yes, therapy helps!
Differences between Criminal Psychology and Forensic Psychology

Differences between Criminal Psychology and Forensic Psychology

May 12, 2024

With the regrettable increase in recent years of criminal acts in general, and of terrorist acts in particular, scenarios such as the courts of justice or social reintegration centers are experiencing a real boom due to the need to cushion the impact that violence brings.

Likewise, criminal acts also involve processes such as mediation and attention to victims, as a framework of action of increasing relevance for the psychologist.

Psychology around criminal acts: what is it?

Nowadays, Psychology has become a fundamental discipline in the administration of justice . Their direct or indirect intervention in criminal proceedings is essential in the care and treatment of crime or interpersonal and gender violence, as well as other conflicts of personal rights.


This need for specialization translates into a growing demand for forensic and criminal psychologists .

Differentiating between Criminal Psychology and Forensic Psychology

But to talk about Criminal psychology and of Forensic psychology It is necessary to clarify what are the differences between these two 'disciplines' (or subdisciplines) of action. There is great confusion about their similarities and differences, so terms are often confused and it is not uncommon for there to be people who consider it to be a single discipline .

Today we will know what their differences between forensic psychology and criminal psychology are, as well as discovering their functions and areas of intervention.


General concepts

In order to understand the nature of each discipline, it is necessary to know some general concepts that will allow us to better understand what they are.

Psychology

The psychology it's a branch of science that study psychic phenomena and operations . It is, in other words, the scientific study of human behavior and experience, of how human beings (and even animals) think, feel, experience, learn and do with the objective of adapting to the environment that surrounds them.

Forensic

From Latin forensic alluding to forum , refers to the place where an oral trial takes place. This term usually causes a lot of confusion and commotion since it is usually associated immediately with the Thanatology. However, when a discipline is added to this term, simply makes reference to that it contributes to the administration of justice or is related to it.


Legal

It is a concept widely used in law. It refers to the sciences that study the legal system and what is related to the laws.

What does each one do?

We have seen an approximate definition of each of these areas, but, What role does each of them play?

Forensic psychology: concept and scope of action

The Forensic psychology it is that part of psychology that develops within the specific legal scope and / or in its dependent organs, characterized by own techniques that make it an auxiliary science in this field.

Forensic Psychology addresses the behavior and mental processes that need to be explained or determined during an oral trial , because the main interest of this branch of psychology is to help the procurement of justice. In addition, the forensic psychology has the peculiarity of being interested in the study of the victim to determine the psychic consequences that he suffers after the crime.

What is the job of a forensic psychologist?

We can also understand forensic psychology as that branch of applied psychology related to the collection, analysis and presentation of psychological evidence for judicial purposes . Therefore, it is essential for the forensic psychologist to understand criminal law in the jurisdiction that corresponds to it, in order to carry out legal evaluations and interact appropriately with judges and lawyers.

Another important aspect of the forensic psychologist is that must have the ability to testify before a court about the expertise he has performed (Suppose, determine the mental state of the defendant at the time of carrying out the crime). Generally, their job is more to clarify legal than psychological issues. Among the most important tasks that the forensic psychologist is responsible for are: issuing opinions on issues in their area, evaluating and treating any justice administration personnel involved in the process, analyzing all those problems of a psychological nature or emotional and to give pertinent recommendations as regards responsibility, mental health and safety of the subject.

Criminal psychology: concept and scope of action

The Criminal psychology or criminological he takes care of study the behavior and mental processes of the individual who has committed a crime . Criminal Psychology, therefore, is responsible for studying the developments and processes of psychological nature involved in the ideation and perpetration of criminal acts.

Study the whys and how criminal behavior manifests itself distinctly from other behaviors, addressing the scientific observation of criminal behavior types, types of offenders and delinquency as a psychosocial phenomenon.

What is the work of a criminal psychologist?

Criminal Psychology provides the theoretical and practical basis to facilitate the work of criminal psychologists. These elaborate the psychodiagnosis with the intention of predicting a prognosis and considering an adequate treatment by studying the personality of the criminal. Likewise, criminological psychology integrates the therapeutic work aimed at modifying the antisocial behavior of the subject.

This branch, contrary to what one might think, is not exclusively clinical but rather It also extends to studies on criminality and about the psychological factors that influence it.

Among the many tasks that a criminal psychologist can perform, we can cite the following: conducting criminal personality studies aimed at clarifying the endogenous and exogenous psychological factors that led to criminal behavior, helping the criminologist to establish the danger of a criminal subject, criminal profiling in research agencies, offering psychotherapeutic treatment to inmates, etc.

summarizing

Criminal Psychology and Forensic Psychology play essential roles in law enforcement, the judicial system and criminology. However, the first one is used mainly to determine the psychological reasons for which a crime is committed and the forensic one analyzes the effect of the crime on the victims and the mental condition of the perpetrator.

Similarities and differences

It is worth to make a comparison table to better understand the similarities and differences between each one in a synthetic way.

Bibliographic references:

  • Mendoza Beivide, A.P. "Psychiatry for criminologists and criminology for psychiatrists" Editorial Trillas. Mexico. 2014
  • Stingo, N.R. "Dictionary of psychiatry and forensic psychology" Editorial Polemos. Argentina. First edition. 2006

CRIMINOLOGY VS FORENSIC PSYCHOLOGY: WHATS THE DIFFERENCE? (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Différences entre la psychologie criminelle et la psychologie légale

Différences entre la psychologie criminelle et la psychologie légale

Octobre 19, 2020

Face à la regrettable augmentation des actes criminels en général et des actes terroristes en particulier au cours des dernières années, des scénarios tels que les tribunaux ou les centres de réinsertion sociale connaissent un véritable essor en raison de la nécessité d’atténuer les effets de la violence.

De même, les actes criminels impliquent également des processus tels que la médiation et l'attention aux victimes, en tant que cadre d'action de plus en plus pertinent pour le psychologue.

Psychologie autour d'actes criminels: de quoi s'agit-il?

Actuellement, La psychologie est devenue une discipline fondamentale dans l'administration de la justice . Leur intervention directe ou indirecte dans les procédures pénales est essentielle pour le traitement et le traitement de la criminalité ou de la violence interpersonnelle et sexiste, ainsi que pour d’autres conflits de droits de la personne.


Ce besoin de spécialisation se traduit par une demande croissante de psychologues judiciaires et criminels .

Différenciation entre psychologie criminelle et psychologie légale

Mais parler de Psychologie criminelle et de Psychologie légale Il est nécessaire de préciser quelles sont les différences entre ces deux «disciplines» (ou sous-disciplines) d’action. Il y a une grande confusion quant à leurs similitudes et différences, donc les termes sont souvent confondus et il n'est pas rare qu'il y ait des gens qui considèrent qu'il s'agit d'une seule discipline .

Aujourd'hui, nous saurons quelles sont leurs différences entre la psychologie judiciaire et la psychologie criminelle, ainsi que leurs fonctions et leurs domaines d'intervention.


Concepts généraux

Afin de comprendre la nature de chaque discipline, il faut connaître quelques concepts généraux cela nous permettra de mieux comprendre ce qu’ils sont.

Psychologie

Le psychologie c'est une branche de la science qui étudier les phénomènes et opérations psychiques . En d’autres termes, c’est l’étude scientifique du comportement et de l’expérience humaines, de la façon dont les êtres humains (et même les animaux) pensent, ressentent, expérimentent, apprennent et font avec l’objectif de s’adapter à l’environnement qui les entoure.

Médecine légale

Du latin médecine légale faisant allusion à forum , fait référence au lieu où se déroule un procès oral. Ce terme provoque généralement beaucoup de confusion et de commotion puisqu'il est généralement associé immédiatement au Thanatologie. Cependant, quand une discipline est ajoutée à ce terme, simplement fait référence à ce qu'il contribue à l'administration de la justice ou est liée à elle.


Juridique

C'est un concept largement utilisé en droit. Il fait référence à la sciences qui étudient le système juridique et ce qui est lié aux lois.

Que fait chacun?

Nous avons vu une définition approximative de chacun de ces domaines, mais, Quel est le rôle de chacun?

Psychologie légale: concept et champ d'action

Le Psychologie légale c'est cette partie de la psychologie qui se développe dans le cadre juridique spécifique et / ou dans ses organes dépendants, caractérisée par des techniques propres qui en font une science auxiliaire dans ce domaine.

Psychologie légale traite du comportement et des processus mentaux qui doivent être expliqués ou déterminés lors d'un procès oral , car l’intérêt principal de cette branche de la psychologie est d’aider à l’acquisition de la justice. De plus, la psychologie médico-légale a la particularité de s'intéresser à l'étude de la victime pour déterminer les conséquences psychiques qu'il subit après le crime.

Quel est le travail d'un psychologue légiste?

Nous pouvons aussi comprendre la psychologie légale comme cette branche de la psychologie appliquée liée à la collecte, à l'analyse et à la présentation de preuves psychologiques à des fins judiciaires . Par conséquent, il est essentiel que le psychologue judiciaire comprenne le droit pénal de la juridiction qui lui correspond pour pouvoir effectuer des évaluations juridiques et interagir de manière appropriée avec les juges et les avocats.

Un autre aspect important du psychologue judiciaire est que avoir la capacité de témoigner devant un tribunal à propos de l'expertise qu'il a exercée (Supposons, déterminez l'état mental de l'accusé au moment de l'exécution du crime). Généralement, leur travail consiste davantage à clarifier des questions juridiques que psychologiques. Les tâches les plus importantes confiées au psychologue légiste sont les suivantes: émettre des avis sur des questions relevant de son domaine, évaluer et traiter le personnel de l’administration de la justice impliqué dans le processus, analyser tous les problèmes de nature psychologique ou psychologique. émotionnel et de formuler des recommandations pertinentes en matière de responsabilité, de santé mentale et de sécurité du sujet.

Psychologie criminelle: concept et champ d'action

Le Psychologie criminelle o criminologique il est chargé de étudier le comportement et les processus mentaux de la personne qui a commis un crime . La psychologie criminelle est donc chargée d’étudier les développements et les processus de nature psychologique impliqués dans l’idéation et la perpétration d’actes criminels.

Étudiez le pourquoi et comment le comportement criminel se manifeste distinctement des autres comportements, en abordant l'observation scientifique des types de comportement criminel, des types de délinquant et de la délinquance en tant que phénomène psychosocial.

Quel est le travail d'un psychologue criminel?

La psychologie criminelle fournit les bases théoriques et pratiques pour faciliter le travail des psychologues criminels. Celles-ci élaborent le psychodiagnostic dans le but de prédire un pronostic et d'envisager un traitement adéquat en étudiant la personnalité du criminel. De même, la psychologie criminologique intègre le travail thérapeutique visant à modifier le comportement antisocial du sujet.

Cette branche, contrairement à ce que l’on pourrait penser, n’est pas exclusivement clinique mais plutôt Il s'étend également aux études sur la criminalité et sur les facteurs psychologiques qui l’influencent.

Parmi les nombreuses tâches qu'un psychologue criminel peut accomplir, on peut citer les suivantes: mener des études de personnalité criminelle visant à clarifier les facteurs psychologiques endogènes et exogènes ayant conduit au comportement criminel, aider le criminologue à établir le danger d'un criminel profil criminel dans les agences de recherche, traitement psychothérapeutique offert aux détenus, etc.

En résumé

La psychologie criminelle et la psychologie médico-légale jouent des rôles essentiels dans l'application de la loi, le système judiciaire et la criminologie. Cependant, le premier sert principalement à déterminer les raisons psychologiques pour lesquelles un crime est commis et le médecin légiste analyse les effets du crime sur les victimes et l'état mental de l'auteur.

Similarités et différences

Cela vaut la peine de faire un tableau de comparaison pour mieux comprendre les similitudes et les différences entre chacun de manière synthétique.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Mendoza Beivide, A.P. "Psychiatrie pour les criminologues et criminologie pour les psychiatres", éditorial de Trillas. Mexique 2014
  • Stingo, N.R. "Dictionnaire de psychiatrie et de psychologie légale" "Editorial Polemos. Argentine Première édition. 2006

Psychopathe, sociopathe, et alors ? - PSYCHOPTIK #3 (Octobre 2020).


Articles Connexes