yes, therapy helps!
Differences between extraverted, introverted and shy people

Differences between extraverted, introverted and shy people

May 6, 2021

Nowadays, it seems that Successful people are the ones who have the most friends, the most persuasive and the ones who communicate more with others . What it takes is to go to as many parties better and be the king of your social circle, dominating all possible social skills.

Introverts: weird bugs?

In recent times, the extraversion It has become the ideal to which we should all aspire. If a person is more comfortable reading than at a party with loud music and hundreds of people around him, he is branded as shy and asocial, and we say he has a problem.

Recommended reading: "How to know if you tend towards introversion or towards extraversion"

And although it is true that some of the people who avoid social situations do so because of a problem (such as social phobia, anxiety or exaggerated shyness), others do so because they really prefer solitude. Almost a century ago, Carl Gustav Jung defined two types of personality in his work Psychological types, classifying people into introverts and extroverts .


Differences between introverts and extraverts

In this article, we will examine the differences between introversion, extraversion and other related concepts. We start with the first one, social anxiety.

Social anxiety

Social anxiety disorder, also known as social phobia, is a pathology classified within the anxiety disorders. It is characterized becauseThe person who suffers from it suffers a persistent fear of one or more social situations, due to the fear of being ridiculed .

The most common symptoms are pressure in the chest, sweating, tremor in the legs, blushing, negative thoughts, fear of negative evaluation ... These symptoms can appear in different social situations that the person has to face, such as speak in public or be at a party.


Like all disorders, the problem of social anxiety is presented because the person would like to be able to behave normally in situations that scare him, but he can not do it. To alleviate this, he usually resorts to one or several coping strategies, which can vary from not going to parties and social gatherings, to getting drunk or taking drugs to increase his sense of control.

Many of the people who suffer from this disorder could be classified as extraverted, and it is precisely the clash between their desire to relate and their fear of social situations that causes them more suffering.

Shy

If we imagine a straight line with social anxiety in one extreme and introversion in the other, shyness would be more or less in the middle. Contrary to what many people think, shyness is not considered a psychological disorder, although it shares many traits with social phobia .


The main difference that presents with social anxiety is that, while a person with this disorder will tend to avoid situations that cause discomfort, either by not going or using any other coping strategy such as drinking alcohol, a shy person may continue to be exposed to those situations. Of course, having to face their own feelings of discomfort in the process.

Another difference is the generalization of symptoms. While a shy person may enjoy certain types of social situations, depending on the conditions of the same, someone who suffers from social phobia will feel discomfort in almost all situations in which he feels exposed to criticism from others.

As in the previous point, we can find many extraverted people who are both shy, so we can not identify introversion with this behavior pattern either.

But then, what is introversion? Traits of an introvert

According to Jung's theory, one of the most important classifications we can make among people is whether they are extraverted or introverted.

The difference is in how they get the stimulation they need to feel good . While an extravert is "charged" with energy in social environments, an introvert generates its own internal stimulation, so high-energy environments saturate it and end up exhausting.

So, an outgoing person will tend to look for situations in which there are many people, loud music, or extreme sensations . It will not be strange to find someone of these characteristics being the center of attention of a group, or surrounded by many friends, doing extreme sports or acting on a stage.

On the contrary, and although an introvert can also enjoy these things, they will usually seek other types of activities to relax: read a good book, have deep conversations with their close friends, spend the day in nature ...

Recapitulating: Am I introverted or shy?

Of course, there are no introverts or pure extroverts (and as Jung himself said, "if there were we would have to look for them in the psychiatric one"). We can all show characteristics of one kind or another depending on the moment and the situation where we are. But it is important to know that it is possible to enjoy solitude without it implying that we have a disorder.

In summary, if you think you are an introvert, look to see if you fit these five characteristics:

  • Although you enjoy social relationships, you usually prefer to speak in small groups than with many people at the same time.
  • When you go to a party, instead of increasing, your energy diminishes throughout the night, sometimes to the point of wanting to leave much earlier than the others.
  • You do not mind being alone from time to time, you know how to enjoy your time with yourself.
  • You have a few close friends, and your relationship with them is very deep.
  • When you are interested, you are able to engage in superficial conversations with people you do not know, although usually you do not devote much effort to this task.

On the other hand, if you see yourself reflected in the following characteristics, you are likely to suffer from shyness or social phobia:

  • You would like to meet more people, but only by imagining yourself approaching a stranger does you feel unwell.
  • You are not able to enjoy the holidays because when you are in one you are worried about what others may think of you.
  • Although you do not like to be alone, many times you do not leave home for fear of exposing yourself to situations in which you will feel bad.
  • Sometimes you feel that you have contradictory desires, because you would like to talk to a person or expose yourself to an audience, but at the same time just thinking about it makes you panic.

I hope that this article has helped you to understand the differences between introversion and the different disorders that can affect our behavior with others, and better understand your own feelings about social situations .


Difference Between Introverts and Extroverts - Introvert vs Extrovert Comparison (animated) (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Différences entre personnes extraverties, introverties et timides

Différences entre personnes extraverties, introverties et timides

Mai 22, 2019

De nos jours, il semble que Les personnes qui réussissent sont celles qui ont le plus d'amis, les plus persuasives et celles qui communiquent davantage avec les autres . Ce qu'il faut, c'est aller à autant de partis que possible et être le roi de votre cercle social, dominant toutes les compétences sociales possibles.

Introverts: des bugs étranges?

Récemment, le extraversion C'est devenu l'idéal auquel nous devrions tous aspirer. Si une personne est plus à l'aise en lecture que lors d'une soirée avec de la musique forte et des centaines de personnes autour d'elle, elle est considérée comme timide et asociale, et nous disons qu'il a un problème.

Lecture recommandée: "Comment savoir si vous avez tendance à l'introversion ou à l'extraversion"

Et s'il est vrai que certaines personnes qui évitent les situations sociales le font à cause d'un problème (phobie sociale, anxiété ou timidité exagérée), d'autres le font parce qu'elles préfèrent vraiment la solitude. Il y a près d'un siècle, Carl Gustav Jung a défini deux types de personnalité dans son travail, Types psychologiques: classer les gens en introvertis et en extravertis .


Différences entre introvertis et extravertis

Dans cet article, nous examinerons les différences entre l'introversion, l'extraversion et d'autres concepts connexes. Nous commençons par le premier, l’anxiété sociale.

Anxiété sociale

Trouble d'anxiété sociale, également connu sous le nom phobie sociale, est une pathologie classée dans les troubles anxieux. Il est caractérisé parce queLa personne qui en souffre souffre d'une peur persistante d'une ou de plusieurs situations sociales, à cause de la peur d'être ridiculisé. .

Les symptômes les plus courants sont la pression dans la poitrine, la transpiration, les tremblements dans les jambes, le rougissement, les pensées négatives, la peur de l'évaluation négative ... Ces symptômes peuvent apparaître dans différentes situations sociales auxquelles la personne doit faire face, telles que parler en public ou être à une fête.


Comme tous les troubles, le problème de l'anxiété sociale est présenté parce que la personne souhaite pouvoir se comporter normalement dans des situations qui lui font peur, mais elle ne peut pas le faire. Pour remédier à cela, il a généralement recours à une ou plusieurs stratégies d'adaptation, qui peuvent aller de l'absence de fêtes ou de rassemblements sociaux à la consommation d'alcool ou à la toxicomanie pour renforcer son sens du contrôle.

Beaucoup de personnes qui souffrent de ce trouble pourraient être classées comme extraverties, et c’est précisément le conflit entre leur désir de nouer des relations et leur peur des situations sociales qui leur cause davantage de souffrances.

Timidité

Si nous imaginions une ligne droite avec une anxiété sociale dans un extrême et une introversion dans l'autre, la timidité serait plus ou moins au centre. Contrairement à ce que beaucoup de gens pensent, la timidité n'est pas considérée comme un trouble psychologique, bien qu'elle partage de nombreux traits avec la phobie sociale .


La principale différence qui caractérise l’anxiété sociale réside dans le fait que, même si une personne atteinte de ce trouble a tendance à éviter les situations gênantes, qu’elle n’y aille pas ou n’utilise aucune autre stratégie d’ajustement, telle que la consommation d’alcool, une personne timide peut continuer à être exposée. à ces situations. Bien sûr, ils doivent faire face à leurs propres sentiments d'inconfort dans le processus.

Une autre différence est la généralisation des symptômes. Tandis qu'une personne timide peut profiter de certains types de situations sociales, en fonction de ses conditions, une personne souffrant de phobie sociale ressentira un inconfort dans presque toutes les situations dans lesquelles elle se sent exposée aux critiques des autres.

Comme dans le point précédent, nous pouvons trouver beaucoup de personnes extraverties qui sont toutes les deux timides, nous ne pouvons donc pas identifier l'introversion avec ce type de comportement.

Mais alors, qu'est-ce que l'introversion? Traits d'un introverti

Selon la théorie de Jung, l'une des classifications les plus importantes que nous puissions établir parmi les personnes est de savoir si elles sont extraverties ou introverties.

La différence réside dans la manière dont ils reçoivent la stimulation dont ils ont besoin pour se sentir bien . Tandis qu'un extraverti est "chargé" en énergie dans les environnements sociaux, un introverti génère sa propre stimulation interne, de sorte que les environnements à haute énergie le saturent et finissent par s'épuiser.

Pourtant, une personne extravertie aura tendance à rechercher des situations dans lesquelles il y a beaucoup de monde, de la musique forte ou des sensations extrêmes . Il ne sera pas étrange de trouver une personne de ces caractéristiques attirant l'attention d'un groupe, entourée de nombreux amis, faisant du sport extrême ou jouant de la scène.

Au contraire, et bien qu'un introverti puisse également apprécier ces choses, il cherchera généralement d'autres types d'activités pour se détendre: lire un bon livre, avoir une conversation profonde avec ses amis proches, passer la journée dans la nature ...

Récapitulant: suis-je introverti ou timide?

Bien sûr, il n’ya pas d’introvertis ni d’extravertis purs (et comme le disait Jung lui-même, "s’il y avait lieu, nous devions les chercher dans un établissement psychiatrique"). Nous pouvons tous montrer des caractéristiques d’un genre ou d’un autre en fonction du moment et de la situation. où nous sommes Mais il est important de savoir qu'il est possible de jouir de la solitude sans que cela implique que nous ayons un désordre.

En résumé, si vous pensez que vous êtes un introverti, vérifiez si vous remplissez ces cinq caractéristiques:

  • Bien que vous appréciiez les relations sociales, vous préférez généralement parler en petits groupes qu'avec plusieurs personnes en même temps.
  • Lorsque vous allez à une fête, au lieu d'augmenter, votre énergie diminue toute la nuit, parfois au point de vouloir partir beaucoup plus tôt que les autres.
  • Cela ne vous dérange pas d'être seul de temps en temps, vous savez profiter de votre temps avec vous-même.
  • Vous avez quelques amis proches et votre relation avec eux est très profonde.
  • Lorsque cela vous intéresse, vous pouvez engager des conversations superficielles avec des personnes que vous ne connaissez pas, bien que vous ne consacriez généralement pas beaucoup d'efforts à cette tâche.

D'autre part, si vous vous voyez refléter dans les caractéristiques suivantes, vous êtes susceptible de souffrir de timidité ou de phobie sociale:

  • Vous aimeriez rencontrer plus de gens, mais vous ne vous sentez pas bien avant de vous approcher d'un étranger.
  • Vous ne pouvez pas profiter des vacances parce que lorsque vous êtes dans l'un, vous vous inquiétez de ce que les autres peuvent penser de vous.
  • Bien que vous n'aimiez pas être seul, vous ne quittez souvent pas la maison par peur de vous exposer à des situations dans lesquelles vous vous sentirez mal.
  • Parfois, vous sentez que vous avez des désirs contradictoires, parce que vous voudriez parler à une personne ou vous exposer à un public, mais en même temps, le simple fait de penser à cela vous fait paniquer.

J'espère que cet article vous a aidé à comprendre les différences entre l'introversion et les différents troubles pouvant affecter notre comportement avec les autres, et mieux comprendre vos propres sentiments face aux situations sociales .


Introverti et Timide : Attention A ne Pas Confondre ! (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes