

En raison de ses caractéristiques propres, l'augmentation de la dose pour son propre compte ou l'administration de diazépam plus longtemps que nécessaire peut entraîner une tolérance ou une diminution de ses effets et, par conséquent, dépendance à ce médicament .

Par conséquent, comme indiqué ci-dessus, le patient doit suivre de manière ferme et précise toutes les indications fournies par le professionnel de la santé, avec lequel il devrait contacter si un doute survenait quant à la prise du médicament. ou avec n'importe quel aspect du traitement.

Effets secondaires

Parmi les effets secondaires les plus courants du diazépam figurent:

  • Fatigue .
  • Somnolence
  • Vertige .
  • Sensation de faiblesse
  • Problèmes gastriques tels que douleurs à l'estomac ou diarrhée.

Par ailleurs, il existe un certain nombre d'effets indésirables beaucoup moins fréquents, mais dans lesquels il sera nécessaire de contacter immédiatement le professionnel concerné:

  • Constipation
  • Altérations de l'appétit .
  • Problèmes d'uriner.
  • Altérations de la vision.
  • Altérations de la libido.
  • Fièvre .
  • Les saisies
  • Problèmes respiratoires
  • Difficulté à avaler
  • Tremblements .
  • Altérations motrices.
  • Éruption cutanée .
  • Palpitations anormales

Enfin, il y a eu des cas de réactions indésirables paradoxales telles que surexcitation, irritation et choléra; principalement lorsque le diazépam est administré à des enfants et à des personnes âgées.

Quelles précautions ou contre-indications existe-t-il?

Comme les autres benzodiazépines, les patients doivent prendre en compte une série de précautions à prendre lors de la prise d'un médicament tel que le diazépam .

Tout d’abord, le patient est tenu d’informer son médecin s’il consomme tout autre type de médicament ou de drogue, ainsi que ses habitudes en matière d’alcool; afin d'éviter toute sorte d'interaction indésirable.

Après une longue période de traitement, le patient ne doit pas arrêter de prendre du diazépam subitement , une fois terminé, il doit être retiré progressivement. Sinon, ils risquent de subir un effet de rebond caractérisé par une nervosité et une altération extrême. En outre, après son retrait brutal peut également apparaître une dépression et des problèmes de sommeil. Dans tous les cas, vous devez suivre les instructions du médecin.

Dans les cas où la patiente est enceinte, l'administration de diazépam au cours des premier et troisième trimestres n'est pas recommandée. Ainsi que pendant la période de lactation puisque cela peut être transféré au lait maternel, provoquant chez le nourrisson des effets tels que la sédation, des modifications de l'appétit et une perte de poids.

Enfin, bien que ces effets dépendent de la quantité de diazépam administrée et de la sensibilité de chaque patient, il est nécessaire de prendre des précautions. Lors de la conduite de tout type de véhicule ou de machine cela nécessite toute l'attention ou la concentration de la personne. Les effets sédatifs et somnolents du diazépam le rendent pratiquement incompatible avec l’une ou l’autre de ces activités ou pratiques.


How To Use Lavender To Relieve Anxiety And Depression (Décembre 2022).


Articles Connexes